Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jedward are like...

• 13-05-2011 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭

the over the top flamboyant gay guy at a party that you pretend to like so you dont come across as homophobic

discuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

They are like Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

they are like, so, OMG, you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

like, totally kool. Hi 5.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...discuss
    No thanks, its a stupid thread.
    Pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭pipelaser

They are like so it right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

I thought Dustin deserved a second go at the eurovision, I'd be less ashamed to see a puppet in a shopping trolley representing us than those clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Jedward's Ma .... A woman with 2 cuñts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

you know when you step on dog sh*t in your runners, and it ends up sticking there and even after you brush the dog sh*t off theres still that little line of it in the grooves in your runners, and no matter how hard you try you cant get rid of it for ages - that is what jedward are like - sh*t, annoying and just wont go away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

the over the top flamboyant gay guy at a party that you pretend to like so you dont come across as homophobic

discuss

lovely a thread on jedward.

They are brilliant and I hope they win eurovision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

Marsden wrote: »
    I thought Dustin deserved a second go at the eurovision, I'd be less ashamed to see a puppet

ehh, a what?

Dustin is a talking turkey, thank you very much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP

Goddamn can't after hours have one thread that isn't filled with pessimists trying to look cool by cracking unfunny jokes at the expense of others? Nobody's asking you to make a or post in a thread about Jedward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP

Goddamn can't after hours have one thread that isn't filled with Jedward or The British monarch

I totally agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

ehh, a what?

Dustin is a talking turkey, thank you very much

My apologies I meant to type Muppet.:D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

They're like U2 just without the guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭talla10

TBH they are the best thing to come out of Ireland in the last few years. Not saying Jedward are good but it shows are sh1t our country is. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Al Qaeda suicide bombers, patiently hatching their evil plot to win the Eurovision and then blow up both Obama and the Queen of England.
    Don't be fooled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Near Lucan, DUBLIN, 1990.

On a dark night, passing by a skip outside a genetic research laboratory, nobody gave Mrs Grimes a second glance as she slipped what she thought were two discarded (and yet still tasty) scallions into her Quinnsworth TM bag. NOW READ ON...

SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP

Goddamn can't after hours have one thread that isn't filled with pessimists trying to look cool by cracking unfunny jokes at the expense of others? Nobody's asking you to make a or post in a thread about Jedward.

the same goes to you , you dont have to read these posts, you knew the thread wasnt going to be positive, its a known fact that jedward are an untalented point of annoyance to most irish people as not only were they making a show of us to the UK when they first came out about but now theyre making an international disgrace of us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

They are the Shiznit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭.same.

I'm finding it harder and harder to hate them, in fact I think I want them to do well... I must be getting old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

the same goes to you , you dont have to read these posts, you knew the thread wasnt going to be positive, its a known fact that jedward are an untalented point of annoyance to most irish people as not only were they making a show of us to the UK when they first came out about but now theyre making an international disgrace of us
    An international disgrace? Really? Come on Eric. Its a bit of fun and making money. They are doing really well.

What I find laughable and indeed is some what depressing is that there is some much bitterness and hatred for two lads that are for once, in the last few years, are bringing a FUN light shining on Ireland instead of the constant depressing one we have suffered this last years - and the irony is that they get knocked for their efforts!

They are making money, they are showing Ireland in a different light than whats been broadcast in the news for the last years, they are hiring and paying Irish staff and business - especially when its now needed, they are helping create third-party revenue sources for independent product makers and they are still young and have years a head of them.

...And what does the begrudgers do?
    Cheaply sneer at them in a homophobic context as if to say, that makes all the difference so that they can be victimised!

Enough of this schite. There is bigger crap to bitch about.

lol. As if the UK were thinking, "all of ireland must be like that." Do you worry about what your neghbours think of you cos the guy 5 doors down wears a string vest??

they're just a couple of kids doing what they've always wanted to do, and they're perfect for eurovision, they've been demanding and dominating media coverage over there. Like them or loathe them, they do what they do brilliantly, and thats create buzz and entertainment.

Nobody for a second believes Ireland is "disgraced" because a couple of twins jumped about on stage while singing a song. Go on holidays in europe this summer, it will be our bail out you'll be constantly asked about. If its Jedward, you should be glad of the change of subject. The lads might just bring us an unexpected tourism boom if they win this thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Al Qaeda suicide bombers, patiently hatching their evil plot to win the Eurovision and then blow up both Obama and the Queen of England.
    Don't be fooled.

Man makes post about suicide bombers sending Jedward to Eurovision as a means of distracting the population of Ireland to the point where Al Qaeda can launch assassination attempts of the heads of state of the UK and the US. You must be a miserable c*nt like me

KeithAFC wrote: »
    An international disgrace? Really? Come on Eric. Its a bit of fun and making money. They are doing really well.

as much as I ignore the eurovision and always have, only for working in print media I wouldnt know anything about it, but in all reality, whatever about sending dana or boyzone or westlife or even at a strech crystal swing they all have some level of talent (even if its not my thing) , you may see it as a joke, but both those 2 queens and their 'fans' actually think this is serious

the last thing we need is european media announcing ireland has become a mecca for talentless hyper-camp queens. There is no logical pathway or reason I can see for how those 2 made any money doing anything except maybee hosting a really bad and short lived RTE childrens show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

orourkeda wrote: »
    Man makes post about suicide bombers sending Jedward to Eurovision as a means of distracting the population of Ireland to the point where Al Qaeda can launch assassination attempts of the heads of state of the UK and the US. You must be a miserable c*nt like me

Man totally misses the point...

:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

The more popular they are the more you hate them.
    They are the twins we all love to hate.
    Just stop talking about them, just ignore them and then they'll go away.

zuroph wrote: »
    lol. As if the UK were thinking, "all of ireland must be like that." Do you worry about what your neghbours think of you cos the guy 5 doors down wears a string vest??

they're just a couple of kids doing what they've always wanted to do, and they're perfect for eurovision, they've been demanding and dominating media coverage over there. Like them or loathe them, they do what they do brilliantly, and thats create buzz and entertainment.

Nobody for a second believes Ireland is "disgraced" because a couple of twins jumped about on stage while singing a song. Go on holidays in europe this summer, it will be our bail out you'll be constantly asked about. If its Jedward, you should be glad of the change of subject. The lads might just bring us an unexpected tourism boom if they win this thing.

A Jedward inspired tourism boom? I think I've heard it all now

Man totally misses the point...

:pac::pac::pac:

Man misses sarcasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

like my nads...bouncy and full of swimmers

Biggins wrote: »
    What I find laughable and indeed is some what depressing is that there is some much bitterness and hatred for two lads that are for once, in the last few years, are bringing a FUN light shining on Ireland instead of the constant depressing one we have suffered this last years - and the irony is that they get knocked for their efforts!

They are making money, they are showing Ireland in a different light than whats been broadcast in the news for the last years, they are hiring and paying Irish staff and business - especially when its now needed, they are helping create third-party revenue sources for independent product makers and they are still young and have years a head of them.

...And what does the begrudgers do?
    Cheaply sneer at them in a homophobic context as if to say, that makes all the difference so that they can be victimised!

Enough of this schite. There is bigger crap to bitch about.

The Germans must be loike:

"Ya, zez Irish are like taking ze money we have and zey must be all gay zoo like zis filth, Ya"

The Germans must be loike:

"Ya, zez Irish are like taking ze money we have and zey must be all gay zoo like zis filth, Ya"
    Ya-hole!

as much as I ignore the eurovision and always have, only for working in print media I wouldnt know anything about it, but in all reality, whatever about sending dana or boyzone or westlife or even at a strech crystal swing they all have some level of talent (even if its not my thing) , you may see it as a joke, but both those 2 queens and their 'fans' actually think this is serious

the last thing we need is european media announcing ireland has become a mecca for talentless hyper-camp queens. There is no logical pathway or reason I can see for how those 2 made any money doing anything except maybee hosting a really bad and short lived RTE childrens show.

So this goes back to a hatred for queens? regardless of the fact that the boys arent out, and profess a love of women (in fact, they say the whole thing is so they can woo britney spears)..

They dont take themselves too seriously at all, and their fans dont either. There's plenty of documented stories of them admitting their singing isnt the best, they know what they're doing. They've come up with a product that sells. Someone summed it up brilliantly earlier,
    Jedward are the Michael O'Leary's of the "talent industry".

Strip away all the frills, like being good looking, being able to sing, being able to dance, being able to act, and just leave the essential bit - Be entertaining.

They're ****ing gas characters, I hate them, but I can respect how well they "play the game".

They have a fantastic way of appealing to their target market, and make sure to keep them in the loop. When others were busy getting pissed last night, Jedward were uploading videos for their fans on twitter so they could feel part of the celebration. The boys are a marketing MACHINE. 40 costume changes to a 1 week event?! They're on the front of papers all over europe, twitter nearly crashed last night because of them, and IERLAND (ireland in Dutch) was trending worldwide on twitter. Bord Failte couldnt drum up that much publicity for our shores. If they go on to win it, the millions and millions it would pour into our economy could be huge.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Jedward suit the Eurovision perfect. Because the Eurovision is a joke and NOTHING more than a dumpster for terrible music and gimmicky appearances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

No what I said is right sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

Jedward are like.....two flew over the cuckoos nest!

Immature,mental, camp and car crash viewing!

They can make millions! I hope they win the bloody thing!

A Jedward inspired tourism boom? I think I've heard it all now

If they win the thing, we host the event next year. the tourism exposure is massive. Any1 listen to Darcy yesterday and today will hear how positively he spoke of dusseldorf. now imagine that on all national radio stations across europe for a few days, and cut scenes for irish tourism between every song. Aside from the direct boost the competition would bring in, the indirect boost would be massive. and yes, it'd be those little bastards fault. Jedward, possible saviors of Ireland :pac: Its always where you least expect to find it!

Yakult wrote: »
    Jedward suit the Eurovision perfect. Because the Eurovision is a joke and NOTHING more than a dumpster for terrible music and gimmicky appearances.

True, however, why would anyone who fits this bill deserve any recognition for the fact that they are appearing in a freak show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

despite being mildly annoying sometimes,it was a good performance. the intensity of the hatred seems immature to me tbh, i mean it is in the context of the eurovision after all... i dunno...

Ya-hole!

Ya, and you'll zake it, ya, and you'll like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

humberklog wrote: »
    They're like U2 just without the guff.

.. or The Edge, or the drummer, or that sinister bass player, or the wee little singer.

Ya, and you'll zake it, ya, and you'll like it.
    Yes Herr Flick! :pac:

So this goes back to a hatred for queens? regardless of the fact that the boys arent out, and profess a love of women (in fact, they say the whole thing is so they can woo britney spears)..

as explained in other threads you can be a queen and straight , im not being homophobic, but all ill say is if i had to go put a bet on their orientation id say the only interest those 2 have in women is shopping buddies

If they win the thing, we host the event next year. the tourism exposure is massive. Any1 listen to Darcy yesterday and today will hear how positively he spoke of dusseldorf. now imagine that on all national radio stations across europe for a few days, and cut scenes for irish tourism between every song. Aside from the direct boost the competition would bring in, the indirect boost would be massive. and yes, it'd be those little bastards fault. Jedward, possible saviors of Ireland :pac: Its always where you least expect to find it!

What can people learn about Dublin from the Eurovision that they do not already know? Lets not overstate this. It will pay an hour OR TWOS interest on our debts if we're lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I know it is hard to ignore the media going on about these guys, but that happens sometimes. I am also guessing you are not the target audience for their brand of entertainment. You can't just bash them though, some people/kids/mental cases/whoever, like what they do, or if not, then maybe get some sort of kick out of it. Yes, it's annoying if you have to listen to them, hear the press report on them, hear people on the street/radio/ wherever talk about them, especially if you could not give a toss. But hey, don't get to uptight about it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

To my personal taste in entertainment, they are minimally talented annoying twats. But fair play to them for having a go, and if they win, fine. Nobody thinks the Eurovision is the height of cultural acheivment. I wouldn't want to watch them though !

What can people learn about Dublin from the Eurovision that they do not already know? Lets not overstate this. It will pay an hour OR TWOS interest on our debts if we're lucky.

its exposure, it puts it in peoples heads. Like, I knew of dusseldorf, but until this week I wouldnt have thought to visit there. Now I know a lto more, and I would consider visiting. Especially for the hilarious dig they got in against England the other night.

Paying a few hours is better than not paying at all. No point in turning down free money.

as explained in other threads you can be a queen and straight , im not being homophobic, but all ill say is if i had to go put a bet on their orientation id say the only interest those 2 have in women is shopping buddies
    I know exactly what way they are individually - and even then I wouldn't make it a topic of public conversation anyway.
    Those that seem to only harp on about it, seem to me construed as be having a problem.
    Such people are best looking in the mirror to solve their own issues before cheaply trying to be salacious and bitching about others like an obvious brainless school-yard thug.

its exposure, it puts it in peoples heads. Like, I knew of dusseldorf, but until this week I wouldnt have thought to visit there. Now I know a lto more, and I would consider visiting. Especially for the hilarious dig they got in against England the other night.

Paying a few hours is better than not paying at all. No point in turning down free money.

That's not a valid reason I'd visit Dusseldorf.

I know exactly what way they are individually - and even then I wouldn't make it a topic of public conversation anyway.
    Those that seem to only harp on about it, seem to me construed as be having a problem.
    Such people are best looking in the mirror to solve their own issues before cheaply trying to be salacious and bitching about others like an obvious brainless school-yard thug.

i never brought their sexuality into it until it was mentioned, I tried very much to keep away from that, I have my thoughts on it but those are for me , and dismissing somebody in the music industry for that reason wouldmt be my thing, i said queens and another poster presumed i was being homophobic, your point definitley stands, im just clarifying their orientation has f*ck all to do with my dislike of them