If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Can Gardai ask you where you're going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

yourpics wrote: »
    Yes I agree, I don't mind saying where I am going but asking me my occupation and whether I am employed or unemployed is very strange!!

The Gardai are terrible at small talk. Why do you think they go to Coppers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Yes I agree, I don't mind saying where I am going but asking me my occupation and whether I am employed or unemployed is very strange!!

It helps in many ways. If you're stopped at 2 am nowhere near your home it could be a very relevant question as to why you have a crowbar in your boot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

k_mac wrote: »
    It helps in many ways. If you're stopped at 2 am nowhere near your home it could be a very relevant question as to why you have a crowbar in your boot.

Sorry, not relevant in my case, I was half a mile from my house at 11pm and they did not search me or find any crowbars etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Sorry, not relevant in my case, I was half a mile from my house at 11pm and they did not search me or find any crowbars etc

11pm :eek: You should be at home in bed at that hour if you've got a job to get up to in the morning! :eek::D:pac: If you don't feel like answering a question about your employment status just stay calm, polite, cool pleasant and say that. They ask innocuous enough questions to see if you start tripping yourself up, contradicting yourself, getting nervous, etc. Generally speaking it's just a bit of banter to try and form an opinion of you, not any real interest in whether you're working or not.

It's the same reasoning bouncers sometimes ask you a few questions going into a pub/niteclub. They aren't really interested in where you've been or where you're coming from that night. It's to judge the manner of your reaction and response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Biggles1980

Why does everybody think the Guards have to have a power or right to do everything. He was only asking you a question! If you say "Its none of your business" with that attitude of course he's gonna get his back up, wouldn't you. They're just people doing a job. Of yourse you dont have to tell them but you could be polite about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Why does everybody think the Guards have to have a power or right to do everything. He was only asking you a question! If you say "Its none of your business" with that attitude of course he's gonna get his back up, wouldn't you. They're just people doing a job. Of yourse you dont have to tell them but you could be polite about it.

I don't see why people can't understand this very simple point.

If you give a Garda lip or refuse to co-operate of course he'll get shirty with and/or assume you have something to hide.

You know sometimes I get the impression most people would prefer them to just stand there twiddling their thumbs and let us all get away with murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

deco nate wrote: »
    cant belive anyone said this but...just tell him you are "im goin on my way"

Spot on! I was out in my mates van, a year or two back. " Halloween " night. As we passed through a little town, a Guard waved us over. May or may not have asked for my mates license. Thing is, I distinctly remember him asking; " Where ye going? "

My mate answered. without a pause and perfectly casually; " Oh, we're just heading on up the road a bit ..... "

Guard smiled and wished us a good evening. End of.

I guess it's a ploy they're taught to use. Like ~ though more extreme: " 'Mind if I look in ye boot ....?"

Sigh, shrug and say, " Help yeself. "? They probably won't bother. Start demanding ye rights? They'll start wondering if they've found Maddie!

(Wrong boot entirely, of course. They should've checked the McCann's boot, f**king years ago :rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭end a eknny

yoshytoshy wrote: »
    Most garda work at the job because it's more than just a job ,most of them are big into sports and looking after themselves.
    I've done work in some of their houses and they're always mad busy outside of work.

sure they are busy out of work they do nothing at work

You're missing the other benefits of checkpoints though. Deterring criminal movement and intel gathering to name just two.
    intelligence and gardai should never be in the same sentence

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

well done! You're a barrel of laughs!

Bosco boy wrote: »
    well done! You're a barrel of laughs!

if only i had been joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,735 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

if only i had been joking

When are you going to tell us what they caught you for ?
    Nobody could be so anti Garda on every thread without having being caught for something big. Come on now and tell us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,471 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

A capital letter at the start, and a full stop at the end should be, though.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

Ok, I'll say it..

I don't believe you.

Is that because your a self-defence head and only someone harder than you are (i.e Chuck Norris) would say something like that??

Ppfftt...

Esel wrote: »
    A capital letter at the start, and a full stop at the end should be, though.
    grammar does not indicate any level of intelligence

When are you going to tell us what they caught you for ?
    Nobody could be so anti Garda on every thread without having being caught for something big. Come on now and tell us.

have never been caught doing anything. thank god i am not that stupid. only somebody related to a gardai or from a middle class upbringing and never have any real expeirence of theem would be such a fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,870 ✭✭✭mikeruurds

grammar does not indicate any level of intelligence

What about correct use of punctuation?

have never been caught doing anything. thank god i am not that stupid. only somebody related to a gardai or from a middle class upbringing and never have any real expeirence of theem would be such a fan

In other words You were born with a chip on your shoulder (or maybe both)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,735 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not related to any Garda but i have had dealings with some of them from time to time. They solved two break-ins to my property and got belongings back for me. Always found them helpful although i did have a run in with one lad over his attitude to me. However on the whole they were fine.
    How come you are so anti if you were not caught for anything then? Must be some story behind it as many posters who have not had bad experiences don't go completely anti the way you do.

mikeruurds wrote: »
    What about correct use of punctuation?

exactly. what about it ?

Not related to any Garda but i have had dealings with some of them from time to time. They solved two break-ins to my property and got belongings back for me. Always found them helpful although i did have a run in with one lad over his attitude to me. However on the whole they were fine.
    How come you are so anti if you were not caught for anything then? Must be some story behind it as many posters who have not had bad experiences don't go completely anti the way you do.

i wouldnt say they where all bad. but i do think there should be a certain level of i.q or cop on (pardon the pun) to become a member

I believe there is. You didn't answer the question though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

I absolutely cannot stand this. I know they're doing it to check speech for indications of intoxication and to see whether there are any obvious signs of a guilty conscience or anything, but I really hate being asked. It's extremely invasive.

As anyone who has ever heard an Eircom Phonewatch radio ad will know, he was simply trying to hear whether the OP was a burglar. All burglars in this country have this distinctive raspy hoarse voice which is a dead giveaway. And if he's really suspicious of you, he may ask you to whisper something like 'The Murphys are out for the evening, lets go'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

I absolutely cannot stand this. I know they're doing it to check speech for indications of intoxication and to see whether there are any obvious signs of a guilty conscience or anything, but I really hate being asked. It's extremely invasive.

Just say so. He'll still be able to judge your speech on whatever you say.

There is an aptitude test. You should try it next time they're recruiting and see how you get on.

Just say so. He'll still be able to judge your speech on whatever you say.

There is an aptitude test. You should try it next time they're recruiting and see how you get on.

im not sure how low i can go

no seriously what are the question like
    1) is your father still in the force or did he retire
    2) if somebody rings and reports a burglary or disturbance, how long would you have to leave it to make sure it is safe to go there
    3)you only have another half hour to go and you are finished, you are five minutes from the station when you see an incident that might take up ten minutes of your time where do you look to make sure you cant see the person looking for your help
    4) you are driving down the road you meet a car overtaking another car. the car overtaking is full of scumbags and has a blank windscreen, the car been overtaken is out of tax last month which car do you stop
    5) you are going to buy something from your local diy shop. you take the squad car and go during working hours in your uniform what is the least amount of discount you would accept.
    6) you are chatting to somebody outside of work they casually ask what you do. how many questions should you ask them before you admit that you are a civil servant
    7) is there ever a social situation whereby it is ok to admit that you are a gardai.
    8) you see a young one driving past and you think bet she would love a big thick country gardai what bullsh1t excuse do you make up to get her to "step out of the vehicle"

Bitter bitter people! Get a life!

im not sure how low i can go

I say with a bit of study you'll get 0

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

no seriously what are the question like
    1) is your father still in the force or did he retire
    2) if somebody rings and reports a burglary or disturbance, how long would you have to leave it to make sure it is safe to go there
    3)you only have another half hour to go and you are finished, you are five minutes from the station when you see an incident that might take up ten minutes of your time where do you look to make sure you cant see the person looking for your help
    4) you are driving down the road you meet a car overtaking another car. the car overtaking is full of scumbags and has a blank windscreen, the car been overtaken is out of tax last month which car do you stop
    5) you are going to buy something from your local diy shop. you take the squad car and go during working hours in your uniform what is the least amount of discount you would accept.
    6) you are chatting to somebody outside of work they casually ask what you do. how many questions should you ask them before you admit that you are a civil servant
    7) is there ever a social situation whereby it is ok to admit that you are a gardai.
    8) you see a young one driving past and you think bet she would love a big thick country gardai what bullsh1t excuse do you make up to get her to "step out of the vehicle"
    In fairness that's funny enough :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

9) What GAA team do you play for?