Have you ever been in a fight?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I'm a short bitch, but I am pure firey. I won't ever start a fight, but you can be sure that i'll never walk away from one.

I would rather get my face knocked into last year, than show some scumbag that they frightened me.

They can break my bones but they'll never break my spirit.

The last fight I was in would have been last summer(09). Some tramp had hit me with a bottle and I 6 months pregnant (unprovoked, she was drunk as it was the leaving cert results night, and i was stone cold sober. she decided to lamp me with a bottle because she didnt want to wait in line for a free toilet cubicle). Met her out the following summer and enjoyed rubbing her face in the ground. She didn't even remember who I was. :rolleyes:

Worst one I got into was in school. In 6th year, these 3 "right funny wans" thought they were hilarious, and decided they would pick on me. Probably because I was smaller than them (8 inches shorter than the tallest one!)
    They had broken into my locker and had stolen my stuff. They had text a freak from the boys school using my name to send obscene messages for weeks before I found out about them. They never "bullied" me to my face.

The morning after my locker was broken into, and my stuff stolen, I was walking down the corridor to class, and one of them started laughing and asked me if i had found my stuff. I dropped my school bag, walked back and laid into her. I punched her in the face, and went to land a second one, but she moved and my fist went into the lockers. Nevertheless, I was no quitter, and went about choking her, despite my wrist bone being chipped. My art teacher pulled me off her and my PE teacher had to take me to a+e for an xray. I was suspended for that too.

She wasn't long about leaving me alone after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭paddy0090

Got in one in Australia about a year ago. Didn't start it, just intervene. About 10 lads from Wexford starting on an English lad. One of them was a boxer, give me a broken nose, a dislocated shoulder, and a broken rib :(

Wexford....the land of knackers and strawberries!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I was in Oakland, California a couple of years back. Hopped onto a bus and sat near the back. Some guy asked me would I like to have my shoes shined, I replied "How much for a spit shine" and then he got thick with me for some reason. He started accusing me of being a racist.
    Anyways we squared up, I ended up going to the front of the bus to avoid a fight. People were heckling me and some old woman tried to calm the situation down. The guy in question wasn't having it though, I mouthed off to him and then he got up and went for me. Anyways that was it, I got up and slapped the *hit out of him. I heard the guy had to have the amblamps called because he was leaking blood. Also, some bit*h nicked my bag :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Rds1989 wrote: »
    And how did it turn out? My last fight was when i was 12, it started because a guy who was bullying me for about a year decided to trip me while walking into the class, i fell over got up punched him twice he started crying and he never bothered me again for 5 years. I don't advocate fighting and certainly now i wouldnt do it but what is your experience.
    i don't advocate either, but what has to be done - has to be done. touch my property or family and i rip you apart no matter how big you are - that covers everything pretty much.

i, on the other hand, don't attract troubles myself for some weird reason :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Stupidest fight I've ever had was last (2010) March. It was with a concrete wall. Broke all the knuckles in my right hand after punching it. The old man watched me do it and nearly went for me himself. Still brings it up to this day whenever he wants a slagging match. I tried to claim that my fist print was on the wall for a while too. :rolleyes:

Fight I'm least proud of was with a former best mate NYE 2010. Friendship was on the rocks to say the least, but it completely spiralled out of control that night. Our entire group of friends was out in Waterford. D turns to his ex and says some sarky comment that made her burst into tears. I told him to grow up, to which he replied it was none of my business (he was right). Words were exchanged and it all got over heated. I grabbed him round the throat and hit him a clean punch to the jaw. (Not trying to be a hero here btw). He hit the deck. I can't even claim I was locked because I left before the bouncers even had the chance to kick me out. Completely my fault and lost a good mate over it. He had some dental expenses as a result and wouldn't let me cover them either.

Only fight I'm glad I got involved in is one where I got my ass handed to me in Temple Bar trying to stop three guys kicking someone on the floor. I'd like to say I took two of them out and the third hit me a sucker punch :rolleyes: but I don't remember. Woke up the next day in my bed with a broken nose and covered in blood from the night before. A mate of mine had found me sitting on the street completely incoherent and covered in blood, and brought me home. Later found out that your man wasn't too badly injured and that the lads got bored of using me as a punching bag and f*ed off. I reckon a broken nose and a ruined shirt was alright price to stop someone being kicked to death. Hope the guy would do it for me too.

Once got punched from behind by a guy who was covered in IRA tatooes outside doyles. Wasn't worth the hassle of retaliation.

Not sure I agree with the view that being a big guy ensures you don't get hassle, rather the opposite. I'm 6'2 and about eighteen stone. It's not all muscle but it's certainly not all fat either. I often get so called hard men looking to prove a point in pubs and clubs by 'taking the big guy out'. It's lose lose and always ruins a night. If you ignore them, their dicks get bigger and they aggrevate you more, if you deck them you're a pr*ck for picking on someone smaller than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

I fought the law and the law won.

Seriously though, half the time lads get into fights is because of defending someone else, usually a woman in my experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Yeah a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Probably hundreds.

Nothing to boast about, violence is an ugly thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭swordofislam

Last fight was 5 year ago a fellow gave it the old verbals i told him to **** off he loafed me and told me he was going to stab me and i punished him, funny thing was the bouncer span us both out of the shop quick as lightning and did nothing else. He certainly didn't intervene to protect the kid. I feel guilty because I don't know for certain that he had a knife and he got too much of a beating.

Funniest was I was working in a shop this lad called me a paki (stereotypical) I jumped the counter and started hitting him. He legged it and I let him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Dj

Happened me once, heres my story

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

This type of thread draws out a lot of fantasists and braggarts, the reality is that the margins of ''winning'' or ''losing'' in these situations are ridiculously slim, remember that young lad the champion kick boxer in Dundalk who was killed recently.

All it takes is your head to hit the kerb, or a blow to strike you in a certain way on the temple or jaw to render you dead or good as, and no one has eyes in the back of their head and only one pair of arms and legs regardless of your size, loudness of your voice, martial arts expertise, years spent in the Defence Forces etc.

Only fight if you have to, to defend life, limb or family, if not necessary walk away and live to see your grandchildren.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Mankyspuds

wow.., its been a good while, spent my twenties avoiding/dragging/defending my mates in/out of fights/potential fights.

The reason for that was when i was seventeen I got an unmerciless hiding from two travellers(both pretty pissed), they were both a quality 3-4 yrs older than I was. I was standing at a bus stop (waiting for the 75 bus in Stillorgan) on my own and these two lads were looking for a warm up match.

Here is how it happened (I remember it vividly)

Trav 1 - HERE! what time the bus at..

Me - about 20 past (10.20pm)

Trav 2 - WHAT TIME!!

Me - twenty past ten....

- BOX TO THE FACE

numerous kicks and digs and I am being scooped up into an ambulence a half an hour later. (Many thanks to the taxi driver who stopped them)

Two days in hospital - two black eyes, four broken ribs, broken nose, fractured jaw, knee ligaments fúcked and two teeth knocked out. Missed my mocks(heartbroken)

I reckon I got two digs in (at most).

It was quite a learning curve.

BTW, I am not the sort to ditch close friends (no way!) but I am also not the sort who is gonna jump in and start throwing digs for a friend if they start a scrap for no reason, if they do that they can fúck off...

anyway... my two cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

I annoyed a friend so much that he hit me. I was drunk and deserved it so didnt hit him back.

I hit a mate because he was being a thick and couldnt walk away from an obvious wind up. He didnt hit me back, he admitted that he deserved it and if it wasnt for me dragging him away and hitting him myself that the other lad probably would have murdered his drunk self.

I was hit randomly by some absolute bastard. He was big, I was small.. I ran - No shame.

I'v been called a **** the odd time by gobshítes that are just looking for fights, tonight being another instance.

Some people ask for fights, fully deserve to be slapped.. but to be honest, its best to keep clench your jaw, stand tall and walk on. Youve more to live for than the average scumbag :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Just you and the other mooks with short attention spans.

Or a limited spoofing range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

paddy0090 wrote: »

Don't start generalising now. You will get knackers like that in every county.

But yes the strawberries are lovely :D

bayern282 wrote: »
    This type of thread draws out a lot of fantasists and braggarts, the reality is that the margins of ''winning'' or ''losing'' in these situations are ridiculously slim, remember that young lad the champion kick boxer in Dundalk who was killed recently.

Poor lad, may he rest in peace.

Kicked to death;
    Gardaí investigating the murder of Niall Dorr, from Avondale Park in Dundalk, believe up to six people were involved in the fatal assault.

source
    All it takes is your head to hit the kerb, or a blow to strike you in a certain way on the temple or jaw to render you dead or good as

One of my biggest fear's when working the door.
    and no one has eyes in the back of their head and only one pair of arms and legs regardless of your size, loudness of your voice, martial arts expertise, years spent in the Defence Forces etc.

Whilst its almost impossible to replicate violence in a martin arts club, ie the intent to serious injure isn't there, and we're government by a set of rules which we must train/fight in - depending on the style most martial arts will (in the majority of cases) give you the edge over an untrained person, it (the style) should certainly give you the tools to allow you escape serious injury and exit the scene if you wish.

If anyone is interested in martial arts as a self defence for the street one of the moderators'Yomchi' in the Self Defence & Martial Arts forum is a mine of information & runs a very good 'reality based combatives' club in Dublin.
    Only fight if you have to, to defend life, limb or family, if not necessary walk away and live to see your grandchildren.

The problem with that is that sometimes you'll find yourself facing someone who is intend on fighting, or your the random victim of a street/bar assault.

Or in the case of that young kickboxer, the odd's are stacked against you - six against one, your pretty much f**ked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

msthe80s wrote: »
    I'm a lady, you see, and most ladies don't get into physical fights.
    However.

This girl in secondary school took my chair one day, and I slapped her hard across the face.

Felt good.
    Showed her not to take my chair.

Bitch.

lol you go girl!

one fight.in secondary school and i lost when he got me in a headlock and i surrendered.most of the school were watching.jeez :(

im not a fan of fighting tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

Not yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

paddy0090 wrote: »
    Got in one in Australia about a year ago. Didn't start it, just intervene. About 10 lads from Wexford starting on an English lad. One of them was a boxer, give me a broken nose, a dislocated shoulder, and a broken rib :(

I'm going to be very offended when I stop laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Been in a few but I always manage to get away. Had some scumbag in Dundalk try and take my face off with a broken bottle 2 weekends ago. Thank god for the taxi driver who stopped for us.

The way I look at it is, I have a lot more to lose than some little pikey who grew up in a sh1t estate with sh1tty, 20 johnny blues per day parents who we're probably knick knacks themselves.

Walk away if you can, because there's nothing more dangerous than somebody with nothing to lose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭jgr12

The last fight I was in would have been last summer(09)

But its 2011, holy sh*t, they really did knock you into last year:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭SellingJuan

I have one rule if I am to get in a fight and that is let him strike first... then if it ever gets serious and police etc are called "Self Defence"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Aye. I remember a bunch of nationalists came down to the petrol station which was near our school, about 40+ people fighting, those auld gaelic bats are hard lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Poor lad, may he rest in peace.

Kicked to death;

source

One of my biggest fear's when working the door.

Whilst its almost impossible to replicate violence in a martin arts club, ie the intent to serious injure isn't there, and we're government by a set of rules which we must train/fight in - depending on the style most martial arts will (in the majority of cases) give you the edge over an untrained person, it (the style) should certainly give you the tools to allow you escape serious injury and exit the scene if you wish.

If anyone is interested in martial arts as a self defence for the street one of the moderators'Yomchi' in the Self Defence & Martial Arts forum is a mine of information & runs a very good 'reality based combatives' club in Dublin.

The problem with that is that sometimes you'll find yourself facing someone who is intend on fighting, or your the random victim of a street/bar assault.

Or in the case of that young kickboxer, the odd's are stacked against you - six against one, your pretty much f**ked.

Used to be bullied in school until I took up weight lifting and boxing, later I took up sprinting. The latter probraly served as better protection during anyfight. Another problem I had is when I started to get bulked up ( I was never huge) people would pick fights with me just to prove a point to themselves. In all honest if the odds were stacked agisnt me I would have no problem using a weapon to even up the odds.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Used to be bullied in school until I took up weight lifting and boxing, later I took up sprinting. The latter probraly served as better protection during anyfight. Another problem I had is when I started to get bulked up ( I was never huge) people would pick fights with me just to prove a point to themselves. In all honest if the odds were stacked agisnt me I would have no problem using a weapon to even up the odds.

Ok, good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Gigabytes

Haven't been in a fight in years, i'm not the type to start any hassle but wouldn't be shy in standing my ground if constantly provoked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Gator

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Ok, good stuff.

Thanks for that nice chat!