Treatment of homeless people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

no excuses for mistreating homeless people, but sometimes they don't help themselves. its very hard to know the genuine ones from the chancers who sometimes go after people for change etc. i remember last year when a saw a homeless guy giving out, swearing at a woman (roma gypsy) who was begging for change outside the church near the arlington hotel, and i've seen there recently irish homeless people giving out to people for not giving them change as they were complaining about the non-irish homeless people .

i think these type of incidents don't help the homeless people but i do have genuine sympathy for them. i mean government after government have neglected them and i think they should put the homeless people in all those ghost estates around the country, now maybe they will not want to move from dublin but at least there should some plan by government on how to tackle the issue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

I know we like to complain about American tourists but I live in a tourist town and while we can poke fun at them 20 somthing French & Belgian tourists are so of the most dickish I've come across.

They go about insulting everthing,Poking fun at different people,especially teenagers and old people,They are quite loud and obnoxious,a far cry from the so called "Loud ignorant American".

While some may hail it as a isolated incident this has happened several times before but the most recent was last summer.A group of belgian 2's somthings were staying about the town.I heard of a couple of them croping to friends of y who had recently turned 18 and throwing drink in bar tenders face's saying it was muck.My own experience was coming down on a train from cork where they spent the day drinking.They harassed an elderly couple,knocked one of their friends into a buggy and started to come down to myself and a few friends chating stuff and then started taking pictures of us :confused:.Not long after they got into a fight with one of their own group knocking his tooth out.

Now I know that it may have been a bit topic but this just reminded me of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Mental illness can see someone end up on the street pretty quickly. Could happen to anyone.
    Indeed; a lot of people with even some moderate forms of mental illness are just unable to take care of themselves, and the unlucky ones end up out on the street, while the (comparatively) lucky ones have family to fall back on for support.

The state of mental health support in Ireland is pretty poor to boot; improving that would stop more people falling through the cracks, and could help get some of the current homeless people more help.
    When's that going to happen though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

should have kicked those ***** in the face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Not all homeless people are drug / drink addicts although I personally won't give any money to those that beg on the street because most will spend it on their addictions. I always give donations to homeless & other charities every few months or more instead.

There was a old lad that used to live in the side doorway near Camden Town tube station in North London up until about 10-15years or so ago. He was disabled from the waist downwards but would not take money from no one & refused all offers of help with housing from many including social services. He managed to look after himself well given the circumstances. The locals would keep an eye out for him.

When his funeral was held hundreds of people turned up, he was well liked. Many only found out afterwards that the reason he lived outdoors was because he was suffering from clausetrophobia. He was a Polish Fighter Pilot in the RAF who managed to get out of a plane that was on fire before it crashed and couldn't stand being indoors.

Worst problem is the "professional" beggars, especially those who use a baby to get more sympathy from passers by. Two Roma women with babies who had been begging outside a supermarket for hours came up to me & the brother & asked where can they get a taxi to a destination 3 miles away. Obviously the frequent bus service was much cheaper but they could obviously afford a taxi after their supermarket shift :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Loonies ITT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Worst problem is the "professional" beggars, especially those who use a baby to get more sympathy from passers by. Two Roma women with babies who had been begging outside a supermarket for hours came up to me & the brother & asked where can they get a taxi to a destination 3 miles away. Obviously the frequent bus service was much cheaper but they could obviously afford a taxi after their supermarket shift :mad:

I seen a few of those in waterford, one of them i've seen more than once carrying a different baby with a different buggy. I guess most people wouldn't notice or remember that sort of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

I was standing outside a shop in Waterford talking to the boys and there was a roma beggar not far from us just doing the usual oul begging.
    no word of a lie, a 2010 Dublin registered BMW pulled up beside her, she hopped in and another roma beggar hopped out and took her place with the maccy d's cup. wouldnt give a dime to those scammers.

As regards homeless people, there arent too many in Waterford (that come out in public at least) and those who are there are quite popular, they have a laugh with everyone during the day and most of them have a bedsit to go to at night.
    The ones in Dublin, lying in there sleeping bags on a wet day, you couldnt feel anything but sympathy for them. I couldnt imagine making fun of them. You'd nearly feel guilty that you have somewhere to go and they dont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭few cans?

i saw that happen in Waterford too outside a nightclub, im guessing its the same roma beggars that go round saying 'you buy rose?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I seen a few of those in waterford, one of them i've seen more than once carrying a different baby with a different buggy.

Is there someplace that hires out babies for the purpose :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Seloth wrote: »
    I know we like to complain about American tourists but I live in a tourist town and while we can poke fun at them 20 somthing French & Belgian tourists are so of the most dickish I've come across.

They go about insulting everthing,Poking fun at different people,especially teenagers and old people,They are quite loud and obnoxious,a far cry from the so called "Loud ignorant American".

While some may hail it as a isolated incident this has happened several times before but the most recent was last summer.A group of belgian 2's somthings were staying about the town.I heard of a couple of them croping to friends of y who had recently turned 18 and throwing drink in bar tenders face's saying it was muck.My own experience was coming down on a train from cork where they spent the day drinking.They harassed an elderly couple,knocked one of their friends into a buggy and started to come down to myself and a few friends chating stuff and then started taking pictures of us :confused:.Not long after they got into a fight with one of their own group knocking his tooth out.

Now I know that it may have been a bit topic but this just reminded me of it.
    +1. I'd take an American tourist any day of the week over most Europeans. They have better manners and are more respectful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladysarastro

I've seen those roma women get on in carlow train station on several occasions and head down to waterford :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    We should go around throwing buckets of water over the homeless.
    Haha, I saw you sh1te-ing on about Jesus on some other forum... Real christian of you there dude.
    it's entirely their fault. No one elses.
    How do you know? There's a myriad of reasons a person could be homeless. ****ing hell...
    Icarus152 wrote: »
    Loonies ITT.
    Do elaborate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Plenty of jobs in McDonalds and SuperMacs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

How can someone treat the most vulnerable people in society like this, even when drunk? I was utterly disgusted and ashamed. There was absolutely no threat to any of these people, no reason to act like they did except pure scumbaggery. What kind of person do you have to be to think this kind of behaviour is acceptable or fun?

There's no excuse for looking for trouble by interfering with people minding their own business. That goes the same for idiots picking on a homeless person, as it does for 'homeless' people hassling people for money at busstops/ATMs etc..

Not making any excuses for the lad on the phone decking anyone but at the same time you don't know what kind of conversation he was in the middle of when he was getting annoyed by someone looking for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Dudess wrote: »
    Do elaborate.

Both of the quotes in your post are good examples.I was just being lazy with my loonies remark.

Ignorance ITT would have been more accurate perhaps.

'Plenty of jobs in McDonalds and SuperMacs.'.......There aren't.

'no word of a lie, a 2010 Dublin registered BMW pulled up beside her, she hopped in and another roma beggar hopped out'........Old as the hills,used to be travellers.

'one of them i've seen more than once carrying a different baby with a different buggy. I guess most people wouldn't notice or remember that sort of stuff.'........Shocking as it may seem,there's a chance that she may have more then one child.

Bambi wrote: »
    You're mixing homeless people up with begging junkies methinks.

sorry but the only homeless people in Ireland are those with addictions

we have excellent help available and a welfare state where people are homed and paid dole/rent allowance if they dont have a job
    People with mental illnesses are often sectioned and put into hospitals

'no word of a lie, a 2010 Dublin registered BMW pulled up beside her, she hopped in and another roma beggar hopped out'........Old as the hills,used to be travellers..

Not necessarily. I have seen very similar myself, while it certainly wasn't a 2010 BMW, I have seen a woman drive up a decent car, take a kid out of the back, they started off in the direction I was going. Fair enough. Gets to where I was also going and starts begging, for food apparently was her own line.

'Plenty of jobs in McDonalds and SuperMacs.'
    Plus, it's not like the poor dudes are gonna be what employers are looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

tenchi-fan wrote: »
    The people who treat the homeless worst of all are people who give them small change. It's showy, they'll have a warm mushy feel like you get from giving a dog a biscuit, but because it keeps the homeless on the street it's the opposite of charity.

:confused: But it doesn't keep the homeless off the streets. It's silly to think that.

If it's cold outside and I pass a homeless person, I often go into a nearby shop and bought a takeaway hot meal, or a pair of warm socks, a jumper, etc. Despite the fact I'm not well off by any standards, and literally regularly struggle to feed myself by the end of the month. I have no illusions that I'm any sort of a martyr because of this! I do little/no charity work, I don't really get a "warm mushy" feeling when I do such a thing, because I know I'm making no long-term difference in this person's life.

But, come on, it might give them a wee lift on the night in question. I don't have the financial backing to make a "real" difference. So I'll just continue to do the tiny little bit that I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Maybe i've become desensitized to them, but i jus completely ignore homeless when i see them, they are no my problem.

The life of a hobo looks pretty good in fairness

I couldn't care less if they spent the money they've gleaned in a few hours on a beer - so? It's enjoyable, and a bit of an escape. It's not like they'll be able to afford anything particularly constructive. Giving a bit of spare change isn't contributing to the problem - people would still be homeless whether given a few coins or not. Maybe there are a few scammers, but they're not going to be the ones huddled under a blanket in a doorway at 1.00 on a cold night...
    mgmt wrote: »

That's what they do in London. The council goes around and hoses down the street at night, if the homeless happen to be there so be it :)
    Your approval of it just seems kinda sociopathic tbh.

I couldn't care less if they spent the money they've gleaned in a few hours on a beer - so? It's enjoyable, and a bit of an escape. It's not like they'll be able to afford anything particularly constructive. Giving a bit of spare change isn't contributing to the problem - people would still be homeless whether given a few coins or not..

Perhaps it was the drink that put them there in the first place. It would be better to refer such people to the proper services to help, not give them a few quid to 'escape' in the very manner that likely had a role in them becoming homeless to begin with. A homeless alcoholic will put a priority on getting alcohol before solving the homeslessness situation. The hostels also sometimes refuse people who have been drinking, so it's not helping the person in any meaningful way.

I couldn't care less if they spent the money they've gleaned in a few hours on a beer - so? It's enjoyable, and a bit of an escape. It's not like they'll be able to afford anything particularly constructive. Giving a bit of spare change isn't contributing to the problem - people would still be homeless whether given a few coins or not. Maybe there are a few scammers, but they're not going to be the ones huddled under a blanket in a doorway at 1.00 on a cold night...

jeez give them food but not money for drink or heroin - homeless hostels refuse them if they are on the night train and then they will be on the street overnight!!

Fair points.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 SprayonCrayons

I know it may sound harsh to the homeless people of Ireland but they are actually quite well taken care of when compared to the homeless of other places.

I was in Spain visiting a cousin of mine for her 21st last year, a homeless man and obvious heroine addict (telltale signs = thin, stretched, yellowing face and he could barely move under his own strength despite being around 20 years of age) was literally clawing his way up some steps into a doorway to sleep and collapsed half way, everybody just walked by, it was normal to them. We called an ambulance but apparently they usually just drive them to another part of town and dump them out again since there's no money to be made from the poor.

I also had a spell working in a homeless shelter over in California while on my J1, entire families are homeless there and it would appear as though people simply do not give a **** about these starving families. The kids I looked after had been malnourished all their lives and it showed, I mistook an 11 year old girl for a 4 year old due to her tiny size because she had probably never had a real meal in her life. The best part of working in a homeless shelter was when families stopped coming back, it meant they'd finally found a home.

Getting off the street is one of the hardest thing a human being can do and it takes the help of so many people who never get recognised for what they do. I'm no saint but I'll never kick a dog when it's down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭PrincessLola

Mental illness can see someone end up on the street pretty quickly. Could happen to anyone.

true, I think they used to just lock all people with mental illnesses away in institutions, but I suppose at least then they were given shelter and food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

true, I think they used to just lock all people with mental illnesses away in institutions, but I suppose at least then they were given shelter and food.

Yep, in the US at least, there is a link between the close of institutions and a rise in homelessness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Was on the way home from the pub tonight, and we were walking down one of the back streets in Temple Bar behind a group of 4 people (3 guys and a girl), think they were French or something and fairly drunk I guess. There was a homeless guy asleep in a doorway, and the girl stumbled up to him, leaned over and started shouting something I couldn't make out, the others joined in. When the guy woke up and turned around, one of the guys pulled out a camera and took a picture of him, laughing away.

I didn't really know what to do, I just started talking to my girlfriend at a high volume about how it wasn't on, they heard me, threw me a few dirty looks and moved on. I felt ashamed, despite having nothing to do with it.

My girlfriend then told me that when she was getting a taxi the other day, there was a guy on the phone (also drunk I think) at a phone box when a homeless guy came up to ask him for change. The guy on the phone decked him and shouted something at him.

How can someone treat the most vulnerable people in society like this, even when drunk? I was utterly disgusted and ashamed. There was absolutely no threat to any of these people, no reason to act like they did except pure scumbaggery. What kind of person do you have to be to think this kind of behaviour is acceptable or fun?
    Absolute scumbags.
    I'd suggest that anyone else seeing this sort of think happening capture is on camera and pass it on to the Gardaí
    There is the slim chance that something might come of it.

sorry but the only homeless people in Ireland are those with addictions

we have excellent help available and a welfare state where people are homed and paid dole/rent allowance if they dont have a job
    People with mental illnesses are often sectioned and put into hospitals
    You're wrong.

Mental illness is a huge contributing factor to homelessness.

Now I've no time for the addicts myself, and they're easily spotted, but I do feel for those who are suffering from a mental illness.

As for the welfare state helping the homeless, you are wrong again.
    You cannot get dole if you do not have an address.
    Bcause of that you can't get a medical card.
    If you don't have a medical card, then you cannot avail of free medical care.

If you're mentally ill and your family has abandoned you (quite common here, because a lot of people do not understand mental illness or refuse to believe it exists), you're fairly ****ed.

On top of that, a person with a mental illness can only be helped if they accept that they are mentally ill.
    Most people in this country are still afraid to talk about mental illness for fear of becoming a pariah.
    I was lucky enough to have good friends and family to help me through my own mental illness. Without them, I would undoubtedly be homeless.

In saying that, they only helped after I spoke to them about it. I spent about 4 years hiding it becuase I thought that I would be put in a loony bin, or that my friends would stop talking to me.

When I did start seeking help, family and friends were completely supportive. Yeah, a few did find it strange, but they understood after a while.

My illness is mild compared to a lot of people, especially those you see begging on the streets. I'm very close to being better now. It will never go away, but I can live a normal life at the moment.

These people are alone and unable to convey their feelings properly because of the stigma attached to mental illness.
    People need to stop looking down on the mentally ill homeless. They are people in desperate need of help, but can't get it because they are homeless and have no proper support.

The junkies can **** themselves though.
    Everyone knows how addictive heroin is. If you think you are immune from heroin addiction by only doing it occasionally, then you are an idiot.