Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dalai Lama in Ireland

• 14-04-2011 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I've just heard that the Dalai Lama is in Ireland.
    Why has there been so little publicity about this visit. Why are our political and church leaders not out to welcome him. Why are Obama and the Queen having such a fuss made of their visits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Buddhism is so 1996.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

I want a Llama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Over 1200 tickets for the event sold-out within 5 days of going on sale on February 1st
    Seems it has been a success.

Dublin, Kildare and Limerick are being visited. Too bad he's not coming to Galway
    http://dalailamaireland.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

If i ever own a Deli, im calling it the Deli Lama. No one steal that name!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

KeithM89 wrote: »

Note to self, steal name.

:p

< Patent pending >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

Before the Chinese took over Tibet was a religious dictatorship. I don't think Tibet or the Dalai Llama should be considered good role models.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Just keep him off the M50!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Kidnap him for a ransom of 200Billin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

biko wrote: »

Dublin, Kildare and Limerick are being visited. Too bad he's not coming to Galway

He'll be there during race week, he's a fierce man for de bettin'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

He announced that the recession and bubble bursting was our own doing and hard work would get us out it it ... No sh*t Sherlock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

biko wrote: »
    Over 1200 tickets for the event sold-out within 5 days of going on sale on February 1st

1200 isn't much of a crowd, with a bit more publicity, I'm quite sure they couldve filled a bigger venue. People are only finding out about this visit now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

2 stroke wrote: »
    1200 isn't much of a crowd, with a bit more publicity, I'm quite sure they could fill a bigger venue. People are only finding out about this visit now.

Waiting for the ticketmaster mailshot ... Due to the success of the visit, the Dalia Lama announces 2 extra dates in the O2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Have to say in my opinion, that I think this lad is an arch chancer.

The usual bleeding hearts who live sleep and breathe the 'injustices' in far flung lands will always spring up, but let's move into the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Waiting for the ticketmaster mailshot ... Due to the success of the visit, the Dalia Lama announces 2 extra dates in the O2

Dali Lama meets dancing on ice spring spectacular!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The usual bleeding hearts who live sleep and breathe the 'injustices' in far flung lands will always spring up, but let's move into the real world.

So no injustices happen in the world? Hmmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

Have to say in my opinion, that I think this lad is an arch chancer.

"This lad" is probably one of the happiest people in the world and has thousands of people eager to listen to him while you're busy being nasty on the internet

Unfortunately 'injustices' are a massive part of the real world and I certainly wouldn't condemn those who care enough to lament that fact.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

whiteonion wrote: »
    Before the Chinese took over Tibet was a religious dictatorship. I don't think Tibet or the Dalai Llama should be considered good role models.
    This. People forget or more likely only listen to(or get to hear) the side of the story that wants to return to the previous Tibetan theocracy. The same people that often have an issue with other theocracies(rightly IMHO). The Chinese should leave yes, but not to have some medieval fantasy land as a replacement.

I met the Dali Lama years back. Gotta say, he gave me the creeps TBH.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I'm going to open up a kebab shop and i'm going to call it......

"The-Dial-a-Lamba-Kebab"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Just a human like the rest of us. Big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Rojiblancos

Everyone seems to be comin over here now..Him,the Prince of Monaco,Obama,the queen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭jacksprat

Carl Spackler: A looper, you know, a caddy, a looper, a jock. So, I tell them I'm a pro jock, and who do you think they give me? The Dalai Lama, himself. Twelfth son of the Lama. The flowing robes, the grace, bald... striking. So, I'm on the first tee with him. I give him the driver. He hauls off and whacks one - big hitter, the Lama - long, into a ten-thousand foot crevasse, right at the base of this glacier. Do you know what the Lama says? Gunga galunga... gunga, gunga-lagunga. So we finish the eighteenth and he's gonna stiff me. And I say, "Hey, Lama, hey, how about a little something, you know, for the effort, you know." And he says, "Oh, uh, there won't be any money, but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consciousness." So I got that goin' for me, which is nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

He is a horrid little troll of a man. I cant remember why i dont like him, but im sure it is a good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    He announced that the recession and bubble bursting was our own doing and hard work would get us out it it ... No sh*t Sherlock!

Good advice from the guy who only has his name on a CV and nothing else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

the dalai lama has never done a hard days work in his life, so he can fcuk right off the <snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

2 stroke wrote: »
    I've just heard that the Dalai Lama is in Ireland.
    Why has there been so little publicity about this visit. Why are our political and church leaders not out to welcome him. Why are Obama and the Queen having such a fuss made of their visits.

No political leaders out to welcome him because they don't want to piss off the Chinese.

Obama and The Queen are at least heads of state, their nations exist - whereas the Dalai Lama is just another mystical sky wizard proponent.

HoneyRyder wrote: »

Unfortunately 'injustices' are a massive part of the real world and I certainly wouldn't condemn those who care enough to lament that fact.

Neither would I Honey, however I would always be 'suspicious' of people who are perhaps obsessed and consumed by perceived 'injustices' in parts of the world thousands of kilometers from our shores.

Usually these are nice and comfortable in their own habitat, state or public service or psuedo academics.

Mary Robinson types actually.

Can't figure out the scenario to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

We should arrest him and sell him to China.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭KH25

Wibbs wrote: »
    This. People forget or more likely only listen to(or get to hear) the side of the story that wants to return to the previous Tibetan theocracy. The same people that often have an issue with other theocracies(rightly IMHO). The Chinese should leave yes, but not to have some medieval fantasy land as a replacement.

I could not agree more.

Neither would I Honey, however I would always be 'suspicious' of people who are perhaps obsessed and consumed by perceived 'injustices' in parts of the world thousands of kilometers from our shores.

Well I believe that charity begins at home too but if somebody somewhere is making a difference for the better then surely that's a good thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

Skeptoid had an interesting podcast about Tibet:

http://skeptoid.com/episodes/4111

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Usually these are nice and comfortable in their own habitat, state or public service or psuedo academics.

Mary Robinson types actually.

Can't figure out the scenario to be honest.

Herpy derpy derp.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

"This lad" is probably one of the happiest people in the world and has thousands of people eager to listen to him while you're busy being nasty on the internet
    Sorry that's just new age nonsense IMHO. So what if he's got thousands of people following him. Would you be as happy if the pope showed up who has billions following him? Probably not, but then he's not nearly as full of the mysterious east and exotic, is he?
    Domo230 wrote: »
    Such hatred for an old man who I have never once seen without a smile on his face or a kind word on his lips.
    Again you could say that of the pope and you'd get a much different reaction from the same right on hippies.

This Dalai lama gets a free ride in the west. Way too much of a free ride IMHO. How come this "just another sky wizard proponent" as TwoShedsJackson puts it gets this? Like I said we do love our exotic. Plus Buddhism seems "easy", more fitting for our modern minds as a faith(its not). Buddhism, the domestic cat of faiths. He's basically the smiling face of the Shangri la fantasy, but make no mistake and don't let teh smiling peace and love BS fool ya, he's just as human, just as daft and just as dogmatic as any other religious leader.

I mean this is the eejit who made Steven seagal(yea him) a divine vessel of the reincarnated lama or somesuch dross. Richard Gere musta been otherwise engaged in shopping for greased up rodentia at the time? It says here... Allegedly.

If any of ye are going along to meet with the "living saint", I'd not mention his back in the day support and meetings with the Japanese Sarin releasing cult leader in exchange for a nice little donation. Nor would I mention the persecution of dorge shugden worship, of he may deny it but the denial rings false. Yep feet of clay like the rest of us, just believing his own BS that his shít don't stink.

I just find it funny that many of the same people who would be up in arms about Muslim leaders or Christian leaders give this smiling yoda substitute unquestioning respect.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Imagine the smell of the farts at that thing though, not a proper eater among them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Scanlas The 2nd

Forget the Dalai Lama, the best IMO spiritual teacher is Eckhart Tolle.

RichieC wrote: »
    Herpy derpy derp.

Yet another 'incisive' post from our learned friend:rolleyes:

you wont sweet talk your way into my pants, sugar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Didnt Richard Gere stick a hamster up his hole?

Don't turn back lemmiwinks or you will soon be dead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Damn you, i dont want the lemmiwinks song in my head!! :D

Must be some relation of that AMP guy who was big a few years ago and who thought that kind of stuff was funny.

Stop derailing the thread man.

Must be some relation of that AMP guy who was big a few years ago and who thought that kind of stuff was funny.

Dalai Lama loves southpark.

Sorry that's just new age nonsense IMHO. So what if he's got thousands of people following him. Would you be as happy if the pope showed up who has billions following him? Probably not, but then he's not nearly as full of the mysterious east and exotic, is he?

Are you actually basing these assumptions about me on anything or are you just drawing irrational conclusions to suit your own agenda?
    I am amused at your arrogant dismissal of thousands of people's approval of him though. I guess they're all wrong Wibbs? And I'd be thrilled to see the pope here, in the same way I would be welcoming of anyone unless I'd have a valid reason not to.

I'm also not sure how something as fundamental as happiness could ever be misconstrued as new age nonsense. Does it matter to you where people derive their happiness from? Personally, I'd consider your post count as being a truer example of new age nonsense but if you're doing what makes you happy then it's not for me to dictate or disregard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

In fairness, you are the Antichrist, Wibbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Now thats what I call good plain talking. No messing about with the Captain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Anyone who considers the dalai lama to be vastly different from any other greedy religious leader should do some reading about Tibet's history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

O the ironing.....

Are you actually basing these assumptions about me on anything or are you just drawing irrational conclusions to suit your own agenda?
    Nope just a pretty common conclusion and observation. There are a fair whack of lapsed catholics in Ireland happily chanting Ommmm, while getting their chakras fiddled with and having crystal readings. Still magical thinking just more exotic. To me one is as daft as the other. Apologies if you don't fit into that kinda category, I was just remarking on the general type.
    I am amused at your arrogant dismissal of thousands of people's approval of him though. I guess they're all wrong Wibbs?
    You do know that thousands of people can be a bit [delete as applicable]daft/naive/uninformed/fcuking idiots HoneyRyder? Thousands of people follow snake handlers, millions think the earth was made in 6 days 4000 years ago and god has a white bushy beard. Millions sat down one day ad said to each other, That chairman Mao seems like a nice chap altogether.
    And I'd be thrilled to see the pope here, in the same way I would be welcoming of anyone unless I'd have a valid reason not to.
    Fair enough. I personally would have as much issue with this Lama dude as I would with the current Pope. I'd not beatify one while vilifying the other. Do you not think HR that if this thread was about the pope we'd get an even bigger shítstorm of unapproval? I suspect we might.
    I'm also not sure how something as fundamental as happiness could ever be misconstrued as new age nonsense. Does it matter to you where people derive their happiness from?
    Of course it should? There can be unhealthy happiness you know.
    Personally, I'd consider your post count as being a truer example of new age nonsense but if you're doing what makes you happy then it's not for me to dictate or disregard.
    Eh what? I know that sounded clever in the thinking but how would you construe my post as new age in any way? :confused:
    Anyone who considers the dalai lama to be vastly different from any other greedy religious leader should do some reading about Tibet's history.
    +1000 Meh its easier for many to just buy the sales pitch, that book readings hard and shure who would you believe? Ahh well he smiles a lot so that's grand then.

Just found a good piece by oul Chris Hitchens here; http://www.salon.com/news/1998/07/13news.html

I had a bit of a back and forth with a new ager on youtube, he was annoyed at a funny video that was taking the piss out of "what the bleep do we know"

He said that quantum physics is not to be joked about, I reminded him the film was lambasted by scientists as "pseudoscience" even scientists who appeared in it. he then told me Quantum physics isn't in fact science at all, thats why scientists were saying it was pseudoscience.
    my balls your chin. Quantum physics is not science, and now we create big bang particles with it

He went on to call me an egotistical, intellectually delusional douche bag, which I guess is about right. :pac:

Anyways long story short they annoy me, bunch of chancers and spoofers the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Caoimhín wrote: »
    He is a horrid little troll of a man. I cant remember why i dont like him, but im sure it is a good reason.

Well thats me convinced !

KeithM89 wrote: »

already taken by someone sorry