TV Licence Inspectors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Bought a tv last summer for dvds and computer games. broke after two months when the power went out. Apparently, i am required to have a tv license for it even though its broken and sitting on a shelf like a mug. That would be like spending 160 euro a year for a mug. they can fcek off.

Yes total rubbish it is in this scenario, but as another poster said,
    JustinDee wrote: »
    Them's the rules, baby.

But its absolutely ridiculous though. Its simple, they want to have as many as possible in the revenue net regardless of whether you use the service or not. In reality its a residential poll tax.

Vicxas wrote: »
    Surely the amount they pay licence inspectors vs actual revenue from inspections cant be profitable...

Probably not from the amount they actually catch, but if there were no inspectors, far more would not pay that always do and so are always on the system as payed, and so dont need visits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    If someone claims to never watch RTE who the fup are you to call them liars ? Have you got a hidden camera in their home pointed at their TV or something ?QUOTE]

I don't watch RTE channels. I don't have an outside aerial, I dont have an inside aerial and I cancelled my SKY subscription over 18 months ago but I use box and dish to watch freeview (FREEVIEW NO LICENCE) channels.

But I am up in court in 2 weeks for no licence :confused:

I don't watch RTE channels. I don't have an outside aerial, I dont have an inside aerial and I cancelled my SKY subscription over 18 months ago but I use box and dish to watch freeview (FREEVIEW NO LICENCE) channels.

But I am up in court in 2 weeks for no licence :confused:

They wont listen to anything really, once you have the tv thats it as far as the court is concerned. They should of had more tv`s out without the tuner part, just the composite video in and HDMI, VGA etc, then see what the inspectors say.

Thats exactly why its called a tv licence, so the do gooders can say its not a tax to watch RTE, its a licence to have posession of a tv. Our government are lucky there are so many that dont think too much, and just accept everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,787 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Caoimhín wrote: »
    I have an app that keeps TV licence inspectors away. It works on politicians and holy Joes too.

Attachment not found.

Nice doggie. Have you got a licence for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Klair88

can anyone clarify? i do not own a t.v license, (never will, its idiot tax for crappy irish programs), i own a 40" HD tv for gaming, AND a computer monitor. If the inspector came to mine house, i would tell him im selling the t.v and only use the computer monitor for streaming on the web, wont have to pay a tax but is a computer monitor classed as being able to receive signals in the same regard? if i said id sold the tv (which i would'nt be doing, id use it again after the matter was resolved) would i have to pay the license for using a monitor?

Klair88 wrote: »
    can anyone clarify? i do not own a t.v license, (never will, its idiot tax for crappy irish programs), i own a 40" HD tv for gaming, AND a computer monitor. If the inspector came to mine house, i would tell him im selling the t.v and only use the computer monitor for streaming on the web, wont have to pay a tax but is a computer monitor classed as being able to receive signals in the same regard? if i said id sold the tv (which i would'nt be doing, id use it again after the matter was resolved) would i have to pay the license for using a monitor?

You will need the licence once you have the tv even if you really were selling it, once they see it in your house. I had a relation that was brought to court for using his own tv in a holiday home, they expected him to pay the licence for the second place, even though it was the same tv which he had a licence for in his house. Which again shows the licence is absolutely nothing to do with the tv itself. Just revenue, nothing more.

If you had the tuner part of the tv removed, then it would not require a licence once you have no other items such as a sky box or set top box etc.

Nice doggie. Have you got a licence for it?

Well at least if they do have a licence for the dog, they wont need another licence for bringing the same dog to another house on holidays.

robbie7730 wrote: »
    You will need the licence once you have the tv even if you really were selling it, once they see it in your house. I had a relation that was brought to court for using his own tv in a holiday home, they expected him to pay the licence for the second place, even though it was the same tv which he had a licence for in his house. Which again shows the licence is absolutely nothing to do with the tv itself. Just revenue, nothing more.

If you had the tuner part of the tv removed, then it would not require a licence once you have no other items such as a sky box or set top box etc.

What if the TV was sold and i was waiting to receive payment before shipping it on?
    Surely i would'nt have to pay when the max i would have the TV would be 3 or 4 days before my house would be tv free?!

What if the TV was sold and i was waiting to receive payment before shipping it on?
    Surely i would'nt have to pay when the max i would have the TV would be 3 or 4 days before my house would be tv free?!

Your not selling it though, and the inspectors would be constantly calling then if they did accept what you tell them. They wont accept it though, they will just report it that a tv was observed on the premises if they see it.

I see, i live in an apartment and it would be impossible to see
    the tv as it is not near windows, i would tell them i only own a computer monitor, if they were to call back and inspect the house the tv would be in my friends attic well anyway from tv inspector's sights.

So forgetting for a moment that i do own and use a tv, it would seem to the inspector that i do not own a tv and only own a computer monitor, would i have to pay the license for that? forget about the fact i do own a tv, i can keep that unseen, but are computer monitors included in tv license regulations?!

I see, i live in an apartment and it would be impossible to see
    the tv as it is not near windows, i would tell them i only own a computer monitor, if they were to call back and inspect the house the tv would be in my friends attic well anyway from tv inspector's sights.

So forgetting for a moment that i do own and use a tv, it would seem to the inspector that i do not own a tv and only own a computer monitor, would i have to pay the license for that? forget about the fact i do own a tv, i can keep that unseen, but are computer monitors included in tv license regulations?!

No a monitor is not included in the tv licence requirements, unless you have a sky box or some other tv station tuning devices which you can use onto a monitor.

Cheers for the info, Ive no sky dish/box/set-up of any kind or anything similar.

I watch my shows and programs in the back door alleys of the internet, using only my monitor! ha!

I now know i wont be paying for a tv license anytime in the future! Just wanted to be prepared for the day that man arrives! *loads shotgun*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,135 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Sorry to rekindle an old thread but it appears that An Post are linking their data from Postman to TV licensing or they are using the voters register.

Both I & a neighbour received the "database not showing license letter" & both were addressed by name. Neither of us have ever had an previous correspondence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Discodog wrote: »
    Sorry to rekindle an old thread but it appears that An Post are linking their data from Postman to TV licensing

Of course, been doing that for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

An post took over the tv licencing, it's hardly a surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

I noticed a few students saying they called to them.

I'm living off campus next year so I'm a lil worried cause I thought legally the landlord was meant to pay it O_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

..Brian.. wrote: »
    So without getting to into the whole TV Licence thing, what's the furthest its ever gone with some of ye?

I've never bought one, had loads of the letters and post cards saying inspectors etc have called to the door, I've even had a face to face with one of em once and just blatantly lied about not living there. He knew I was lying, I knew he knew, I gave an obviously fake name and in the end he left, what else could he do really?

Go a few more letters addressed to the fake name, even got a solicitors letter, ignore em all, nothing happened as far as I'm aware.

That was about 3 years ago at a different address. Living in current address about 1.5 years, no licence, got the letters and post cards etc, the sneaky ****er even got my name off the bins this time but have ignored all correspondence.

Up until now ... came home today to find a letter saying they were "applying to the District Justice for a search warrant and to ask for a member of An Garda Siochana to accompany our inspector to your premises."

It goes on to rattle off all the potential fines etc before finished with,

"There will be no further communication from us before such action is taken yada yada..."

Has anyone got this letter before? If so, what did ye do? I wonder is it time to bit the bullet and buy the piece of ****e? :(

:EDIT: Also has anyone ever had their house searched as per above? Or know anyonw its happened to? Or even been brought to court?

as said by myself and others before me: Tell them to **** off, if they do attempt to search your house... Build a brick wall behind your front door...

Problem garda ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Seloth wrote: »
    I noticed a few students saying they called to them.

I'm living off campus next year so I'm a lil worried cause I thought legally the landlord was meant to pay it O_o
    You, have to pay, not the landlord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

You, have to pay, not the landlord.

landlord supplies the tv to the dwelling he has to pay, no?

No. You pay.

If you don't want to pay get rid of the TV. Simples.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Getting rid of a tv doesn't cut it afaik. If you have an aerial its considered an appropriate device.

Well since an post employ the postmen, handle our letters, and look after the tv licencing, it would not seem to difficult for them to know who lives where.

Sully wrote: »
    Getting rid of a tv doesn't cut it afaik. If you have an aerial its considered an appropriate device.
    No it is not. Sneeky inspectors might like you to think so but sadly they are mistaken.
    You can use an aerial for non TV applications such as amateur radio which does not need a TV licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Paparazzo wrote: »
    I reckon they're bluffing. Surely they'd just search if they got a warrent. They're using the usual tactic of trying to scare you into buying one. If you're thinking of getting one just take a look at Tubbers smug face on the RTE player

they need a guard with them

twinytwo wrote: »
    they need a guard with them
    They sure do.

That may not stop old Columbo from trying it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Well since an post employ the postmen, handle our letters, and look after the tv licencing, it would not seem to difficult for them to know who lives where.

I regularly get post destined for about 10 people(lost count by now) so An Post will have a difficult time figuring out who lives in my gaff :)

gurramok wrote: »
    I regularly get post destined for about 10 people(lost count by now) so An Post will have a difficult time figuring out who lives in my gaff :)

The`ve heard all the excuses, but that one might work, once you can live with the shame:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Just don't answer the door, it's as easy as that!
    I will never, ever pay the tv licence again especially when the likes of Kenny, Tubriddy et al are on a king's ransom for doing fook all and having no talent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭Markdub2000

Its about time it came down to reflect the current climate, If I have to take a 30% reduction in pay, so should some of these bills!

I've often seen these "RTE stars" walking around town as if they're gods gift - some of them seem to have the IQ of fruit flies!