Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever try Potín?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

lezza wrote: »
    its extremely leathal guy i know! best poitin is made in connemara mostly, most poitin made outside connemara contains bleach and rat poison, honestly sip in small moderation

What's the source of this fine information?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Dean0088 wrote: »
    As my minister for Mary Jane I would certainly hope it wouldn't!

Regards,
    The Emperor of the Holy Empire of Deanianity
    I forgot about that!:D
    I must give MJ a watering tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I've tried it a couple of times. I was disappointed, it was just like a bad vodka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

babyface11 wrote: »
    once, but i cant reccomend it as i slept with two of my lad mates on the same night i was sooo drunk and morto!
    Morto for ya babyface, morto for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Morto for the two lad like too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Had it before but only 3 or 4 shots. Enjoyed it and had no ill effects. If it's made right it's no more dangerous than absinthe or other high alcohol spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I've had it a few times, both the legal and illegal varieties.
    I've also snorted it, aah to be young and full of pills again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭LiamIRL82

No I like my liver in working order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Tried it once a number of years ago. I remember I drank only a small drop but it made my eyes water - strong stuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭scoobymunster

http://www.thedrinkshop.com/products/productlist.php?catid=332
    You can order it online in loads of other places aswell. I know it seems pricey but when you price how many vodka bottles you'd be buying for an equal level of pure alcohol, its not that expensive.
    I've tried homebrew aswell and thats far more deadly. I've a bottle of extra gold strength from the above site in the cupboard, stick with professionally brewed stuff, tastes much nicer and less likely to kill you than homebrew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

was out in my wife's grandparents house one christmas about three years ago, so her granny was pouring us all neat whiskeys, and i'd had a fair few when i spotted the bottle of "7UP" her grandad had beside him, so grand i thought i'd better dilute down this whiskey, poured some 7up into the glass, and figured might as well knock it back...

FUUUUUUU...

i felt my eyes burning in their sockets as i clenched my teeth to stop my body going into spasm! :eek:

the grandfather turned round to me, nonchalant as ya like-

"drink some water now in the mornin' and ya'll be drunk again" he says, as he threw me another woodbine... hardy bastard! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Da Bounca wrote: »
    Can be nice when consumed correctly.
    Sip it slowly and never on an empty stomach.

Also beware chugging a pint of water the next morning, sends you off into a drunken state again.

You can add your own twist to the brew as far as I know. I have tried a poitin that had sloe in it and another that had a some berries thrown in. The Sloe one was the nicest I've had.

eidt: and it is made from potatoes...

We always have bottles of poitín in the house. My stepdad always makes "sloe wine" out of it. Basically you throw in shitload of sloes (all pricked with a pin) and about a bag of sugar! Then you leave it in the hot press for a few months. It's ALWAYS given to visitors for the lulz. It absolutely blows your mind.

When we're sick, instead of hot whiskeys, we get hot poitíns. I can't stand the smell or taste of it, but this may be due to TWICE at a young age drinking too much of the stuff (resulting in getting my stomach pumped once and my sister finding me passed out on the bathroom floor another time :o)

It's dangerous stuff. It sits in our drinks press in old vodka or gin bottles. One Christmas, my sister accidentally gave a few guests poitín and tonic instead of gin and tonic. Twas a VERY merry Christmas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

My father used to make a lot of it! The pubs would send him old vodka/gin/rum/whiskey bottles and he would diguise them in that changing the colour to suit whiskey. He has a few bottles at home but is dying to make more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

It wouldn't be classed as a social tipple, it's definitely on the hardcore end of the scale. I used to have a supply from a contact on Bear Island, even went through a stage of it being my breakfast..:(

I gave a bottle of it to my Polish ex-Father in Law who can knock back the Vodka no bother and he was blown away by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Dilynnio wrote: »
    A group of us robbed a bottle from the house when we were knacker drinking many many years ago.

Same thing happened to my friend on her 17th birthday. I had two raw mouth fulls and it blew the little head off me. She drank a 500ml bottles worth with a bit of mixer, puking and passing out ensued.

We didn't know what it was, it was either that or a 90 euro bottle of champaign which we didn't know the monetary value of at the time. Seriously should have just stuck to the nagons of glens that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

beano345 wrote: »
    a friend drank it one night and got sick into the fireplace you'd want to check out the fireball that engulfed him:D

If true, looool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Playing GAA for my schools team when I injured a muscle in my lower back. One of the teachers was so nice as to bring me in a bottle of poitin and told me to rub it into my muscle with some olive oil. I might have misunderstood his instructions but it did relieve the pain :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

jester77 wrote: »
    Playing GAA for my schools team when I injured a muscle in my lower back. One of the teachers was so nice as to bring me in a bottle of poitin and told me to rub it into my muscle with some olive oil. I might have misunderstood his instructions but it did relieve the pain :p

It's a great muscle rub. You don't even need good stuff, any oul shíte will do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's horrible shíte, there is no reason whatsoever for drinking it in this day and age!
    I wouldn't mind having a crack at making it though for a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Dilynnio wrote: »

It isn't illegal for no reason!

The reason its illegal is because the government couldn't figure out how to make money from it. As a result of this short sighted gombeenism, and unlike other countries where home-made alcohol is common, the recipe for poitin has not really matured, and so most offerings of it taste like paint stripper.

Had it not been made illegal, the creativity and inventiveness that is inherent in the Irish spirit(no pun intended), might have managed to create a nice and enjoyable drink that does not taste like paint stripper, make you see pink elephants, and cause most people to projectile vomit their kebab and chips up to 8 feet away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

My brother gave me poitín on New Year's Eve when I was 16. I only spoke in Spanish all night before vomiting, crying and falling asleep in a wardrobe in his house. The shame! He'll never let me live it down! :o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

If true, looool!

Laughing out out out out loud?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my grandfather mixed it with olice oil and rubbed it into his knees

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

My mam puts potin into the christmas pudding each year. Makes it taste amazing.
    If you christmas dessert doesn't run the risk of blinding you, then it ain't christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

You haven't lived until you've drank 20 year old poitin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

Tried it 3 or 4 times over the years from different sources,but never liked it much.First time was about 15 years back.My uncle let me try a wee drop he got from some "mad farmer" in the wilds of Cork(his words).Last time was a few years back when we were going on hols ,we picked up a bottle in duty free(Strange as I thought it was banned,but it seems it can be exported).Was'nt as bad as the real stuff

I will stick with my Schwarzwaldteufel ;).

http://beowein.eshop.t-online.de/Schwarzwaldteufel-10-l/en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭conorhal

syklops wrote: »
    The reason its illegal is because the government couldn't figure out how to make money from it. As a result of this short sighted gombeenism, and unlike other countries where home-made alcohol is common, the recipe for poitin has not really matured, and so most offerings of it taste like paint stripper.

Had it not been made illegal, the creativity and inventiveness that is inherent in the Irish spirit(no pun intended), might have managed to create a nice and enjoyable drink that does not taste like paint stripper, make you see pink elephants, and cause most people to projectile vomit their kebab and chips up to 8 feet away.

That's not particularly accurate. We've a grand history of creating very drinkable whiskey's and porters.
    While I’m sure revenue is an element of the reason, it’s not the main reason. There is no prohibition on making wine or beer at home, but poitin is a different car battery full of fish. Most spirits are licensed at 40% proof, and indeed you can buy Potin in the shops which is 40% proof (which nobody buys precisely because there's just no way to make it not taste like paint stripper).
    Illegal Poitin however has a nasty habit of being up to 80% proof and thus bloody dangerous, if a still doesn’t kill you when it explodes then the alcohol just might, and the stuff was causing real public order problems when it was banned, as many of the accounts on this thread can testify, people go bat-sh1t crazy on the stuff.
    If you think home distilled alcohol is a good idea, ask the Ruski’s, the have endless problems with home brews killing dozens of people each year directly, and probably a hell of a lot more indirectly (habitually they have drunks freezing to death, falling into rivers or just their livers exploding)

Still, it does taste great in a Christmas cake!

Just as bad is Absinthe, I brought a bottle back from Prague and that stuff will mess you up something awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Da Bounca wrote: »
    Also beware chugging a pint of water the next morning, sends you off into a drunken state again.

That happened me once, found myself in lectures utterly drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Air_Bass

Had it a few times, zero to ge€-eyed in about 30 seconds. Last time I drank it I got heart-palpitations so I'm leaving that sheeeat alone for the forseeable. It's worth trying but in small doses

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

It was the last thing in our press one night during a session so we busted it out.. *scenes missing*

Tastes like napalm.