Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Licence Inspectors

• 21-03-2011 7:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭..Brian..

So without getting to into the whole TV Licence thing, what's the furthest its ever gone with some of ye?

I've never bought one, had loads of the letters and post cards saying inspectors etc have called to the door, I've even had a face to face with one of em once and just blatantly lied about not living there. He knew I was lying, I knew he knew, I gave an obviously fake name and in the end he left, what else could he do really?

Go a few more letters addressed to the fake name, even got a solicitors letter, ignore em all, nothing happened as far as I'm aware.

That was about 3 years ago at a different address. Living in current address about 1.5 years, no licence, got the letters and post cards etc, the sneaky ****er even got my name off the bins this time but have ignored all correspondence.

Up until now ... came home today to find a letter saying they were "applying to the District Justice for a search warrant and to ask for a member of An Garda Siochana to accompany our inspector to your premises."

It goes on to rattle off all the potential fines etc before finished with,

"There will be no further communication from us before such action is taken yada yada..."

Has anyone got this letter before? If so, what did ye do? I wonder is it time to bit the bullet and buy the piece of ****e? :(

:EDIT: Also has anyone ever had their house searched as per above? Or know anyonw its happened to? Or even been brought to court?

You're such a rebel :rolleyes:

buy the licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Why do you put your name on the bin labels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Buy one you tight arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

I wonder if they'd kick the door in?

Imagine that "Sorry lad, had to kick the door in to check if you have a TV licence".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Think of RTE 'stars' children ffs OP... they need to eat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Think you get sent to Australia by boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭faw1tytowers

Warper wrote: »
    Why do you put your name on the bin labels?

Thats how they come... name address and date your paid until

it cost 13.33 a month by direct debit for a licence ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

There was a knock at my door late last year, opened it to see a guy standing there with a clip board, thought he was selling raffle tickets, I said no not today and went to close the door, only to hear him say TV licence inspector!
    Tv was on, kids had it on full volume, caught rotten! kids were shouting Daddy whose at the door? no way out of it, had to admit I had no licence, he was ok about it, just said I had to buy one straight away and it would show up on their system and that would be that!

What will they be searching your house for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i got a letter once reminding me that it was due to be renewed so i went out and bought one

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Hide your TV(s) somewhere until they've come and gone

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I reckon they're bluffing. Surely they'd just search if they got a warrent. They're using the usual tactic of trying to scare you into buying one. If you're thinking of getting one just take a look at Tubbers smug face on the RTE player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Not worth it,
    Tubridy and Kenny don't need to be getting 450k and 650k, sack them instead and save me the money I need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

get a book and you can collect stamps from the post office, that way you hardly notice the charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Sorry mate, once they get your name you are nailed. You will have no option but to get one.

I dont believe in TV Licences but make sure my name is tippexed off the bins.

I dont mind paying for a TV license but i just pisses me off it goes to RTE. Its a crap channel and i cant understand the Dublin 4 accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Good on ya op. If you don't own a "device capable of recieving broadcast transmissions" or something to that effect, why pay for a TV licence? The most simple loophole, is to simply replace any television(s) in your house with computer monitors. Better in your pocket than potentially wasted on cocaine. You do not acknowledge any individual without a court signed search order. Simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

I refuse to pay 160 quid a year to support the lifestyle of Pat Kenny and all the other talentless wasters in RTE. It is not a public service, I don't watch it anyway, they don't get a penny from me, simples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

They aint gonna let it go! You'd be as well to pay the fecking thing. Do you not remember a few years ago a poor woman was sent to prison for not paying it. She hadn't a pot to p1ss in, and they still sent her to prison!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I refuse to pay 160 quid a year to support the lifestyle of Pat Kenny and all the other talentless wasters in RTE. It is not a public service, I don't watch it anyway, they don't get a penny from me, simples.

Dear citizen,

The squads have been dispatched. Compliance is mandatory.

Signed,
    An official,
    RTE "Revenue protection" Unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Do you not remember a few years ago a poor woman was sent to prison for not paying it. She hadn't a pot to p1ss in, and they still sent her to prison!

She hadnt got a pot to piss in yet she had a television, talk about priorities! Could she not just piss in the jacks like everyone else?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

..Brian.. wrote: »
    I've never bought one, had loads of the letters and post cards saying inspectors etc have called to the door, I've even had a face to face with one of em once and just blatantly lied about not living there. He knew I was lying, I knew he knew, I gave an obviously fake name and in the end he left, what else could he do really?

Go a few more letters addressed to the fake name, even got a solicitors letter, ignore em all, nothing happened as far as I'm aware.

Well played sir, classic form, I did it myself for 11 years before the wife bought one behind my back.
    Now the Guards thing is a bit of a pickle as they have your real name & they'll obviously look for ID if they call.
    Call their bluff, if they call then get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Have found this is the easiest way to go about it tbh, also helps that you don't have to fork out €160 in one go.

And just in case they do call at the door before you get the licence try this :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 masterbate

If he calls grab an old broken tv. And smash it on the ground saying I DONT WATCH TV!!! I'm sure he wont call again.

There was a knock at my door late last year, opened it to see a guy standing there with a clip board, thought he was selling raffle tickets, I said no not today and went to close the door, only to hear him say TV licence inspector!
    Tv was on, kids had it on full volume, caught rotten! kids were shouting Daddy whose at the door? no way out of it, had to admit I had no licence, he was ok about it, just said I had to buy one straight away and it would show up on their system and that would be that!

What will they be searching your house for?

Searching for a tv so they can prosecute. Thats if he doesnt get a license in the mean time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

bluewolf wrote: »

buy the licence

Why do you assume the OP has a TV.

Do you reckon they should also buy a licence for any guns/dogs/cars they may not have too ?
    She hadnt got a pot to piss in yet she had a television, talk about priorities!
    Because NOBODY ever experiences a change in their financial circumstances ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Stash the TVs in a mates gaff untill after the search. Get a bucket of piss ready to blast the fvckers with when they arrive.

get a book and you can collect stamps from the post office, that way you hardly notice the charge

You have to fill the book first though...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Ahh if you could be arsed to go without a tv for a while I'd say leave it at your parents or friends house and let them come in 1 day with a search warrant. Be nice to see the guards reaction to no tv or device capable of receiving a signal etc. Judge won't be as quick to hand out a warrant either.

AH response : Why the **** should we pay licence fee so RTE stars can continue to get overpaid and some of them waste it on cocaine on which they don't even pay tax on :/

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/crime/17000-with-no-tv-licence-face-court-141678.html

17,000 with no TV licence face court
    By Pat Flynn
    Tuesday, January 11, 2011
    OVER 17,000 people are facing prosecution for failing to purchase a TV licence last year as the number of offenders rose for the third consecutive year.

Read more: http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/crime/17000-with-no-tv-licence-face-court-141678.html#ixzz1HGeUp5Jq

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭firefly08

+1 For god's sake whatever you do don't buy the license. By the looks of some of the replies here you are one of the last few people left in Ireland with balls.

Put the TV in someone else's house and if they come around again make a complaint for harassment, maybe you can even sue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

Received a letter today saying that an inspector called and observed a TV. Nobody called to the door while I was in so assume the cnuts are lying or peeped through the window. Says I have seven days to get one or they will initiate legal procedings. Really can't afford to pay for one for the next few weeks. Totally resent the idea of having to divert my already weak cash flow to pay the bastards their blood money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

if they showed up for the search and you bought one that day could you be done in court ? im awaiting that search threat letter for a few months , they got my name off a business card on my car dashboard :( , may aswell waste their and garda resources and as much of their time and money as possible if im to pay it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

a licence inspector (or even a Garda) isnt allowed inside your property without a warrant. the only people allowed inside your property without a warrant are Customs and Excise.

the risk you take ignoring these letters/warnings is if they do eventually obtain a warrant, then you're up jacob's creek without a paddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

bluewolf wrote: »

buy the licence

Why should be pay for something he doesn't use?! :confused:

There are some of us Irish that don't just roll over on command.

If they call to your house, just bring them in and ask do they want tea. They'll notice the TV and follow up with;

"Yeah, Garda, just got her new there, last night. Sale on in D.I.D and picked it up with a good discount.

Was handy enough, though, because I actually made a complaint about the store via email to their customer service representatives, as I went in to buy a laptop the week before hand and the guy was just giving me a very rude and arrogant hard sale.

Didn't like it at all, but sure i'd rather complain than say nothing. Anyway, they were grand, and sent me out a €20 voucher for the shop. So I seen the TV i wanted, and luckily enough, Power City were only carrying the same one, but much cheaper. So I printed out the Power City online price and brought it to D.I.D who price matched it. With the addition of the €20 voucher I made quite a saving, in the end, actually.

Well, anyway, I haven't noticed any trouble around here at all, but if I hear of anyone selling dodgy stuff around the houses, I'll let you know.

By the time you're done talking, they'll have completely forgotten what they came in for and think they were asking you about stolen goods or something.

In the time it takes them to realise, you'll have been able to clear your house out and move in somewhere else.

Problem = Solved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Dont pay OP, worst case scenario you'll do a night or two in the joy. **** them.

Have found this is the easiest way to go about it tbh, also helps that you don't have to fork out €160 in one go.

And just in case they do call at the door before you get the licence try this :pac::pac::pac:

but thats my point i pay 13.33 a month via dd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Tv Licenece is the biggest load of rip... it pays for RTE.... great.... but who watches RTE...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was expecting a reduction in the license fee this year as Gerry Ryan's cocaine outlay is off the RTE outgoing expenditure now. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't have a TV or any receivers in one of my houses. I regularly get the calling cards from the licence inspectors addressed to The Occupant. Dunno how they can't get my name from the post that comes to the house, maybe the TV licence dept of An Post doesn't communicate with the letter dept.

The last card I got had a box ticked on it for "aerial observed". Now seeing as I don't have an aerial or dish I don't know why that box was ticked. With the way the neighbours have their dish mounted, a half blind imbecile *might* possibly think it was on my house. Either that or it was some sort of bluff.

If you are trying to avoid paying the licence and don't answer the door what are they going to do, break it down? These days many people have peepholes and don't answer the door if they're not sure what its about. If I hear the doorbell ring when I'm not expecting someone I assume it's someone selling crap, the Jehovah witnesses or a TV licence inspector. None of whom I've any interest in opening the door to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

The tv licence crowd get names and addresses from the likes of Chorus and Sky which obviously have customer databases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

I was up in court in October for having no t.v license.

Lived on dcu campus last year, the building I lived in had one t.v between 400 ppl. Tv man came to my door, I stupidly gave him my name. Biggest mistake, once they have your name your caught. I ignored any letter I received. Then got the courts summons. I went to court and spent the day there watching the judge hand out fines to hundreds of people, no excuse and no say in the matter. it came to be but I had a barristor as I didnt think it fair I should be held responsible for a t.v I didnt own or watch shared by a building full of people. I luckily got off but only because I had a barristor cousin to speak for me.

My Advice- Just buy a licence and if your too cheap, do not give them your name. But I know in the future I will just get the licence, if it shared among a few people it'll only cost you a couple of quid.

BrianD3 wrote: »
    The last card I got had a box ticked on it for "aerial observed". Now seeing as I don't have an aerial or dish I don't know why that box was ticked..

Even if you did it could be for FM radio or broadband or it could be an old one erected by previous occupants or a landlord.
    manlad wrote: »
    I luckily got off but only because I had a barristor cousin to speak for me..

Given that the court ruled in your favour you should have been able to apply for costs surely ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Even if you did it could be for FM radio or broadband or it could be an old one erected by previous occupants or a landlord.

Straws... must clutch....

Jaysus I'd say you wouldn't give the steam of your piss if you thought it was worth something

Straws... must clutch....

There is an aerial for FM radio on the house Im sitting in right now. I put it up myself. Theres two other houses on my street have them as well.
    Jaysus I'd say you wouldn't give the steam of your piss if you thought it was worth something

Your point being ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Having dodged the TV inspector for many years I opened my front door one evening just as he was about to ring the doorbell. Caught by the short & curlies.
    Long story short I was about to move to a new house within a month so I just told him I was actually emigrating the following week & as far as I knew the landlord didn't have anyone else lined up to move in.
    He bought my cock & bull story & that was the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Supraman

Supraman wrote: »

Bulls*1t
    Even if the television or other equipment is broken and currently unable to receive a signal, it is regarded as capable of being repaired so it can receive a signal and you must hold a licence for it.
    easyeason3 wrote: »
    I opened my front door one evening just as he was about to ring the doorbell. Caught by the short & curlies..
    A better trick is just say "sorry mate on the way out" closing the door after you. If they attempt to question you just say "cant speak now in a hurry" as you jump into the car and speed off leaving them standing in a cloud of dust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Having dodged the TV inspector for many years I opened my front door one evening just as he was about to ring the doorbell. Caught by the short & curlies.
    Long story short I was about to move to a new house within a month so I just told him I was actually emigrating the following week & as far as I knew the landlord didn't have anyone else lined up to move in.
    He bought my cock & bull story & that was the end of it.
    They've heard all the excuses and some of them work.