I'm going to knock down a random cyclist the next time they skip a red light...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

They all think they're so great with their eco-friendly, health conscious way to get to work. But in general they're the biggest scumbag, inconsiderate road users you're ever likely to come across. Now that it's the time of the year again where it's warm even if it's raining every asshole with a bike decides to 'beat the traffic' of 'get a little more exercise in'.

I drive a scooter - i know, equally annoying sometimes - and over the last 3-4 weeks I've seen some cyclists do some pretty dangerous and annoying s'hit...but top of my list is going through lights that have just turned red: YOU ARE NOT IN A MOTOR PROPELLED VEHICLE. You are going slower than the traffic and the lights for the other side of the junction will have turned green before you pass! IDIOT!

Now, seeing as i drive a scooter I accelerate away quite quickly from what is usually the front of the junction. 3 times out of the last 2 weeks I've almost went straight into a cyclist - there wont be a fourth. I, the bigbiffo, solemnly swear that the next ham-headed, ignorant, inconsiderate f'uckwit on a bicycle who thinks they're going fast enough to beat a red light light will be run down by me - I am braking no more.

Am I right to cause (what should be minor physical injury) to random f'uckwits on bikes (like, get a real mode of transport) just to prove a point? Oh, and I'm calling on all other moped, scooter, motorbike users too...maybe a few knocks off the 2 wheelers at the top of the traffic will spread the word amongst the hippies...

And next time some sap on a hairdryer or a car pulls out halfway into the road WHEN I have the green light I'll be doing the damage and If you dont want me to brake back the F*CK back into your own lane until its your turn...

I'd probably do more damage to your bike if you hit me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

but for me, i see cyclists do it every week!
    I call shenanigans on this. I probably do as much if not more km on my bicycle than you do on your scooter, and I've never once seen another cyclist kick or otherwise attack someone's car. It happens, I'm sure of it, but it's a very rare occurence unless your "every week" claim refers to one psycho individual on your commute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

well as a scooterist (200cc vespa gt). i think all two wheelers should stand united against taxi drivers, cycle couriers and white van drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

seamus wrote: »
    I call shenanigans on this. I probably do as much if not more km on my bicycle than you do on your scooter, and I've never once seen another cyclist kick or otherwise attack someone's car. It happens, I'm sure of it, but it's a very rare occurence unless your "every week" claim refers to one psycho individual on your commute.

do you cycle in Dublin city centre yeah?

now ok, every week was artistic licence - but hand on my heart i would say i've seen a cyclist get agressive every couple of weeks and very frequently kick or slap a car that's done something said cyclist doesn't like.

the last few weeks i've seen a disproportionate amount of idiot cyclists - must be the change of weather...

AndyGarcia wrote: »
    This has just made me feel all warm and fuzzy, fair play to the skanger

On anotehr note apparently cyclists go through red lights for their own saftey well according to post #223 point 3 http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056258656&page=15

I actually went to the bother of finding point 3 of post 223 in the thread you linked and that's not what was said at all.
    3. Most of us don't break red lights. It's unfair to assume we do, just as it would be unfair for me to assume all drivers are irresponsible jerks just because someone drives through after the light goes red at more or less every single junction on the N11 every single day. Some people are dangerous jerks (although there are spots where a cyclist is breaking the rules for their own safety; witness anyone going as far as they can in front of the cars at the top of the queue to avoid getting mixed up in the cars while trying to get the bike going) whether they're on cars or bikes; most of us are grand.

Going slightly ahead of the stop line so that the driver of the HGV behind you can definitely see you is not quite the same as proceeding through the junction when the light is red now is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

now ok, every week was artistic licence - but hand on my heart i would say i've seen a cyclist get agressive every couple of weeks and very frequently kick or slap a car that's done something said cyclist doesn't like.

the last few weeks i've seen a disproportionate amount of idiot cyclists - must be the change of weather...

I commute into Dublin city centre every day, and this is something i haven't seen in months. Maybe the odd time, i'd see one madman doing something ridiculous, but it's very infrequent.

I just dont think it's as common as you make out. Maybe there's just some psychos on your route;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Drive a tank instead and run over everything! Traffic lights included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm surprised at the realtively small showing of the velo-stapo so far.

Hasn't the bat signal went out yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

deathrider wrote: »
    Drive a tank instead and run over everything! Traffic lights included.

Done it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Oh I can relate. There is quite a few times I'd like to give a car driver a piece of my mind. Since I've started cycling I've been run off the road by cars changing lanes, by cars pulling out in front of me, by cars overtaking me and immediately turning left. I've been clipped and rear ended. I've had more incidents which could have easily ended in my death that most road users will have in their lifetime. And I'll admit to a couple being my fault when I first started cycling, but not in years now. So yes, when I see a motorist acting stupidly it pisses me off, not that I go around hitting their cars mind you.

Ignorant cyclists are primarily a danger to themselves. Ignorant motorists are a danger to everybody around them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭reprazant

AndyGarcia wrote: »
    According to the thread over in Communting and transport about cycle lanes you are one of very very very few that use cycle lanes, apparently they are too bumpy and too full of glass to be cycled in

Depends on the cycle lanes.

Some are in grand shape, some, like the ones on the N11, are nothing short of death traps, full of glass, breaking apart and in front of driveways where cars pull out blindly.

I am guessing though that you have used them though from the snarky tone of your voice.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

If you see a someone breaking the law why don't you call the gardaí? We do it, dangerous driver nearly kills a cyclist, call garda station, garda calls to drivers house, he gets a bit of a fright, all good. If the cyclist has any distinctive features like a club jersey or name of courier company report him.

I know you're going to respond with something like, they whizz at twice the speed of light and you can't make it out or the gardaí do nothing (which is horsesheet).

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

reprazant wrote: »
    Depends on the cycle lanes.

Some are in grand shape, some, like the ones on the N11, are nothing short of death traps, full of glass, breaking apart and in front of driveways where cars pull out blindly.

I am guessing though that you have used them though from the snarky tone of your voice.

I never use cycle lanes, most of them are not fit for purpose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Fcucking hate cyclists..stupid looking tools with thier "five hard bannanas" headgear and hi-viz vest over a rucksack.

Too poor to buy a car and too mean to take the bus,**** the lot of em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Not that I jump red lights, but you'll have to catch me first OP, I will beat any form of transport in built up traffic, barr possiblly another cyclist. A 10kg bike is way more manoverable than any moped.

And if you do get near me, i'm defending my self with my mini pump and the metal cleats on the soles of my shoes.

:p

This whole post should be taken in jest. I'm not one of those crazy cyclists.

Knasher wrote: »

Ignorant cyclists are primarily a danger to themselves. Ignorant motorists are a danger to everybody around them.

So by the same token, a driver of a small car can get away with acting more stupidly than the driver of an articulated truck?

All road users (from truck drivers right down to pedestrians) have a duty not to act like selfish fools without trying to excuse themselves on the basis of whataboutery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

I commute into Dublin city centre every day, and this is something i haven't seen in months. Maybe the odd time, i'd see one madman doing something ridiculous, but it's very infrequent.

I just dont think it's as common as you make out. Maybe there's just some psychos on your route;)

was trying to count actually, in the last about a month - one guy going down the hill toward the brazen head kicked the back door of a taxi for changing lanes, another guy banged the bonnet of a car who cut into him (very slowly) in traffic on Dame St (like, it only caused the cyclist to slow down and get closer to the kerb) and another guy had an altercation (i didnt see about what) with a woman at Leeson St bridge who, when he had to stop beside her at the next lights leaned on the bonnet of her car the entire time with his hand instead of dismounting (something sinister about that - it's like invading her space if you're hearing me).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yep. About 5,000km/year of it on top of other non-city mileage.

I can hand-on-heart say that I've never seen another cyclist attack a car. Except for a vague memory of a guy who banged on the side of a car that was pulling in on top of him. Or that may have been me.

The only time I've seen a wing mirror being hit was when I did it. By accident. And I went back and fixed it.
    I've seen a disproportionate amount of idiot everything. I think it's the return of the school run.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

... Am I right to cause (what should be minor physical injury) ...

Really? You can pick the injuries you can cause when knocking down someone? That's handy. Sure it's not like anyone has ever died just by hitting their head on the ground or anything.

Having said that, I may be against assault, but I'm still a big fan of Darwin's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

stovelid wrote: »
    So by the same token, a driver of a small car can get away with acting more stupidly than the driver of an articulated truck?

All road users (from truck drivers right down to pedestrians) have a duty not to act like selfish fools without trying to excuse themselves on the basis of whataboutery.
    Absolutely and I take that duty seriously.
    But as a road user I'd take an ignorant car driver any day of the week over an ignorant truck driver. Car drivers have a much larger margin of error than truck drivers and cyclists have a much much larger margin of error than either of them, it's basic physics.

Degsy wrote: »
    Fcucking hate cyclists..stupid looking tools with thier "five hard bannanas" headgear and hi-viz vest over a rucksack.

I own a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

stovelid wrote: »

It's a shame then isn't it that most Dublin drivers act lime selfish fools when it comes to traffic lights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

Wossack wrote: »
    green light means proceed if way is clear - not plough on regardless

and red light means stop, unless it is not safe to do so. Wearing spandex does not mean it is not safe to stop.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 141 ✭✭moomooman

KH25 wrote: »
    I don't drive so I've never had problems with cyclists in that respect but as a pedestrian Im absolutely sick of cyclists thinking they have a right to continue through red lights. I realise not everybody does it but I see it happen pretty much everyday.

Keep in mind that a lot of junctions now have seperate lights for bikes, it goes green for bikes and pedestrians at the same time while its red for everyone else. At least this is the case on my route to work.

Everyday I'm certain motorists think I'm running a red light but I'm actually following the rules.... :rolleyes:

Knasher wrote: »
    Absolutely and I take that duty seriously.
    But as a road user I'd take an ignorant car driver any day of the week over an ignorant truck driver. Car drivers have a much larger margin of error than truck drivers and cyclists have a much much larger margin of error than either of them, it's basic physics.

While you are obviously correct, I think many people use the comparision to excuse bad road behaviour (I'm not saying you do).

I used to cycle a lot myself (don't now as I work too far from home) and I honestly think a lot of cyclists do like that transport choice because of the lack of legal consequqnces for time-saving acts of covenience like breaking lights and riding on the pavement.

Nobody is ever going to admit that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Time for my serious post. For those who give out about cyclists attacking a car just for being cut up, or being pushed towards to kerb. I have lost count the number of times I have been cut up, both in London (used to do a daily commute there), and in small town or rural Ireland. Have never attacked a car yet, but still managed to get a mouthfull of abuse when gestured to them to watch where they are going.

Thankfully have always been able to manover or brake in time, however this is one of the most common ways that city cyclists are killed when being pushed against the kerb and getting caught under car/bus wheels.

I have seen cyclists knocked off their bikes a number of times, in various traffic situations, sometimes the cyclist has been at fault, sometimes the driver, In all cases, the cyclist has came off alot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

Degsy wrote: »

I really hope that you're trolling...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

I never use cycle lanes, most of them are not fit for purpose.

Trying to picture the same analogy for a motorist. I never use roads, most of them are not fit for purpose.

Now i have a hover car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Mensch Maschine

Whether you're on a bike, driving a car or driving a scooter. You are a ****. Yes, I'm taking to you who breaks the lights and you who doesn't indicate when I'm crossing the road.

steve9859 wrote: »
    It's a shame then isn't it that most Dublin drivers act lime selfish fools when it comes to traffic lights!

You should be a Northern Ireland politican.

Nobody should be pointing the finger at other incomptent road users to justify themselves being selfish or dangerous on the road.

Even when you can get away with selfsh behaviour because it's not illegal (or enforced) why not just think of other road users and, you know, don't be a dick?