Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do we swear too much?

• 23-04-2011 10:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭

I think we do. We swear so casually that we defeat the purpose of it in the first place...at the slightest provocation irish people start effin' and blindin'. Bit silly imo. What do ye think?

Do we swear too much? 43 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 43 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I defo swear too much....sorry everyone! :(:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Fuck no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

like feck we do! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I think you're talking boll0x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

squod wrote: »
    Fuck no

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

squod wrote: »
    Fuck no
    Oh I was not expecting someone to say that:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Yes iv an awful foul mouth. Just the other day i was in the shop, just got off the phone with my friend and said to the cashier 'Just these, and can i get a fuckin lottery ticket too'. Boy was my face red :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Just let it escalate man. Damn was the **** of it's time, and when nobody bats an eyelid at ****, someone will have come up with a new word to be taboo. And we can all have fun saying that til it becomes ok, and the cycle continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭JBnaglfar

Fucking way too much swearing imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

F*cken A!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Even if it is too much, I like it. :P I was a hell of a potty mouth back in Canada, but was actually considered pretty reserved when I lived in Ireland! Everyone and their mother (literally in a lot of cases) said fuck or cunt on a regular basis. It was heaven!

Live in North America awhile and you'll understand how often it really is in Ireland - it doesn't seem as bad when you're used to it because you stop noticing, but really, ye lot're filthy :pac:

Then again, it could just be Mullingar..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

liah wrote: »
    Even if it is too much, I like it. :P I was a hell of a potty mouth back in Canada, but was actually considered pretty reserved when I lived in Ireland! Everyone and their mother (literally in a lot of cases) said fuck or cunt on a regular basis.

Live in North America awhile and you'll understand how often it really is in Ireland - it doesn't seem as bad when you're used to it because you stop noticing, but really, ye lot're filthy :pac:

Then again, it could just be Mullingar..

We are rather a foul mouthed lot, compared to some of our north american associates.

Can't speak about the latin American ones as I no habla the whatsit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

i defo swear too much! im aware i do, i try not to, but ive been doing it so long now i think im fcuked as far as stoping is concerned!
    90% of my sentences have a fcuk! bolox! ****! wanker! dickhead! and i use jesus christ way too much!
    Actually why do so many people use Jesus Christ as a swear word so much? i dont know why i use it but its defo up there with fcuk and wanker!

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Yes iv an awful foul mouth. Just the other day i was in the shop, just got off the phone with my friend and said to the cashier 'Just these, and can i get a fuckin lottery ticket too'. Boy was my face red :o

Love it, nice darts sir!
    Remember once saying someone was a 'cnut' in a meeting in work (client who wasn't at the meeting), that was slightly embarrassing til someone agreed with me!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

i defo swear too much! im aware i do, i try not to, but ive been doing it so long now i think im fcuked as far as stoping is concerned!
    90% of my sentences have a fcuk! bolox! ****! wanker! dickhead! and i use jesus christ way too much!
    Actually why do so many people use Jesus Christ as a swear word so much? i dont know why i use it but its defo up there with fcuk and wanker!

Its all part of the gentle lilt of our native brogue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

The Irish have a built in swear system like nobody else and part of the vocabulary , something you notice more when you return home but with some individuals more then others :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

No, we don't ****ing swear too much, what kind of a ****ing stupid question is that to ask, you ****ing **** of an OP? I will **** you up.

:P

Abso-fucking-loutely. :D

Swearing is considered way more acceptable in Ireland than even in the UK. I remember reading on Digital Spy when 2FM first appeared on Sky, some of the forum members across the pond couldn't believe that Gerry Ryan was able to say what he did at that time of the morning.

I know a couple of people from the US who never swear and I specifically try not to when talking to them as I don't think they'd take it well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Karsini wrote: »
    Abso-fucking-loutely. :D

How did you do that, you ****ing ****? :eek::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Karsini wrote: »
    couldn't believe that Gerry Ryan was able to say what he did at that time of the morning.

I like how there's apparently some unspoken rule dictating a time that people should officially begin swearing :pac:

I mean, it's not exactly like having a shot of vodka at 7 am, is it?

liah wrote: »
    I like how there's apparently some unspoken rule dictating a time that people should officially begin swearing :pac:

I mean, it's not exactly like having a shot of vodka at 7 am, is it?

Well it was more like, how could he swear at 10am without having the BCC up his ass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

didn't we have this thread only yesterday for fuck sake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

I love swearing, there’s no better way to get a point across than to add f**k, wa*ker, bollox. Unfortunately I don’t get to do it that much, people I work with consider “sugar, fudge, frick” to be dirty works, fooking nobjockeys.

alexa5x5 wrote: »
    I love swearing, there’s no better way to get a point across than to add f**k, wa*ker, bollox. Unfortunately I don’t get to do it that much, people I work with consider “sugar, fudge, frick” to be dirty works, fooking nobjockeys.

*loveblush* :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

one of my best friends is like this. has never said a swear word in his life. ive known him since primary school. he says 'sugar' a lot.
    sound lad though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I always curse no matter who im talking to,and i have a very strong Waterford accent which doesn't help it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Except for stand up , I cant remember any other comedian ( or anybody else for that matter ) being allowed to use the F word on a bbc television sitcom other than Brendan O Carroll ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

[/B]
    one of my best friends is like this. has never said a swear word in his life. ive known him since primary school. he says 'sugar' a lot.
    sound lad though

Yeah there's nothing wrong with in fact it is kinda endearing, but sometimes I love one of them to come out with a "motherfooker" "wa*kface"

I have a confession to make, the 'c' word is in nearly every sentence i utter, I apologise in advance for bringing shame on my life, my family, my friends and the good people of boards throughout my life!!!! :(

kfallon wrote: »
    I have a confession to make, the 'c' word is in nearly every sentence i utter, I apologise in advance for bringing shame on my life, my family, my friends and the good people of boards throughout my life!!!! :(

Fuck that boy the cleaboy have the best fuckin chicken in the world :D

Them cuntin' chicken fillet burgers, mmmmmmm......... :pac:

kfallon wrote: »
    Them cuntin' chicken fillet burgers, mmmmmmm......... :pac:

Id ate the cunt outa yer one working there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

We're probably the only English-Speaking country capable of starting sentences with

"Fecking/Fucking..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I unintentionally swear, I often don't mean it really. Often do it as part of conversation or to have a joke with someone. Something bad or something that curses me I would say it or something that annoyed me maybe even at my happiest I could so!

Id ate the cunt outa yer one working there ;)

Oh jaysus yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

You forgot the 'Possibly, but who gives a ****' option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭Dwellingdweller

nummnutts wrote: »
    You forgot the 'Possibly, but who gives a ****' option.

Fuck! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I didn't notice just how much I swore until my German girlfriend started swearing like a trooper in front of my parents thinking that it was completely normal after having picked it up from me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The amount of swearing is cuntish altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Latchy wrote: »
    Except for stand up , I cant remember any other comedian ( or anybody else for that matter ) being allowed to use the F word on a bbc television sitcom other than Brendan O Carroll ...

You've presumably never watched The Thick of it.

Probably the only sitcom to employ a 'swearing consultant'. I think there's something almost poetic about this line:

"You breathe a word of this... to anyone, you mincing fucking cunt, and I will tear your fucking skin off... I will wear it to your mother's birthday party and I will rub your nuts up and down her leg whilst whistling Bohemian fucking Rhapsody. Alright?"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I think the Irish do swear a lot but I've never lived for a protracted amount of time in any other country to know whether or not it's more excessive than other places.
    We do say the word fuck a lot. But people from New Zealand seem to say bollox a lot, so maybe different swear words have more or less impact in different places.

Is 'ride me sideways' a curse? :p

Posy wrote: »

which side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I swear a lot. I've tried to stop, but it's impossible.
    We're probably the only English-Speaking country capable of starting sentences with

"Fecking/Fucking..."

The Scottish and non-posh English give it a good go, tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

**** yeah we do.

I work in an office with a certain amount of stress and swearing is the best release valve we've got. :)

I do draw the line at the c-word though. :)

Posy wrote: »
    I think the Irish do swear a lot but I've never lived for a protracted amount of time in any other country to know whether or not it's more excessive than other places.
    We do say the word fuck a lot. But people from New Zealand seem to say bollox a lot, so maybe different swear words have more or less impact in different places.

In Canada they use bastard a lot more than we do, it wouldn't be considered as severe as it is here.

I work in an office with a certain amount of stress and swearing is the best release valve we've got. :)

At least ye are only swearing:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

If we don't ,then why are there so many [EMAIL="*@(****ing"]*@(****ing[/EMAIL] abbreviations in our posts?