Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ever try Potín?

• 04-05-2011 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

Has anyone ever tried it?

I was going to grow some MJ but thought, **** it, might as well make some Potín. I hear it's easy and you probably won't go blind either!

What's it like?

-- Dean.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It's am acquired taste. Blew me away if I'm honest. Never again.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

Not easy and can kill if not done by someone who knows what they are at. Go buy some lidl beer if you want cheap alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

If the potín doesn't take the sight from you the **** will...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

the first and only time i hallucinated from drinking......poitin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

It gives me the reversals....

bad sh!t :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭nungesser

yeah wicked stuff, its pretty much "Moonshine", its a pretty great almost hallucinating drunk, it's not one you drink for the taste more about getting it in ya. i always heard it was made from potato's but it's really just unmatured whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Can be nice when consumed correctly.
    Sip it slowly and never on an empty stomach.

Also beware chugging a pint of water the next morning, sends you off into a drunken state again.

You can add your own twist to the brew as far as I know. I have tried a poitin that had sloe in it and another that had a some berries thrown in. The Sloe one was the nicest I've had.

eidt: and it is made from potatoes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i tried it mixed with homemade baileys in the last pub i worked in. i thought i was grand til i stood up and my legs literally went to jelly. i had to sleep it off in the back of a van

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Its lethal stuff. Just don't drink too much of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

a friend drank it one night and got sick into the fireplace you'd want to check out the fireball that engulfed him:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

no im preety sure id die if i took a sip i cant handle beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Not easy and can kill if not done by someone who knows what they are at. Go buy some lidl beer if you want cheap alcohol.

That Lidl stuff would probably kill you quicker.

deathrider wrote: »
    That Lidl stuff would probably kill you quicker.

the lidl beer is grand stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

No. It wouldn't interest me to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Think so. Can't remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Once, when I was about 16, my sisters came home from England with litres and litres of Blue Label Smirnoff. My mate and I were told we could have "a little bit" when no one was watching. Being rather sophisticated, I thought, I came up with the idea that he and I would hide ours in a glass of orange juice and slip in some of the Galliano that was in the press and have ourselves Harvey Wallbangers. Score.

We had our Harvey Wallbangers....and went on the fúcking rampage. We got thrown out of a junior disco, fought the bouncers, smashed down a fire exit to get back in, fought the bouncers again inside, got thrown out again, I shifted his girlfriend, he tried in on with my sister (11 years older than him), we got thrown out of my house to sober up, then fell into his mother's much loved rose bushes, wrecking them and destroying ourselves. We were a disgrace.

The next morning, we had hangovers like Ollie Read. The Galliano bottle that was storing the poitín came to be a symbol of fear for me. It took me weeks to go drinking again, weeks I tell ya :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

A friend of mine gave me a mug with potín, honey and hot water when I'd a chest infection once. It might not have cleared up the infection but by Christ I wasn't suffering anymore. I'd drink it again but only a little at a time and very slowly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Has anyone ever tried it?

I was going to grow some MJ but thought, **** it, might as well make some Potín. I hear it's easy and you probably won't go blind either!

What's it like?

-- Dean.

They have a new drink out now,Paraquat, you should try that as you seem anxious to kill yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

They have a new drink out now,Paraquat, you should try that as you seem anxious to kill yourself.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

No. It wouldn't interest me to be honest.

As my minister for Mary Jane I would certainly hope it wouldn't!

Regards,
    The Emperor of the Holy Empire of Deanianity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

one of the girls from mayo brought up a bottle for rag week......of all the weeks not to try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

A group of us robbed a bottle from the house when we were knacker drinking many many years ago.

It was in a vodka bottle so we didn't know any difference.

It knocked us all out..............we were so sick we were vomiting up bile!

We didn't drink again for weeks.

Avoid but it is good if your really sick with lemon for colds/flu in small amounts!

It isn't illegal for no reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

I was grand drinking it. Only problem was nothing would get rid of the taste of it the next day:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 babyface11

once, but i cant reccomend it as i slept with two of my lad mates on the same night i was sooo drunk and morto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I've had it a couple of times, but nothing beats the stuff I got over in the Aran Islands one New Years eve.

there was a vodka advertised in viz last month that was 88%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Every time I had it, I couldn't remmeber the end of the night. My friend's father used to have tons and we'd take some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Dilynnio wrote: »

Is the reason just because there is no tax a duty paid on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭lezza

its extremely leathal guy i know! best poitin is made in connemara mostly, most poitin made outside connemara contains bleach and rat poison, honestly sip in small moderation

lezza wrote: »
    its extremely leathal guy i know! best poitin is made in connemara mostly, most poitin made outside connemara contains bleach and rat poison, honestly sip in small moderation

What's the source of this fine information?

Dean0088 wrote: »
    As my minister for Mary Jane I would certainly hope it wouldn't!

Regards,
    The Emperor of the Holy Empire of Deanianity
    I forgot about that!:D
    I must give MJ a watering tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I've tried it a couple of times. I was disappointed, it was just like a bad vodka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

babyface11 wrote: »
    once, but i cant reccomend it as i slept with two of my lad mates on the same night i was sooo drunk and morto!
    Morto for ya babyface, morto for ya.

Morto for the two lad like too.

Had it before but only 3 or 4 shots. Enjoyed it and had no ill effects. If it's made right it's no more dangerous than absinthe or other high alcohol spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

I've had it a few times, both the legal and illegal varieties.
    I've also snorted it, aah to be young and full of pills again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭LiamIRL82

No I like my liver in working order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Tried it once a number of years ago. I remember I drank only a small drop but it made my eyes water - strong stuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭scoobymunster

http://www.thedrinkshop.com/products/productlist.php?catid=332
    You can order it online in loads of other places aswell. I know it seems pricey but when you price how many vodka bottles you'd be buying for an equal level of pure alcohol, its not that expensive.
    I've tried homebrew aswell and thats far more deadly. I've a bottle of extra gold strength from the above site in the cupboard, stick with professionally brewed stuff, tastes much nicer and less likely to kill you than homebrew.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

was out in my wife's grandparents house one christmas about three years ago, so her granny was pouring us all neat whiskeys, and i'd had a fair few when i spotted the bottle of "7UP" her grandad had beside him, so grand i thought i'd better dilute down this whiskey, poured some 7up into the glass, and figured might as well knock it back...

FUUUUUUU...

i felt my eyes burning in their sockets as i clenched my teeth to stop my body going into spasm! :eek:

the grandfather turned round to me, nonchalant as ya like-

"drink some water now in the mornin' and ya'll be drunk again" he says, as he threw me another woodbine... hardy bastard! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Da Bounca wrote: »
    Can be nice when consumed correctly.
    Sip it slowly and never on an empty stomach.

Also beware chugging a pint of water the next morning, sends you off into a drunken state again.

You can add your own twist to the brew as far as I know. I have tried a poitin that had sloe in it and another that had a some berries thrown in. The Sloe one was the nicest I've had.

eidt: and it is made from potatoes...

We always have bottles of poitín in the house. My stepdad always makes "sloe wine" out of it. Basically you throw in shitload of sloes (all pricked with a pin) and about a bag of sugar! Then you leave it in the hot press for a few months. It's ALWAYS given to visitors for the lulz. It absolutely blows your mind.

When we're sick, instead of hot whiskeys, we get hot poitíns. I can't stand the smell or taste of it, but this may be due to TWICE at a young age drinking too much of the stuff (resulting in getting my stomach pumped once and my sister finding me passed out on the bathroom floor another time :o)

It's dangerous stuff. It sits in our drinks press in old vodka or gin bottles. One Christmas, my sister accidentally gave a few guests poitín and tonic instead of gin and tonic. Twas a VERY merry Christmas!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

My father used to make a lot of it! The pubs would send him old vodka/gin/rum/whiskey bottles and he would diguise them in that changing the colour to suit whiskey. He has a few bottles at home but is dying to make more :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

It wouldn't be classed as a social tipple, it's definitely on the hardcore end of the scale. I used to have a supply from a contact on Bear Island, even went through a stage of it being my breakfast..:(

I gave a bottle of it to my Polish ex-Father in Law who can knock back the Vodka no bother and he was blown away by it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

A group of us robbed a bottle from the house when we were knacker drinking many many years ago.

Same thing happened to my friend on her 17th birthday. I had two raw mouth fulls and it blew the little head off me. She drank a 500ml bottles worth with a bit of mixer, puking and passing out ensued.

We didn't know what it was, it was either that or a 90 euro bottle of champaign which we didn't know the monetary value of at the time. Seriously should have just stuck to the nagons of glens that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

beano345 wrote: »
    a friend drank it one night and got sick into the fireplace you'd want to check out the fireball that engulfed him:D

If true, looool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Playing GAA for my schools team when I injured a muscle in my lower back. One of the teachers was so nice as to bring me in a bottle of poitin and told me to rub it into my muscle with some olive oil. I might have misunderstood his instructions but it did relieve the pain :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

jester77 wrote: »
    Playing GAA for my schools team when I injured a muscle in my lower back. One of the teachers was so nice as to bring me in a bottle of poitin and told me to rub it into my muscle with some olive oil. I might have misunderstood his instructions but it did relieve the pain :p

It's a great muscle rub. You don't even need good stuff, any oul shíte will do the trick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's horrible shíte, there is no reason whatsoever for drinking it in this day and age!
    I wouldn't mind having a crack at making it though for a laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

The reason its illegal is because the government couldn't figure out how to make money from it. As a result of this short sighted gombeenism, and unlike other countries where home-made alcohol is common, the recipe for poitin has not really matured, and so most offerings of it taste like paint stripper.

Had it not been made illegal, the creativity and inventiveness that is inherent in the Irish spirit(no pun intended), might have managed to create a nice and enjoyable drink that does not taste like paint stripper, make you see pink elephants, and cause most people to projectile vomit their kebab and chips up to 8 feet away.