Compulsive Liars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I lack the ability to lie ever since i missed my kids birthday party last year. It's crap. I used to be great at it. Won medals and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Dr conrad murray

the man that installed my internet and xbox live connections
    claims to be able to hack into the pentagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Claimed she was pregnant

The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

the man that installed my internet and xbox live connections
    claims to be able to hack into the pentagon

I did that and got arrested. True story.
    :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Was sharing a house with a friend who used to tell stories that were obviously lies, he lied so much he actually started to believe his own lies.
    mostly harmless lies, but I never got over how he himself believed them or
    was so relaxed about with a group of people that it never occurred to him people would not believe his farcical stories.

I've a friend who was similar, was constantly lying big and small. It got to the point that you could never believe what he said, and he got so used to doing it that he believed them himself. It used to be so funny when he'd get himself mixed up in his lies. He also hated giving his opinions in case people didn't agree with him, so he'd try to gauge what your opinion would be and tailor his opinion accordingly.
    I remember one time me and another guy had two different opinions on a film, he didn't know what to do!
    In fairness he does seem to have dialed it down a lot nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I sometimes lie to strangers for a laugh if I'm drunk. Nothing major: often country and western type stories like my house burning down or my parents dying in a freak fairground accident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Know of two people who do this.

One of them usually tells the lies to avoid certain events (usually just coming into college).

The other tells the lies as a form of exaggeration but in a way that it makes them self or their possessions look impressive.

I enjoy listening along knowing they are clearly shíte-ing out of them. I usually nod and smile or else try catch them out with related questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

A friend of mine is in his first year in college, he's 19 but looks around 30. He decided one night he was gonna go out, find a bunch of random people, lie to them about his life, and see what happened. He found a bunch of 30 something year old doctors. He told them he was after doing a degree in Pharmacy and he had just completed a masters of some sort that week (can't rememeber what exactly).

They bought him drinks to celebrate all night and the next day he got a call from one of them offering him a job :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Aoifey! wrote: »
    A friend of mine is in his first year in college, he's 19 but looks around 30. He decided one night he was gonna go out, find a bunch of random people, lie to them about his life, and see what happened. He found a bunch of 30 something year old doctors. He told them he was after doing a degree in Pharmacy and he had just completed a masters of some sort that week (can't rememeber what exactly).

They bought him drinks to celebrate all night and the next day he got a call from one of them offering him a job :pac:

Lies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Adhamh

I used to know a guy who took it beyond the extreme. He'd say a small one and then build on it until someone would call nonsense, which nobody would do often.

A classic I remember was how he lost his virginity: walking home locked one night aged 15, he meets a cracking milf on the side of the road, brings her into some randomers front garden, rides her on the trampoline, the gardaí drive by, roll down the window and say 'fair play' (they know him because he does voluntary detective work down at the station, y'see). He's also survived assination attempts, banged ten chicks in a day, been threatened with extradition to the US for attempting to expose deep-rooted corruption, the list is endless.

He would normally finish a story by saying 'and then I met some chick and banged her ten minutes later', no matter what he was talking about. It was so routine he didn't even notice it. On one occasion, he boasts about getting his bit the previous night, then there's a lull in the conversation of about 20 seconds, the he says 'I really need to go out soon, I haven't pulled in months'.

Myself and a coworker joked about the idea of collecting these gems in a book entitled '****e My Coworker Says' but honestly noone would believe it.

Adhamh wrote: »
    I used to know a guy who took it beyond the extreme. He'd say a small one and then build on it until someone would call nonsense, which nobody would do often.

A classic I remember was how he lost his virginity: walking home locked one night aged 15, he meets a cracking milf on the side of the road, brings her into some randomers front garden, rides her on the trampoline, the gardaí drive by, roll down the window and say 'fair play' (they know him because he does voluntary detective work down at the station, y'see). He's also survived assination attempts, banged ten chicks in a day, been threatened with extradition to the US for attempting to expose deep-rooted corruption, the list is endless.

He would normally finish a story by saying 'and then I met some chick and banged her ten minutes later', no matter what he was talking about. It was so routine he didn't even notice it. On one occasion, he boasts about getting his bit the previous night, then there's a lull in the conversation of about 20 seconds, the he says 'I really need to go out soon, I haven't pulled in months'.

Myself and a coworker joked about the idea of collecting these gems in a book entitled '****e My Coworker Says' but honestly noone would believe it.

Fantastic, I love such outrageous lies!!
    "I lost my virginity... then I met some chick and banged her twenty minutes later!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

Mostly the lies involved the usual: casual encounters with celebrities to numerous implausible sexytime encounters and beating people up for splashing them with water by driving through a puddle.

The best one I remember was A telling B's original very specific anecdote back to B, who had originally told it to A, in minute detail and claiming it as his own. B waited till he recounted the story back to him in its entirety till he revealed that it was his own story that he had told to A, to make it more excruciating!.

I think we know the exact same fellas

Martyn1989 wrote: »
    I think we know the exact same fellas

Does the anecdote involve a concert?
    If so it's most probably the same guys.

It's an Irish thing.

Like when we recount a story, sometimes we add bits in and change things around to make the story more interesting/amusing for the listener.

It's actually the height of politeness.

I think all Irish people are guilty of excaggerating for the sake of humour, even when the funny story is about you, you let it slide for the laughs involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I knew a lad who's mother worked in a sports shop, Champion sports or something.

He tried to tell us that she designed the Addias "Three Stripe" logo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I'm kinda like this. I lie about small, completely inconsequential things for absolutely no reason at all. I'm actually so full of bullshit, I'm surprised anyone believes anything I say at all.

Does the anecdote involve a concert?
    If so it's most probably the same guys.

Im not sure, cant remember the exact details of what happened between the two lads, defo sumthing theyd be trading stories of, trying to remember, do ALL of your b's stories start with "I was havin a smoke........" or (for variety ya gotta mix it up) "I was on the bus........"

My b's dad did sound for a led zep gig cuz they wer stuck one night lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Lies!
    It's actually true, sounds pretty unbelievable though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

"Everybody lies" (House, 2004).

Im not sure, cant remember the exact details of what happened between the two lads, defo sumthing theyd be trading stories of, trying to remember, do ALL of your b's stories start with "I was havin a smoke........" or (for variety ya gotta mix it up) "I was on the bus........"

My b's dad did sound for a led zep gig cuz they wer stuck one night lol

I think they may be different, I don't know my B too well, but he seems like a pretty straight-up guy and I don't think he smokes :).
    It's A who's the big liar, or was anyway. And he doesn't smoke. Though he might lie and say he does... :rolleyes:

I think they may be different, I don't know my B too well, but he seems like a pretty straight-up guy and I don't think he smokes :).
    It's A who's the big liar, or was anyway. And he doesn't smoke. Though he might lie and say he does... :rolleyes:

Yeh mixed A and B up there, my A also intimidates nazi skin heads on Dublin bus!

I'm kinda like this. I lie about small, completely inconsequential things for absolutely no reason at all. I'm actually so full of bullshit, I'm surprised anyone believes anything I say at all.

I don't believe that you're a liar, it's just another lie.
    In fact, I bet you always tell the truth.
    Which means you're telling the truth when you say you lie...
    But then that means that you're a liar...
    Which means...

A PROBLEM HAS BEEN DETECTED AND WINDOWS HAS BEEN SHUT DOWN TO PREVENT DAMAGE TO YOUR MIND...

Yeh mixed A and B up there, my A also intimidates nazi skin heads on Dublin bus!

Don't think my A would go that far, even he'd know it'd be too unbelievable for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

I have a friend who lies a lot.

Sometimes it's very obvious and I'm never sure how to react.

Usually I just try to change the subject and pretend I wasn't interested in the topic that I know was a lie, otherwise she'll have to make more and more lies up as I ask more and that's just awkward and weird..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

A friend of mine is a compulsive liar, he says he's with a different girl every week, there is no way this lad has been with even 1 of them coz he keeps texting me asking me to go out with him. :rolleyes:

Another friend of mine tries to lie to get out of everything. She told me before that her mother put her back out and had to stay in to help her, i saw her mother that day and she was out power walking.

Another time she told me her aunt was in hospital so she had to go to see her, told my mam who knew her aunt and she asked my friends mother how her sister was and her mam said she's grand why, my mam told her what my friend had said and she told my mam that she didnt know why her daughter told us this because her sister wasnt anywhere near the hospital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I'd say a high percentage of people, when giving their account of a story, like to exaggerate or add in a part that never happened. Tbh I'd spot it a fair bit with some people but for the sake of a story would rarely call them up on it (if its funny ofc :p )
    On the other hand I have a buddy in college who's constantly coming up with stories about his "past" whenever on the topic of women or something like that. He's the type who claim to have done all sorts of things related to women, but having been out with him to clubs etc for two years now these stories are getting a bit much tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

What happens if you lie to yourself?

If you know it is a lie, will you not trust yourself again?

Knex. wrote: »
    On the other hand I have a buddy in college who's constantly coming up with stories about his "past" whenever on the topic of women or something like that. He's the type who claim to have done all sorts of things related to women, but having been out with him to clubs etc for two years now these stories are getting a bit much tbh...

I've a friend who used to be like that, always going on about all the girls in his life yet no-one ever saw any evidence of them. Often the girls would be from a different area of his life to that you knew him from (Eg. his job if you knew him from college) but then you'd meet his co-workers and they'd know nothing about these girls!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I can understand lots of liars who lie to make themselves look better/boost their self-esteem, or to match what you've done, but it's the people who lie constantly without benefitting from it, who seem to be addicted to it that I can't understand.

People who say things like "I went for a nice walk today." or "I watched a film last Tuesday." when they haven't.
    I think with some it might be an ice breaker for shyness and just for something to say rather than say nothing at all which is not to bad ,it's a small talk for many but it would be childish to keep saying you've done stuff when you quite clearly haven't anyway and a compulsive liar is just somebody with serious issues who usually gets found out sooner or later when nobody really cares .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I've a friend who used to be like that, always going on about all the girls in his life yet no-one ever saw any evidence of them. Often the girls would be from a different area of his life to that you knew him from (Eg. his job if you knew him from college) but then you'd meet his co-workers and they'd know nothing about these girls!
    I'm hoping that after one awkward silence too many, following yet another story, he might just give it a rest :p