Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been in a fight?

• 05-05-2011 1:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭

And how did it turn out? My last fight was when i was 12, it started because a guy who was bullying me for about a year decided to trip me while walking into the class, i fell over got up punched him twice he started crying and he never bothered me again for 5 years. I don't advocate fighting and certainly now i wouldnt do it but what is your experience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

ya ive been in loads and probably will be in more in the future. the last one i had was with my house mate. i battered him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

A friend got drunk and started on me (in my own house) over something I said to him a few weeks back, instead of talking to me about it he let it gnaw at him and then got brave with a few drinks on him. Didn't end too well for him had him on the ground in seconds, Pulled him up and asked him if he was done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

A few. I think its almost impossible for a male to grow in Ireland and not be involved in fights, I've never started one but I've still been dragged into some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

paky wrote: »
    ya ive been in loads and probably will be in more in the future. the last one i had was with my house mate. i battered him

Paky, no fixed abode... nevvvvah! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I was never in a fight.. always somehow manage to talk my way out of confrontations before they escalate. I was jumped by a couple of lads on a night out before but that can't possibly be considered a fight

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

If course you all won your fights, we believe you... :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, been in a few. Sometimes thru work, sometimes just in a bar etc.
    I honestly never start the fight but do try and talk my way out of them. Sadly that method fails sometimes.
    Some people just want to fight and thats it.

How did such events turn out?
    Well I'm still here and still a pain in the backside to my wife!
    (yes, I can see the jokes possibly coming from that last statement!) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

Yea these couple of scumbags started to piss outside my mate's house just when we were across the road, went over to kindly tell them to fúck off, but seeing as they were off their heads they wanted a fight.

Fast forward to them scampering off and me realising I needed stitches over my eye.

Contrary to what this sounds like, I absolutely hate fighting, I don't see what it accomplishes in the long run. But then again, if someone hits me, I will fight back, hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I'm fighting pussies most weekends. I'm such a dick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

last time i was in a fight wsa almost ten years ago now. long story short i discovered a guy trying to rape someone and beat the head off him. i still say fighting is a horrible thing and should be avoided at all costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Yup a few

A few scars, chipped teeth and off coloured knuckles remain as evidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Teenage years in boxing club, lost some, won most. Tried Karate for a while and got battered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

A few when i was a kid, but sure they're hardly considered fights... just boys being boys !

Not really the clubbing/pubbing type so i dont really put myself in those situations often, last time i was in a "fight" was just big group brawl, busted a few chavs and got stabbed/glassed on the hand for my troubles... good times...

Newry's a bit of a ****hole in fairness, always a few groups of d!ckheads running about... guess its the same everywhere tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I'm a lady, you see, and most ladies don't get into physical fights.
    However.

This girl in secondary school took my chair one day, and I slapped her hard across the face.

Felt good.
    Showed her not to take my chair.

Bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Last one was a few months ago with my mate. First time we ever had a physical fight. I battered him. Unfortunately it was in The USA and the Police were called.

It was very scary and a rude awakening from the time the two patrol cars arrived....not a good Idea to get into a fight over there :-(

Wouldn't mind but I've never been in any sort of fight etc... In Ireland where the Gardai had to become involved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

14, some lad bullying me at school and jabbed me with a hurley.
    Grabbed it off him and gave him two right whacks with it
    Problems solved, never bothered me again
    It's grand to turn the other cheek but some view inaction as weakness.

Last time took a punch off a homeless guy in Eyre Sq in Galway to the back off the head, my back was turned. Not 2am in the morning, more like 2pm on a sunny afternoon
    Junkies in Dublin never bother me at all. Give me junkies any day over those winos in Galway. Fairgreen Hostel right off Eyre Sq so they're around.
    He got knocked down but he weighed maybe five stone more then me so I took a few punches and I'm weak as piss but I did knock him over eventually
    Gardai arrived, statement taken, nothing ever done, yer man went to England I'm told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Not a fight, more of a "you've been warned ye ****" type situation.

14 years old, sitting in class a couple rows from the back.

For whatever reason (boredom most likely), was looking out the window and turned my head slightly to have a look behind me. One lad who I had never really spoken to before nor had any issue with, noticed me just as I looked in his general direction, to which he said: "**** you lookin' at? Fat ****" and proceeds to laugh along with the chap beside him.

I turned back around facing the front, trying to register what had just been said to me and why. It wasn't the first time someone had had a cheap dig at my weight (was fairly chubby from about 12 to around 15 years old) so it was nothing new, but didn't hurt any less.

So after a minute or so of mulling it over, I casually stood up, turned around and walked towards the back of the class, making it look like I was headed for my locker.

The chap fortunately was looking the other way so didn't notice me walking past him. I stood behind him, picked up one of the empty seats, one of those cheap, plastic yokes with the metal legs, and proceeded to belt him over the head with it until the teacher managed to get down the back to restrain me.

Prick never said boo to me again, I was suspended for a week and it was one of the happiest school days of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Last proper fight I was in was about 4-5 years ago over a little dickhead harrasing a girl I knew in a club. I walked away with a red mark on my forehead (his misplaced headbutt :pac:) and he was ran out of town with a bust nose and half the club after him when they found out what he was doing to the girl.

I always stay away from fighting since it only leads to the hospital or a nice day in court paying a fine out through your arse. This was a once-off scenario where I had to do something and nobody else was seeing it happen.

Was in plenty of fights as a teen but that was stupid shìt compared to the real damage you can do as a drink-fuelled adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭GaelMonfils

got seven shades of sh1t kicked out of me years ago in college. Im not normally a fighter but 18 shots of aftershock seemed to turn me into one! Was chatting up (aka - slobbering all over) some cailin deas and when her boyfriend and his mates arrived, they wasnt too happy about it. So, being the brave lad, i challenged them to a fight.

Things didnt end so heroically. Woke up the next day in bed with a broken rib, a fully closed eye, a hairline fracture in my skull and a size 10 boot print on my face! Worst/best sh1t kicking i ever got. Havent looked for one since:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

got hopped by 4 lads and bottled repeatedly around the head, luckily the bottle didnt break. got accused of doing a knick-knack while walking home for a local garage slightly drunk. it only stopped when a fella came rushing out of his house waving a sweeping brush. my face/head were in bits for weeks with brusing. does that count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

First and last fight I was ever in was when I was in fifth class and my best friend had become friends with a girl in fourth class that I hated. I went up to the fourth class girl, grabbed her fringe and pulled, the I ran away with a hand full of fringe hair.

Steal my friend and I will steal your fringe - I was a strange child!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭amandaf675

Been in a few fights but most of the time there broken up before they got nasty except for one in school!
    She was bout 5 foot nothing and came over and started shouting the odds so i told her to get outta my face and she went to hit me! then i seen red and its a blank! All i know is, she wasnt in school that day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Yes I was in a fight and I guess "I won"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

amandaf675 wrote: »
    Been in a few fights but most of the time there broken up before they got nasty except for one in school!
    She was bout 5 foot nothing and came over and started shouting the odds so i told her to get outta my face and she went to hit me! then i seen red and its a blank! All i know is, she wasnt in school that day :)

So who the hell did you hit? Did you just imagine her in your blind rage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭amandaf675

So who the hell did you hit? Did you just imagine her in your blind rage?

Ah It was before School :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Was at a house party that got out of hand a few months ago, basically some wánker got smart with me, as he'd done a few times before, but this time it escalated and we started throwing boxes - now i'm not usually a fighter but i'm well able to handle myself, and i'd be reasonably confident in a one on one situation with anyone, and this fúcker was no exception - only he also had a load of mates with him and most of them also turned on me!
    Suffice it to say, any ideas i had that i am infact the reincarnation of bruce lee and able to handle any 10 men, were quickly laid to rest! I was punched, kicked, stomped, bitten (yes bitten!) eyes gouged, choked to the point where i could feel myself about to pass out, pelted with glasses/cups and so on and basicaly battered and where it not for the intervention of my girlfriend who got her arm broke in the process, it could have been a lot worse - (she's a keeper:D)
    I didn't do too badly considering - i left at least a couple of broken noses, swollen jaws and a very smashed up house behind me (it was the assholes house - i hope it cost a fortune if you're reading, you fúcking scumbag)

Lesson to be learned is always trust your instincts - i thought this guy and his brother were dicks when i first met them, the type that always seem to find trouble "through no fault of theirs:rolleyes:" - but due to a tenuous family connection i stupidly convinced myself they wouldn't be dicks with me, big mistake!

The family tie kinda has my hands tied as to what to do next....but it won't always be that way and i've got a long memory and a world class capacity to hold a grudge.
    I WILL have my revenge one day, mwa ha ha ha ha ha:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Not since primary school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Not in a few years,last time was outside the old Eamon Doran's in Temple Bar,this fella was pushing and slapping his girlfriend,so I went over just to tell him to calm down,but he turned on me and unfortunately so did his gang of 4 or 5 mates.I remember one fella punched me in the side of the face and I hit the ground,then I just remember the boots coming in so I tried cover my head as best I could.

When I came to a few minutes later there was a Garda standing over me telling me not to move that there was an ambo coming.Ended up with a bad concussion and a badly bruised jaw,could only eat mashed banana's and ready brek for about a month!I avoid fights like the plague now,just not worth it.If I see something bad I just ring the Gardai.

Luckily I'm a pretty big lad so nobody usually gives me hassle anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭tonysea

A lot of chest beating on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

No, my penis is bigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Wouldn't call it a fight per se, but when I was 19 or 20 myself and some friends were outside a chipper in a random midland town when these 3 guys came over to us.
    "Give us a sup of your yoke" said the leader who looked like a total headcase - he was referring to my friend's can of coke.
    When my friend meekly handed it over he drank it off.
    "Give us your chips" he said to one of my other friends.
    This (braver/more stupid) friend refused and swiftly walked away with the rest of the lads quickly dispersing.
    I may have been slightly drunk and unaware of the situation but I suddenly found myself surrounded by these 3 guys with none of my (supposed) friends in sight.
    The headcase guy was shouting after my friend with the chips that he was "a dead man".
    Then he turned around and noticed me still stupidly standing there, realization slowly dawning on me that this was not the ideal spot to be.
    He gripped me by the shoulders and said "I want his fu*king name and address" - meaning my friend with the chips I presume.
    Now at this stage I should have drawn him a map to his house or perhaps offered to bring him there myself but (and again I blame this on the drink) I said "I've never seen that man before in my life".
    Well Headcase didn't like this obvious bit of sarcasm one little bit.
    He grabbed my tighter around the shoulders and proceeded to give me an all out head butt.
    Now, obviously the next thing I should remember is waking up in intensive care - but I was in luck.
    Headcase was quite a bit taller than me and when he proceeded to launch his headbut my preservation instincts took over and I ducked my head. The result was he ended up mainly smashing his nose into the top of my head.
    It hardly hurt me at all (the drink again - hurrah!) but 'Headcase' stumbled back with a curse holding his nose which (I think) had started to bleed and fell to one knee.
    One of his mates (both of whom had remained dangerously silent thought) looked at me and then tried the most feared fighting move in existence- the deadly scissors kick.
    Now to be honest, a punch would have worked much better - but even now - I kinda admire his audacity in trying such a move.
    Again instinct took over as I jerked back from the attempted assault I actually felt the breeze his foot created as it passed millimeters from my face.
    Whether it was because he assumed he'd make contact with something I don't know but he got his landing all wrong and stumbled backwards falling over and smacking his head into the windowpane of the chippers.
    Now there was just me and one of them.
    We both looked at each other for a couple of seconds - but it felt like time stood still - could I see respect in his eyes? fear? confusion?.
    Then, the spell was broken and I legged it.
    Caught up with my friends later- they had been getting worried about me (or so they said the cowardly [EMAIL="b@stards"]b@stards[/EMAIL]) and told them the story.

Never saw those other guys again - thank Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

i have been in a couple of fights. one of my first big ones was with this black guy, i won. then we became great friends and started training together. then i fought this guy with loads of jewellery and he gave me a beating but i got there in the end. the fight that meant the most was against some russian guy who killed my new best friend so i fought him to avenge my friends death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Fair few. Used to be very scared of fighting until I got in a few and realised its not that painful at the time. Always seem to get in fights around halloween time. Its the evil in the air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Yah. got into a ruck with 2 lions in South Africa. Broke the hind leg off the first one and started battering the other fella with it. Howlin like a monkey he was. King of the jungle me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Been in loads when I was growing up so well capable of handling myself.
    Much prefer to talk and reason it out and have actually intervened in some fights (drink taken :D) but when push comes to shove will back myself up if no other choice is left...however seeing that I barely drink these drinks and can recognise potential troublemakers I don't let myself or my mates get involved in these situations.
    But it's too dangerous these days to get involved in a fight.
    At what point do you draw the line? Do you look upon the other guy as a scumbag who potentially has a knife/screwdriver etc and put him down as fast as possible by whatever means necessary? and potentially cause him severe injury?
    Or is it possible he's just like you? drink taken, acting all tough out and afraid to actually back down in front of his mates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Threads like these have me seriously wanting to do Krav Maga ... It's supposed to be the only 'martial art' that'll actually work in a street brawl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Why You Starting? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Wouldn't call it a fight per se, but when I was 19 or 20 myself and some friends were outside a chipper in a random midland town when these 3 guys came over to us.
    "Give us a sup of your yoke" said the leader who looked like a total headcase - he was referring to my friend's can of coke.
    When my friend meekly handed it over he drank it off.
    "Give us your chips" he said to one of my other friends.
    This (braver/more stupid) friend refused and swiftly walked away with the rest of the lads quickly dispersing.
    I may have been slightly drunk and unaware of the situation but I suddenly found myself surrounded by these 3 guys with none of my (supposed) friends in sight.
    The headcase guy was shouting after my friend with the chips that he was "a dead man".
    Then he turned around and noticed me still stupidly standing there, realization slowly dawning on me that this was not the ideal spot to be.
    He gripped me by the shoulders and said "I want his fu*king name and address" - meaning my friend with the chips I presume.
    Now at this stage I should have drawn him a map to his house or perhaps offered to bring him there myself but (and again I blame this on the drink) I said "I've never seen that man before in my life".
    Well Headcase didn't like this obvious bit of sarcasm one little bit.
    He grabbed my tighter around the shoulders and proceeded to give me an all out head butt.
    Now, obviously the next thing I should remember is waking up in intensive care - but I was in luck.
    Headcase was quite a bit taller than me and when he proceeded to launch his headbut my preservation instincts took over and I ducked my head. The result was he ended up mainly smashing his nose into the top of my head.
    It hardly hurt me at all (the drink again - hurrah!) but 'Headcase' stumbled back with a curse holding his nose which (I think) had started to bleed and fell to one knee.
    One of his mates (both of whom had remained dangerously silent thought) looked at me and then tried the most feared fighting move in existence- the deadly scissors kick.
    Now to be honest, a punch would have worked much better - but even now - I kinda admire his audacity in trying such a move.
    Again instinct took over as I jerked back from the attempted assault I actually felt the breeze his foot created as it passed millimeters from my face.
    Whether it was because he assumed he'd make contact with something I don't know but he got his landing all wrong and stumbled backwards falling over and smacking his head into the windowpane of the chippers.
    Now there was just me and one of them.
    We both looked at each other for a couple of seconds - but it felt like time stood still - could I see respect in his eyes? fear? confusion?.
    Then, the spell was broken and I legged it.
    Caught up with my friends later- they had been getting worried about me (or so they said the cowardly [EMAIL="b@stards"]b@stards[/EMAIL]) and told them the story.

Never saw those other guys again - thank Christ.

:D It sounds like you were lucky enough to be attacked by the three biggest idiots in said random midland town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

Dont grizzlyman he's not worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

Only ever been in a fight once , was 12 or 13 at the time and was walking with my friends and this little scumbag comes behind me and kicks me , i turned around pick him up in the air through him to the ground and started choking him , his little fat friend came to his aid and at the time i started karate lessons and gave him a sweet kick to the stomach and he fell to the floor , i just walked away laughing ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Rds1989 wrote: »
    Dont grizzlyman he's not worth it

ah now your Starting!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

few scuffles in me younger years.. never a proper fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Got into a scrap on the way home from the pub one night, few scumbags kicked off as we passed them, tried to steal the food we just got from chipper. I wasnt as effective as I previously thought I would have been. It was quite scary to be honest, I got cornered by 3 of em and got a few kicks to the head but nothing major. Threw a few digs in too and stood my ground well enough, but never really went for it if ya know what I mean. Never lost the rag, partially out of fear and partially out of confusion as there was people everywhere (about 10 people involved). I realised after the fight that if they had of been hardcore aggressive scumbags I'd probably have ended up in hospital. Kinda relieved to know I can stand my ground in a fight but not too eager to experience it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

one or two (thousand)

I am in my mid 30's, when we were teens there would be running battles with teens from other estate's/area's in the local industrial estate. Sticks & Stones stuff but they were wild times..

Last fight I got into was in Mellowes Park, wouldn't give a lad a cigarette, he came back with a few mates, I ended up in hospital with a smashed arm and a scar on my cheekbone, one of them that landed a punch must have had a ring.

Closest miss was an ongoing feud with a lad from Cabra, we went to their local hangout one night.. We walked out (4 of us blokes) to be faced by 20 of them tooled up with knives. Walked calmly up the road, sent the girls up the dual carriageway & we went down a side road, started running, I was their target. Remembered a lunatic I knew who lived nearby, knocked on his door, told him the story, 2 minutes later we were running out after them swinging items from his fireplace set..

Just remembered another one.. My cousin was being picked on by this gang. I went over to sort it out. Got into a bit of a scuffle, a messy fight if I remember correctly. Anyway I was kicked in the hand at some stage and we all went our separate ways when sorted. My Grandmothers was across the way, I went back there after. She was watching the whole thing and started telling me what I should have done better while my hand is swollen like a balloon (it had been broken).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

Loads before I was thirteen. None since.

So I'd say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Anybody else just skipping over the posts that are more than two lines long?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

stovelid wrote: »
    Anybody else just skipping over the posts that are more than two lines long?

Just you and the other mooks with short attention spans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Threads like these have me seriously wanting to do Krav Maga ... It's supposed to be the only 'martial art' that'll actually work in a street brawl.

Who says this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Dean0088 wrote: »

lol..a load of rubbish...Krav Maga is just the current rage at the moment due to the fact it doesn't require the same level of dedication as the traditional martial arts so is more appealing to people...throw in phrases like "the israeli's/mossad use this to train their agents "etc and people are gullible enough to believe that special forces only train one type of martial arts to their guys...lol..:)
    remember when I was way younger :( I saw 4 guys attempt to pick on this guy outside a nightclub.
    He was obviously highly trained in martial arts as after about 10 mins of trying to avoid a fight he ended up kicking their asses all over the street.

Potentially all martial arts can help you on the street....the problem is how far you are willing to go to protect yourself, which means injuring your attacker and how seriously is upto you , and how highly trained are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Any fight I have been in usually only lasts about 30 seconds. I wouldnt pick a fight, but i have a frightful temper if someone starts on me or one of my friends, ill flake in.

Luckily never got caught clean with a punch. I only ever had one black eye, out of plenty of punches thrown in my direction.