Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The end is nigh? The end is here!

• 23-04-2011 03:44PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭

So with the playstation network down for 3 days already, finally they came out on their offical blog an said that they turned off the playstation network to investigate an external intrusion.

http://www.joystiq.com/2011/04/23/psn-outage-due-to-external-intrusion/
    You might have guessed this already, but it's no simple error that's been keeping the PSN down over the last few days, forcing us into productive activities (like writing this) instead of playing multiplayer Spelunker HD. Sony finally came forward on the PlayStation Blog and admitted that "An external intrusion on our system has affected our PlayStation Network and Qriocity services." Sony says it turned off PSN and Qriocity services on Wednesday to investigate this "intrusion" further.

If this is the work of "Anonymous" members, they failed to read their own nebulous organization's press release -- Anonymous supposedly backed off from PSN attacks in early April. It's entirely possible, however, the latest hackers are members of no group other than the loose worldwide confederation of jerks.

Without my fix it has got me to thinking. (Its a bad thing when I start to think)

Do Sony really care about their customers? The loyal people who have stuck with playstation even tho from what I can gather xbox is a better system.

With the likes of simple things that xbox get extra like for instance,

*Party Chat. (We get a crappy little text only chat room, stopping in the middle of a game to have to answer a question from one of the lads to say if there is room for them or not)

*Report a User Feature (It might be just a simple thing yet we have not got one of them, it took for Treyarc to give us a report a player featue on their game to bring cheaters to their attention. If a game DEVELOPER can do it why can't the console makers put a system in place to help out with all us plain an simple gamers who just have fun.

*Proper mic system. (Sonys Idea of using bluetooth headsets is possibly one of the worst Ideas in existance. to pay €30 for said bluetooth headset is retarded, who ever buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz came up with that idea should be smacked with millions of them blue buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz tooth headsets across the face for being an inconsiderate stupid waster buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz while with your first buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz xbox you get possibly one of the worst stupid looking things ever, the headset that xbox gives is worth it. why? Cause buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz it works.

J-tag reports an removals on XBOX take a number of hours, maybe less, (2 hours I think?) rendering this console gone for good, xbox have a system in place that they can cancel the xbox in question and leave the hackers out of pocket.

Although I know that PSN is free to play, Playstation Plus is not free, so alot of poor feckers are stuck with nothing after paying extra on top of the sometimes €300 console. XBOX retails at around €200 so for them to pay an extra €50 a year, that doesn't bother me, cause we have to pay extra for the actual console.

We should not HAVE to wait 3 FECKING DAYS before they tell us that they got hacked. Lack of communication on their part is disgraceful. We are the ones that buy their product, to use it online, like many people, the deciding factor on me buying a Playstation was the fact that it was free to play online. Should I have known that this crap was going to keep happening I would have brought my business to Xbox. Cause even tho Microsoft might be money grabbing fukers. They would not leave their Users 3 days with no explination of why they cannot access the online feature of their console.

I also blame Sony for me ending up like this simpsons_homer-779497.jpg this weekend.

So I ask ya's lads, what else do you think we NEED and WANT on the playstation network, and would you be willing to pay a yearly fee for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Suspiria79

Hardcore man, f*cking hardcore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Thanked for the picture alone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Xbox live Gold aint €50 for a year though, you can buy codes online at much cheaper prices, got mine for €36. That's 69cent a week which is well worth it considering xbox live is hardly ever down for maintenance whereas it seems to happen alot on the PSN recently before this blackout. Its worth it for the few extra features and the early dlc from a COD point of view.

Have to feel sorry for all Ps3 players though, hopefully Sony sort it asap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

iMuse wrote: »
    Xbox live Gold aint €50 for a year though, you can buy codes online at much cheaper prices, got mine for €36. That's 69cent a week which is well worth it considering xbox live is hardly ever down for maintenance whereas it seems to happen alot on the PSN recently before this blackout. Its worth it for the few extra features and the early dlc from a COD point of view.

Have to feel sorry for all Ps3 players though, hopefully Sony sort it asap :D

I buoght my sub for live in hmv, 39 bucks for the year, thats fcuk all when you think about it. I'd spend that on pizza and the cinema on a weekend night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 oneshotfinch

I don't think we can really make demands of a free service, although I do wish Sony just released some sort of patch that let people put Linux back onto their PS3s. That way Anon would have no choice but to back off.

I'd also just like to point out that PS+ has been well worth my money. I've gotten at least €100 of games out of it.

Anon are the people to blame IMO. Sony ceased legal action fairly quickly after Anon started attacking them but some of them are still going at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I don't think we can really make demands of a free service, although I do wish Sony just released some sort of patch that let people put Linux back onto their PS3s. That way Anon would have no choice but to back off.

I'd also just like to point out that PS+ has been well worth my money. I've gotten at least €100 of games out of it.

Anon are the people to blame IMO. Sony ceased legal action fairly quickly after Anon started attacking them but some of them are still going at it.

Is this anon though, weren't they just running loads of DDoS attacks? This seems like it was an actual hacker rather than some cnut with a program that does his haxxx0ring for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

My xbox live sub was 40 euro for 14 months , Sony once again are shocking , do they care about their customers.... i think you already know the answer to that one , its a free service , with the exception of those that paid for playstation plus.
    If sony had a reliable service like the 360 i would have no problem paying the sub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Does PSN have a "Join session in progress" feature? Along with communications and a regulatory system, the ability to join a friend's game is fairly important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

CORaven wrote: »
    Does PSN have a "Join session in progress" feature? Along with communications and a regulatory system, the ability to join a friend's game is fairly important.

depending on the game...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

Free add-ons as all ps3's have an inbuilt mechanism to destroy it's self at 1000 hrs run time.. Requiring a whole new console it seems anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 oneshotfinch

Is this anon though, weren't they just running loads of DDoS attacks? This seems like it was an actual hacker rather than some cnut with a program that does his haxxx0ring for him.

Anon's Facebook page seems to say as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Party chat seems like the obvious thign missing, i dont get why they havent implemented it into the system... Is it run off servers or is it p2p like skype ?

Ofc sony care about their customers, at least as much as microsoft do, you have to remember that the online service is a small part of playstation, there priority has and will probably always be in their single player games.... and anyone that argues that they don't care about those is a retard. They have far more exclusives than the xbox and imo their exclusives are of much better quality.

I think sony have secured the best partnership of the year when they teamed up with valve, hopefully they integrated alot of "Steam" into the PS4, because it absolutely wipes the floor with XBL in my opinion and is diffo thte way to go in terms of distribution etc.

Since i started playing online on the PS3, there have been probably 3 or 4 times when i wanted to play online and couldn't because it was down for maintenance or something... thats really not that bad... i played world of warcraft for a long time and the servers would be offline at least once a month and they'd be offline every wednesday from 12-6am.. simple fact is that servers need maintained, they don't take them offline for the craic or because they don't care about their users lol. With this current situation... im not even going to speculate why they didnt release a statement earlier, probably because they didnt know what the problem was.

And yes PS3 has a "Join" feature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Scody94

havin now played both xbox and PS3 im gonna say while xbox has *more* things goin for it i prefer PS3. yes it is missing the obvious Chat party but the text chat gives players that dont have mics the ability to quick message people they are playin with instead of sending a Message. And Ive had Ps3 1and a half years now and this is the first time this has happened to this extent. When it goes down for maintainence its doing t for the benefit of the user which shows they do care about their customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

Hello Sony It has come to our unfortunate attention that you have decided to interupt the free flow of information. As you well know from other acts performed by Anonymous, that we will not stand for this. By sueing Geo Hot, and attempting to view the IP addresses of those who watched his video..

hmmmm, who cares!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Happily pay €0.67 a week to not have to deal with this sort of shenanigans.

Been on Xbox for about 4 years and it's been down once for me in that time. Even then, they had a notice on the website saying when it was back and it came back online early!

Also couldn't imagine playing every night without the party chats. Always great craic and simple to organise games with.

All that being said, I genuinely feel sorry for yee lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I spent nearly e40 out last night and didn't even get that drunk. It's not so much the hacking that pisses me off but Sony's lack of communication as to when they expect a fix and bare trickle of information that irks me. I'd gladly pay this to have a better service with party chat etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Breaking up with the gf this weekend and the poxy fecking PSN is down STILL :mad: :mad:
    Im no fricking upset over the whole thing im seriously considering ending it all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek: lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Just an FYI, XBL is free this weekend :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Magill wrote: »

Ofc sony care about their customers, at least as much as microsoft do, you have to remember that the online service is a small part of playstation, there priority has and will probably always be in their single player games.... and anyone that argues that they don't care about those is a retard. .

Lol

Shammy wrote: »
    Lol

What ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 AlfaR147

anyone know when it will be back online?

tuesday someone said..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 AlfaR147

ah now man!!! one of the busiest weekends for gaming i reckon and we cant game!!!
    im regretting switching from xbox to ps3 now.
    boooooooooooooooooo SONY!!!!
    Get ur act together!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Party chat seems like the obvious thign missing, i dont get why they havent implemented it into the system... Is it run off servers or is it p2p like skype ?

Ofc sony care about their customers, at least as much as microsoft do, you have to remember that the online service is a small part of playstation, there priority has and will probably always be in their single player games.... and anyone that argues that they don't care about those is a retard. They have far more exclusives than the xbox and imo their exclusives are of much better quality.

I think sony have secured the best partnership of the year when they teamed up with valve, hopefully they integrated alot of "Steam" into the PS4, because it absolutely wipes the floor with XBL in my opinion and is diffo thte way to go in terms of distribution etc.

Since i started playing online on the PS3, there have been probably 3 or 4 times when i wanted to play online and couldn't because it was down for maintenance or something... thats really not that bad... i played world of warcraft for a long time and the servers would be offline at least once a month and they'd be offline every wednesday from 12-6am.. simple fact is that servers need maintained, they don't take them offline for the craic or because they don't care about their users lol. With this current situation... im not even going to speculate why they didnt release a statement earlier, probably because they didnt know what the problem was.

And yes PS3 has a "Join" feature.

I agree in the main with this, one of few posts here that actually brings some sense to the table.

I disagree about the company caring though... but that's the same with the vast majority of companies ie: they don't care once you fork over your mon
    If XBL was free would they keep up the quality of their service? All if's and but's. BUT (:D) I wouldn't be confident in them holding up.
    Leeg17 wrote: »
    I spent nearly e40 out last night and didn't even get that drunk. It's not so much the hacking that pisses me off but Sony's lack of communication as to when they expect a fix and bare trickle of information that irks me. I'd gladly pay this to have a better service with party chat etc.

Yup. Once the original rage subsided and then looking at it with a cooler head, this and that godforsaken tweet(that was rage inducing :pac:) are the only things that bother me. I can understand people's frustration but what if these hackers(Anon or not, I don't they are due to the fact they are usually goading those who they hack).

Also going by comments, the general unwillingness to give single player a bash is plainly odd.

I'm going for as many PS3 trophies as possible in GTA TBOGT and enjoying Motorstorm 2 campaign. That will keep me ticking along for another couple of days.

Would love to play Zombies though admittedly. Maybe I'll give Dead Ops a go again tonight and beat round 37 or die trying.. literally :pac:

Balfie wrote: »
    *Report a User Feature (It might be just a simple thing yet we have not got one of them, it took for Treyarc to give us a report a player featue on their game to bring cheaters to their attention. If a game DEVELOPER can do it why can't the console makers put a system in place to help out with all us plain an simple gamers who just have fun.

[/SIZE][/SIZE]

There is.

Go to players met in the menu and highlight X name, triangle and scroll to the bottom. There is a grief report thingymajig. You can also do it via your computer/laptop via the link -

https://secure.eu.playstation.com/psn/support/grief-reporting/

I agree in the main with this, one of few posts here that actually brings some sense to the table.

I disagree about the company caring though... but that's the same with the vast majority of companies ie: they don't care once you fork over your mon
    If XBL was free would they keep up the quality of their service? All if's and but's. BUT (:D) I wouldn't be confident in them holding up.

Thats what i meant tho, they care about their customers as much as the next major company. And since everyone compares the PS3 to the Xbox i'd say they care just as much as microsoft do. Microsoft offer a better online service and Sony provide better exclusives.. (Uncharted/Killzone/Resistance/GT/Infamous + all the non-series titles). It all balances itself out and the sales figures seem to be replicating that with PS3 sales finally catching 360. This PSN downtime just came at a pretty bad time, with people off for a few days + Portal 2 being released :D

Update on PSN..

http://ie.playstation.com/psn/news/articles/detail/item369507/Update-on-PSN-service-outages/

We sincerely regret that PlayStation Network and Qriocity services have been suspended, and we are working around the clock to bring them both back online. Our efforts to resolve this matter involve re-building our system to further strengthen our network infrastructure. Though this task is time-consuming, we decided it was worth the time necessary to provide the system with additional security.
    We thank you for your patience to date and ask for a little more while we move towards completion of this project. We will continue to give you updates as they become available.
    Follow us on Twitter @PlayStationEU for live updates.
    Thank you for your patience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

Balfie wrote: »

So there just choosing to keep it down to add more security to it:confused:

Kenno90 wrote: »

If they just took it back up same as it was, wouldn't be much good would it ? :D

Thats what i meant tho, they care about their customers as much as the next major company. And since everyone compares the PS3 to the Xbox i'd say they care just as much as microsoft do. Microsoft offer a better online service and Sony provide better exclusives.. (Uncharted/Killzone/Resistance/GT/Infamous + all the non-series titles). It all balances itself out and the sales figures seem to be replicating that with PS3 sales finally catching 360. This PSN downtime just came at a pretty bad time, with people off for a few days + Portal 2 being released :D

Yup.

Also you have to add Mortal Kombat (9) and Soccom 4 to Portal 2 as well.
    Kenno90 wrote: »

In short, yes.