Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another buddy forced to leave for oz!

• 23-04-2011 10:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Getting sick of this fcuking **** now! Another one of me buddys informed me he's 'fcuking off to oz in the next couple of months'. :(
    I really hate hearing this now, lads ive known since forever and grown up with, forced to leave this ****hole country, many of which i doubt will be coming back anytime soon.
    Theres just an awful sense of sadness about the whole thing.
    Anyone else getting tired of slowly losing their friends one by one?
    Please feel free to bitch and moan here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Why don't you go and bring your b!tchin with you? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

"forced"? I'd give my left arm to get out of here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Maybe they're just tryin' to get away from the OP...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭God...

Listen most people going away will be back there all on year or two year working holiday visas. It's a hell of a lot harder to stay long term!!

Sick of listening to the bull**** of "Ohh everyone is abandoning ship" people are leaving yes but the majority will be back after there work holiday visa is up with no options to stay in Australia, New Zealand, Canada or the USA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

whiteboy wrote: »
    "forced"? I'd give my left arm to get out of here.
    A lot of them that left actually never wanted to go in the first place.
    theres just nothing going on here for them anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

Iv two friends goin soon

Ruths goin in september- shes at her job 3 years and shes 28,she wants to travel so leaving it for that.

Her Boss said he wouldnt keep her job if she went so She told her boss to go **** himself and walked out !

Pauls at his job 7 years , hes 24 and wants to travel for 6 months- hes leaving in May coming back Start of December and hes job will be waiting for him when he gets back!

Im more worried about ruth!Shes set her whole life on living abroad.Paul had more sense and is testing it for 6 months!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Why dont you go with your mate OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Forced? He could have waited and arsed about on the dole, maybe applied for a few jobs and eventually get one, sponged off the old pair, played some Xbox, whinged,etc etc.

Unless he was manhandled onto a convict ship headed to Botany Bay then he wasn't fúcking forced.

He quit when the going got tough, Lightweight that he is.

Mourn not for him for he was weak. And he'll sicken your hole with his waffling when he gets back if he doesn't sicken it beforehand by constantly telling you on facebook how great everything about his new surroundings are.
    Forget about him.

Losing your friends one by one is enevitable. Thats what happens when you get older. They start to die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

There's no place like home, pretty soon he'll be clicking his heels three times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

People were going to 'Oz' even in the good times, nothing new here, thread closed :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

LOL.

anyway, what you're saying OP is your running out of mates. Isn't that it?
    Well if you've a job, time to get a girlfriend and move outta the mates phase.

else head over with them.

either way, yes emigration is back, but for anyone young free single and reasonably educated, it's hard to see it as a burden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Welcome to the 80s...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Forced? He could have waited and arsed about on the dole, maybe applied for a few jobs and eventually get one, sponged off the old pair, played some Xbox, whinged,etc etc.

Unless he was manhandled onto a convict ship headed to Botany Bay then he wasn't fúcking forced.

Mourn not for him for he was weak. And he'll sicken your hole with his waffling when he gets back if he doesn't sicken it beforehand by constantly telling you on facebook how great everything about his new surroundings are.
    Forget about him.

Losing your friends one by one is enevitable. Thats what happens when you get older. They start to die.

em, so how's things going with the girlfriend?

bit rocky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Bloody criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Daroxtar wrote: »

Forget about him.

Lol great post :pac:

Op maybe if your buddy hadnt stolen trevelyn's corn he wouldnt be in this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Damned recession, tell me about it OP.

Firstly, Residence on Stephens Green closes, Mint in Ranelagh closes, Gayle Killalea is forced to open a newsagents or something in Ballsbridge and perhaps worst of all, my chum Fadge is still driving an 05 Touareg - eurgh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Iv two friends goin soon

Pauls at his job 7 years , hes 24 and wants to travel for 6 months- hes leaving in May coming back Start of December and hes job will be waiting for him when he gets back!

Sounds like Paulie is one of the lucky ones in our good oul public service:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭okiss

I read your post and why are your friends going to oz - it is just for travel or for work reasons. We have always had a boom and then a slow down in Ireland.
    We reached a stage in Ireland where the good times would never end and we could job hop. People who are 10 to 15 years older than you would tell you this.
    Why are you mad - is it because your friends are moving on and trying to make the best of bad time job wise and your still here.
    Why don't you save up and go out to Oz or travel rather than sitting here and moaning about your lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

The cost of the visa,flight and a few thousand to get you set up in OZ.

Thats how much money is needed.

Where do all these 'thousands of people heading down under after months on the dole' get the cash from?!

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    The cost of the visa,flight and a few thousand to get you set up in OZ.

Thats how much money is needed.

Where do all these 'thousands of people heading down under after months on the dole' get the cash from?!

You'd need 4k ish.

Most people going are young with no morgages or kids... they made money when they were working and saved or have cars and sold them to go or else they got a lend off there parents who have the few bob and understand the situation and help them get out off it for awhile at least.

You smell of jealousy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Not saying anything bad against your friends but every Irish person I know that has so far emigrated to Australia is a pure scum bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

God... wrote: »
    You'd need 4k ish.

Most people going are young with no morgages or kids... they made money when they were working and saved or have cars and sold them to go or else they got a lend off there parents who have the few bob and understand the situation and help them get out off it for awhile at least.

You smell of jealousy.

Yes , im very jelly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Seloth wrote: »
    Not saying anything bad against your friends but every Irish person I know that has so far emigrated to Australia is a pure scum bag.

Is that because you're from Cork?

Not saying anything against Corkonians, mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

New zealand is where its at!!!!

Great place!! But Australia is a lot better option if you want to make a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Getting sick of this fcuking **** now! Another one of me buddys informed me he's 'fcuking off to oz in the next couple of months'. :(
    I really hate hearing this now, lads ive known since forever and grown up with, forced to leave this ****hole country, many of which i doubt will be coming back anytime soon.
    You don't understand visa's do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Is that because you're from Cork?

Not saying anything against Corkonians, mind.

Actually the majority of people I know that have left have been from different counties throughout Ireland that know for various reasons (Gladly not related)

I'm sorry but if you think said this as I'm from Cokr you must have a fair clouded image of the county.I wonder when Irish people will learn that every county is the exact F**kin same.Despite being more Rural or ubran or which ever were too small a country to have large or even small for the large part differences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

Great place!! But Australia is a lot better option if you want to make a few quid.
    True the exchange rate is terrible if you travel overseas with the aussie dollars though if you stay in the country there alright.Same with new zealand aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yea, Ireland is a real **** hole.

Move to Africa.

There is a continent of full of perspective there.

Bring home some

Share it around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Not only people from Cork go to Australia,you know.

snyper wrote: »
    Yea, Ireland is a real **** hole.

Move to Africa.

There is a continent of full of perspective there.

Bring home some

Share it around

Who said Ireland is a ****hole???

I hate people saying that stupid arguement people usually emigrate to better themselves when there's a lack of opportunities why would they go to Africa???

I know what you're trying to say but don't understand the need to say that in this thread

edit: re-read first post I'm retarded sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Who said Ireland is a ****hole???

The guy that started this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

stovelid wrote: »
    Welcome to the 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s, 60s, 70s & 80s...

fyp.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Personally, I'm sick and tired of people ignoring the whole rest of the world and heading off to Australia. It really is the where the drones with no imagination seem to head off to. Exactly the same sort of group-think that led to the property frenzy that ruined us...

I know there are language issues if you move to Germany/France/Italy/Belgium etc. etc. but 95% of people could learn any european language pretty well within a year. You'd have conversational Spanish from scratch within 3 months. And I've got to say, if there's a recession going on in France, Germany, Belgium, Luxemmbourg or the Netherlands, nobody has told the locals. In fact, Germany is enjoying a mini-boom. And I haven't even mentioned South America, Japan, China, Singapore, Korea etc. etc. where there will oportunities for those who look.

Actually, there are a lot of sheep in Australia aren't there? Maybe it is the right place for the flock to go.

snyper wrote: »
    The guy that started this thread.

HAHA yea sorry you just touched a nerve!!!

Hate people saying that when to people who have decided they want to live abroad, as if the people are shunning Ireland and looking down on it just cause they want to better themselves or just fancy a change! I've seen people doing it a bit.

policarp wrote: »
    Not only people from Cork go to Australia,you know.
    :( Is there no place that would guarantee their immigration?

Personally, I'm sick and tired of people ignoring the whole rest of the world and heading off to Australia. It really is the where the drones with no imagination seem to head off to. Exactly the same sort of group-think that led to the property frenzy that ruined us...

I know there are language issues if you move to Germany/France/Italy/Belgium etc. etc. but 95% of people could learn any european language pretty well within a year. You'd have conversational Spanish from scratch within 3 months. And I've got to say, if there's a recession going on in France, Germany, Belgium, Luxemmbourg or the Netherlands, nobody has told the locals. In fact, Germany is enjoying a mini-boom. And I haven't even mentioned South America, Japan, China, Singapore, Korea etc. etc. where there will oportunities for those who look.

Actually, there are a lot of sheep in Australia aren't there? Maybe it is the right place for the flock to go.

Well when it comes to Europe it's mainly the language barrier that puts people off I do understand that.

But as I said Australia has work holiday visas that people can get in a few days and it's handy. Most places are a HELL of a lot harder to get visas!!

And as I also said I'm sick of people going on about people going to Australia there all on WORK HOLIDAY VISAS they'll mostly all be back in a year or two with no option to stay there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Kaneda_ wrote: »

The myth about thousands emigrating each week has already been debunked. The figures being trotted around are wildly exaggerated:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0312/1224291980040.html

The majority of people leaving the country are East Europeans who were employed in the building industry. Only very small insignificant numbers of Irish are actually leaving. We would only experience a large emigration of Irish people if the dole was significantly reduced, which doesn't look like its going to happen anytime in the next few years.

The myth about thousands emigrating each week has already been debunked. The figures being trotted around are wildly exaggerated:
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0312/1224291980040.html

The majority of people leaving the country are East Europeans who were employed in the building industry. Only very small insignificant numbers of Irish are actually leaving. We would only experience a large emigration of Irish people if the dole was significantly reduced, which doesn't look like its going to happen anytime in the next few years.
    So it's really the eastern European women that are leaving? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

ArtSmart wrote: »
    Well if you've a job, time to get a girlfriend and move outta the mates phase.

The mates phase? Jesus christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

bollocks, his bad calls forced his hand. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Iv two friends goin soon

Ruths goin in september- shes at her job 3 years and shes 28,she wants to travel so leaving it for that.

Her Boss said he wouldnt keep her job if she went so She told her boss to go **** himself and walked out !

Im more worried about ruth!Shes set her whole life on living abroad.Paul had more sense and is testing it for 6 months!

Your friend Ruth sounds like a ****ing bitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Dilsheen

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    The mates phase? Jesus christ.

Sounds a bit fuppin outrageous on his part doesnt it!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Suppose it says a bit about your friends. Wonder what they are saying about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Welcome back to the 80's op. I'm surprised that you think this isn't normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

What are your thoughts on Canada then?

Don't sit on the fence now. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gosuckonalemon

No I don't get tired as I'm not a little bitch. Ireland is fcuked at the moment so the only obvious option if you can't get work is to emigrate. Australia is an amazing country and anyone who would be sad to leave Ireland to go there needs their head examined.

If you are gonna miss your friends as they are leaving for a much better quality life, better standard of living and better women, then you need to grow up.

Believe me, within a month of them going over and settling down they'll be asking why the fcuk they didn't go sooner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

very misleading title, he wasnt "forced", nobody put a shotgun to his head, he just took the easy way out when the going got a little bit tough (welcome to the real world)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

tbh can think of worst places to go, op what are you afraid of? your buddies making a few good $$ and maybe enjoying the craic?

I came to Oz over 6 years ago on a WHV and its the best thing I ever did, you dont know unless you try. Many people don't like the place but there are many who would give their left nut to stay, although the reality is that most of mates will be back in a year or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

chin_grin wrote: »
    Why don't you go and bring your b!tchin with you? :pac:

NO, we don't want this type in Oz.

Like rats from a sinking ship, they leave in droves.