Dalai Lama in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Neither would I Honey, however I would always be 'suspicious' of people who are perhaps obsessed and consumed by perceived 'injustices' in parts of the world thousands of kilometers from our shores.

Usually these are nice and comfortable in their own habitat, state or public service or psuedo academics.

Mary Robinson types actually.

Can't figure out the scenario to be honest.

Herpy derpy derp.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

HoneyRyder wrote: »
    "This lad" is probably one of the happiest people in the world and has thousands of people eager to listen to him while you're busy being nasty on the internet
    Sorry that's just new age nonsense IMHO. So what if he's got thousands of people following him. Would you be as happy if the pope showed up who has billions following him? Probably not, but then he's not nearly as full of the mysterious east and exotic, is he?
    Domo230 wrote: »
    Such hatred for an old man who I have never once seen without a smile on his face or a kind word on his lips.
    Again you could say that of the pope and you'd get a much different reaction from the same right on hippies.

This Dalai lama gets a free ride in the west. Way too much of a free ride IMHO. How come this "just another sky wizard proponent" as TwoShedsJackson puts it gets this? Like I said we do love our exotic. Plus Buddhism seems "easy", more fitting for our modern minds as a faith(its not). Buddhism, the domestic cat of faiths. He's basically the smiling face of the Shangri la fantasy, but make no mistake and don't let teh smiling peace and love BS fool ya, he's just as human, just as daft and just as dogmatic as any other religious leader.

I mean this is the eejit who made Steven seagal(yea him) a divine vessel of the reincarnated lama or somesuch dross. Richard Gere musta been otherwise engaged in shopping for greased up rodentia at the time? It says here... Allegedly.

If any of ye are going along to meet with the "living saint", I'd not mention his back in the day support and meetings with the Japanese Sarin releasing cult leader in exchange for a nice little donation. Nor would I mention the persecution of dorge shugden worship, of he may deny it but the denial rings false. Yep feet of clay like the rest of us, just believing his own BS that his shít don't stink.

I just find it funny that many of the same people who would be up in arms about Muslim leaders or Christian leaders give this smiling yoda substitute unquestioning respect.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Imagine the smell of the farts at that thing though, not a proper eater among them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Forget the Dalai Lama, the best IMO spiritual teacher is Eckhart Tolle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

RichieC wrote: »
    Herpy derpy derp.

Yet another 'incisive' post from our learned friend:rolleyes:

you wont sweet talk your way into my pants, sugar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Didnt Richard Gere stick a hamster up his hole?

Don't turn back lemmiwinks or you will soon be dead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Damn you, i dont want the lemmiwinks song in my head!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Must be some relation of that AMP guy who was big a few years ago and who thought that kind of stuff was funny.

Stop derailing the thread man.

Must be some relation of that AMP guy who was big a few years ago and who thought that kind of stuff was funny.

Dalai Lama loves southpark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Wibbs wrote: »
    Sorry that's just new age nonsense IMHO. So what if he's got thousands of people following him. Would you be as happy if the pope showed up who has billions following him? Probably not, but then he's not nearly as full of the mysterious east and exotic, is he?

Are you actually basing these assumptions about me on anything or are you just drawing irrational conclusions to suit your own agenda?
    I am amused at your arrogant dismissal of thousands of people's approval of him though. I guess they're all wrong Wibbs? And I'd be thrilled to see the pope here, in the same way I would be welcoming of anyone unless I'd have a valid reason not to.

I'm also not sure how something as fundamental as happiness could ever be misconstrued as new age nonsense. Does it matter to you where people derive their happiness from? Personally, I'd consider your post count as being a truer example of new age nonsense but if you're doing what makes you happy then it's not for me to dictate or disregard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

I met the Dali Lama years back. Gotta say, he gave me the creeps TBH.

In fairness, you are the Antichrist, Wibbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Now thats what I call good plain talking. No messing about with the Captain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Anyone who considers the dalai lama to be vastly different from any other greedy religious leader should do some reading about Tibet's history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

O the ironing.....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Are you actually basing these assumptions about me on anything or are you just drawing irrational conclusions to suit your own agenda?
    Nope just a pretty common conclusion and observation. There are a fair whack of lapsed catholics in Ireland happily chanting Ommmm, while getting their chakras fiddled with and having crystal readings. Still magical thinking just more exotic. To me one is as daft as the other. Apologies if you don't fit into that kinda category, I was just remarking on the general type.
    I am amused at your arrogant dismissal of thousands of people's approval of him though. I guess they're all wrong Wibbs?
    You do know that thousands of people can be a bit [delete as applicable]daft/naive/uninformed/fcuking idiots HoneyRyder? Thousands of people follow snake handlers, millions think the earth was made in 6 days 4000 years ago and god has a white bushy beard. Millions sat down one day ad said to each other, That chairman Mao seems like a nice chap altogether.
    And I'd be thrilled to see the pope here, in the same way I would be welcoming of anyone unless I'd have a valid reason not to.
    Fair enough. I personally would have as much issue with this Lama dude as I would with the current Pope. I'd not beatify one while vilifying the other. Do you not think HR that if this thread was about the pope we'd get an even bigger shítstorm of unapproval? I suspect we might.
    I'm also not sure how something as fundamental as happiness could ever be misconstrued as new age nonsense. Does it matter to you where people derive their happiness from?
    Of course it should? There can be unhealthy happiness you know.
    Personally, I'd consider your post count as being a truer example of new age nonsense but if you're doing what makes you happy then it's not for me to dictate or disregard.
    Eh what? I know that sounded clever in the thinking but how would you construe my post as new age in any way? :confused:
    Anyone who considers the dalai lama to be vastly different from any other greedy religious leader should do some reading about Tibet's history.
    +1000 Meh its easier for many to just buy the sales pitch, that book readings hard and shure who would you believe? Ahh well he smiles a lot so that's grand then.

Just found a good piece by oul Chris Hitchens here; http://www.salon.com/news/1998/07/13news.html

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I had a bit of a back and forth with a new ager on youtube, he was annoyed at a funny video that was taking the piss out of "what the bleep do we know"

He said that quantum physics is not to be joked about, I reminded him the film was lambasted by scientists as "pseudoscience" even scientists who appeared in it. he then told me Quantum physics isn't in fact science at all, thats why scientists were saying it was pseudoscience.
    my balls your chin. Quantum physics is not science, and now we create big bang particles with it

He went on to call me an egotistical, intellectually delusional douche bag, which I guess is about right. :pac:

Anyways long story short they annoy me, bunch of chancers and spoofers the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Caoimhín wrote: »
    He is a horrid little troll of a man. I cant remember why i dont like him, but im sure it is a good reason.

Well thats me convinced !

KeithM89 wrote: »
    If i ever own a Deli, im calling it the Deli Lama. No one steal that name!!

already taken by someone sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Eh what? I know that sounded clever in the thinking but how would you construe my post as new age in any way? :confused:

It wasn't intended to sound clever and what I said was in relation to your post count: That I would regard almost 20,000 posts on a website as more emblematic of new age nonsense than a man who practices ancient virtues on a daily basis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Obama and The Queen are at least heads of state, their nations exist - whereas the Dalai Lama is just another mystical sky wizard proponent.

Almost sure Buddhism doesn't do Sky Wizards.
    That said, it's all essentially just faddism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I only found out myself that the lad was in the country today. They've been keeping it under wraps, have they??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭lmaopml

There's nothing wrong with the Dalai Lama visiting, like everybody else tbh. It's a head of state visit like any other; some hip hip hooray and some either have a lie in, or decide they're going to protest as protesters do....with banners etc. Although I doubt Dalai woke the protestors up even..

Fifty euro is a tough call to hear about how I shouldn't concentrate on the money or 'this' world - but still - this world is kinda hard to ignore too, cause I live here and stuff like that...

Still though, not everybody charges in on these visits....and like it or not people will have their religion, beliefs or lack of - so get fooking used to it or be just another 'why doesn't everybody think like me...' whinger...:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

No political leaders out to welcome him because they don't want to piss off the Chinese.

Obama and The Queen are at least heads of state, their nations exist - whereas the Dalai Lama is just another mystical sky wizard proponent.
    Almost sure Buddhism doesn't do Sky Wizards.
    That said, it's all essentially just faddism.

This. Buddhists don't believe in a God so much. They really are closer to nihilists than anything else. But still bollocks is bollocks.

I heard on the news yesterday that the Dalai Lama said we should forgive the bankers for getting us into this fine mess (if it wasn't for you meddling kids!!!). Forgive ?? No Dalai Lama, thats a bad Dalai Lama!!!!:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Again you could say that of the pope and you'd get a much different reaction from the same right on hippies.

This Dalai lama gets a free ride in the west. Way too much of a free ride IMHO. How come this "just another sky wizard proponent" as TwoShedsJackson puts it gets this? Like I said we do love our exotic. Plus Buddhism seems "easy", more fitting for our modern minds as a faith(its not). Buddhism, the domestic cat of faiths. He's basically the smiling face of the Shangri la fantasy, but make no mistake and don't let teh smiling peace and love BS fool ya, he's just as human, just as daft and just as dogmatic as any other religious leader.

I mean this is the eejit who made Steven seagal(yea him) a divine vessel of the reincarnated lama or somesuch dross. Richard Gere musta been otherwise engaged in shopping for greased up rodentia at the time? It says here... Allegedly.

If any of ye are going along to meet with the "living saint", I'd not mention his back in the day support and meetings with the Japanese Sarin releasing cult leader in exchange for a nice little donation. Nor would I mention the persecution of dorge shugden worship, of he may deny it but the denial rings false. Yep feet of clay like the rest of us, just believing his own BS that his shít don't stink.

I just find it funny that many of the same people who would be up in arms about Muslim leaders or Christian leaders give this smiling yoda substitute unquestioning respect.

You know what came to mind reading your crap 'Come mothers and fathers throughout the land and don't criticize what you can't understand' from another great thinker who has affected many lives with simple words and messages.

Have you ever read any of his writings... actually.. I don't care Ive already wasted 2 mins of my life reading your pathetic and vitriolic sh*te!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Forget the Dalai Lama. Forget the Queen. Forget Obama.

I'm still waiting on Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

You know what came to mind reading your crap 'Come mothers and fathers throughout the land and don't criticize what you can't understand' from another great thinker who has affected many lives with simple words and messages.

Have you ever read any of his writings... actually.. I don't care Ive already wasted 2 mins of my life reading your pathetic and vitriolic sh*te!

Ohhhhhh!

It wasn't intended to sound clever and what I said was in relation to your post count: That I would regard almost 20,000 posts on a website as more emblematic of new age nonsense than a man who practices ancient virtues on a daily basis
    Naw, don't see it. Try again, try harder, be cool, or something... :D No really. I'm as non new age as you could possibly get. Maybe your notion of "new age" is adrift of the mainstream?
    This. Buddhists don't believe in a God so much.
    True enough, though a bit of a copout cos at the same time they're wittering on about reincarnation. Oh and spirits and mara the evil one, the DIVIL to you and me. Yea just as bat**** primitive.
    They really are closer to nihilists than anything else.
    Yep, self centred ones to boot. Is there any other kind? Though speaking as a Nihilist of long standing I call them amateur day trippers. :D
    But still bollocks is bollocks.
    Pretty much, but it's eastern mystical bollocks OG. How dare you judge it by our locall/middle eastern kind. *wags finger*
    I heard on the news yesterday that the Dalai Lama said we should forgive the bankers for getting us into this fine mess (if it wasn't for you meddling kids!!!). Forgive ?? No Dalai Lama, thats a bad Dalai Lama!!!!
    Naw on this front I'm with the lad from Galilee who was kicking moneylenders in the arse.