Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Union Flag on sale in Carroll's gift shop

• 12-05-2011 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭

Today me and the missus were in Carroll's, looking for some gifts for her family (she's a fohdinner) and as we searched through
    all the green stuff, the guinness stuff, the sheep stuff etc. my heart sank. My soul just died, my face was LITERALLY drained of blood.

You see, We had popped in to purchase some products of the Emerald Isle - some things that showed the good side of this wonderful country and would perhaps show an emotion, a hint of our struggle for freedom.

Then I came across Union Flags...

Quite good value, so I bought one.

Have you got yours yet?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,994 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

nah, I prefer the triple sheet paper for wiping my hole - for that flag though, I could make an exception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

I bought my inflatable E.T. to throw at The Queen weeks ago. This will remind her of her hand in Diana's death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    nah, I prefer the triple sheet paper for wiping my hole - for that flag though, I could make an exception.

Classy as ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I fail to see the problem in this. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

It does not take devils advocate to reason that parity of esteem and respect for minorities should mean that people are as entitled to display the union flag here as others are to display the tricolour in the UK of N. Ireland and Gt. Britain ( eg at a celtic match ). I do not think we are that mature and tolerant as a nation though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

God I hate those ****ing places, nothing screams faux Irish more than one of those Paddy shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Had a wee one since about 1995.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭tippx

next time your in there ask them could they do one side with the arse wipe and tother side with steers and queers save me buyin 2 flags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

There's a little bit of Irish in the Union flag - it contains the red Saint Patrick's Cross.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

I have a large English flag with with a Union jack in one of the corners, i got it when i was in the irish navy i thought it was a great souvenir.

Hard to get around these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭hogflem

I had a similar experience with Leinster jersey's in Limerick city,I tell ya,It'd leave a foul taste in a proctophiles mouth!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭martineatworld

Products that show the good side of Ireland, in Carrolls?

"Hmmm, which would they enjoy more, this novelty Kiss me I'm Irish mug or what about this I <3 Guinness t-shirt?"

Decisions....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

KungPao wrote: »
    We had popped in to purchase some products of the Emerald Isle

Please don't call Ireland that, unless you actually open your curtains in the morning and witness this.

http://snipsnip.it/apbm1lfencz/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The mods must be having flashbacks of union flags and tricoulers at this stage :s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Please don't call Ireland that, unless you actually open your curtains in the morning and witness this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Today me and the missus were in Carroll's, looking for some gifts for her family (she's a fohdinner) and as we searched through
    all the green stuff, the guinness stuff, the sheep stuff etc. my heart sank. My soul just died, my face was LITERALLY drained of blood.

You see, We had popped in to purchase some products of the Emerald Isle - some things that showed the good side of this wonderful country and would perhaps show an emotion, a hint of our struggle for freedom.

Have you got yours yet?

you're a turn coat op. Of all times to buy a union jack.

Fook I thaught for a sec that was Bertie jiggin around up there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

Damn Carrols, had ideas of selling them myself! They got in there first...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

*PAGING MASKIKOMI TO THIS THREAD*

Cant stop playin that clip badger its crackin me up:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I genuinely thought the Carroll's in question was a newsagents in Dundalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Interesting topic. I would not take it too seriously. You get these shops and stuff like this all over the place. Im sure they sell the tri colour in the UK too and vice versa. Good thread though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Baron_Kunkel

The Jackeens were the last to take the union flag down around these parts......so why would it surprise anyone that they would be the first to put them back up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Interesting topic. I would not take it too seriously. You get these shops and stuff like this all over the place. Im sure they sell the tri colour in the UK too and vice versa. Good thread though.

Not really. Every time a fordiner team comes over to play an away match, Carrolls sell their flags.

These will be on sale for the Republic V Province match in the Aviva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The Jackeens were the last to take the union flag down around these parts......so why would it surprise anyone that they would be the first to put them back up?

That posts too serious to entertain!

Im sure they sell the tri colour in the UK too

yes , i'd imagine in the falls road you could buy them. also in parts of Glasgow.

Dont have Carrols in the uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

tippx wrote: »

They do. Carrol Vorderman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

pow wow wrote: »
    Had a wee one since about 1995.

Yeah but surely its grown since then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

gigino wrote: »
    yes , i'd imagine in the falls road you could buy them. also in parts of Glasgow.

And at most Premiership grounds on match days and at most stalls on Oxford Street in London that sell touristy stuff.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    And at most Premiership grounds on match days and at most stalls on Oxford Street in London that sell touristy stuff.
    so why the lack of tolerance of our neighbours flag here, when tricolours are openly flown in parts of the UK ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

and a lighter hopefully ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

so why the lack of tolerance of our neighbours flag here, when tricolours are openly flown in parts of the UK ?

Some people have a problem with the UK's track record of military tourism.

Ah, union flags are openly flown in many parts of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I bought it in the Rebel County.

I am a Jackeen though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

tippx wrote: »

Can't remember if the one in Belfast does Union Flags. Maybe if you know a codeword you can get a deal on a buy to burn basis. :pac:

Definitely did the Ulster banner though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Interesting topic. I would not take it too seriously.

Ah, the 'Keith Principle'.

Good sport altogether. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I was passing Patrick's Cathedral at the end of April there and outside they had the St. Patricks cross on the flagpole. The wind wasn't blowing so, it looked like St. George's cross. Said to myself "This will only cause trouble". When I was coming back out of town, some people obviously thought the same thing and it had been taken down.

darragh16 wrote: »
    I was passing Patrick's Cathedral at the end of April there and outside they had the St. Patricks cross on the flagpole. The wind wasn't blowing so, it looked like St. George's cross. Said to myself "This will only cause trouble". When I was coming back out of town, some people obviously thought the same thing and it had been taken down.

I don't think so!

Could we get a protest going over this ,Id be willin to picket Carrols in Templebar I could do say 1 hr on/week off ,and me das got a barrel in the garden with the holes in it from the big H protests in the Flats in the 90s to keep yis warm
    Open to more ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Have you got yours yet?

That's nothing. I went into Champion Sports yesterday and there was loads of English football jerseys on sale in there. I can only assume it likewise has something to do with the queens visit? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

Have you got yours yet?

Of course they're for sale in Carroll's. Mr. Carroll is a smart man and remembers the last time a queen of England came to Dublin that O'Connell St. was thronged with Dubliners waving their union jacks in adoration. (Where do you think the word "jackeen" came from after all?)
    He's obviously expecting the same response this time round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Think ill get one and hang it outside my house for the Queen's visit, why not, just to recognise her visit and all. Feck it, ill go one step further and get a nice tattoo of one I suppose. No harm done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I suspect they ran out of tricolours for people to wave in her face

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

I have cleverly intertwined an UK and Irish flag into an intricate weave pattern to celebrate the visit of the queen. My market campaign to Carrolls will begin today and soon everyone will be able to buy and enjoy their very own Trijack Uniocolour Flag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Predator_

Gardai all over Ireland are ripping down legitimate posters that that call for protest to the Queens visit. Yet Union Jacks are flying out of shops. Something wrong with this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

my face was LITERALLY drained of blood.

I find that hard to believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

Have you got yours yet?

I'm going to buy hundreds of them , and then burn them all

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Oh its a disgrace, union jacks on this land, 800 years, blah blah, protest protest.

Right, so who's coming to the pub to watch [insert english premiership team here] after we do a bit of shopping in Tesco? Just a few pints mind you, I want to be home to watch Match Of The Day on the BBC...