Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been scammed, fleeced or robbed?

• 22-04-2011 3:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Few years ago I was selling a Phone/Mini Laptop/Device thing (won it on O2.ie) and a guy phoned me and said could he come and view it and that if it was in good nic, he'd buy it. Only thing was I was in Swords and he was in Blessington. So long story short, I arranged to meet him in pub I know, it was during the day and so I wanted to make sure I wouldn't get robbed.

So anyway, I'm sitting in the pub and the guy phones me and says he's outside but his motorbike won't switch off and could I come outside instead. Immediately I'm thinking scam, this fcuker is going be ripping off pulling wheelies if he gets his hands on the phone/device/thing. So I walk outside and I see him on his knees at the motorbike and I have a tight grip on the box as I stand well back from him a good four feet or so.

He then says: "Listen, just show me the condition of it and I'll take it if it's new like you say".

I'm thinking this bastard's gonna grab this so stepping back even further from where I was, I removed the box slowly from my bag and ...

Guy comes from behind me, grabs the box and tears up the road on his toes. Out of instinct I took off after him before it dawns on me .. 'he's with the cunt on the motorbike' and as I turn around to go back and grab him - he rips past me on the motorbike following the guy running, stops at the top of the road and the two of them are away to inject my phone device into their fucking arms no doubt, the bastids.

So that's about as close I've ever come to being fucked up the arse, how about you? Ever been scammed/fleeced or robbed? Ever feel like a twat for letting someone hustle you or pull the wool over your eyes? Ever trusted someone, only for it to epicly backfire on you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

ha - unlucky pete

was robbed by 3 memeber of the traveling community with a screw driver when i was about 10 - they got a pound and all.

when i bought something off boards the guy wanted to meet me down an allayway in rathmines - i thought it was a bit sketchy but turned out grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

i won't get into details though:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I'm not gullable, so no. Lost my phone a couple of times though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

here in the midlands a trip to Dublin on Bus Eireann was a big thing, every December 8th and maybe once or twice a year.
    Around here the shops closed at 6pm and many didn't open on Sundays. There were shops in Dublin even Limerick didn't have. Like some Formula 1 shop on Liffey Street, closed a few years back btw

Arrive in Dublin and some lad in a tracksuit would ask me for a pound for a bus which I gave. It was after the third or fourth time I was asked for bus fare by the same lad that I figured out what was going on :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭ct89

Oranage2 wrote: »
    ha - unlucky pete

was robbed by 3 memeber of the traveling community with a screw driver when i was about 10 - they got a pound and all.

when i bought something off boards the guy wanted to meet me down an allayway in rathmines - i thought it was a bit sketchy but turned out grand.

Damn gypsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

I'm always paranoid that something like that will happen when I sell stuff on adverts. Sorry to hear it happened to you Pete.

Had one person try cheat me, but it ended ok.

Was trading a guitar with someone, and met his brother in town (Dublin :p) It looked ok, bit of damage but I knew it would have a chip or two. Got it home and realised it was basically unplayable and would cost a bomb to fix, so I tried ringing the guy - no luck, tried his brother - phone off.

Finally get an abusive text waffling on about having no rights and all the usual crap. Went on to adverts help here and got the usual unhelpful posts - at least the mods were nice :pac:

Finally, I rang the local garda station in his area and they said they couldn't do much, but would give him a ring. Result. Cue a 2 hour drive in which I lost and re-found my wallet, almost got killed trying to get a bag of chips and then swapped guitars back with the guys brother, lovely guy - said his brother was a 'little b*stard' who was always doing stuff like that.

Oh and before I get the same responses I got on adverts help at the time - I couldn't have known the damage was so bad till I got the thing home and played it, it looked fine, which the guy clearly knew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

ha - unlucky pete

You mean your anus did, after he bummed you into oblivion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

...only by the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Went to a car-boot sale about a year ago. At one table they were selling packs of 10 blank dvds. Started to haggle with the guy and we eventually on '2 for the price of 3'. Didnt realise what happened til the next day....:(

Fianna Fáil scammed, fleeced and robbed the whole country.

/thread

here in the midlands a trip to Dublin on Bus Eireann was a big thing, every December 8th and maybe once or twice a year.
    Around here the shops closed at 6pm and many didn't open on Sundays. There were shops in Dublin even Limerick didn't have. Like some Formula 1 shop on Liffey Street, closed a few years back btw

Arrive in Dublin and some lad in a tracksuit would ask me for a pound for a bus which I gave. It was after the third or fourth time I was asked for bus fare by the same lad that I figured out what was going on :rolleyes:

This makes me more angry than the rest of them - I would hate to think that maybe one day I'd be robbed and need bus fare home but everyone would be too used to these scammers :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

My student accommodation was robbed a few months ago.

Usually I have my bedroom door locked but I left it open as I'd gone home early due to illness and one of the lads needed to sue my computer.

Anyway my eekit of a housemate(Love him really hah)always used to leave his window open,which i'd close before leaving.

Long story short got back that sunday to find my room in a mess,some of my close thrown aobut,my curtains half pulled down,asl covered in muck with my computer half pulled out and the lad who leaves his window open suit on my bed(Suit up day was the week before).I went mad thinking the lads in my house just thrashed it.

Was raging and then went up stairs,found the tv missing and a rock on the ground with the window smashed upstairs.Went back down and into the open window guys room,his room covered in mud,the window even more so.Since it was only myself and another fella arrived so far I called everyone and then security.Guards came,then this CSI dude(Who was the biggest ledgend ever,making jokes n stuff).

They ended up taking the TV,two things o deodorant,condoms,A jumper,shirt and flat cap of mine and a pair of shutter glasses I had for Halloween.Those gobeens must have looked some state leaving :pac:.If they got my pc I'd be raging!

It was a really nice jumper,shirt and hat though :(.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Naikon wrote: »
    I'm not gullable, so no.

Cheers :mad:

Meant to say also, the damn thing was worth about €700, one of those Nokia Communicator things, expensive fcukers at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

2 members of my travelling community stole me and my mates cans

Pauleta wrote: »
    2 members of my travelling community stole me and my mates cans

Damn gypsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Naikon wrote: »
    I'm not gullable, so no. .
    Thats the least of your problems :D

One time a mate and I were travelling around Europe and we were walking around Naples so he sees these two guys selling mobile phones on the corner, one a top of the range phone for a third the normal price, anyway the guys give the phone to my mate and tell him call who you want (basically so he can see it works perfectly, he hands it back and agrees a price of 70 euro, so they wrap it up nice for him in a box, and halfway down the street, he opens the box and inside is a plastic water bottle, very clever scam as we even saw him putting the phone into the same box, obviously a bait and switch scam.

I didn't pull the piss too much and we went back to see if we could find them, no luck though...

franklyon wrote: »
    Thats the least of your problems :D

One time a mate and I were travelling around Europe and we were walking around Naples so he sees these two guys selling mobile phones on the corner, one a top of the range phone for a third the normal price, anyway the guys give the phone to my mate and tell him call who you want (basically so he can see it works perfectly, he hands it back and agrees a price of 70 euro, so they wrap it up nice for him in a box, and halfway down the street, he opens the box and inside is a plastic water bottle, very clever scam as we even saw him putting the phone into the same box, obviously a bait and switch scam.

I didn't pull the piss too much and we went back to see if we could find them, no luck though...

Damn Roma Gypsies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Pick-pocketed in Egypt of travellers cheques years ago. They were insured so I got my dosh back but it does leave you a less trusting person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

ct89 wrote: »

/thread

Can we not have a single thread without some genius spotting a chance to relate the subject in some way, shape or form back to the current economic crisis.

Cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I scammed a Nigerian prince out of € 15million, he asked me to help him get it out of the country..;)

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Can we not have a single thread without some genius spotting a chance to relate the subject in some way, shape or form back to the current economic crisis.

Cheers.

{Obvious FF supporter}

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

Was just talking to my dad about this thread and mentioned what happened a few years ago.

He was in the blanchardstown shopping centre and got some paint from Atlantic Homecare (which is located in one the centres retail parks and not the main building, so he parked in the retail park) ... he goes to put the paint in the van (side door) with the idea to then walk over into the actual shopping centre to goto the newsagents... but as he was putting the paint in the van he noticed a bunch of Romanian gypsies (a family) staring at him from a bit away ... thought to himself that he should just drive over into the main carpark rather than leaving the van there.... but thought to himself ah F*ck I'll only be a minute.

so what happens?
    he comes out of the centre, walks back over to the van only to see the side door jimmed open and the paint gone. Only a small tin of paint. Not worth much.

Scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

My mother was selling her car, wasn't worth much so was just going to be used for scrap metal & parts. I was in my teens. She got a phone call off a lad from Dunsink Lane saying he'd come down & have a look.

She asked me could I be there to show them the car etc. Can't remember how much my Mother wanted for the car, but we'll say £100 was a fair price. 2 lads came down, looked around, tut-tuted saying it wasn't worth £100 and started to haggle. I kept saying no, they'd easily make that back & more on the parts alone.

Anyway, he finally agreed to the £100, counted it out in front of me. Then him and his mate start talking to each other about who's going to drive it back up or something, lasted no time but I had taken my eye's off the money. When I went to take the money he had it rolled up. I just took it & put it into my pocket. Low and behold, when they were gone & I gave my mother the money, there was only £60.

I spent the rest of the day cursing myself & them. I did want to go up after them, but calmed down/copped on. Nothing good could have come from me going up there..

Console wrote: »
    Was just talking to my dad about this thread and mentioned what happened a few years ago.

He was in the blanchardstown shopping centre and got some paint from Atlantic Homecare (which is located in one the centres retail parks and not the main building, so he parked in the retail park) ... he goes to put the paint in the van (side door) with the idea to then walk over into the actual shopping centre to goto the newsagents... but as he was putting the paint in the van he noticed a bunch of Romanian gypsies (a family) staring at him from a bit away ... thought to himself that he should just drive over into the main carpark rather than leaving the van there.... but thought to himself ah F*ck I'll only be a minute.

so what happens?
    he comes out of the centre, walks back over to the van only to see the side door jimmed open and the paint gone. Only a small tin of paint. Not worth much.

Scum.

For goodness' sakes they are roma not romanian

I thought everyone would know this by now - the romanians hate them as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

bluewolf wrote: »

there are gypsies from romania you know!

Romanian Roma yes :pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Jericho.

A mate of mine was buying a laptop off a guy and arranged to meet him him. He got together with the fellow and a mate of his anyways and took a look at the laptop and everything was fine with it so he decided he'd take it. Took his eye off the laptop and the guys mate when he was paying the first guy. Got handed the laptop bag and off he went home.

When he opened the bag there was 2 one litre cartons of milk inside. What could he do other than sit down and drink them. They were after all the most expensive 2 litres of milk he was ever likely to buy.

Some shady characters out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭EmacB

Damn gypsies

/thread
    Damn gypsies
    Damn Roma Gypsies
    {Obvious FF supporter}

5 troll posts in two pages give us a rest jesus your coming across as a tool.

Nothing that big, but when i was about nine in an arcade in a holiday camp in italy, i needed change for 2 euro, my only 2 euro. Anyway the change machine was out of order but along comes some german kid offering to go get change for me. I was thinking, nice chap cheers here ya go......as soon as he went out the door it dawned on me wait....... hes not coming back is he :(:o
    Ruined my trust in people :(:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Dean0088 wrote: »

Cheers.
    Damn...I've been robbed of my chance to blame the government for everything.

OK, we'll blame you then. Always need a fallguy to take the blame.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭mono_mac

mate drove from monaghan to donegal , for a iphone 4 at 400 euro- looked grand- but it was a fupping clone- only spotted on last minute !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Crunchy Friends

Saw a post on Adverts from a guy selling a PS3 for a good price - but he lived in Balbriggan, so it cost me and my boyfriend €16 to go and get it, that was grand, we were getting a fairly good deal.

Went out, chap met us at the train station and we done the deal. Playstation looked in grand condition, chap says if there are any issues just to phone him. Perfect.

Went home, turned it on, everything working excellent and then BAM! The thing just switched off and would not come on - 3 red flashing lights.

So, I went back on adverts. I clicked into this guys username and saw his boards posts - he buys broken playstations, xbox's etc and refurbs them. Really wasn't happy with this so I rang him. He played the fool (I didn't mention anything about boards) and said he didn't know anything about playstations at all, that he was a complete technophobe. He agreed to drive up to my house the next day and switch back. The next day he rang me and said 'What are the chances, my nephew is selling one, can we do a swap?', clearly he had just another refurbed one. I said no, he brought me back my money but was insisting on another swap right up til the very end.

What an absolute arsehole he was. I shat all over his feedback on Adverts and then he started messaging me all the time. Had to change my username!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Console

bluewolf wrote: »

STFU!
    I hate these smart ass replies...

Exactly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

i get scammed fleeced and robbed of every week .

USC on my payslip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

I spent £20 on a piece of horse shit wrapped in cling film at the Notting Hill carnival in London many years ago thinking it was something else. Not epic, just annoying, £20 sterling was quite a lot of money then. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I spent £20 on a piece of horse shit wrapped in cling film at the Notting Hill carnival in London many years ago thinking it was something else. Not epic, just annoying, £20 sterling was quite a lot of money then. :D

lol, it must have been some good ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Doom wrote: »
    I scammed a Nigerian prince out of € 15million, he asked me to help him get it out of the country..;)

Ireland 1 - Nigeria 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

living in Dublin and working a bar in the city when i was about 20, i was dying for a little smoke - couldn't get any at home. mentioned it to a taxi driver one night and he gives me his number and says to give him a shout tomorrow. i texted him and he said he'd get me a half oz. for £50 (before the €). grand.

after loads of messing about that evening he eventually says he's pulled in up the road. i stroll down and he says in a panic he has to get his brother somewhere - guy in the passenger seat. he hands me a B&H box with a with load of tinfoil in it as i hand him the £50 and he speeds off.

now i'm betting you're thinking there was no hash in there - but there was. the thinnest sliver off the end of a bar, not even 2 mills thick, basically the makings of a joint. that's what pissed me off the most - the f'ucker obviously was able to get his hands on a good lump of hash but decided to scam me instead. b'astard.

on the upside - he was getting abusive texts and VM's for about 4 weeks until i got bored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Yeah got my bankcard cloned and got my account almost cleared out once.

Bank refunded the money though.

Bastards (the scammers I mean).

I also bought two tickets on Gumtree that were shown to be 'stolen' when scanned. So easy to do that no with those e-tickets too. Someone could print hundreds of them and sell them as uniques.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

When I was much younger and less experienced in the ways of the world, I did a few jobs that I never got paid for.
    Needless to say I was pissed off about it. In those jobs I never did get my money, but I made sure they paid in other ways.

Now people know now not to fcuk me around.

• I followed OutlawPete's Martingale betting thread diligently.

I tried it a few times with success.

I took out a Mortgage on my home and used the money as part of this fool proof gambling tactic.

I hit 21 reds in a row, and lost everything.

I then went to college, learned the difference between submartingales and supermartingales, and very simply can see how bad the Martingale tactic is.

I feel like OutlawPete has scammed me out of my future.

I followed OutlawPete's Martingale betting thread diligently.

I hit 21 reds in a row, and lost everything.

Not diligently enough .. ;)
    OutlawPete wrote: »
    Of course there are fools out there who will walk into a casino thinking the system is going to make them rich and with a bank of $30,000, their first bet will be $1000 on black.

Five reds later they are walking out crying.

You'll always get mugs.

• 2^21 = 2,097,152.

I had a bankroll of 2.1million....
    And starting bet of €2

2^21 = 2,097,152.

I had a bankroll of 2.1million....
    And starting bet of €2

NEVER go beyond five bets, you fool :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭LiamIRL82

Sold an iPhone on ebay to a scumbag in Manchester. Sent it by registered post and got a tracking number and everything. Two weeks later he files a claim saying item didn't arrive even though it showed up on the anpost website as delivered. Paypal sides with him even after all the proof I had and gave them. So he had the iPhone and his money back, I had no iPhone and down 195 quid. Moral of the story is stay well away from ebay & paypal.

• But tau=5 is not on optimal stopping time?

As a student of Mathematics, I feel you owe me an apology.

False God

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Scammed- Yes. When I was about 17 (and a very naive 17 year old) I bought something on e-bay for a couple of hundred pounds and paid using... western union. :o:o
    Needless to say, the item I ordered never showed up. I still feel mortified about that, but never got scammed by anyone, anywhere again. Lesson, albeit a harsh one, was learned.
    Robbed- Mugged.. and once held up in an armed robbery at work. Didn't mind the armed robbery- nobody got hurt and it wasn't my money they stole so it didn't effect me too much, although I was pretty jumpy at work for a while! :pac:

Biggins wrote: »
    When I was much younger and less experienced in the ways of the world, I did a few jobs that I never got paid for.
    Needless to say I was pissed off about it. In those jobs I never did get my money, but I made sure they paid in other ways.

Now people know now not to fcuk me around.

Reminds me of a summer job I took on the Isle of Man in the top hotel/golf resort there years ago. I worked in the bar, but all of us (summer workers anyway) were left short wages all the time, constant chasing it up with the HR/Payroll person.

Revenge was sweet when I was made the stock manager with keys to the storage room where the expensive wines/whiskey/brandy etc. were kept. Myself & the 2 irish lads I lived/worked with became connoisseurs of the finest wines & spirits very quickly..

Think I ended up coming home 2 week wages short overall but it cost them more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Doublin wrote: »
    Reminds me of a summer job I took on the Isle of Man in the top hotel/golf resort there years ago. I worked in the bar, but all of us (summer workers anyway) were left short wages all the time, constant chasing it up with the HR/Payroll person.

Revenge was sweet when I was made the stock manager with keys to the storage room where the expensive wines/whiskey/brandy etc. were kept. Myself & the 2 irish lads I lived/worked with became connoisseurs of the finest wines & spirits very quickly..

Think I ended up coming home 2 week wages short overall but it cost them more.

When I was a teen, one wanker decided to try and rip me off big time in wages (paying me cash) so I got him back and did the other workers a favour at the same time.
    Having quit with no sign of wages, I went back an an appropriate time and using superglue I had bought (the outlay was worth it), poured the stuff into the insides of all his locks for his premises - and ALL his doors were of heavy thick metal re-enforced type.
    Cost him an absolute fortune the next day just trying to get into his place. He had to hire a man with a blowtorch to burn the locks out and then get replacements for the seriously heavy metal doors - and the workers in the meantime got a few hours break in the warm sunshine outside while they waited to be let in!

He should have just paid me, it would have been far cheaper.

True, do people who feck people over not expect payback? Feck that.. Don't want to derail this thread into comparing it to what has happened in this country, but I apply the same principle..

Treat people fair, pay what you owe, they pay what they owe. Each taking responsibility.