facing death

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

wolf moon wrote: »
    @oranage2 - can you remember your last thoughts before the moment you expected to crash? was there any "film" of your life, etc?

i face death (or get impression i face it) sometimes due to extreme sports i like, keeps me going.. but i turn off my thinking when something really stressful or dangerous is going on and base solely on my instincts, therefore i often can't remember the "last" moments.

No film and no thoughts it was all instinct - and I'm not proud of it but what happened was i tried over taken my mate on a really small road, so we were side by side then he decided to speed up so i dicided to speed up too - well next of all we were going really fast and i was on the wrong side of the road and a car starts coming towards me - all i really really remember was somehow the oncomming car just past my car without a collision - when i looked back at the road there was bearly enough room for 3 cars, id say i missed it my millimeters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

I face death every day when my mind struggles to wake up. Sometimes I wonder if it's worth the grind, the grim reaper will always... AH FEK IT - YORE MA!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Oranage2 wrote: »
    No film and no thoughts it was all instinct - and I'm not proud of it but what happened was i tried over taken my mate on a really small road, so we were side by side then he decided to speed up so i dicided to speed up too - well next of all we were going really fast and i was on the wrong side of the road and a car starts coming towards me - all i really really remember was somehow the oncomming car just past my car without a collision - when i looked back at the road there was bearly enough room for 3 cars, id say i missed it my millimeters.

I might get done for this, but you're an irresponsible arsehole.

no sympathy, it would be the innocents you could have killed i would be concerned about

Unless he was in mondello ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

weiland79 wrote: »
    I reckon she won't have to.

Listening to Rush should do the trick.

LOL:D
    Been doing it for well over 30 years, I am a survivor...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

If this was me, I'd be more disturbed that I nearly killed a carload of inocents, than that I nearly caused my own death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

That eternal split second between the time you lose control of a car and the impact. Horrible.

Another time I was about to leg it across the road to chat to a mate before.. I was so surprised to see him pull in there... hadn't seen him in ages and i was just about to run over to the car... he happened to have the window down and as I went to run over he just held up his hand and said STOP! So instinctively I did and ... a car zoomed past a split second later. He had seen it and copped that I didn;t

I would have been brown bread. I still get the creeps when I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭johnboysligo

A tree nearly fell on me, it was old and rotten and my friend was kicking it or something anyway just heard a creek and looked up to see a 9 foot tall 3 foot thick trunk falling, my spidey (??woodey??) sense kicked in and I jumped backwards just enough to get clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

If this was me, I'd be more disturbed that I nearly killed a carload of inocents, than that I nearly caused my own death.

It was definitly dangerous and idiotic and if a garda seen it i would have lost my license - it was a young girl driving the car comming towards me, lucky enough she didnt panic or else she could have clipped the side walk and flipped her car onto the pavement - how nothing happened is one of those times you believe it was God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭garv123

I've been in 4 car crashes and I'm not even driving myself yet but the one that felt like i was going to die didn't happen.
    we were travelling along this road at night doing between 60 to 70 miles per hour. (old speed limit was 60 anyway) when we came to a bend which had no road signs warning us of it. it was almost like a hair-pin bend. not quite as sharp. Of course trying to go around the bend you could feel the car slipping and all I could see out the window was my door heading straight for a stone wall. it was kinda like in a film where I just said OH SH1T staring at the wall. Somehow we made it around the bend cm's from the wall. What was over in seconds felt like minutes. It all seemed to happen in slow motion. I remember in those seconds i taught it was lights out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

It was definitly dangerous and idiotic and if a garda seen it i would have lost my license - it was a young girl driving the car comming towards me, lucky enough she didnt panic or else she could have clipped the side walk and flipped her car onto the pavement - how nothing happened is one of those times you believe it was God

Thank fook God is out there protecting irresponsible drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I thought I was dead from drowning twice. The first time I just thought "this water is freezing". The second time I'd a choice of routes in a kayak and just thought "I wish I'd gone the other way" while I was pinned under the water.

I shoulda been killed in an ice climbing fall once. No time for thoughts, happens way too fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

When I was 12, I was knocked down by a car on my bike, was totally my fault, I was with a few friends going really fast down a hill coming up to a crossroads, I of course never looked and bang, I took the full force of a Merc, was thrown a good 100 yards, but I was grand (or so I thought), the irony of it all was that I was on my way to my school to attend a day long "safe cycling programme":o

I remember being fine that day (think it was the shock), but the next morning I couldnt move anything:(, got a few days of school though;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Y'know, "god" wont be there to save your irresponsible ass all the time. Hope you've copped the fcuk on and stopped acting the eejit by putting your life and the lives of innocent folk on the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

Im not gonna get into the details but the only feeling i remember was thinking people are gonna find out this is how i died!like the news being delivered or whatever was scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yep took magic mushrooms and was convinced I was going to die and then go to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Laika1986 wrote: »
    Im not gonna get into the details but the only feeling i remember was thinking people are gonna find out this is how i died!like the news being delivered or whatever was scary

Nearly choked to death on dong, was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I took the full force of a Merc, was thrown a good 100 yards,

So from the point of impact to where you ended up was 300 feet? Thats the length of an american football pitch.

Sorry but thats bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

another childhood asthmatic i remember mam at bedside several times in crumlin hospital openly praying for me to pull through..

was that bad i usedto blackout from lack of oxygen every time i got bad my heart sank with fear..

but the worst thing was seeing my mother sleeping on a floor beside me in crumlin hospital crying herself to sleep.

what mothers are we can never explain imo the closest thing to angels we will ever meet..

btw i love you mam...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

another childhood asthmatic i remember mam at bedside several times in crumlin hospital openly praying for me to pull through..

was that bad i usedto blackout from lack of oxygen every time i got bad my heart sank with fear..

but the worst thing was seeing my mother sleeping on a floor beside me in crumlin hospital crying herself to sleep.

what mothers are we can never explain imo the closest thing to angels we will ever meet..

btw i love you mam...........

A nice post.

Unfortunately it will be subject to the usual afterhours cynical nerds looking for thanks from similarly sad hermit-folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Yep took magic mushrooms and was convinced I was going to die and then go to hell.

Ha.

I convinced myself if I thought about it hard enough I could stop my heart beating. Que me rapidly picking leaves to look at to distract myself.

But in real life...

Appendix burst when I was 3, GP thought it was a bad stomach bug.

A nice post.

Unfortunately it will be subject to the usual afterhours cynical nerds looking for thanks from similarly sad hermit-folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

galwayrush wrote: »
    I have approx 5 weeks to tell wife i've got tickets, booked flights and hotels for 5 Rush concerts so far, and probably will have added London and Rotterdam to the list by then. I reckon i'll be facing a very painful death when i tell her.

Baggio???

ardinn wrote: »
    Baggio???

No, but i know him.:cool:

galwayrush wrote: »

Whats confusing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I left before the sex tonight coz now know he loves my friend not me. Ha! great!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

i think i have said it before on this forum but about a year ago over in aus i was pushed down stairs and fell over said stairs onto a class ceeling 3 stories up the ,,, everybody said i was lucy to survive even the cops, u bascially got held up by a small bit of wood in the centre which i hit with my back.
    Im a betting man and i was 1/25 to be dead by now from that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I was in the intensive care unit of my local hospital for about 20 hours, the people surrounding me were practially corpses. My mind was very much alive but my blood pressure had dropped to such a low level that I couldn't move my limbs at all anymore. It was caused by a combination of chemotherapy and infection.

Weirdly enough, I wasn't thinking about death at all. I was worried about my family and how much of an impact on their lives my death would cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,581 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Got a smack of a van a few years back, thought for sure that was the end of it. Then the usual rigmarole of breaking bones, torn flesh that comes with the RTA territory. Never been more afraid in my life, thought I'd pissed myself until I realised it was blood.

Not my best day but sure look, others have it worse :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

After tonite am dead inside.