Have you ever been scammed, fleeced or robbed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Crunchy Friends

Saw a post on Adverts from a guy selling a PS3 for a good price - but he lived in Balbriggan, so it cost me and my boyfriend €16 to go and get it, that was grand, we were getting a fairly good deal.

Went out, chap met us at the train station and we done the deal. Playstation looked in grand condition, chap says if there are any issues just to phone him. Perfect.

Went home, turned it on, everything working excellent and then BAM! The thing just switched off and would not come on - 3 red flashing lights.

So, I went back on adverts. I clicked into this guys username and saw his boards posts - he buys broken playstations, xbox's etc and refurbs them. Really wasn't happy with this so I rang him. He played the fool (I didn't mention anything about boards) and said he didn't know anything about playstations at all, that he was a complete technophobe. He agreed to drive up to my house the next day and switch back. The next day he rang me and said 'What are the chances, my nephew is selling one, can we do a swap?', clearly he had just another refurbed one. I said no, he brought me back my money but was insisting on another swap right up til the very end.

What an absolute arsehole he was. I shat all over his feedback on Adverts and then he started messaging me all the time. Had to change my username!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

bluewolf wrote: »
    For goodness' sakes they are roma not romanian

I thought everyone would know this by now - the romanians hate them as well

STFU!
    I hate these smart ass replies...
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    there are gypsies from romania you know!

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

i get scammed fleeced and robbed of every week .

USC on my payslip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

I spent £20 on a piece of horse shit wrapped in cling film at the Notting Hill carnival in London many years ago thinking it was something else. Not epic, just annoying, £20 sterling was quite a lot of money then. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I spent £20 on a piece of horse shit wrapped in cling film at the Notting Hill carnival in London many years ago thinking it was something else. Not epic, just annoying, £20 sterling was quite a lot of money then. :D

lol, it must have been some good ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Doom wrote: »
    I scammed a Nigerian prince out of € 15million, he asked me to help him get it out of the country..;)

Ireland 1 - Nigeria 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

living in Dublin and working a bar in the city when i was about 20, i was dying for a little smoke - couldn't get any at home. mentioned it to a taxi driver one night and he gives me his number and says to give him a shout tomorrow. i texted him and he said he'd get me a half oz. for £50 (before the €). grand.

after loads of messing about that evening he eventually says he's pulled in up the road. i stroll down and he says in a panic he has to get his brother somewhere - guy in the passenger seat. he hands me a B&H box with a with load of tinfoil in it as i hand him the £50 and he speeds off.

now i'm betting you're thinking there was no hash in there - but there was. the thinnest sliver off the end of a bar, not even 2 mills thick, basically the makings of a joint. that's what pissed me off the most - the f'ucker obviously was able to get his hands on a good lump of hash but decided to scam me instead. b'astard.

on the upside - he was getting abusive texts and VM's for about 4 weeks until i got bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Luxie

Yeah got my bankcard cloned and got my account almost cleared out once.

Bank refunded the money though.

Bastards (the scammers I mean).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I also bought two tickets on Gumtree that were shown to be 'stolen' when scanned. So easy to do that no with those e-tickets too. Someone could print hundreds of them and sell them as uniques.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

When I was much younger and less experienced in the ways of the world, I did a few jobs that I never got paid for.
    Needless to say I was pissed off about it. In those jobs I never did get my money, but I made sure they paid in other ways.

Now people know now not to fcuk me around.

I followed OutlawPete's Martingale betting thread diligently.

I tried it a few times with success.

I took out a Mortgage on my home and used the money as part of this fool proof gambling tactic.

I hit 21 reds in a row, and lost everything.

I then went to college, learned the difference between submartingales and supermartingales, and very simply can see how bad the Martingale tactic is.

I feel like OutlawPete has scammed me out of my future.

I followed OutlawPete's Martingale betting thread diligently.

I hit 21 reds in a row, and lost everything.

Not diligently enough .. ;)
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    Of course there are fools out there who will walk into a casino thinking the system is going to make them rich and with a bank of $30,000, their first bet will be $1000 on black.

Five reds later they are walking out crying.

You'll always get mugs.

2^21 = 2,097,152.

I had a bankroll of 2.1million....
    And starting bet of €2

2^21 = 2,097,152.

I had a bankroll of 2.1million....
    And starting bet of €2

NEVER go beyond five bets, you fool :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭LiamIRL82

Sold an iPhone on ebay to a scumbag in Manchester. Sent it by registered post and got a tracking number and everything. Two weeks later he files a claim saying item didn't arrive even though it showed up on the anpost website as delivered. Paypal sides with him even after all the proof I had and gave them. So he had the iPhone and his money back, I had no iPhone and down 195 quid. Moral of the story is stay well away from ebay & paypal.

But tau=5 is not on optimal stopping time?

As a student of Mathematics, I feel you owe me an apology.

False God

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 28,274 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Scammed- Yes. When I was about 17 (and a very naive 17 year old) I bought something on e-bay for a couple of hundred pounds and paid using... western union. :o:o
    Needless to say, the item I ordered never showed up. I still feel mortified about that, but never got scammed by anyone, anywhere again. Lesson, albeit a harsh one, was learned.
    Robbed- Mugged.. and once held up in an armed robbery at work. Didn't mind the armed robbery- nobody got hurt and it wasn't my money they stole so it didn't effect me too much, although I was pretty jumpy at work for a while! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

Biggins wrote: »
    When I was much younger and less experienced in the ways of the world, I did a few jobs that I never got paid for.
    Needless to say I was pissed off about it. In those jobs I never did get my money, but I made sure they paid in other ways.

Now people know now not to fcuk me around.

Reminds me of a summer job I took on the Isle of Man in the top hotel/golf resort there years ago. I worked in the bar, but all of us (summer workers anyway) were left short wages all the time, constant chasing it up with the HR/Payroll person.

Revenge was sweet when I was made the stock manager with keys to the storage room where the expensive wines/whiskey/brandy etc. were kept. Myself & the 2 irish lads I lived/worked with became connoisseurs of the finest wines & spirits very quickly..

Think I ended up coming home 2 week wages short overall but it cost them more.

Doublin wrote: »
    Reminds me of a summer job I took on the Isle of Man in the top hotel/golf resort there years ago. I worked in the bar, but all of us (summer workers anyway) were left short wages all the time, constant chasing it up with the HR/Payroll person.

Revenge was sweet when I was made the stock manager with keys to the storage room where the expensive wines/whiskey/brandy etc. were kept. Myself & the 2 irish lads I lived/worked with became connoisseurs of the finest wines & spirits very quickly..

Think I ended up coming home 2 week wages short overall but it cost them more.

When I was a teen, one wanker decided to try and rip me off big time in wages (paying me cash) so I got him back and did the other workers a favour at the same time.
    Having quit with no sign of wages, I went back an an appropriate time and using superglue I had bought (the outlay was worth it), poured the stuff into the insides of all his locks for his premises - and ALL his doors were of heavy thick metal re-enforced type.
    Cost him an absolute fortune the next day just trying to get into his place. He had to hire a man with a blowtorch to burn the locks out and then get replacements for the seriously heavy metal doors - and the workers in the meantime got a few hours break in the warm sunshine outside while they waited to be let in!

He should have just paid me, it would have been far cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

He should have just paid me, it would have been far cheaper.

True, do people who feck people over not expect payback? Feck that.. Don't want to derail this thread into comparing it to what has happened in this country, but I apply the same principle..

Treat people fair, pay what you owe, they pay what they owe. Each taking responsibility.

Doublin wrote: »
    True, do people who feck people over not expect payback? Feck that.. Don't want to derail this thread into comparing it to what has happened in this country, but I apply the same principle..

Treat people fair, pay what you owe, they pay what they owe. Each taking responsibility.
    Yep, you reap what you sow occasionally - but some gobschites never learn that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

EmacB wrote: »
    5 troll posts in two pages give us a rest jesus your coming across as a tool.

Nothing that big, but when i was about nine in an arcade in a holiday camp in italy, i needed change for 2 euro, my only 2 euro. Anyway the change machine was out of order but along comes some german kid offering to go get change for me. I was thinking, nice chap cheers here ya go......as soon as he went out the door it dawned on me wait....... hes not coming back is he :(:o
    Ruined my trust in people :(:P

dam german gypsies:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Not really scammed, but my wallet was pickpocketed from my front pocket in a supermarket in London. Only realised when I got to the till.

Went through the security tapes afterwards. Could clearly see that I had my wallet in my pocket until I walked into an aisle which wasn't covered by security camera. When I stepped back into view of the camera in less than a minute my wallet had been taken. It was a relatively busy supermarket, so it could have been one of about 20 people, but however they did it I've no idea. They were obviously clever enough to operate in the blind spot, skillful enough to take it from my front pocket without me or anyone else noticing, and good enough at blending in that there was no obvious culprit from the footage. Left me fairly paranoid of strangers for a while.

My wallet was found that night chucked behind some stuff on the shelf with the cash taken, but everything else intact, so it'd obviously been done swiftly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭force majeure

Do cowboy builders count. :mad: ones that do windows and doors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

bluewolf wrote: »
    For goodness' sakes they are roma not romanian

I thought everyone would know this by now - the romanians hate them as well

Do you know what passports they had?

Blisterman wrote: »
    ...My wallet was found that night chucked behind some stuff on the shelf with the cash taken, but everything else intact, so it'd obviously been done swiftly.
    Thats another tactic. As soon as they get what they want from it, they have to dump it as soon as possible.
    They don't want to be caught with it on them - especially if they are suspected or spotted. Dump and run...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

on the other side of the coin -

When i was 11/12 i went around Dun Laoghaire with an old friend with raffle tickets saying it was for saving the baths - made around 30pounds. it was brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

When I was 16 (around 1995) I was robbed at knife-point by a scumbag on my way home from working in Superquinn one Saturday evening. I never forgot his face and even remember seeing him around on the Dart a few times over the years - he even sat beside me one time and laughed to me about it, as if I was his mate - real casual. And then he robbed my mate a few years later too. He wasn't afraid of getting caught or people knowing who he was - he told my mate he'd burn his house down if he ever called the Guards.

Then in 2001, he got his face smashed in by a hammer in St. Annes park. The Garda who dealt with my mugging years earlier actually called to let me know a few weeks after it happened.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2001/0402/raheny.html

Justice!! I giggled my f*cking ass off when I read it. (note that the original article used to have his picture - that archived version doesn't). I've attached it anyway - I kept the article on my PC. :)

When I was 16 (around 1995) I was robbed at knife-point by a scumbag on my way home from working in Superquinn one Saturday evening. I never forgot his face and even remember seeing him around on the Dart a few times over the years - he even sat beside me one time and laughed to me about it, as if I was his mate - real casual. And then he robbed my mate a few years later too. He wasn't afraid of getting caught or people knowing who he was - he told my mate he'd burn his house down if he ever called the Guards.

Then in 2001, he got his face smashed in by a hammer in St. Annes park. The Garda who dealt with my mugging years earlier actually called to let me know a few weeks after it happened.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2001/0402/raheny.html

Justice!! I giggled my f*cking ass off when I read it. (note that the original article used to have his picture - that archived version doesn't). I've attached it anyway - I kept the article on my PC. :)

Karma!
    Ya got to love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭heidi_ho

my passport was nicked out of my bag in the tube in London...

my car was nicked and burnt out by a non blood relative...

being fleeced by the country every day i leave the house