If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How well do you get on with your siblings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

We get on grand, not that much in common though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

not on speaking terms with my brother.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,979 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I'm an only child, woop! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Very close to my brothers and sisters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Posy wrote: »

I used to fight with my brothers and sister when we were kids - but we get on fine now. I have a niece and a cousin who are only children and they always regret that that they have no siblings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

We all get on fine. There's 8 of us and when we're togther we get slightly mental, especially when we go off to the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Posy wrote: »

I always pitied my only child friends
    after playing on the road I would go on home to my brothers and sister
    stay up late playing/telling ghost stories but my poor friend had no one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭-Vega-

A brother and a sister, fine for the moment !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Only one sister and much as I love her I just don't like her very much. We don't talk very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Only have the one sister and she has been living out of the country the last few years, dont keep in contact a whole lot as I really hate family having their nose stuck in everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

jesus I didnt think I was actually that close to my family and siblings but the replies in this thread are making me feel like we are alot closer than I ever imagined Id view it as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 uSmellLikeSoup

I text my younger brother at least once a day, and we chat on Facebook too.

Older brother is less frequently but we chat a few times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

one brother,6yrs older than me. we used to be close but we fell out, love him a lot and wish things were better between us. I dont see him very often and I would occasionally call or text him. life doesnt always work out the way you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

get on great with all brothers bar 1 , none of us seem to get on with him, there always seems to be a bad egg in each family !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Love my brothers and they love me too. Great to have such a close and supportive family :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Bobby42

I'm not that close to my brother. He's 11 years older than me but I'm the one with a bit of cop on. I meet him for lunch sometimes but keep the conversation to safe topics as he doesn't talk to the rest of the family.
    Get on really well with my sisters though. We didn't always get on but things have been getting a lot better over the past while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭polly78

I hope some people read this thread and get thinking about how they could change the course of their own future with regard to their relationship with siblings.

I can honestly say that any probs I might have, no matter how bad, are automatically lessened because of their unconditional support. They are always ultimately on my side but have no qualms in pointing out my shortcomings. I would value this relationship above all others (children excluded)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Myself and the twin are the youngest. We get on fairly well. He's up in Bray so only see each other ever week or two. The other two brothers I get on well wig aswell. One lives in town here so we have a good laugh all the time. The other lives in kerry and we would talk most days. The sister doesn't live to far away. I see her a few times a week and get on with her aswell. We have a really close family which is fairly cool. Always looking out for one another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

4 older brothers, and the one i get on best with lives in england, and i only see him2 or 3 times a year. The other 3 live within 10 miles. One is grand, but he thinks he's a kind of a father figure to me, and i hate it, other one is so engulfed in his kids and house, he cant see further than the end of his nose, the chat would go as follows
    brother - well?
    me - hows it going?
    brother - good, nice day today
    me - yeah
    uncomfortable pause
    me - how are the lads?
    brother - good yeah
    uncomfortable pause
    brother - right, i'll head on then
    me - see ye then
    And thats about about much as it is, varies a bit, work, or whatever.
    Other brother is a bit better than that, but dont really have anything to talk about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

One brother who has lived in Germany for over 20 years....only see him once a year.....when we do meet, it is good fun, a laugh and drinks in the pub. I travel there every other year and that's good fun too but other than that maybe, 2/3 phone calls (skype) during the year. Odd that!!!

Another brother who is on the blower at least twice a week...works his ass off....in a high powered job for an American Company....but we would be closer than the guy above!!!

Sister drives me around the bend....we are two opposites....she is married to a git and that puts a strain on things, but by and large, we get on, I suppose.

Another sis, who is a professional (medical)....pain in the rear and can't be bothered....she is an attention seeker....always was! Less said the better!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭estadio

brother = meh
    sisters = out to destroy any ounce of peace i have. May be as i grow older i will appreciate them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

polly78 wrote: »
    I hope some people read this thread and get thinking about how they could change the course of their own future with regard to their relationship with siblings.

I can honestly say that any probs I might have, no matter how bad, are automatically lessened because of their unconditional support. They are always ultimately on my side but have no qualms in pointing out my shortcomings. I would value this relationship above all others (children excluded)

polly I understand what your point is but you mention ''their unconditional support" I can tell you for a fact not all of us have siblings that offer support. my own experience was that I was used for support and never given any when I needed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

I'm the eldest, I've three younger brothers. Myself and the nearest (One year difference) get on fine but we'd rarely socialise together. We don't have an awful lot in common plus he's a pain to drink with so its mainly my choice. The other two live in France with my mother so I don't get to see them much. Its been a year now since I've seen them and I miss them to bits. I hope that as they grow up and become more independent I'll be able to see them more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭polly78

gigawatt wrote: »
    polly I understand what your point is but you mention ''their unconditional support" I can tell you for a fact not all of us have siblings that offer support. my own experience was that I was used for support and never given any when I needed it.

With the way I am with mine if, in our younger years I felt they were unsupportive I would have always pulled them on it and vice versa. I kind of think this honesty, good or bad is why we all are so strong together now.

On the other hand, were the unsupportive siblings in your case married with their "own" family? I know some people do go down this route with their attitude and I don't understand it.

Can you look back over it and know why they would be like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Shoe Lover

One sister only two years younger than me - she's my best friend. We get on ten times better now we don't live with each other any more. Email her first thing when I get in to work in the mornings and talk in the evenings!

One brother who's 8 years younger than me - close but not as close as I'd like to be. Sometimes the age gap is a bit too much :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭camroc76

I am the second youngest of 7 children, my younger brother is my bestest mate. I rarely talk to my eldest siblings as they have families that keep them busy. The inbetweeners in the family, decent relationship despite their difficult partners !!....One thing I can rely on is in times of emergencey, they alway drop everything and get home to help out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Anyone else got first cousins living in Ireland that they've never met?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Salty

I'm the eldest of 4.
    I get on brilliantly with one of my brothers. There's less than 2 years between us and we're basically the same personality-wise. He's a brilliant friend.:D

My other brother is only 10, and has ASD, so it's hard to have any sort of relationship with him. I love him to bits though, he's a pure dote.:)

My sister...ugh...can't stand her. There's 5 years between us. I've never met a more obnoxious, spoiled, selfish person in my life. And painfully immature to boot. We've never gotten on well, I can't remember when I started disliking her. We're polar opposites to say the least.

I don't have any :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,745 ✭✭✭deisemum

polly78 wrote: »

Some people may not want to change the course of their future for very valid reasons while others did change the course of their life by limiting contact or may have cut out some siblings from their lives and are much happier with that. Not every family is like the Waltons.

At a couple of years off 50 and having lived away from my home and home county more than I lived there I know who I can rely on apart from my husband, mostly one very good friend and one sister for the real serious stuff and a couple of other close friends and a silbling for the lesser stuff.

I've no interest in having anything to do with a couple of my siblings, they're nothing to me, there's no emotional connection, some I haven't seen since my Dad's funeral nearly 8 years ago, some whose children I've never seen. Am I bothered? - no, I've got my own family.