Do you find really thin/skinny women attractive or a turn off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Do any men understand this siwe 8/10/12 craic? I've never been able to make any sense of it (or the European equivalents).

I can picture a size 12 i think and i know a size 8 is probably what i picture in my head when i think of the perfect body but other then that it dosnt mean much to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

http://www.ethicallyme.co.uk/help_sizes.html

Its just inches measurement, not very accurate thou. You could go shopping and buy 10 things all in different sizes. Depends on the shop and the body type they use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

being honest fat out of shape women do not appeal to me, i'm attracted to slim girls that are in good shape.
    A lot of women are bloated in ireland due to bad diets and too much drinking but they seem to justify it to themselves by saying they are curvy and certain men pander to this (love at bit of mean on the bone brigade)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Thin women always look like they'd fly apart in a high wind. They're not for me.

seanmc1980 wrote: »
    being honest fat out of shape women do not appeal to me, i'm attracted to slim girls that are in good shape.
    A lot of women are bloated in ireland due to bad diets and too much drinking but they seem to justify it to themselves by saying they are curvy and certain men pander to this (love at bit of mean on the bone brigade)

there is definitely such a thing as curvy but most women that say they are curvy are just fat imo and thats fine if they are happy with their body i dont have a problem with that at all but if they are always talking about losing weight or dieting it annoys me, either stop being lazy and get the body you want or stop talking about it and be happy how you are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

mgmt wrote: »

A touch masculine for my tastes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I've been with my missus for 12 years. She was a size 10 when we met, she is a 16 now. For me, it was a marked improvement. Doesn't mean I didn't fancy her when she was a 10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

theg81der wrote: »
    So as a current size 14 (aspiring size 8/10, my wedding size) what is curvy? Can I stop now I like food.......:p

it depends on your body shape

on another note, why do women have "wedding size" lose a ton of weight for the wedding day and then just give up and end up a overweight in a years time??? I always find that funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

seamus wrote: »
    You are aware that she's been pregnant for the last nine months, right? :)

Mmmm...Holly Willoughbooby.

Holly has the perfect female form. In practically every way. If you want to know what men like in terms of size, just look at her.

Not into heavy preggers women myself. But each to their own.

I wouldn't be interested in the likes of Holly, or Caroline, or any euphemistically called curvy woman - I'd have to hide my chips and cake.

Slim and healthy. Healthy is most important. Knightley doesn't look healthy. The girl in the OP's link does, however, and looks great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I've been with my missus for 12 years. She was a size 10 when we met, she is a 16 now. For me, it was a marked improvement. Doesn't mean I didn't fancy her when she was a 10.

She's surely burst out of her bodice, so.........;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah, but men who say that usually mean women with a body like Kelly Brook or Kim Kardashian - slim with curves in the right places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Depends on the woman. I definitely tend toward curvier types but you can't state with certainly what and who you find attractive - it just happens - and that often includes women that are slimmer or bigger than your "usual" type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I prefer girls with a bit of meat on their bones but I like skinny girls too as long as they arent unhealthy with it.

Dudess wrote: »
    Yeah, but men who say that usually mean women with a body like Kelly Brook or Kim Kardashian - slim with curves in the right places.

ye and to be honest that is what curvy means, this isnt curvy

http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Arts/Arts_/Pictures/2008/10/06/ella460.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

it depends on your body shape

on another note, why do women have "wedding size" lose a ton of weight for the wedding day and then just give up and end up a overweight in a years time??? I always find that funny. and they wonder why their man has an affair!

:eek: I was that size for years before we married - didn`t lose weighgt for the wedding. I had been big before and gradually lost weight. My weight gain was related to ill health both times and my husband is just relieved when I`m well again the added bonus is I go back to my proper weight. And he wouldn`t have an afair because he isn`t a jerk, if he had an issue he would address it with me - his wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Do any men understand this siwe 8/10/12 craic? I've never been able to make any sense of it (or the European equivalents).

Kinda.

But it's more by visualizing women that I knew were that/those size(s).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zirazira

Offy wrote: »
    They are all Gods creatures and they all need good lovin ;)
    Most of skinny women are charming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

She's surely burst out of her bodice, so.........;)

no need - I do the bodice ripping in our relationship

The shape I'd personally aspire to would be the slim with curves one, but some very slender women, e.g. Kidman and Pfeiffer, look amazing. And some "heavier" women, e.g. Holly Willoughby, also do.

Extremes at either end of the spectrum are unattractive, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Here bum is NOT too big in this!

Surely what most men want is for a woman to be a woman. Muscular or shapeless and bony is a turn-off for me anyway.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

on another note, why do women have "wedding size" lose a ton of weight for the wedding day and then just give up and end up a overweight in a years time??? I always find that funny.
    Yea another weird one alright. I'd say a fair whack of it is down to social competition with other women and the wedding day is the pinnacle of that stuff. It's nothing to do with the husband IMHO.

I have known one or two that would lose a load of weight when single and then in a relationship would slowly but surely bulk up.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I notice there's delight on this thread when a guy says really thin women are a complete turn-off, but not so much when a guy says really overweight women are a complete turn-off. I think it's really sh1tty that it's ok to insult very thin women (just as I think it's really sh1tty to insult very overweight women). Some really thin women are not "anorexic", they're just really thin, and it's not exactly fun for them when there's a culture of it being ok to say they're hideous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

bluewolf wrote: »

Now that is hot. I like my women to be about that level of thin but with slightly less fake-boobage going on. Kristen Bell would be my ideal woman.

That's not to say that i wouldn't smash Kim Karakakadashianian. You'd have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Dudess wrote: »
    The shape I'd personally aspire to would be the slim with curves one, but some very slender women, e.g. Kidman and Pfeiffer, look amazing. And some "heavier" women, e.g. Holly Willoughby, also do.

Extremes at either end of the spectrum are unattractive, IMO.

Holly Willoughby in her normal state is size 12 I wouldn't class that in the "heavier" bracket..

Anyway OP stick up a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,646 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Stick thin women, women who have twigs for legs and arms and look like they have anorexia are a real turn off.

However women who are thin but not so thin that they look like the above are ok in my opinion.

With curvy women it depends. Some curvy women look just fine and quite attractive but you also get ones that are too curvy or rotund and that's where I draw the line.

bryaner wrote: »
    Holly Willoughby in her normal state is size 12 I wouldn't class that in the "heavier" bracket.
    Oh absolutely - that's why I put the word in quotes. I mean more comparatively speaking to other celebs. Kelly Brook looks curvy but she's probably a size 8-10. Other than the boobs, she's a very slender woman. I have friends who, medically, would be a wee bit overweight, but the weight is spread evenly and is on their hips, asses and boobs rather than their chins, arms and stomachs, and they look fabulous. Really hourglass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Depends on the girl, where some women would look good with some more meat on their bones it wouldn't necessarily look good on others.

Overweight is a turn-off though, there's no excuse for letting yourself go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

eat a fecking sandwhich! thin != good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge