Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish corporate tax rate in huge trouble

• 09-04-2011 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I know this is after hours but this is really serious news. Our corporate tax rate is in huge danger. The German and French finance ministers want this country in poverty. If FG dont grow a pair and stand up to these pricks we're basically finished as a country. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0409/economy.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

conga conga conGA conga conga conGA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Taxes can go up as well as down, it's there in the small print.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Don't give an inch on CTR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I'll rather we stick with the interest rate we have than increase the corporate tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

In other news... LANDSHARKS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

We borrow money from them so we can help save their currency, we voted yes to their stupid Lisbon treaty and this is what we get in return.

Ollie Rehn is a real salt of the earth lad. I went for a pint with him and he gave me his last 20e note so I could take a taxi and he walked home himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I'm for a small corporate tax increase.
    I thought everyone is meant to be taking the hit!
    Would a 2 percent increase really justify any of these countries pulling out of Ireland?

MIN2511 wrote: »
    I'll rather we stick with the interest rate we have than increase the corporate tax

So you are in favour of Irish PAYE workers paying more tax from their wages in order to pay a higher interest bill, while the only organisations in this country that actually are making a profit, get away without carrying any of the burden???

If your PAYE tax goes up 10 Euro a week to pay for this, are you happy to pay it while MNC's use creative financial accounting practices to reduce their CT liability to 1-2%??? 'Cos I'm not prepared to pay for it...

Would a 2 percent increase really justify any of these countries pulling out of Ireland?

Shag it lad we could be reducing it by 2% and they'll still want to outsource everything to Mao Zedong land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    I know this is after hours but this is really serious news. Our corporate tax rate is in huge danger. The German and French finance ministers want this country in poverty. If FG dont grow a pair and stand up to these pricks we're basically finished as a country. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0409/economy.html

We're basically finished as a country?
    I wish you were my friend...

Daegerty wrote: »
    we voted yes to their stupid Lisbon treaty

No we didn't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

If FG dont grow a pair and stand up to these pricks we're basically finished as a country. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0409/economy.html

When were we started as a country? The place is a 3rd world plantation run by civil servants and before that the fascist clergy.

No we didn't!

Well we didn't and then Biffo said "Wrong answer, bitch!'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭CommuterIE

So you are in favour of Irish PAYE workers paying more tax from their wages in order to pay a higher interest bill, while the only organisations in this country that actually are making a profit, get away without carrying any of the burden???

If your PAYE tax goes up 10 Euro a week to pay for this, are you happy to pay it while MNC's use creative financial accounting practices to reduce their CT liability to 1-2%??? 'Cos I'm not prepared to pay for it...

I don't see your point.... increase the corporation tax and these organisations will simply leave. Increasing the CT is not something Ireland can realisticly do and would imo be the final nail in the coffin

A 1% reduction on the bailout is like offering a Johnson & Johnson plaster to a lad who just got blasted in the face with a shotgun, it's useless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Shag it lad we could be reducing it by 2% and they'll still want to outsource everything to Mao Zedong land
    But wages and everything have come down in the last few years.
    It seems like unless your filthy rich you're going to be absolutely raped by the tax man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

This isn't newsworthy. It's the same rhetoric that has been coming from Germany. I say **** them, default on all debt, leave the euro and let it fall flat on it's face - maintaining the status quo on our corp tax rates.

How do you like that Germany?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

France's CT rate is closer to around 10% after you take into consideration the tax breaks applicable to companies there, and they have the advantage of being part of mainland Europe so commerce is far easier for them.

They have some neck to say that 'we need to do our part'.. I think that as a tax payer who played no part in the meltdown of the Irish economy and who is burdened with the debts of others for the foreseeable future, that I am already doing way more than my part.

Fcuk them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

A 1% interest rate decrease will only save us 500m out of 70.5 billion. Noonan should tell the Germans and French to feck off.

I wish they would stop being so jealous - driving away companies for a short term gain is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD

This worst part of this economic mess the infinite boring threads and radio discussions. Dem fordenors tuk our corporation tax rate!

CommuterIE wrote: »
    I don't see your point.... increase the corporation tax and these organisations will simply leave. Increasing the CT is not something Ireland can realisticly do and would imo be the final nail in the coffin

It's just another policy bubble that is going to burst anyway, as all bubbles do. There is no financial case to be made for a business to move from this state if the CT rate is increased by 1%, none whatsoever, they still have the lowest CT rate around. We started letting these MNC's dictate to us, just like we let the property developers get up on our backs in recent years in terms of policy and look how that ended up...

Nobody gets assurances that taxes will remain the same, any executive heading up an MNC who thinks that taxes stay static should not be running a corner shop never mind a publically listed company...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

A 1% interest rate decrease will only save us 500m out of 70.5 billion. Noonan should tell the Germans and French to feck off.

Noonan is a spineless hack, and isn't fit for Government. He already stated that Senior Bondholders must take a hit if banks wanted funding, and now he has already gone back on that saying that Fine Gael will no longer be seeking to inflict burden sharing on senior bondholders, because he didn't want to go against the grain of the EU. And yet - the Irish tax payer is forced to continue to shoulder this burden, and take further hits on public services.

We need people with balls in the Government. Cahones that require wheelbarrows for transport.

**** the Eurozone. Default. Leave. End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

The German and French finance ministers want this country in poverty.[/URL]

*cough* 80m bailout *cough*

In reality, the country is already in poverty since it's living off money which doesn't belong to it. It's in the EU's interest for Ireland to sort it's s***e out.

Riamfada wrote: »
    GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD

This worst part of this economic mess the infinite boring threads and radio discussions. Dem fordenors tuk our corporation tax rate!

"An' now de corporation won't cu' de grass outsiyid Joe, and dem bleedin' public service earnin' loads sittin' on dey're arses."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Increase it by 0.01% as a gesture of goodwill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

dlofnep wrote: »
    We need people with balls in the Government. Cahones that require wheelbarrows for transport.

Sorry, but Buster Gonad didn't get elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

m@cc@ wrote: »

God, if only it was 80m. :)

Increase it by 0.01% as a gesture of goodwill.

We can't do that, they'll all up and leave in the morning don't you know or haven't you heard?!?!?!?!? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Increase the sh!t out of the CTR I say

and then reduce it again through tax breaks like the French do, in the small print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Who's that chick in the RTE link? Never noticed her on the box before! Hardly what you would call stunning but deserving of a rattle all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Exactly. Its getting hard to compete with the Eastern European EU members as it is.

We can't do that, they'll all up and leave in the morning don't you know or haven't you heard?!?!?!?!? :rolleyes:

A lot of Multinationals would get up and leave... any increase would force them to reconsider their position, even if it's only a small increase, as they know that it will more than likely be an upward trend from then on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

can someone tell me how much we'll make if we incrase the CT by 2% say??

and how much will the EU reduce the interest rates

for the amount of money we'll make and save is it worth pissing off the biggest richest countries in the country?? if they started upping ship how much money would we loose in total which would leave us worse off

m@cc@ wrote: »

In reality, the country is already in poverty since it's living off money which doesn't belong to it. It's in the EU's interest for Ireland to sort it's s***e out.
    As bad as it is now it could get a whole lot worse. If multinationals start leaving it wont be pretty.

If our precious 12.5% CT rate was really fit for purpose and doing what it is claimed to do in terms of securing employment, then can someone explain to me how come we have just under half a million people out of work and living on social welfare???

Guess what??? It's a failed policy that has not promoted job creation here in this country, apart from maybe 100K jobs that are brought here by NMC's who export all of their profits.

It doesn't make sense to keep running with an obviously failed policy that employs 100K people who are employed by businesses that send money out of the country, while failing to provide for the creation of employment for 500,000 people, who could be employed by businesses that will keep the profits in this state.

So painful and all as I'm sure it will be for the pigs with their noses in the national trough, it's better to try a new policy that doesn't result in half a million people out of work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Wait till we hear michael noonan and edna kenny selling us this one ya gotta think why do germany and france want an increase even if it is just a wee token gesture them bloody rothschilds are at it again weres hitler when you need him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

MIN2511 wrote: »

This posturing on the interest rate is completely academic. Were we given the bailout at 0% we would probably not be able to pay it back.

A lot of Multinationals would get up and leave... any increase would force them to reconsider their position, even if it's only a small increase, as they know that it will more than likely be an upward trend from then on...

They are not here long term anyway, CT rate unchanged or not. Where's Dell now??? We are codding ourselves if we think in such a backward kip of a state that businesses will stay here for a CT rate, while everything else is inefficient and bad value for money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

Sarkozy and Merkel can fúck right off. We´re not going to budge on the corpo tax.

If they don´t give us a better interest rate, we will have no choice but to default. That would really fúck up the Eurozone, wouldn´t it.

Stand your ground, Enda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

That's wrong. It's way more than that.

e.g. if you're mortgage is 300,000, and for 20 years, you pay about 120,000 interest. That's c. 40%.

40% of 70bn = 28bn.

I know we won't be paying it over 20 years, but you see what I mean. The interest figures are way higher than what you think.

Sarkozy and Merkel can fúck right off. We´re not going to budge on the corpo tax.

If they don´t give us a better interest rate, we will have no choice but to default. That would really fúck up the Eurozone, wouldn´t it.

Stand your ground, Enda.

Aren't we the big man of Europe, handing out massive tax relief to every Tom Dick and Harry while we haven't a pot to p*ss into, aren't we great altogether... :rolleyes:

It would I believe be political suicide for the new government to raise the CT rate and then have thousands of more redundancies... it will cost more money that we don't have in the long run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Unlike most people here, it appears, I look forward to tax harmonisation across the EU if it will ensure an equality of higher social services and social justice across the EU.

It's not at all popular to say this here but I have said it time and time again: it's deeply hypocritical of the Irish people to expect to get one over other EU countries by keeping a lower corporation tax rate to attract foreign companies, while then turning around and expecting the same EU countries to subsidise Ireland with what is in effect the [higher] taxes from their citizens. Those EU countries, according to the raison d'être of the lower Irish tax rate, lose taxes because multipnationals locate here rather than in France, for instance.

The Irish hypocrisy deepens. Those countries have higher taxes to pay for higher social services in their country. Our lower corporation (and income) taxes not only rob jobs for Ireland which may have had no choice but to locate in the standard high tax EU country, but this lower tax also ensure we have considerably inferior social services and less social justice in our state, Ireland. And what do our political representatives do to make up the shortfall? They go with the begging bowl and the béal bocht to Brussels asking for handouts because they are too afraid to confront the Irish electorate with this reality: if we want higher social services we have to pay higher taxes. Where is our pride? The hypocrisy. All our representatives who defend this double standard are cowards and beggars appealing to the most mé féiner mentality of the Irish population, that small tenant farmer post-Famine mentality which obdurately refuses to pay higher taxes for the social services which we depend on EU handouts to maintain.

As an Irishman, I am willing to pay higher taxes for better social services and for more social justice in Ireland. For the reasons above, our current stance on the low corporation tax rate is so obviously hyprocritical and a source of shame.

It's long past the time that Irish people approached this issue honestly. This is not Ireland's finest hour. Our representatives' hypocrisy is doing awful (irreparable?) damage to Ireland's reputation in the more socially just EU societies which I admire.

PS: Without doubt, Ireland's representatives should be telling the French and Germans that we are not paying for their bondholders' losses in Irish banks. That's where the French and Germans are patently playing national politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

We're a nation of givers in this country - we prop up failed developer banks, give away our natural resources, payoff failed bankers/politicians etc. and now this:(

Dionysus wrote: »
    if we want higher social services we have to pay higher taxes.

Don't want them and certainly at the cost our inefficient public service will charge for them

We're taxed to the hilt already. The dole is too much, too much is wasted on trying to rehabilitate scumbags who are beyond all reasonable hope. They should privatise things like RTE and the water supply and lay off half the bloody social workers and psychiatrists who just sit there making work for each other. In the good old days a misbehaved child would be given a slap and told to cop on, now he has every syndrome under the sun and needs 24 hour care in a specially built institution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

A 1% reduction on the bailout is like offering a Johnson & Johnson plaster to a lad who just got blasted in the face with a shotgun, it's useless...

it nearly 800 million in savings a year on what we " borrowed "

a lot of doctors nurses cops bla bla bla can be paid with that cash

and lets face it , even if it only save us a tenner we should peruse it all the friggin way

screw our European " brothers " - if this is how our family acts i want a ****ing divorce , out of EMF - Punt back - devalue - default , **** em all

if a law was passed 2 changed the constitution to forbid a budget deficit we could also **** the bond market - ONLY EVER spend what we have
    then at least we would be masters of our own destiny

not the poor gombean of Europe

sick of this ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

Don't want them and certainly at the cost our inefficient public service will charge for them

We're taxed to the hilt already. The dole is too much, too much is wasted on trying to rehabilitate scumbags who are beyond all reasonable hope. They should privatise things like RTE and the water supply and lay off half the bloody social workers and psychiatrists who just sit there making work for each other. In the good old days a misbehaved child would be given a slap and told to cop on, now he has every syndrome under the sun and needs 24 hour care in a specially built institution

I agree with this i know of kids that were told they needed a special needs assistant cause they were dyslexic and they could function very well but when they were put into this catogory it ruined them and they ended up just pure lazy! also red tape is killing business here its way ott

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

Unlike most people here, it appears, I look forward to tax harmonisation across the EU if it will ensure an equality of higher social services and social justice across the EU.

It's not at all popular to say this here but I have said it time and time again: it's deeply hypocritical of the Irish people to expect to get one over other EU countries by keeping a lower corporation tax rate to attract foreign companies, while then turning around and expecting the same EU countries to subsidise Ireland with what is in effect the [higher] taxes from their citizens. Those EU countries, according to the raison d'être of the lower Irish tax rate, lose taxes because multipnationals locate here rather than in France, for instance.

The Irish hypocrisy deepens. Those countries have higher taxes to pay for higher social services in their country. Our lower corporation (and income) taxes not only rob jobs for Ireland which may have had no choice but to locate in the standard high tax EU country, but this lower tax also ensure we have considerably inferior social services and less social justice in our state, Ireland. And what do our political representatives do to make up the shortfall? They go with the begging bowl and the béal bocht to Brussels asking for handouts because they are too afraid to confront the Irish electorate with this reality: if we want higher social services we have to pay higher taxes. Where is our pride? The hypocrisy. All our representatives who defend this double standard are cowards and beggars appealing to the most mé féiner mentality of the Irish population, that small tenant farmer post-Famine mentality which obdurately refuses to pay higher taxes for the social services which we depend on EU handouts to maintain.

As an Irishman, I am willing to pay higher taxes for better social services and for more social justice in Ireland. For the reasons above, our current stance on the low corporation tax rate is so obviously hyprocritical and a source of shame.

It's long past the time that Irish people approached this issue honestly. This is not Ireland's finest hour. Our representatives' hypocrisy is doing awful (irreparable?) damage to Ireland's reputation in the more socially just EU societies which I admire.

PS: Without doubt, Ireland's representatives should be telling the French and Germans that we are not paying for their bondholders' losses in Irish banks. That's where the French and Germans are patently playing national politics.

are you out of your mind ?
    EVERY country uses its strengths to it own advantage , FFS !!!
    so using your logic if we get a " level playing field " are the Germans and the french going to ship over heavy industry 2 fill the vacuum that is ireland with no heavy industry ?? lets say the Germans are going to give us OPEL ?? and the french ? how about the arms industry ,
    the tax rate is one of the best things we have to attract DFI

so what happened to the legal " guarantee " we were sold ??
    aint worth the paper it was forged on

2 say they have had a head start in the building of the economy would be a ****ing massive understatement :eek:
    with that attitude we would still be ****ing using donkeys to get 2 the mart

Europe OFFERED us cohesion and structural funds 2 speed up development
    they NEVER said that they were going to throw it back in our face every time they wanted something done that was detrimental to ireland
    i think the phrase is Indian givers

i think that people forget we have said NO twice 2 Europe and they just ****ing ignored us and leaned on our elected gob****es ,

we own them **** all - lets stand up to them and see have they got the courage of their convictions and i hop 2 **** we do

Those countries give tax incentives so the real rate of their corporate tax is much much lower. Therefore to suggest that we're the ones being hypocritical is a bit like the pot calling the kettle black.

This is especially vulgar considering the size of Ireland and how much we depend on foreign investment.