Irish corporate tax rate in huge trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭jc84

why is ireland so dependent on foreign investment anyway, surely there must be something else you have to offer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Bat Fasterd

wyndham wrote: »
    It is clear that The Euro is a failed experiment. Only a matter of time before it breaks up.

It is already predicted.

You can't have that many so called independent countries with independent financial minister never mind their banks and concerns trying to copy the USA's one currency for all. They at least have their one main financial stream in place.

Euro is fuked.

18 months max and we will be having #GE12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It is clear that The Euro is a failed experiment. Only a matter of time before it breaks up.

Exactly. What successful currency depends on crippling the people spending it in order to survive? Our bailout is as much and probably more for the banks of other countries as it is for us.

Those 'lenders' are doing right now; what the people in favor of our bailout seem to be so vocal about in regards to the mistakes Ireland made.. lending to those who cannot realistically afford repayments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Exactly. What successful currency depends on crippling the people spending it in order to survive?

All of them (without exception) from time to time, actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

This is complete b****x! The proportional amount our corporate tax rate generates is virtually the same as Germany and France with the levies they grant their own large national companies (e.g. taxes waved in some cases for companies like Citroen, Volkswagen, etc..).

If they want our corporate rate to escalate we should insist they no longer grant these exemptions as a 'gesture' befitting a common European economic platform.

Euro Fail!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

jc84 wrote: »
    why is ireland so dependent on foreign investment anyway, surely there must be something else you have to offer?
    Not much. Years ago fishing would have been a huge employer. Thats long gone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

twinytwo wrote: »
    But by all means just because germany demands we raise the corporation tax we must do it right? just like they said we must vote yes to lisbon etc etc...

let them take a running leap

And lo, we did. I It was posted before the last Lisbon Vote that if we voted yes, most MNC's had it in mind that they were off anyway in the near future, but it is nothing to do with the corp tax rate, it is the point of sale tax calculation. Corporate Tax will be levvied on the sale of goods in the jurisdiction they were sold in, not where they were produced, to put it simply. That makes Irelands tax rate irrelevant, and unless you have a lemon sponge for a brain, it is fairly apparent that we are fecked anyway, to one extent or the other. Noonan(who, everybody seems to have forgotten, was a bollix when last in power) announced fairly hefty PS lay-offs that are imminent-ish, coupled with the job losses coming down the tracks in the banking sector, coupled with the fact that we are run by a bunch of tossers(albeit new tossers), pretty well equals an economic meteor strike headed for our little banana Republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Do you think Michael Noonan will remind them of this and stand firm.

of course not, they're just Fianna Fail Lite

no matter what we'll be screwed for the rest of this decade, but I'd prefer it if it were in our own hands rather than under the whip of Mammy Merkel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Bat Fasterd

Spain to need help. < 6 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

I know this is after hours but this is really serious news. Our corporate tax rate is in huge danger. The German and French finance ministers want this country in poverty. If FG dont grow a pair and stand up to these pricks we're basically finished as a country. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0409/economy.html
    Lol. We are finished either way. The delusion continues.:pac:
    Yes for jobs. Suckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

jc84 wrote: »
    There is, plenty, but sadly the Irish govt and IDA(thats the Irish Dullards Association) would fall through plate glass to give money to foreign companies, but would give indigenous companies nothing more than a big bowl of red tape. It's an Irish thing - fordinners are always more to be trusted than our own, "come in Mr Yank and sit yourself down in the best armchair - get up off off it Mick, ya dopey fecker, we've guests."

Daegerty wrote: »
    Don't want them and certainly at the cost our inefficient public service will charge for them

We're taxed to the hilt already. The dole is too much, too much is wasted on trying to rehabilitate scumbags who are beyond all reasonable hope. They should privatise things like RTE and the water supply and lay off half the bloody social workers and psychiatrists who just sit there making work for each other. In the good old days a misbehaved child would be given a slap and told to cop on, now he has every syndrome under the sun and needs 24 hour care in a specially built institution

The inefficiency and bad value which this state unquestionably secures from its public spending is a matter of negligent/parochial/crony politics and mismanagement. It is not an argument against raising taxes to ensure we have better value and better services for higher taxes. They are two very separate issues. By the same thinking we might as well abandon capitalism because its abuse was central to this recession. Do you favour that?

1) We're "taxed to the hilt" already to bail out the errors of unrestrained capitalism, not to create social justice. The difference is obvious to most people.

2) The "bloody social workers and psychiatrists" are saving Ireland much more money in the long run (through helping a wide range of communities on the margins) than most Irish people would understand. Cutbacks in this area are about as myopic as public policy can get. I know, because I'm working on those margins. Dealing with ignorant pricks with misplaced pig-ignorant right-wing libertarian views does not make it easier when I can put faces and lives to each of the cutbacks they advocate. Hopefully karma will triumph and they will suffer from the crime of the ignored kid of today when he grows up to be bitter and unforgiving. I, however, don't want the community I live in to suffer in the future because of the mistakes made today.

3) Privatising public bodies in a recession, when their prices are unrealistically low, is plainly madness. If this is what you'd do in power.... It's breathtaking that anybody other than a rightwing ideologue could propose this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

It was a huge mistake in the first place to be so dependent on foreign companies. Intel, MS, HP, Google, Pfizer,etc will only be here as long as they are profitable. I cant see why people in a Board Room somewhere in the US would have any particular attachment to Ireland if our tax rate goes up and its no longer benefitial for them to stay here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

Lets have a common tax rate, france can stop its subsidies and bring theis up to our and the rest can lower the to ours. Problem solved. But i bet Enda gives in, for the good of Ireland me arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭DUB777

BURN THE BOND HOLDERS&BRING BACK THE Púnt:cool:

The nation will be be anarchic by this time next year. We need to get our independence back, **** ze germans & french[incase any infraction happy mods are looking, I don't mean that in a racist manner]. Iceland are managing fine having burnt them.

cosanostra wrote: »
    But the "handout" is not for the irish people its for german french and british banks

Well, actually it is to fund the day-to-day running of this state, and to repay those foreign financial institutions. In my original post I clearly stated that the Irish should not countenance the latter. It is a different issue to our corporate tax rate. The state is, however, going along with paying these bondholders because the alternative is to make cutbacks so severe in Irish society that the Irish would, finally, revolt. This state does not have money to pay for its current expenditure without outside help in the short term. Alternatively, it could reject that help and make massive cutbacks and see what happens. Why do you think it didn't have the courage to do the latter?

The EU money is saving the Irish elite, and most probably the jobs of very, very many people on this forum whether they work in the private sector or the public sector. Personally I'd prefer all the pain upfront, but how many other people would like to take all these cuts now in one go?

Not much. Years ago fishing would have been a huge employer. Thats long gone now.

Cause we gave our waters away,
    Like our oil
    Like our gas
    & we're gonna stop cutting turf cause the EU says too. Its b0110x, they are b0110xes.

Daegerty wrote: »
    In the good old days a misbehaved child would be given a slap and told to cop on, now he has every syndrome under the sun and needs 24 hour care in a specially built institution

Yes, and they were such great, great days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

A 1% reduction on the bailout is like offering a Johnson & Johnson plaster to a lad who just got blasted in the face with a shotgun, it's useless...

It wouldn't be a 1% reduction on the LOAN. It would be a reduction of 1% of the 5.83% overall average interest rate which is a reduction of more than one-sixth - or over 17% - or in real terms, a saving of about €330 million PER YEAR once the full LOAN is drawn down.

Useless my arse!
    "Bailout" my arse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

DUB777 wrote: »
    Cause we gave our waters away,
    Like our oil
    Like our gas
    & we're gonna stop cutting turf cause the EU says too. Its b0110x, they are b0110xes.

Stop blaming the EU for the decisions of a government made up of idiots, corrupt sociopaths and populist gombeens. Also us for not overthrowing them 4 years ago.

Birdnuts wrote: »
    We're a nation of givers in this country - we prop up failed developer banks, give away our natural resources, payoff failed bankers/politicians etc. and now this:(

We should found a rebellion, wipe out all the jack asses responsible, put them in jail away from their fat pensions, big @55 estates & their comfortable standards of living. Its a farcical state of affairs that they can still go around in their chauffeur driven state funded cars with retired garda. Kenny needs to pull his head out of gilmores @55 and gilmore needs to extract his from kenny's. The fact that all this @55holes are still walking around outside of detention/lock up/remand [whatever your choice maybe] is a joke. If that was you or I {average joe soap} who squandered millions & as a gang collectively billions, we'd be banged up in cloverhill/ mountjoy/ castlerea/ shelton abbey or the midlands pending trial. The DPP needs to wake the F~#k up and get the ball rolling on this s#1t. The justice system is a joke, the rich waltz away scot free while the average joe soap gets hammered by what the define as justice in this ridiculed state/whats left of this ridiculed state:mad:

It was a huge mistake in the first place to be so dependent on foreign companies. Intel, MS, HP, Google, Pfizer,etc will only be here as long as they are profitable. I cant see why people in a Board Room somewhere in the US would have any particular attachment to Ireland if our tax rate goes up and its no longer benefitial for them to stay here
    Because it takes years and years to establish a base for big pharma companies and costs them billions establishing themselves in a particular country. They consult with ITs and Universities what would be useful to teach in their curriculums. Also we speak English and we have access to the EU market.

But without the tax rate it aint lookin too good.

Haelium wrote: »
    Stop blaming the EU for the decisions of a government made up of idiots, corrupt sociopaths and populist gombeens. Also us for not overthrowing them 4 years ago.

Found a rebellion, Irish Political Revolt :cool:
    Are ya with me?:)

There is no financial case to be made for a business to move from this state if the CT rate is increased by 1%, none whatsoever,
    QUOTE]

Tell that to the EX-Dell workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,767 ✭✭✭flutered

we will default, it will be an organised default eventually as the figures do not add up,

flutered wrote: »
    we will default, it will be an organised default eventually as the figures do not add up,
    Yep. Good article here that explains the lunacy of whats happening: http://globaleconomicanalysis.blogspot.com/2011/04/price-of-portugals-bailout-rises.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+MishsGlobalEconomicTrendAnalysis+%28Mish%27s+Global+Economic+Trend+Analysis%29&utm_content=Google+International

Its amazing that these people have been trusted with looking after the finances of the EU.

To the depressing git who said the country is finished.

Did you know Ireland is ranked……….

1st in Europe for economic freedom – Heritage Foundation 2011 Index

1st in the World for most highly employable graduates – European Commission

1st in Europe for most competitive location for R & D Investment – Mazars Review of Global R & D Tax Incentives Study

1st in Europe for youngest workforce – IDA Ireland

1st in Euro-zone of best countries for business – Forbes 2010

1st for Investment incentives – IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2009/10

1st for Immigration laws which do not prevent companies from employing foreign labour – IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2009/10

Ireland moves to 2nd place globally ahead of Singapore, Denmark and Switzerland takings its place as 2nd most globalised economy on last year’s rankings – Ernst and Young 2010 Index Rankings

Ireland retained 2nd place globally for attractiveness to FDI when adjusted for economy size – National Irish Bank/FDI Intelligence inward Investment monitor for 2010

US investment in Ireland now exceeds €165 billion – PWC March 2011

US investment in Ireland is more than their combined investment in Brazil, Russia, India and China – PWC March 2011

Ireland is the largest net exporter of pharmaceuticals in the world- PWC March 2011

And some will still try and tell you that the multinationals will want to leave if out corporation tax becomes 40% cheaper than most instead of 50% cheaper - even when we can still introduce the same hidden tax breaks that the likes of France has. Gimme a break. Laughable.

Laois_Man wrote: »
    To the depressing git who said the country is finished.

Did you know Ireland is ranked……….

1st in Europe for economic freedom – Heritage Foundation 2011 Index

1st in the World for most highly employable graduates – European Commission

1st in Europe for most competitive location for R & D Investment – Mazars Review of Global R & D Tax Incentives Study

1st in Europe for youngest workforce – IDA Ireland

1st in Euro-zone of best countries for business – Forbes 2010

1st for Investment incentives – IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2009/10

1st for Immigration laws which do not prevent companies from employing foreign labour – IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2009/10

Ireland moves to 2nd place globally ahead of Singapore, Denmark and Switzerland takings its place as 2nd most globalised economy on last year’s rankings – Ernst and Young 2010 Index Rankings

Ireland retained 2nd place globally for attractiveness to FDI when adjusted for economy size – National Irish Bank/FDI Intelligence inward Investment monitor for 2010

US investment in Ireland now exceeds €165 billion – PWC March 2011

US investment in Ireland is more than their combined investment in Brazil, Russia, India and China – PWC March 2011

Ireland is the largest net exporter of pharmaceuticals in the world- PWC March 2011

And some will still try and tell you that the multinationals will want to leave if out corporation tax becomes 40% cheaper than most instead of 50% cheaper - even when we can still introduce the same hidden tax breaks that the likes of France has. Gimme a break. Laughable.

Lies dambed lies and statisics come to mind.

mlumley wrote: »
    There is no financial case to be made for a business to move from this state if the CT rate is increased by 1%, none whatsoever,
    QUOTE]

Tell that to the EX-Dell workers.

No. Tell it to the 2,300 Dell workers who are still employed in Limerick and Cherrywood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭CommuterIE

Its a failed experiment because states like Ireland demanded a lot of autonomy... IRELAND RAN ITSELF INTO THE GROUND THROUGH ITS OWN FAILED POLICIES AND LACK OF OVERSIGHT. The EU had nothing to do with our fiasco, it was created by the Irish government. The EU has been generous to Ireland, and fundamental to getting the tiger going. I look back now and think, YES the EU should have had more say in our internal affairs, we wouldn't be in the ****ing mess we are today... and this will last a decade at least, young people will have no choice but to emigrate because we are effectively a failed state because of morons like Bertie Ahern