How sympathetic are you towards accidental drug overdoses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭degausserxo

For those who are unsympathetic. Would you also be unsympathetic towards...

And smokers dying from lung cancer for that matter, same premise..

tbh yeah. I was very, very close to my aunt who died from lung cancer last year. It's horrible that she's gone and I miss her terribly, but jaysus, it was her own fault. Nobody forced her to smoke 20 a day for 40 odd years, she took it upon herself to do that, just as the majority of drug users who overdose do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

You do realise at the back of our horrific stats on suicide in Ireland are a lot of people who didn't cry for help, or did and found no sympathy? Now that's a load o' me bollix.

Two friends of mine growing up, one didn't cry out and paid the price, one didn't listen and paid the price. If I could talk to them now :(

Oi i've had close family members from suicide! That is not what i was talking about so dont twist my words. If some thick fúck wants to take a load of pills to get attention and die as a result of it then i dont feel one bit sorry for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

About as sympathetic as I am to accidental horse riding injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Kiera wrote: »
    Ok i'm still not getting this? You think if i sat here and smoked fags non stop for say 24hrs i'd die? Or how long would i have to do it for?
    Yes. Also overdose doesnt necessarily mean death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

i dont feel sorry for a supposedly intelligent person who - knowing the risks of drug use - still used it.

teens are better educated on drugs these days. when i was in secondary school 15 years ago it was even drilled into us then. so they cant be all misguided about it. but theres also peer pressure to try drugs in some cases. and while you can argue that you shouldnt give in to peer pressure - thats easier said than done. so i do feel some sympathy for cases like this that lead to overdose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Oi i've had close family members from suicide! If some thick fúck wants to take a load of pills to get attention and die as a result of it then i dont feel one bit sorry for them.

You're a wonderful human being. God Bless you.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Yes. Also overdose doesnt necessarily mean death.

Ok, can explain how you would overdose on smokes please? I did ask you to explain this already. Seeing as i'm stupid and all.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

I'm unsympathetic towards polls.

Oh boy! How lucky are you that you can spell better than most ?;):p

*puts popcorn back in the press*

Ok, can explain how you would overdose on smokes please? I did ask you to explain this already. Seeing as i'm stupid and all.....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicotine_poisoning

strobe wrote: »

Ah but thats saying you'd have to smoke 5 times the amount of a normal smoke at once? Am i getting that right? Therefore unless you really tried and made your own you cant really die from smokes?

/its late and i'm tired. But you cant OD and normal fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

How do you think Kiera. Seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Overdosing on lots of things is a risk - alcohol, high-fat foods (over a longer period of time, granted), prescription meds. If someone dies of a drug overdose, it's the excessive amount that kills them, not the drug alone. So that renders invalid the "They knew the risks of drugs" argument. It does validate a "They knew the risks of overdosing" argument though, but it's awfully heartless and callous to be dismissive of a death on that basis.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    How do you think Kiera. Seriously.

Do i need to ask you a 3rd time? Seriously? And here, have one of these too :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

TAKE IT EASY ON THE WATER THAT SHUTFF'L KILL YA

Ah but thats saying you'd have to smoke 5 times the amount of a normal smoke at once? Am i getting that right? Therefore unless you really tried and made your own you cant really die from smokes?

No it just means you have to take a high enough dose in a short enough time frame. Same as with anything. It's unlikely but not impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Where did you get the 5 times thing?

"the amount in about five cigarettes or half a cigar, has the potential to kill an adult who is not a smoker"

You asked how people could overdose on cigarettes and are being told, now you seem to be assuming that people could not overdose on cigarettes.

You can overdose on pretty much anything if you apply yourself.

Also, i think you have a common, but maybe misplaced, understanding of "a cry for help". The term is normally given to things like self destructive behaviour, self harm etc as opposed to failed suicide attempts.

Where did you get the 5 times thing?

"the amount in about five cigarettes or half a cigar, has the potential to kill an adult who is not a smoker"

You asked how people could overdose on cigarettes and are being told, now you seem to be assuming that people could not overdose on cigarettes.

You can overdose on pretty much anything if you apply yourself.

I just find it "out there" that say my Mam who doesnt smoke could have half a cigar in one go and pop her clogs? I've seen how it can kill by injection but not from smoking. I've just never ever heard of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Ilovemyusername

You don't know anyone's circumstances, drugs are addictive and a lot of people try to get off them but fail to do so, so they deserve no sympathy? Some people on here would want to get off their high horses and stop being so closed-minded! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

I feel sympathy for people that die before their time in any circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭diddlybit

I do have some sympathy. Recreational drugs affect people in different ways. I know people that have taken enough to turn your brain into Swiss cheese and are fine now. Others, on their second time taking acid end up screwed up for years. Know way too many guys in mental hospitals because of them. Drugs are bad!

Once meth gets here, the country is screwed (or so my American visitor friend says.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭yawha

It depends if the person was being reckless or not. In my view, simply taking illegal drugs is not being reckless. The fact of the matter is that like alcohol, many illegal drugs can indeed be taken responsibly.

It's difficult to quantify what "reckless" amounts to however. If you drank a litre of vodka in 30 mins, mixed alcohol with cocaine or took like 10/20 pills, then I'd have no sympathy.

However, if someone took one pill and died because it happened to contain PMA, for example, then I perhaps would have some sympathy. All the modern evidence suggests that taking moderate amounts of MDMA does not cause significant harm, and it's very rare that you would get a pill which has dangerous chemicals in it. I would blame the death in this instance on the laws surrounding MDMA, and the fact that there does not exist proper regulation so that this does not happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Aishae wrote: »
    i dont feel sorry for a supposedly intelligent person who - knowing the risks of drug use - still used it.

teens are better educated on drugs these days. when i was in secondary school 15 years ago it was even drilled into us then. so they cant be all misguided about it.
    If you believed the drugs "education" you received 15 years ago you probably would be very misguided on the issue.

I feel varying degrees of sympathy for people depending on the circumstances of their death.

When it comes to something like MDMA, the chances of dying from an adverse reaction to the drug itself are so low that it's less a case of getting burned from playing with fire as striking a match and having it explode and blow your head off.

But if someone dies after dropping 10 pills chased down with 15 pints, 2 grams of charlie, and handful of benzos to round off the night, my sentiments would be more along the lines of "Well that was ****ing stupid."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Bucklesman wrote: »
    I feel sympathy for people that die before their time in any circumstances.

No one dies before their time. Your time is your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I just find it "out there" that say my Mam who doesnt smoke could have half a cigar in one go and pop her clogs? I've seen how it can kill by injection but not from smoking. I've just never ever heard of that.

It's all about absorption, everything...as in EVERYTHING has a level that will end up being toxic within the body. That's about it. I am not trying to say it's common, or even likely, but the simple fact is that someone who wanted to kill themselves with cigarettes could by smoking enough of them in a short enough time frame...all they have to do is hit that toxic level.

Got ya :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭yawha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

A mate and I were watching a program a while back about bizarre deaths. One of the episodes featured a smoker who died from a nicotine overdose after lighting up whilst wearing a ****load of nicotine patches.

So, unlikely but possible :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

People, you are missing an important point. Surely the amount of sympathy for an overdose incident is inversely proportional to the LD_50 of the overdose drug? Seriously, give me names for each "level" of sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

If its someone taking a load of pills as a cry for help then i'm not sympathetic at all. If its someone who has taken something that doesnt agree with them ie. 'E' or coke with their mates then i'm a tiny bit sympathetic.

So if a person who needs help who for all you know might have went through suffering you cant imagine in his/her life acts in a way to seek help takes something and dies in the process youll feel nothing but a guy on a night out with his mates who takes drugs and dies deserves sympathy. Well thats disturbing to be honest that some people see suicide accidental or not in such a cold manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Who deserves more sympathy - Man overdoses on arsenic or the guy who downs 20+ bottles of calpol?