After Hours, one and only Queen thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

tbh wrote: »
    You're fooling no-one dude. You're not nearly as subtle as you think.

People who think being a republican = supporting bombings should be locked up for their own safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

2v2tsw7.jpg

yer man with the packets of ham:D

lol

and the fella with United jersey:rolleyes:

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

robinph wrote: »
    I don't need to prove anything about the opinion of the other 6 million people.

Actually you do if you're going to say something as obtuse as "because there were only 100 or so Celtic soccer jersey wearers therefore most Irish people support this visit". Your reasoning is so clearly faulty it's risible that you expect to be taken seriously.
    I can say with relative certainty though that they do not particularly care one way or the other such that they feel the need to go out and make fools of themselves in the international media.

Given your own ill-thought-out ideas, the more you talk about people who disagree with you as being "fools" "morons" and the like, the more you in particular denude those words of meaning.

How exactly are you planning to back up your claim that most people do not approve of the visit?

Can you give evidence that you have the intelligence to read a thread correctly: I didn't "claim that most people do not approve of the visit" - rather, I asked the British royalist poster with the user name Audrey Hepburn to support her contention that most people support this visit. Now, is this very basic distinction lost on you? In future, get your facts straight before talking shíte. Thank you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Haven't a clue what you're talking about. Not a clue.

Would it help if he explained it using sock puppets or a picture book?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

And those who complain about Gardaí putting them in a bin most also complain about those who left the flags there themselves equally.
    Was wrong to ditch them yes, two wrongs dont make a right.

I bet that flag drumsteve saw being confiscated ended up in bin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Why is it that all the eirigi supporters shown at protests are dressed awfully and have very short buzzcut gelled hair. They're quite horrible to look at actually:(

Surely not this guy??
    http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323555

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

I'm going to go out on a limb here and say the young lads burning the flag and chanting like they're at a football match may not have the most well-thought out political views in the country.

Call it a crazy hunch but when you behave like a baying mob people tend to disregard whatever finely tuned political point you're trying to make.

You haven't gone out on a limb at all. Its true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

How dare you suggest that Eirigi have heroin addicts in their midst!!!

They are very healthy law-abiding citizens
    http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2011/05/16/article-1387612-0C147A7800000578-845_634x410.jpg
    lol

I don't think they're junkies. It's just that for every calorie of food they eat the expend two fleeing from gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Imagine the horror of opening up a fresh packet of cigarettes in the middle of that march? You'd probably be eaten alive!!!!

Result: http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3042/2581516151_5f553d5591.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭strawberryb0y

Flag burning morons on sky news.
    Embarrassed to share the country with these idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Wolfe Tone wrote: »

Why dont you go to Dublin then and offer to give the flags a home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I'll bet if it hadn't been confiscated it would have ended up on the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

flash1080 wrote: »
    Would it help if he explained it using sock puppets or a picture book?

Who are you, chap? Don't remember addressing you at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

So where were all the West-Brits and their union flags today? I was led to believe that they'd be lining the streets and pissing themselves with excitement =/

TBH, that would piss me off just as much as the celtic jersey knackers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

And presumably doing so because the protesters just left them on the ground and went home...What are we supposed to be offended about here - protesters treating the flag like a candy wrapper, or the Gardai who have to clean up after them?
    You are American yes? What would happen if an American cop threw the stars and stripes like that in a bin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

:rolleyes: Well, somehow, we will get over it. Perhaps we can say a little prayer with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

I wouldn't attach any Royal visit significance to this. The FAI and their merry band of workers did this in Lansdowne Road in the mid 80s after confiscating flags with poles. Seen it with my own eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭strawberryb0y

You are American yes? What would happen if an American cop threw the stars and stripes like that in a bin?

What would you have them do with flags that were abandoned in the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Why dont you go to Dublin then and offer to give the flags a home?

<snip>
    Leave the modding to the mods please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭ldxo15wus6fpgm

Who are you, chap? Don't remember addressing you at all.

It's a public forum, deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,735 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

What would you suggest the Gardaí do with the thousands of dumped flags by all thoses gallant jersey wearing protesters. Leave them where they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Please tell me what you would have wanted them to do with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

aarond280 wrote: »
    she may have been commemorating them alright, but i still don't see it necassary to play the british anthem, the reason these men died was for Irish freedom not for a british anthem to be played on the land of ireland

It's part of recognising her official role, without it she's just some ould wan from England, with GSTQ she's the head of state.

It wouldn't be an official commemoration without it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭slapbangwallop

irish-stew wrote: »
    I know its been said already, but looking at the pics the protests, Celtic Jersey wearers at an Britian out of Ireland protest.

LOL

It reminds me of the fella who was protesting against foriegn games at Croke Park wearing a Celtic Jersey.

Uber fail.

I assume they are trying to express their Irishness by wearing a Club Shirt that is loosely associated with Ireland, but at the end of the day, its still a British Club, and a symbol that they are wearing/promoting. Surly they realise that.

that really is retarded logic of the highest degree, telling me you are just trolling and dont ACTUALLY believe that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Bertie & Cowen interviewed on the news about what the visit means for Ireland

urge to kill rising!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

What would you have them do with flags that were abandoned in the street?

He wants you to adopt it and the comatose eirigi junkie that was attached to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Seanchai wrote: »
    Can you give evidence that you have the intelligence to read a thread correctly: I didn't "claim that most people do not approve of the visit" - rather, I asked the British royalist poster with the user name Audrey Hepburn to support her contention that most people support this visit. Now, is this very basic distinction lost on you? In future, get your facts straight before talking shíte. Thank you.

You are going to fall of that high horse if you aren't careful ;)

I am Irish not British and just so happen to not have a problem with the Monarchy. I'm not a Royalist at all.

But then you clearly no more about me then I know about myself don't you :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Taking attention off the Éirígí fouls (they don't deserve a full blown conversation), let's talk more about the good aspects of today.

%
    %%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%
    %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

%%%%%%%%
    To Peace and Good Relations!%%%%%%
    %%%%%%
    Do Chaidreamh Maith agus Síocháin!%%%%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

150 or so morons from eirigi and not a job between the lot of them.

this guy looks like he just got out of Dundrum Central Mental Hospital
    http://pix.ie/punkrock/2323564/size/800