Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How well do you get on with your siblings?

• 17-04-2011 01:52PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I dont talk to my brother anymore,no animosity just we both moved away from home and dont keep in touch, and i do talk to my sister the odd time but we're not super close. I was also looking at my cousins and none of them talk to their siblings, my mother doesnt talk to her sisters so i was wodering if this Is normal?

So are you close to your siblings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Fecking brilliant

'cause they don't exist (except for the evil twin I have been trying to track down)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Not as close as I'd like to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Oranage2 wrote: »

Yes, theyre sittin in the same room as me...:pac:

Honestly though, pretty well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

I havent talked to my sister in about 7-8 years now. Dont miss her either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Not that close to my sister or my oldest brother.
    My older brother tho, hes 5 years older than me and although we actually tear lumps out of each other, hes one of my best friends and one of the few people I would trust with my life.

I have one sister, no brothers, when we lived at home we were always argueing, get on ok now but wouldn't be hugely close though. In saying that I'd gladly go as far as assault or GBH if the need arose to defend her, blood is thicker than water and all.

A lad I went to school with tragically died after the Leaving Cert over 10 years ago, his younger brother was his best friend. I met him over the weekend and he is still in an awful way over it and was mentioning how he doesn't have the same relationship with his other brothers. Like everything else some folks just hit it off. Some of my friends never go socialising with their brothers or sisters, sure some people don't go to their siblings hen or stag as they just wouldn't be in the social circle at all, they'd still be on good terms with each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I get on with one really well, always have done - we'd kinda be mates. Didn't get on with the other guy at all when I was younger but we get on pretty well now, if not quite mates. (Two older brothers and me - all in all I'd say we're pretty close).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭offaly1

Very well!! I suppose only having one sibling means ya can't really fall out for life, ya would be pretty lonely if ya did!! My sibling is the best..... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 303 ✭✭Gingersnaps

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I dont talk to my brother anymore,no animosity just we both moved away from home and dont keep in touch, and i do talk to my sister the odd time but we're not super close. I was also looking at my cousins and none of them talk to their siblings, my mother doesnt talk to her sisters so i was wodering if this Is normal?

Sounds very similiar to my family. I'd like if I was closer to my siblings but life doesn't always work out the way we would like it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

I have one younger brother and no sisters. We get on fantastically, same taste in music, sense of humour... He hangs out with my mates and is coming away on a group holiday in the summer. Lovely chap altogether! :-)

Always wanted to have a bigger family but my little one works so well that I should probably just be thankful. Plus I'm pretty close to two of my cousins as well so they make up for the lack of siblings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I dont talk to my "brother" nor recognise him as a brother or as a human being. He is a malicious scumbag and i would purchase the finest most cheapest champagne if it dropped dead tomorrow. I dont really talk to my sister. Ive nothing against her, we just dont have anything to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

2 brothers,both older and we all get on well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

We get on great :) my Sister and two Brothers are my best friends

friends will come and go but sibling/siblings are for life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

Very close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dont really see them that often. My sister is a very emotional person and a bit too intense for me. Its draining to be in her company. Like walking on eggshells. My brother is sound for a few pints but we dont have much in common.

Cant stand most of my aunts and uncles. They're a bunch of scumbags and wont be attending their funerals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭deirdre_dub

I've always gotten on quite well with my sister. She's the eldest in the family, and I'm the second eldest. I used to hate her, but I think that changed when she moved out and I followed, and we found ourselves being the first adults to leave the family home, which led to some great bonding shared experiences. As for my brothers - I didn't get on with them nearly as well as their brother as I do now as their sister *

The question the OP posed was - is it normal to not get on with your siblings? As the saying goes, you can choose your friends, but you cannot choose your family. I think it's normal, but I also think it's unfortunate, as these are people who usually know you quite well indeed, and if you can make it work, that shared experience, and the blood ties, can make them into special and precious people in your life.

* I'm transgender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭CD.

i've an older sister and we get on very well, really good freinds go out and do stuff/chat a lot. we like similar shows/have same sense of humour etc
    it's cool. i know cousins that don't get on that well and i'm glad i was lucky.

i also get along quite well with my parents, and in turn we get along as a family quite well, even though both my sister and i are in our twenties we'd still go out as a family to meals/shopping/cinema etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I rarely talk to mine unless they want something. We get along just fine, often have a good laugh when we get together, I just prefer to live seperate from my family, it's just an independence thing, I know they'll be there if and when I need them and vise versa... unless it's baby sitting! O_O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,710 ✭✭✭deisemum

I'm the eldest of 9 and have 7 sisters and 1 brother. There isn't one sibling that gets on with everyone. There were enough of us to have different gangs.

I left home in 1982 before the last sibling was born so do not have a silbing relationship with her. She's nothing to me but a thug. Since I left home I either lived abroad or in another part of the country so don't see then nor want to see some of them on a regular basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Youngest in a family of five.
    I've nothing in common with my brothers and sisters ,totally different interest and the likes, but I would still say I'm close enough to them. Won't go a week without some sort of contact with them.
    Though I find them overbearing quite a lot, as since I'm the youngest they think they can boss me around and tell me what to do. So I like them in small doses, and not to hang out with for long extended periods.

I find it crazy that people haven't spoken to siblings in years?I just don't think id be allowed do that in my family!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I've got three siblings all older. Get on amazingly well with the one nearest in age to me, if anything ever happened to him I don't think i'd ever recover. The next one, get on quite well but I don't see him that much.

I often tell my mother that I only tolerate the eldest in my family for her and when she's gone i'll probably never speak to him again. We're completely different people, he doesnt agree with the way I "turned out" per say.

She doesnt understand this though as her family are some of the closest you'll come across. I think as a family we all got my Dad's mannerisms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Ya I would say I'm quite close to them, I'm more close to my sister who is 2 years younger than me, my brother usually only contacts when he can't 'work his internet' and my younger sister still has teenageritis so is quite moody but we generally get on great when we are together. I'm glad we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

I've got a brother who's 9 years older than me and a sister who's 6 years older. I'm quite close to both of them, but a bit closer to my brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

My brother is 2 years younger than me and is my best friend. We did have 2 periods of not talking though. Once for a little over a year and once for about 4 years.
    My sister is 7 years younger and we've always been close. We've fallen out and not spoke for a few weeks but we've always known we're there for each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Get on mighty with them.
    Find it hard to comprehend families that are always fighting.

panda100 wrote: »
    I find it crazy that people haven't spoken to siblings in years?I just don't think id be allowed do that in my family!

same here my Parents always taught us to look out for eachother
    As a parent myself it breaks my heart to think of my kids hating
    eachother so I teach them to stick together blood is thicker than water
    friends will come and go but you's have a bond for life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭polly78

I'm quite shocked at the posters who don't get along with their siblings. I must be living in a loved up family bubble!

I'm the kind of person who is quite distrusting of people (apart from my two best friends) so for me it's so important that I'm close to my sibs. I think though that its important to really form that bond in say late teens early twenties otherwise you could easily drift apart and find it impossible to reverse. Once that bond is firmly established it is a lifeline.

Our cousins are not much more than acquaintances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Disowned one sister. I'm the carer for the other one, and me and my brother get on OK but not super close. I imagine that when I do eventually get away from here it'll be rare I call back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭Skuxx

I only have the one sibling, a brother who is 3 years older! We don't exactly have the best relationship, we don't fight or argue or anything but the conversation never really goes past "well how are u", can't remember the last time we actually spoke properly! I do get on well with my cousins though, 2 in particular who would be like siblings to me I suppose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Doublin

I've one sister, our personalities are chalk & cheese plus we grew up in a fairly ****ty family, so when we meet it probably brings back up bad memories so we don't stay around each other for long. In saying that, her daughter I am very close to and try to be a great uncle/godfather for her.

I've 4 cousins I'm very close to, we grew up together & still keep in close contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

We get on grand, not that much in common though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

not on speaking terms with my brother.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I'm an only child, woop! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Very close to my brothers and sisters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Posy wrote: »

I used to fight with my brothers and sister when we were kids - but we get on fine now. I have a niece and a cousin who are only children and they always regret that that they have no siblings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

We all get on fine. There's 8 of us and when we're togther we get slightly mental, especially when we go off to the pub.

Posy wrote: »

I always pitied my only child friends
    after playing on the road I would go on home to my brothers and sister
    stay up late playing/telling ghost stories but my poor friend had no one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭-Vega-

A brother and a sister, fine for the moment !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Only one sister and much as I love her I just don't like her very much. We don't talk very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Only have the one sister and she has been living out of the country the last few years, dont keep in contact a whole lot as I really hate family having their nose stuck in everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

jesus I didnt think I was actually that close to my family and siblings but the replies in this thread are making me feel like we are alot closer than I ever imagined Id view it as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 uSmellLikeSoup

I text my younger brother at least once a day, and we chat on Facebook too.

Older brother is less frequently but we chat a few times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

one brother,6yrs older than me. we used to be close but we fell out, love him a lot and wish things were better between us. I dont see him very often and I would occasionally call or text him. life doesnt always work out the way you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

get on great with all brothers bar 1 , none of us seem to get on with him, there always seems to be a bad egg in each family !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Love my brothers and they love me too. Great to have such a close and supportive family :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

I'm not that close to my brother. He's 11 years older than me but I'm the one with a bit of cop on. I meet him for lunch sometimes but keep the conversation to safe topics as he doesn't talk to the rest of the family.
    Get on really well with my sisters though. We didn't always get on but things have been getting a lot better over the past while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭polly78

I hope some people read this thread and get thinking about how they could change the course of their own future with regard to their relationship with siblings.

I can honestly say that any probs I might have, no matter how bad, are automatically lessened because of their unconditional support. They are always ultimately on my side but have no qualms in pointing out my shortcomings. I would value this relationship above all others (children excluded)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Myself and the twin are the youngest. We get on fairly well. He's up in Bray so only see each other ever week or two. The other two brothers I get on well wig aswell. One lives in town here so we have a good laugh all the time. The other lives in kerry and we would talk most days. The sister doesn't live to far away. I see her a few times a week and get on with her aswell. We have a really close family which is fairly cool. Always looking out for one another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

4 older brothers, and the one i get on best with lives in england, and i only see him2 or 3 times a year. The other 3 live within 10 miles. One is grand, but he thinks he's a kind of a father figure to me, and i hate it, other one is so engulfed in his kids and house, he cant see further than the end of his nose, the chat would go as follows
    brother - well?
    me - hows it going?
    brother - good, nice day today
    me - yeah
    uncomfortable pause
    me - how are the lads?
    brother - good yeah
    uncomfortable pause
    brother - right, i'll head on then
    me - see ye then
    And thats about about much as it is, varies a bit, work, or whatever.
    Other brother is a bit better than that, but dont really have anything to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

One brother who has lived in Germany for over 20 years....only see him once a year.....when we do meet, it is good fun, a laugh and drinks in the pub. I travel there every other year and that's good fun too but other than that maybe, 2/3 phone calls (skype) during the year. Odd that!!!

Another brother who is on the blower at least twice a week...works his ass off....in a high powered job for an American Company....but we would be closer than the guy above!!!

Sister drives me around the bend....we are two opposites....she is married to a git and that puts a strain on things, but by and large, we get on, I suppose.

Another sis, who is a professional (medical)....pain in the rear and can't be bothered....she is an attention seeker....always was! Less said the better!!!!