Jedward are like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Aldebaran wrote: »
    I've nothing against the two lads personally, it's just that we've plenty of great and overlooked musical acts in this country who deserve our attention much more than Jedward. Is this really the type of music we want to become known for?

its eurovision. are we known for dustin? Donna and Joe? that guy who sang that dreaming song?

Its a one off.

If you're referring to their other wider music business, they make money. someone wants to see them. What does it matter to you, you still see the bands you want to. I Like metal, and many metal bands in Ireland get next to no coverage nationally, but I dont care. Pop music is pop music, the boys get very little radio play, they only turn up in the occasional tv show or on trashy magazine ofr tabloid, its no skin off your nose or mine.

Different genres cater for different people. They dont discuss classical in the Sun, yet it seems to do pretty well for itself as a genre still.

Ireland is known for U2, the cranberries, Westlife, Boyzone, Ash, etc etc. I dont care much for most of them, but I dont begrudge anyone who sells to a market that wants them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Aldebaran wrote: »
    I've nothing against the two lads personally, it's just that we've plenty of great and overlooked musical acts in this country who deserve our attention much more than Jedward. Is this really the type of music we want to become known for?
    They are nothing more than an passing fancy for a certain category of consumer that will with age and ever changing taste, move on eventually.
    They are but one more variety to many, many varieties of music that has come from our Emerald Isle and crossed the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

How old are they? Morbid curiosity made me watch them last night as they're everywhere lately....they resembled 2 over active 6 year olds on a sleep over having had one too many glasses of coke n sweets.

Gay,straight,confused or just not yet at that age where they know what they are or want......couldn't care less.

They are obviously been well groomed by they're handlers as everything they say and do appears staged and scripted.I believe their mum is a drama teacher (unconfirmed ??)

Good luck to them making some money, they strike me as a gimmick that will soon loose it's appeal so it's good they're making it now so fair fooks to them.

However, to asnwer the op

"Jedward are like...." - All Bran!! they irritate the $hit outta me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭john__long

The ebola virus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

zuroph wrote: »
    its eurovision. are we known for dustin? Donna and Joe? that guy who sang that dreaming song?

Its a one off.

If you're referring to their other wider music business, they make money. someone wants to see them. What does it matter to you, you still see the bands you want to. I Like metal, and many metal bands in Ireland get next to no coverage nationally, but I dont care. Pop music is pop music, the boys get very little radio play, they only turn up in the occasional tv show or on trashy magazine ofr tabloid, its no skin off your nose or mine.

Different genres cater for different people. They dont discuss classical in the Sun, yet it seems to do pretty well for itself as a genre still.

Ireland is known for U2, the cranberries, Westlife, Boyzone, Ash, etc etc. I dont care much for most of them, but I dont begrudge anyone who sells to a market that wants them.

In this case...... a two off :D I'll get my coat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Jedward are like .... two jack russells on speed.

They just never stop moving or talking for a second.

Best of luck to them in the Eurovision, I just can't listen to them being interviewed, it's head wrecking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,423 ✭✭✭cml387

Jedward are like...the Judderman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

They are annoying and both of them wrecked my head on X factor but fair play to them they have done very well for themselves. Obviously young kids like them going by the demand for tickets to see them. good luck to them and I hope they win Eurovision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Zuroph kinda beat me to it, but I'll say it anyway....

.....all the replies will be from us Jedward haters because their fans will read the thread title and not realise it's an incomplete sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I really hope they don't win. You see I collect Reeling in the Years episodes and that would just ruin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭wonderboysam

bonerm wrote: »
    I really hope they don't win. You see I collect Reeling in the Years episodes and that would just ruin it.

oh man our decendents will think evolved from hyperactive homos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

oh man our ancestors will think evolved from hyperactive homos

Descendents! If we have any.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Steff

They're like a bunch of camels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

they are a crime on the ears but if a couple of tits from lucan can stumble onto a ****in fortune and have a laugh doing it then fair ****s 2 them

i would trample old people and children to be in their position

begruders the lot of ya - hope they win becuase at least SOMEONE is doing well in this kip

still ****e mind ya :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

A pair of queens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Talentless fame-mongers tbh... They're the equivalent of Kerry Katona really. As long as they're in the spotlight, they're happy.

Cue accusations of bitterness... Cos of course I'd love to be a 'celeb', that's why I enter all those reality TV shows and competitions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Equium

I recently found out that they're distant cousins of mine. Does that mean I have to say nice things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

... a bad dose of the runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭joe2010

Equium wrote: »
    I recently found out that they're distant cousins of mine. Does that mean I have to say nice things?

You should always say nice things...they have a mobile app in the Android Market called "JedHead" so you can look like them now too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I don't pretend to like them. It's nothing to do with "begrudgery"; I just think they're crap. Having said that I mainly manage to avoid seeing them by not watching crap like X Factor or the Eurovision. I think I've only seen them on television two or three times.

While walking past the music shop here a while ago I was surprised to see thay have their own signature guitar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

zuroph wrote: »
    they are like, so, OMG, you know?
    I think 'random' is the word you're looking for.
    Or else, irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,362 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Tbh I'm really surprised at the amount of nasty and hateful comments being directed at these two kids (which is all they are). They've done no harm to anyone unlike others who have brought this country to its knees and have wrecked lives and families. Maybe our ill will should be saved for them.

I hope they do well and bring home the trophy. Sure they are not my taste in music but neither is U2 and you know, if you don't like it you don't have to buy it. I think it's time we all got behind the most entertaining, enjoyable and innocent thing to come out of Ireland for a very long time........jedward for president(s) I say.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭BengaLover

Leave em alone. Poor wee lads.
    Ive been to a concert with my daughters, would YOU be able to sing in tune if you were cartwheeling and doing jumping jacks all over a stage?

As for comments about their sexuality and immaturity, unfortuntaly what has happened to J & E in the last 2 years is that unlike lads of their own age, they have not matured or grown up an iota, because for the last 2 years, instead of experimenting with girls and finishing school and doing exams and living a normal life, they have been on the road constantly, getting up early, getting to bed late, and living in a haze of glamour, costumes,tv, and showbiz.
    They are damned hard working and they love what they do 100% but you gotta wonder if its any good for them in that they are kind of like Peter Pans, and might be unable to grow up!

Apparently since their arrival in germany, they have gone down a storm, and if anything have made a good impression, whether they win or not tonight, they will still continue to be enthusiastic about what they do, and with them, what you see is what you get, and for me Jedward, you get my douze points all the way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭ap1986

thrush!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

ap1986 wrote: »
    thrush!!!

Irritating ***** ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

prime examples of moving targets for the Afghan Snipper Training academy!!!

Oh god I hate the feckers, I hate the people that are now liking them just coz they represent Ireland even more!!!

The started out being nobodys, annoying gobsh*tes, evolved into... even more annoying gobsh*tes, the end up loved by 6yr olds and the entire population of looserville!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Ah theyre funny though, have to say they make me smile. Wouldnt like to be stuck in a lift with them for too long or anything but fair play to em.
    Anybody think its worth sticking a few quid on em in the bookies by the way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Have to laugh at the sad fellas who keep moaning about not being able to get away from the Jedmania media coverage, and then spend their time posting, ad nauseum, in multiple Jedward threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Why do people think that disliking Jedward is 'begrudgery'? Is it not possible that some people just don't like atrocious music?

I don't care about whether they're gay or straight and I wouldn't go so far as to say they're an embarrassment to Ireland. I just think their music is a pile of crap and that they're a pair of irritating morons.

My mother thinks they're a pair of idiots. She's not trying to be cool; she's in her late seventies.