Union Flag on sale in Carroll's gift shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Hince my sig. ;)

The racist confederate flag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Hmm, question for ya's. My english housemate is moving back to the uk in a while, can i get little tiny english flags in Carrolls at all for her there? Wanna do a cheese platter with little flags on them haha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I'm looking forward to seeing how many scumbags protesting during the week will be wearing Celtic jerseys!

I don't regard people who protest as scumbags; it's their right to. I just find the furore in some quarters a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Adamisconfused

blaze1 wrote: »
    Thats the best post i've seen on this dumb thread so far.......

No offence to Faceman, but the best post has already been awarded.

Bye bye da diddly dydle doodle dilly um sciddery ah diddery doodle dally doodle di dum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

bonerm wrote: »
    That's nothing. I went into Champion Sports yesterday and there was loads of English football jerseys on sale in there. I can only assume it likewise has something to do with the queens visit? :confused:

I was on Jervis street yesterday morning and there were grown Irish adults queueing to see the stars of a British football club unveiling their new jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The racist confederate flag?
    Oh that old one. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭checkyabadself

It's funny how the class of people who advocate wiping their derriere with the British flag, tend to be the sort that make an exception for the miniature Union Jack flags emblazoned on their shoe of choice for all occasions, the Reebok Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

bonerm wrote: »
    Nah it's different. The UK have been oppressing us for 800 years whereas the US have only been doing it for about 40.
    i think a certain religious order has been doing that to ireland ,a lot longer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

COYW wrote: »
    I was on Jervis street yesterday morning and there were grown Irish adults queueing to see the stars of a British football club unveiling their new jersey.

How exciting! Were there many Union flags on display at the event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

(Where do you think the word "jackeen" came from after all?)

its when the British navy was coming down the Liffey during the 1916 rising the people along the docks flew the Union Jack from their windows just in-case the navy shelled their houses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Auvers wrote: »
    its when the British navy was coming down the Liffey during the 1916 rising the people along the docks flew the Union Jack from their windows just in-case the navy shelled their houses

waaay older than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Hince my sig. ;)

Keith I hope you know that sig has implications for the african american community as well or did you pick it without thinking?

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Keith I hope you know that sig has implications for the african american community as well or did you pick it without thinking?
    So does the US Union flag, so does the Union Flag here in the UK. So does many flags. The confederates actually disbanded slavery before the US Union.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tippx

Steady now keith I thaught your were the sensible one in this thread

faceman wrote: »
    Oh its a disgrace, union jacks on this land, 800 years, blah blah, protest protest.

Right, so who's coming to the pub to watch [insert english premiership team here] after we do a bit of shopping in Tesco? Just a few pints mind you, I want to be home to watch Match Of The Day on the BBC...
    the silly fools dont know that british flags have been constantly flown in ireland ,ever since independence,the RNLI all 43 stations fly a british flag , imagine being saved by one of the lifeboats and shouting,its got a british flag on it,throw me back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Isn't that the England flag tho?

I think the average Irish yob reacts more to the sight of Union flag than to the England one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

getz wrote: »
    the silly fools dont know that british flags have been constantly flown in ireland ,ever since independence,the RNLI all 43 stations fly a british flag , imagine being saved by one of the lifeboats and shouting,its got a british flag on it,throw me back

No they don't:
    http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5304/5592731786_010f8b588b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tippx

mgmt wrote: »
    Jayus dont them lads know about offers on in Carolls this week?

mgmt wrote: »
    oh yes they do,take the opportuinity of visiting the maritime museum of ireland ,at dun laoghair,there is a section dealing with the RNLI ,there are photoes showing lifeboats flying the tricolour and the RNLI flag on each sides of the lifeboats,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

He put it up to get a reaction. He knows the racist conotations the flag carries today. He should have placed a link below it explaining the Ulster-Scots heritage and involment in the Confed States.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I remember the Umbro shop that used to be underneath Carrolls on Westmoreland street were selling England jerseys and some Loony Republican Ireland football fans rang up Joe Duffy to try and get them removed :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

KungPao wrote: »
    I bought it in the Rebel County.

I am a Jackeen though.

Cork is called "The Rebel County", because the people of Cork supported Perkin Warbeck in 1491 during the War of the Roses. Nothing to do with republicanism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Auvers wrote: »

Wiki-historians :rolleyes:

It's in Websters dictionary from 1913. First mentioned in books as far back as 1829.

So what were the Culchies up to in 1916 anyway?

He put it up to get a reaction. He knows the racist conotations the flag carries today. He should have placed a link below it explaining the Ulster-Scots heritage and involment in the Confed States.

Well putting an explantion to an action is usually to complex for racists. If he did that he would have to explain the fact that the orange order gave advice to newly set up branches of the kkk.

I don't care for the OO. Just a sign of support for the south in its fight for freedom.

I don't care for the OO

First you dont like catholics, then balcks now your telling us you dont care about boobs. seriously whens it going to end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

A must have for the Queens visit..............

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230620500557#ht_2595wt_1141

Get bidding now.

First you dont like catholics, then balcks now your telling us you dont care about boobs. seriously whens it going to end!
    Eh? I have no problem with black people. Showing support for the confederates does not make one a racist. Same with the awful treatment the British empire give out to the boers and yet you still have millions of Unionists and so on. So, i don't agree with your logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Eh? I have no problem with black people. Showing support for the confederates does not make one a racist. Same with the awful treatment the British empire give out to the boers and yet you still have millions of Unionists and so on. So, i don't agree with your logic.

absolutely not. Im just suprised at you

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confederate_Ireland

absolutely not. Im just suprised at you

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Confederate_Ireland
    :pac: Like some one said, its mostly because of the Ulster Scot influence in the south and the people who fought for them. Not your confederate Ireland lol.:P