Do we swear too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

kfallon wrote: »
    I have a confession to make, the 'c' word is in nearly every sentence i utter, I apologise in advance for bringing shame on my life, my family, my friends and the good people of boards throughout my life!!!! :(

Fuck that boy the cleaboy have the best fuckin chicken in the world :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Fuck that boy the cleaboy have the best fuckin chicken in the world :D

Them cuntin' chicken fillet burgers, mmmmmmm......... :pac:

kfallon wrote: »
    Them cuntin' chicken fillet burgers, mmmmmmm......... :pac:

Id ate the cunt outa yer one working there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

We're probably the only English-Speaking country capable of starting sentences with

"Fecking/Fucking..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I unintentionally swear, I often don't mean it really. Often do it as part of conversation or to have a joke with someone. Something bad or something that curses me I would say it or something that annoyed me maybe even at my happiest I could so!

Id ate the cunt outa yer one working there ;)

Oh jaysus yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

You forgot the 'Possibly, but who gives a ****' option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

nummnutts wrote: »
    You forgot the 'Possibly, but who gives a ****' option.

Fuck! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I didn't notice just how much I swore until my German girlfriend started swearing like a trooper in front of my parents thinking that it was completely normal after having picked it up from me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The amount of swearing is cuntish altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Latchy wrote: »
    Except for stand up , I cant remember any other comedian ( or anybody else for that matter ) being allowed to use the F word on a bbc television sitcom other than Brendan O Carroll ...

You've presumably never watched The Thick of it.

Probably the only sitcom to employ a 'swearing consultant'. I think there's something almost poetic about this line:

"You breathe a word of this... to anyone, you mincing fucking cunt, and I will tear your fucking skin off... I will wear it to your mother's birthday party and I will rub your nuts up and down her leg whilst whistling Bohemian fucking Rhapsody. Alright?"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I think the Irish do swear a lot but I've never lived for a protracted amount of time in any other country to know whether or not it's more excessive than other places.
    We do say the word fuck a lot. But people from New Zealand seem to say bollox a lot, so maybe different swear words have more or less impact in different places.

Is 'ride me sideways' a curse? :p

Posy wrote: »

which side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I swear a lot. I've tried to stop, but it's impossible.
    We're probably the only English-Speaking country capable of starting sentences with

"Fecking/Fucking..."

The Scottish and non-posh English give it a good go, tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

**** yeah we do.

I work in an office with a certain amount of stress and swearing is the best release valve we've got. :)

I do draw the line at the c-word though. :)

Posy wrote: »
    I think the Irish do swear a lot but I've never lived for a protracted amount of time in any other country to know whether or not it's more excessive than other places.
    We do say the word fuck a lot. But people from New Zealand seem to say bollox a lot, so maybe different swear words have more or less impact in different places.

In Canada they use bastard a lot more than we do, it wouldn't be considered as severe as it is here.

I work in an office with a certain amount of stress and swearing is the best release valve we've got. :)

At least ye are only swearing:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

If we don't ,then why are there so many [EMAIL="*@(****ing"]*@(****ing[/EMAIL] abbreviations in our posts?