Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

facing death

• 09-04-2011 8:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭

just wondering guys, have you ever been facing death?
    like you believed you are really going to die and fortunately survived?
    or have you been in a situation or acted in a way that could have likely resulted in your death?
    i'd like to read your story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Yup 3 times. I was a chronic asthmatic as a child and was given the last rights 3 times as the doctors said i wouldnt last the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

nearly crashed a car while racing my mate - not quite death but scary -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Ahoy hoy

Nearly drowned as a child in the local swimming pool, had to get mouth to mouth and everything, scary experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

@oranage2 - can you remember your last thoughts before the moment you expected to crash? was there any "film" of your life, etc?

i face death (or get impression i face it) sometimes due to extreme sports i like, keeps me going.. but i turn off my thinking when something really stressful or dangerous is going on and base solely on my instincts, therefore i often can't remember the "last" moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

I've posted this before.

I walked from one underground station to another through the tunnels.
    Pissed drunk at the time.
    I came to my senses about halfway through the tunnel. It was pitch black but i could see the other platform in the distance. I started sprinting towards the platform in a blind panic and thankfully made just as a train was pulling into the station.

The thoughts of it still sends a chill down my spine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

Oranage2 wrote: »
    nearly crashed a car while racing my mate - not quite death but scary -

no sympathy, it would be the innocents you could have killed i would be concerned about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

took 3 of my mothers blood pressure tablets when I was about 2 years old
    she's got low blood pressure so these accelerated your heart to pump faster

they made me drink ipecac in hospital so I threw what I hadn't digested up apparently another one or two tablets and I'd have had heart failure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭gigawatt

had meningitis at 15 got the last rights, crashed into a wall on black ice last year, very scary experience, had a silent perforation in my intestine a few years ago got a massively bad reaction to a painkiller they gave me at the time felt like my heart was stopping. I'm not religious but mostly I prayed!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Flying from Seattle to Chicago. Hit a storm. Really bad turbulence when there was a loud flash. Lights go off in the plane and nosedives. I could feel the seatbelt holding me onto my seat. Sound of the plane rapidly descending and me saying my prayers. Plane levels off and the screams die down. Terrified of flying ever since...

antodeco wrote: »
    Sound of the plane rapidly descending and me saying my prayers.
    i imagine it was a deadly sound, wasn't it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Hiitsme

Severe asthma attack in my 20's - went into respiratory arrest. I collapsed and was rushed to the hospital just in time, apparantly. I was put into an induced coma for 48 hours. No white lights or life flashing before me, I just remember a desperate struggle for breath :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I had to tackle a moth on my own once.

Look it was a big moth,fluttering,you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭heno86

antodeco wrote: »
    Flying from Seattle to Chicago. Hit a storm. Really bad turbulence when there was a loud flash. Lights go off in the plane and nosedives. I could feel the seatbelt holding me onto my seat. Sound of the plane rapidly descending and me saying my prayers. Plane levels off and the screams die down. Terrified of flying ever since...

jesus....my worst nightmare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

frequently. when you have a bike you will understand :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭purity

Severe heart palpitations and heart stopped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

went white water rafting in USA when I was 15 and we hit a hole and I was thrown from the boat. The whirlpool was dragging me under and I just felt a perfect sense of calm and thought this is it but someone grabbed me by back of my t-shirt and pulled me into the boat and I was grand. Mad adrenilin rush!

Since then twice from asthma. First time was when my eldest was a baby and I was at home with him alone and couldnt leave him. Inhalers werent working and it was back before mobile phones so couldnt ring my hubby to come home. He didnt get home til after 9pm and I was purple and barely responding. Was taken to hospital and they said if it had been half hour later I was gone.

Something similar happened years later where it just came on suddenly, inhalers werent helping and my lips went blue. Arrived at the now defunct A&E at my local hospital and was left on a trolley while they were looking for a doctor and I couldnt breathe at all.....felt like I was slipping away and then felt someone touch my head and as clearly as someone standing beside me I heard my recently deceased uncle say "you will be all right wee cuttie" and I brought myself back round a bit and then the staff sorted me out.

Have also been in a near accident where a trailer on my brothers car was too heavy and swung the car around in the road but we managed to stop before smashing into a wall and it was all in slow motion and I had said my goodbyes to my kids in my head!

Also on a airplane when was 15 I was travelling alone to meet up with my parents in Canada and was on a small plane from Toronto to Edmonton when we hit turbulance. I was at the aisle seat with 2 of the fattest Italian women I have ever seen squished into the other 2 seats and across the aisle there were 2 french people. I fell asleep and the turbulence woke me but I thought I was dead in my sleep addled confusion coz all I could hear were high pitched voices speaking in languages I didnt understand. Was rather traumatic!

Saila wrote: »
    i actually do have a bike and use it every second day if not every day :)

the bike reminds me of an accident though, when i was doing downhill and my brakes didn't work as expected, i crashed my head /face/ into the thick, concrete pole at the end of the journey down.
    smashed half of my face then and lost consciousness, woke up in er.
    left a few, very small scars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Why the fcuk would you want to dwell on something like this?

Get the fcuk out and dont be obsessing with stuff. Thats just, like my personal opinion and stuff man.

Get the fcuk out
    i'll be going right behind you :P

seriously? i like to listen to people's stories, life isn't only about lady gaga and a pint. just skip this thread if you don't like it.

* in ah it's also about coke and hookers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭shane_rafferty

fractured my skull last summer fell off a racing bike
    fractured my left temple minor bleed in the brain and still cant remember the day :eek:
    lucky i'm ok now :)
    scare on my head and side from hitting the road
    wish i was wearing a helmet that day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Had a parachute fail on me once, wasn't scared at the time because I just went automatically into emergency mode to get rid of the fucked up one and deploy the reserve, the fear and realisation of how dangerous the situation actually was didn't hit till later in the pub (and boy did it hit hard).

Saila wrote: »
    It helps you appreciate life :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Israeli Airstrike that was a little too close for comfort.

Plenty of stray mortar shells that kept creeping closer from them boys too.

Oh and frequently leaned too far back on plastic chairs & got that death rattle feeling :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Israeli Airstrike that was a little too close for comfort.

Plenty of stray mortar shells that kept creeping closer from them boys too.

Oh and frequently leaned too far back on plastic chairs & got that death rattle feeling :)
    Don't go on holiday in Lebanon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

wolf moon wrote: »
    just wondering guys, have you ever been facing death?
    like you believed you are really going to die and fortunately survived?
    or have you been in a situation or acted in a way that could have likely resulted in your death?
    i'd like to read your story.

yes. driving from Orlando to Miami in middle of night having been up all day. Mate asleep in the back. Started to nod off, opened eyes, saw was going into central reservation, panicked and turned hard right spinning the car. Across my side of the turnpike, across a broad reservation, across the far two lanes and almost into a rive at the other side, narrowly avoiding those huge haulage trucks the states is famour for.
    The automatic car stalled and I had no idea which was north or south. So I used the North Star. Not a word of a lie

Oh, and the night/morning the Air France planed crashed. I was also over the Atlantic, with Air France heading to CDG, with a raging storm outside, the lights in the sky were like someone turning a bright beam on and off, and we were rockin and rollin all over the place. Due to land a half hour before that doomed flight. Also a junior doctor at the time. Could have been me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I have approx 5 weeks to tell wife i've got tickets, booked flights and hotels for 5 Rush concerts so far, and probably will have added London and Rotterdam to the list by then. I reckon i'll be facing a very painful death when i tell her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭weiland79

galwayrush wrote: »
    I have approx 5 weeks to tell wife i've got tickets, booked flights and hotels for 5 Rush concerts so far, and probably will have added London and Rotterdam to the list by then. I reckon i'll be facing a very painful death when i tell her.

I reckon she won't have to.

Listening to Rush should do the trick.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yep, coupla times. It is what it is. Scary as fook after the fact in the cold light of retrospect.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

Breaking news, apparently, and it's just a rumor, we are ALL facing death at some stage, holy sh1t, I thought I was here forever. Also, pi55ed and walking home with mates, walking across rural level crossing, instinctivly pulled mate back, for no real reason. Express train whooshed past, about 12 inches in front of us. Sobered up quite quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭emer_b

Went trekking to see silver back gorillas in Rwanda. We were just about to leave when a large male stood up looking straight at me, beat his chest loudly and ran at me, stopping about 5 feet from my face and stared me out for a few seconds before heading off. Don't think he would have killed me but nearly sh!t myself.
    Guide, armed with machine gun, decided it was time to leave then. Think he would have shot me before he shot a gorilla though, which is fair enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Absolutely - quite a few times. The last time was getting hit by a car. When you're walking across the street and you look and see a car coming for you - it's pretty much 'I'm dead.' Then the shock, and the flying through the air and hitting the ground. All rather unpleasent and terrifying.

wolf moon wrote: »
    @oranage2 - can you remember your last thoughts before the moment you expected to crash? was there any "film" of your life, etc?

i face death (or get impression i face it) sometimes due to extreme sports i like, keeps me going.. but i turn off my thinking when something really stressful or dangerous is going on and base solely on my instincts, therefore i often can't remember the "last" moments.

No film and no thoughts it was all instinct - and I'm not proud of it but what happened was i tried over taken my mate on a really small road, so we were side by side then he decided to speed up so i dicided to speed up too - well next of all we were going really fast and i was on the wrong side of the road and a car starts coming towards me - all i really really remember was somehow the oncomming car just past my car without a collision - when i looked back at the road there was bearly enough room for 3 cars, id say i missed it my millimeters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

I face death every day when my mind struggles to wake up. Sometimes I wonder if it's worth the grind, the grim reaper will always... AH FEK IT - YORE MA!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

No film and no thoughts it was all instinct - and I'm not proud of it but what happened was i tried over taken my mate on a really small road, so we were side by side then he decided to speed up so i dicided to speed up too - well next of all we were going really fast and i was on the wrong side of the road and a car starts coming towards me - all i really really remember was somehow the oncomming car just past my car without a collision - when i looked back at the road there was bearly enough room for 3 cars, id say i missed it my millimeters.

I might get done for this, but you're an irresponsible arsehole.

no sympathy, it would be the innocents you could have killed i would be concerned about

Unless he was in mondello ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

weiland79 wrote: »
    I reckon she won't have to.

Listening to Rush should do the trick.

LOL:D
    Been doing it for well over 30 years, I am a survivor...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

If this was me, I'd be more disturbed that I nearly killed a carload of inocents, than that I nearly caused my own death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

That eternal split second between the time you lose control of a car and the impact. Horrible.

Another time I was about to leg it across the road to chat to a mate before.. I was so surprised to see him pull in there... hadn't seen him in ages and i was just about to run over to the car... he happened to have the window down and as I went to run over he just held up his hand and said STOP! So instinctively I did and ... a car zoomed past a split second later. He had seen it and copped that I didn;t

I would have been brown bread. I still get the creeps when I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭johnboysligo

A tree nearly fell on me, it was old and rotten and my friend was kicking it or something anyway just heard a creek and looked up to see a 9 foot tall 3 foot thick trunk falling, my spidey (??woodey??) sense kicked in and I jumped backwards just enough to get clear.

If this was me, I'd be more disturbed that I nearly killed a carload of inocents, than that I nearly caused my own death.

It was definitly dangerous and idiotic and if a garda seen it i would have lost my license - it was a young girl driving the car comming towards me, lucky enough she didnt panic or else she could have clipped the side walk and flipped her car onto the pavement - how nothing happened is one of those times you believe it was God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

I've been in 4 car crashes and I'm not even driving myself yet but the one that felt like i was going to die didn't happen.
    we were travelling along this road at night doing between 60 to 70 miles per hour. (old speed limit was 60 anyway) when we came to a bend which had no road signs warning us of it. it was almost like a hair-pin bend. not quite as sharp. Of course trying to go around the bend you could feel the car slipping and all I could see out the window was my door heading straight for a stone wall. it was kinda like in a film where I just said OH SH1T staring at the wall. Somehow we made it around the bend cm's from the wall. What was over in seconds felt like minutes. It all seemed to happen in slow motion. I remember in those seconds i taught it was lights out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

It was definitly dangerous and idiotic and if a garda seen it i would have lost my license - it was a young girl driving the car comming towards me, lucky enough she didnt panic or else she could have clipped the side walk and flipped her car onto the pavement - how nothing happened is one of those times you believe it was God

Thank fook God is out there protecting irresponsible drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I thought I was dead from drowning twice. The first time I just thought "this water is freezing". The second time I'd a choice of routes in a kayak and just thought "I wish I'd gone the other way" while I was pinned under the water.

I shoulda been killed in an ice climbing fall once. No time for thoughts, happens way too fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Chnandler Bong

When I was 12, I was knocked down by a car on my bike, was totally my fault, I was with a few friends going really fast down a hill coming up to a crossroads, I of course never looked and bang, I took the full force of a Merc, was thrown a good 100 yards, but I was grand (or so I thought), the irony of it all was that I was on my way to my school to attend a day long "safe cycling programme":o

I remember being fine that day (think it was the shock), but the next morning I couldnt move anything:(, got a few days of school though;)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Y'know, "god" wont be there to save your irresponsible ass all the time. Hope you've copped the fcuk on and stopped acting the eejit by putting your life and the lives of innocent folk on the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

Im not gonna get into the details but the only feeling i remember was thinking people are gonna find out this is how i died!like the news being delivered or whatever was scary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yep took magic mushrooms and was convinced I was going to die and then go to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Laika1986 wrote: »
    Im not gonna get into the details but the only feeling i remember was thinking people are gonna find out this is how i died!like the news being delivered or whatever was scary

Nearly choked to death on dong, was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I took the full force of a Merc, was thrown a good 100 yards,

So from the point of impact to where you ended up was 300 feet? Thats the length of an american football pitch.

Sorry but thats bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

another childhood asthmatic i remember mam at bedside several times in crumlin hospital openly praying for me to pull through..

was that bad i usedto blackout from lack of oxygen every time i got bad my heart sank with fear..

but the worst thing was seeing my mother sleeping on a floor beside me in crumlin hospital crying herself to sleep.

what mothers are we can never explain imo the closest thing to angels we will ever meet..

btw i love you mam...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

another childhood asthmatic i remember mam at bedside several times in crumlin hospital openly praying for me to pull through..

was that bad i usedto blackout from lack of oxygen every time i got bad my heart sank with fear..

but the worst thing was seeing my mother sleeping on a floor beside me in crumlin hospital crying herself to sleep.

what mothers are we can never explain imo the closest thing to angels we will ever meet..

btw i love you mam...........

A nice post.

Unfortunately it will be subject to the usual afterhours cynical nerds looking for thanks from similarly sad hermit-folk.