Another buddy forced to leave for oz!

13»

Getting sick of this fcuking **** now! Another one of me buddys informed me he's 'fcuking off to oz in the next couple of months'. :(
    I really hate hearing this now, lads ive known since forever and grown up with, forced to leave this ****hole country, many of which i doubt will be coming back anytime soon.
    Theres just an awful sense of sadness about the whole thing.
    Anyone else getting tired of slowly losing their friends one by one?
    Please feel free to bitch and moan here!

Certainly know what your on about Wiger. the local GAA club where im from has lost a few young fellas due to recession. Even a neighbour of mine, a man in his 40s has had to uproot himself and his family to Australia for work. its a very sad situation indeed. im currently doing a certificate in college. after that i hope to go on and do a degree. After that who knows what will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Nkusadasi

I can understand your frustration but as some people said u can go on the dole...apply fr jobs ect. HELLO-there are no jobs! And you hv to work for a certain amount of time to be elegible for the dole. Some people dont hv the financial support from there parents or family.my dads been unemployed for 9 months now and has litteraly applied for every job he could possubly do. If it werent for me doing my junior cert this year we'd be up and gone a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Fair enough, that's one country out - only about 200 others to consider. :)

Probably consider UAE, Japan, Singapore maybe USA.

tbh at the time I wasn't forced I just seeking adventure .....Aus NZ and Canada had that vastness and adventure.

Europe lacked what I was looking for and I wouldnt really do 3rd or 2nd world (except for holidays).

Aus fitted the bill perfectly Big Country, Big cars, Big $$, Sun, Sand, Sex & beer... Never really looked back.

Plus can now go and work in NZ anytime I want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Seloth wrote: »
    Not saying anything bad against your friends but every Irish person I know that has so far emigrated to Australia is a pure scum bag.

so does this mean you only hang out with scumbags?or you think they are scumbags for leaving?if its the latter id love to know why you think they are scumbags for leaving?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Getting sick of this fcuking **** now! Another one of me buddys informed me he's 'fcuking off to oz in the next couple of months'. :(
    I really hate hearing this now, lads ive known since forever and grown up with, forced to leave this ****hole country, many of which i doubt will be coming back anytime soon.

if your buddy is single he does not need to go.so no one is forcing him to do anything.its when you have a wife and 3 or 4 kids and no income to support them thats!!!! when you would be forced/need to go.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    if your buddy is single he does not need to go.so no one is forcing him to do anything.its when you have a wife and 3 or 4 kids and no income to support them thats!!!! when you would be forced/need to go.

Sure its a straight choice for some people i suppose.

Do you stay here and lie around and collect the dole every week, with little or no demand for the skill you have or do you put your acquired skill to good use and gain valuable work experience elsewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

When I am finished college this year I am thinking of ****ing off to Germany or Sweden or somewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I know there are language issues if you move to Germany/France/Italy/Belgium etc. etc. but 95% of people could learn any european language pretty well within a year. You'd have conversational Spanish from scratch within 3 months. And I've got to say, if there's a recession going on in France, Germany, Belgium, Luxemmbourg or the Netherlands, nobody has told the locals. In fact, Germany is enjoying a mini-boom. And I haven't even mentioned South America, Japan, China, Singapore, Korea etc. etc. where there will oportunities for those who look.

Who exactly would have the money to be able to go to France and Spain and spend a year learning the language? If you're emigrating you're starting a life, so you need an address and a job asap. Going to English speaking countries means that you can get everything much easier.

Although I've alays thougt Australia was a kip tbh, never understood the appeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

I'm off to New Zealand in September for 2 months for the Rugby World Cup and then head to OZ for the year hopefully.

Have been on the dole now for the last 6 month and it is fair depressing. I have an honours degree in Accounting and have applied for over 25 positions in that time and also sent C.V's out to another 20 accounting practices in 4 different counties with only getting 3 interviews :(

I was about to get a job in one practice when i was told i would be getting 220 euro per week for 40 hours work, rising to 280 in second year which really didnt seem enough to convince me to stay in this country instead of exploring the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

Seloth wrote: »
    Not saying anything bad against your friends but every Irish person I know that has so far emigrated to Australia is a pure scum bag.

Well in reality there were only about 3000 Irish people a year emigrating to Australia, with the skills assessments & character requirements for emigration I can't imagine they are pure scumbags. The majority would be professionals or hardworking trades people with a clear record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

I'm off to New Zealand in September for 2 months for the Rugby World Cup and then head to OZ for the year hopefully.

Have been on the dole now for the last 6 month and it is fair depressing. I have an honours degree in Accounting and have applied for over 25 positions in that time and also sent C.V's out to another 20 accounting practices in 4 different counties with only getting 3 interviews :(

I was about to get a job in one practice when i was told i would be getting 220 euro per week for 40 hours work, rising to 280 in second year which really didnt seem enough to convince me to stay in this country instead of exploring the world.

You may not have meant it, but this really sounds ridiculous.

"I have been on the dole for six months and it is fair depressing so I am off to see the Rugby World Cup in New Zealand and then head to Oz" Tough life there on the dole :rolleyes:

You also tell us you get offered a job but turned it down (personally, I think you should be kicked off the dole for that). Yeah some starting jobs are not paying very well but that happens and it does not mean you will always be doing that job. It is a start.

Oh, how life is dire, getting the dole, heading to NZ and OZ, getting offered a job and turning your nose up at it. Woe is you apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I get so angry reading threads like this when people dismiss those who leave to find work as pink-bellied cowards afraid of hard times :rolleyes:. FFS if people are tired of sitting on their holes day in day out and move to where the work is so that they can make money and be productive, how is that a bad thing? No really, think about it. Dole sponger or active worker? Which is the worst of the 2?

If someone wants to emmigrate to find work, more power to them. Most will bring that money back to Ireland with them when their visas run out, so they are helping the Irish economy in a way. If they can't get work in their field here they may as well get it somewhere else instead of being stuck in a dead-end job or on the dole with sweet fuck all to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Yep my three best female friends are over there and have been for the last 3 years, no sign yet of them coming back. I'm kind of used to it now but it's still shít not having them here. Why is it always your best friends that leave too and not the tools that you can't stand that hang around like a bad smell :rolleyes:

For selfish reasons I want them back but they have nothing to come back to here so I don't blame them and they're having the time of their lives over there. Bitches :mad: :pac:

Be happy for your friends going to Oz OP. They'll hopefully come back eventually. Go and visit them at some stage if you can, try and be positive about it and be happy for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

phasers wrote: »
    Who exactly would have the money to be able to go to France and Spain and spend a year learning the language? If you're emigrating you're starting a life, so you need an address and a job asap. Going to English speaking countries means that you can get everything much easier.

Although I've alays thougt Australia was a kip tbh, never understood the appeal.
    A) Someone with some savings?
    B) Someone on the dole who can get their dole payments transferred for 3 months and paid in any EU country?
    c) Someone who is interested in teaching abroad?
    d) Someone who is willing to volunteer with an organistion.

Just a couple of suggestions - I'm sure there are other opportunities for folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    The mates phase? Jesus christ.
    a move from mates to durex.

i stand by my pronouncement!

(what, you wanna set up a commune for your n your friends, til death do you part?) note , you = as in 'one', not as in 'you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 580 ✭✭✭IPushButtons

OP is such a pussy ........:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

why Don't you look on it as a positive thing rather than a negative. It is a brilliant experience for anyone to travel and see other countries.

Are you envious of your friends because they are moving on and you are not.

This is not a ****hole country BTW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

policarp wrote: »
    Not only people from Cork go to Australia,you know.

Yeah, I know at least one Mayo knacker down there:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

When I am finished college this year I am thinking of ****ing off to Germany or Sweden or somewhere!

You'll be back:D