If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How well do you get on with your siblings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

I get on really well with all of my siblings (2 brothers & 2 sisters). I'd be closer to my sisters and spend a lot of time with them.
    Both brothers are older and we are close but wouldnt be in each others pockets or anything.

I also have 9 nieces and nephews and 2 children of my own so it makes sense to get on well with your siblings in these circumstances for babysitting privileges :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

I get on well with my sisters. I wind them up alot and I clearly get on their nerves, but it makes me happy and I was told the house was too quiet without me.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

I have a twin brother, and we get on quite well.

We used to be always bickering, but as he goes to one college and I go to another, we only see each other on weekends so we get on better as a result. 7 days of sibling contact is too much for anyone :eek:

We're ridiculously competitive. Not helped that he bet my triathlon time 3 days ago (quite considerably). Next year, I'll get him :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I have one sister and one brother. I'm in the middle, 5 years between each of us.

When I was growing up I always looked up to my brother, trying to be like him and following him around. I always thought he was the best thing on earth. Now I get on with him and when i do see him we'll talk for hours, but I only see him every couple of months. He lives down the road from me but with him working all the time, me in college, and him getting a new girlfriend we just never see each other.

When I was younger me and my sister would fight like dogs. We'd always be arguing over one thing or another. Now we get on but I don't see her much. She's 14 so she's always with friends and or boyfriends. In a couple of years I'd say we'll get on a bit better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭polly78

deisemum wrote: »
    Some people may not want to change the course of their future for very valid reasons while others did change the course of their life by limiting contact or may have cut out some siblings from their lives and are much happier with that. Not every family is like the Waltons.

At a couple of years off 50 and having lived away from my home and home county more than I lived there I know who I can rely on apart from my husband, mostly one very good friend and one sister for the real serious stuff and a couple of other close friends and a silbling for the lesser stuff.

I've no interest in having anything to do with a couple of my siblings, they're nothing to me, there's no emotional connection, some I haven't seen since my Dad's funeral nearly 8 years ago, some whose children I've never seen. Am I bothered? - no, I've got my own family.

Of course many may not but some people might have a want for it. All i meant was it is a very true and unbreakable bond for a lot of people myself inc and it ultimately stemmed from the blood connection and being brought up together. My comment was aimed at younger people who would be in an early enough stage of adulthood to change things, possibly if they want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭YoureSoVain

I get on very well with my 2 sisters and brother. They are fairly close in age but I am a bit older. All my cousins get on great with their siblings and would consider them their best friends.
    We might occassionally want to kill each other but that wouldn't last longer than a couple of hours! If anyone said or did anything to one of us we would have full back up/support of others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Posy wrote: »
    I'm an only child, woop! :D

Hai five!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I have two brothers and three sisters and I am in regular contact and get on well with all of them even though we dont live in the same area.
    But two people in my family haven't spoken to each other apart from an acknowledgement in about 15 years and it makes me very upset tbh but there is very little I can do about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Brother and sister. Don't really keep in touch with either. Brother I'm indifferent to. Sister I actively dislike. Has been the status ever since I was young. As such I'd have quite happily been an only child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭Rds1989

I have one younger sister and we get on fantastically, we have almost the same personality and music taste. If anything ever happened to her i dont know if i could continue to be honest

I've 3 brothers and one sister. Get on grand with my brothers and have done for most of my life. My sister on the other hand, I never got on with her at all and still don't now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,639 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I've a brother and a sister. We're as thick as thieves.

It's a great way to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

polly78 wrote: »
    With the way I am with mine if, in our younger years I felt they were unsupportive I would have always pulled them on it and vice versa. I kind of think this honesty, good or bad is why we all are so strong together now.

On the other hand, were the unsupportive siblings in your case married with their "own" family? I know some people do go down this route with their attitude and I don't understand it.

Can you look back over it and know why they would be like that?

I suppose I wouldn't have pulled them up on it. I was the younger one and always looked up to my older sibling,and wouldn't have been confrontational. looking back we would probably have a better relationship if I had.
    but over time I realised I was always helping them out and when negative things happened to me and I needed help no support was given. I was devastated by that, and yes at the time my sibling had become involved in a relationship and had a child, so maybe that had something to do with it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Have two sisters, one 2 years older and the other 2 years younger.
    Get on well enough with the older one and have an awkward relationship with the younger one.

Three brothers..they're my best friends..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,979 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Hai five!
    Back at ya! :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,979 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Nolanger wrote: »
    Anyone else got first cousins living in Ireland that they've never met?

I have at least ten first cousins and several aunts and uncles that I've never met.
    I have such an easy time buying presents at Christmas, heh heh. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

2 older sisters.
    Have never really had a good relationship with the eldest. Have always found her incredibly patronising. She's generally always looked down on me. Used to be very close to the middle sister. Tried to support her through a tough relationship and its aftermath. Git to the stage where I felt my support and friendship was being abused. My sister has no loyalty to me and never did, I was too stupid to see it. We have absolutely nothing to do with each other anymore and we're both fine with that set up.

Herself and the eldest are now best buds which I find hilarious, given how the middle one couldn't stand the eldest until we fell out. Any port in a storm though eh? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

My brother is 8 years younger then me. For the early years after his birth we were a right pair of squabblers. Until we bonded over this in 2001.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mV1LWhNpTJU

Honestly, that 0.51 seconds of footage brought us together, and we have been excellent buds ever since !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 kazzy89

i have four siblings 1 brother and three sisters i get on great wih my two older sisters my brother who is 1 year younger than me i used to get on great with but the past few years have rarely spoke bcoz i simply cant stand his girlfriend so i just preferred to keep my distance instead of causing trouble but they have very recently broken up so i expect i will be close with him again and my youngest sister i get on with pretty well to .... its always good to make the effort with ur siblings cos u'll be surprised how supportive they can be when u need them !!!! i was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭siobhanosaur

One of my sisters is really close in age to me so we basically grew up together and are really close. :) My other sister is 13 years older than me so we aren't quite as close but I still would meet up with her maybe once a month. I think it makes a difference if you spent a lot of time together as kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I have 2 sisters, one 2 years older and one 11 years younger. We all get on well but me and my younger sister would be closer. I talk to her a few times a week on Skype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

iv only got one sister who is 5 yrs older i guess you could say we are not that close only talk on the phone now and again anyway she is married and lives in the country and im in dublin iv also been out of the country a lot over the years overseas in the army and worked abroad for long periods so was often out of touch with family when we do talk or if im visiting her which is rare we get on fairley ok but we are totally different in charcter:(

seanybiker wrote: »
    Myself and the twin are the youngest. We get on fairly well. He's up in Bray so only see each other ever week or two. The other two brothers I get on well wig aswell. One lives in town here so we have a good laugh all the time. The other lives in kerry and we would talk most days. The sister doesn't live to far away. I see her a few times a week and get on with her aswell. We have a really close family which is fairly cool. Always looking out for one another.
    let me guess your the waltons:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

mikom wrote: »
    Get on mighty with them.
    Find it hard to comprehend families that are always fighting.

Do you ever find that some people are just, assholes, or their only real contact with you is when they expect something from you?

Sometimes you're born into the same family as them in spite of your high hopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Do you ever find that some people are just, assholes, or their only real contact with you is when they expect something from you?

Sometimes you're born into the same family as them in spite of your high hopes.

The saying is true You can choose your friends but you can't choose your family.

Not all families get along.

goodnite grandma nite mary ellen nite jim bob nite johnboy
    Johnboy: shut ta fcuk and go to sleep im having a ****:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Have two older brothers, 4 and 6 years older than me.

Never got on with the younger of the two much at all when we were kids but we have grown up now and he looks out for me. But that said, we have very little in common and very different personalities, so wouldnt meet up much or anything unless it was for a family occasion or something. Get the odd text now and again thats about it.

The oldest one and myself get on great, but again wouldnt see eachother that often. Plan to meet up a fair bit although it usually falls through, but when we do see eachother we get on and have a laugh.

Pity we arent closer but we all moved away from home relatively young and distance/day to day life keeps you from having the kind of relationship you might one day like. We have a tiny family, its just not a particularly close one either. They're all grand tho :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭eirn

Have 2 brothers. Had an older sister but she passed away last year. Was never very close to my sister (age gap, and she prefered to keep herself to herself) regret now not making more of an effort. Very strange to loose a sibling, even if you're not very close, you just always expect them to be there, weird having to delete their number from your phone,etc. Always pictured her there when I got married
    Very fond of my two brothers (1 older, 1 younger) we've always gotten on really well. But the 2 of them are execeptionally close and are best friends, I'm a bit left out. Sometimes feel jelaous of my friends who have sisters, even if they're only giving out about them! Its a unique relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Get on really well with all of mine. We’re a very close family. Even go on trips away together. I'd do anything for all of them!