The death of sectarianism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

policarp wrote: »
    Paddy and his dog were in Derry and he tried to talk to both sides of the sectarian divide. Both sides were reluctant to talk to him.
    This was last weekend...

Jesus if gerry adams and ian paisley can shake hands these cretins can move on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭Firetrap

policarp wrote: »
    Paddy and his dog were in Derry and he tried to talk to both sides of the sectarian divide. Both sides were reluctant to talk to him.
    This was last weekend...

If Paddy O'Gorman tried to talk to me, I'd run a mile :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Jesus if gerry adams and ian paisley can shake hands these cretins can move on

And Robinson, it was'nt my radio programme.
    Just a listener...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Im certainly not trolling and I know belfast divisions still exist but these people are a dying breed hopefully relicts like the orange order and the walls dividing belfast will go the way of the dodo.

Are you saying all those involved in rioting surrounding OO marches and Celtic-Rangers games are old people? :D:D:D

A huge amount of people in the north basically live their lives in a self-chosen form of apartheid.

Plenty of nordies are proud to sind that they are "up to their necks in fenian blood".

The divide is the world's longest conflict and far from finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

QuinnC88 wrote: »
    Sectarianism will never die out in this country!
    It will. Its less acceptable with each passing year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

Im certainly not trolling and I know belfast divisions still exist but these people are a dying breed hopefully relicts like the orange order and the walls dividing belfast will go the way of the dodo.

There are more walls in Belfast today that there were in 1998 when the GFA was signed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

There are more walls in Belfast today that there were in 1998 when the GFA was signed.
    Yeah but how many murders are there compared to then. The younger generation care less and less about that stuff. Any riots are mainly just kids having the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

If all the secretanarianists die out... then who's gonna answer the phones? :confused:
    Say that five times fast... or even twice for that matter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

That's a rather glass half empty outlook.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

K-9 wrote: »
    That's a rather glass half empty outlook.

Well walls are clearly not 'going the way of the dodo', and Belfast is still an extremely segregated city. I'm not saying there hasn't been incredible progress in terms of ending violence, but there is still very limited social interaction and cross-community cohesion, and social trust is still very low.

Just because sectarianism today doesn't result in murder shouldn't be taken to mean that it doesn't have a deep hold on people's mentalities. There are still a lot of physical and mental walls that need to come down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

I doubt it. Not with the RIRA running around trying to lure Protestants out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well walls are clearly not 'going the way of the dodo', and Belfast is still an extremely segregated city. I'm not saying there hasn't been incredible progress in terms of ending violence, but there is still very limited social interaction and cross-community cohesion, and social trust is still very low.

Just because sectarianism today doesn't result in murder shouldn't be taken to mean that it doesn't have a deep hold on people's mentalities. There are still a lot of physical and mental walls that need to come down.

It takes time and loads of it, it'll probably always be there to some extent, unless we bring in thought police, but there have been big improvements. Marching season and the attitudes on both extremes don't help.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Best to wait about 40 generations, then you'll see some change.

As for that gimp Julian, ditching UPC and going FTA was worth it to be rid of him alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

There are more peace walls put up since the GFA than ever before, the politicians like to play happy families.

They will come down sooner or later anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Not the end.... but its certainly on the way out.

I mean the queen is visiting Croke park next month for feck sake, who'd thought that could happen 30 years ago?

KeithAFC wrote: »
    I doubt it. Not with the RIRA running around trying to lure Protestants out.

keith their killing catholics and protestents there is no difference people are being killed thats it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Sectarianism, bigotry and all other form of prejudice will never die.

Life experience dictates that most people , if not everyone, will develop a chip on their shoulder and some stage in their lives.

However, very few people will ever take it to the extreme that we have seen in the North recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,028 ✭✭✭Penfailed

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Not with the RIRA running around trying to lure Protestants out.

I'm not sure what you mean by this? Lure them out where? :confused:

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Queens of the Stone Age, Electric Picnic, Vantastival, Sprints, Getdown Services, And So I Watch You From Afar, The Scratch

Gigs '26 - Deftones, Sleaford Mods, Stereolab, KNEECAP, Sugar, Clutch, Big Thief, Jon Spencer, The Cure, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, IDLES, Electric Picnic, Public Service Broadcasting, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Korn

Penfailed wrote: »

I also dont see what relevance the victims religion is.

Penfailed wrote: »
    To get the UVF back to armed action, to get Protestants to join and to fight etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I also dont see what relevance the victims religion is.

The protestants still see the police force as theirs. An attack on it is seen as an attack on them.

BTW it will be along time before PC statements like 'i don't see what relevance religion is' can be applied to NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Yeah but how many murders are there compared to then. The younger generation care less and less about that stuff. Any riots are mainly just kids having the craic.

You say that but I think its the opposite most people who are in their late thirties and above are sick to death of the whole situation up there, yet its the young lads who here the stories from old days and want to have a cause and be a rebel, also a lot of young lads up there who are now unemployed sitting around doing nothing become very impressionable when faced with guys telling them to join the dissidents and its a easy escape from their current reality. There was a story recently in the Irish Times discussing how the young head members of the C-IRA in the north had taken over and kicked out the old members who were running it from the south because they felt the older guys were leaning towards laying down there arms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

In my opinion its the protestant/loyalist communities who hold the most sectarian attitudes,They feel and maybe justifiably so that they are being asked to give away many of there traditions and feel they are being squeezed out and also the fact that there has always been a crossover of far right groups with loyalist paramilitaries like combat 18 etc, It will take many years for the sectarianism in the six counties to be healed if ever, I live in hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

realies wrote: »
    In my opinion its the protestant/loyalist communities who hold the most sectarian attitudes

Ah c'mon now.

When it comes to sectarianism in NI, both tribes are knee deep in it.

Integrated education is the key to chipping away at the bullsh*t their communities have indulged in for far too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Intergrated education is certainly the way forward as is respect for each others traditions but this taken from the guardian tells a different story and Imo reinforces what I posted above.

Northern Ireland, which is 99% white, is fast becoming the race-hate capital of Europe. It holds the UK's record for the highest rate of racist attacks: spitting and stoning in the street, human excrement on doorsteps, swastikas on walls, pipe bombs, arson, the ransacking of houses with baseball bats and crow bars, and white supremacist leaflets nailed to front doors.
    Over 200 incidents were reported to police in the past nine months, although many victims don't bother complaining any more.
    But in the past weeks, fear has deepened. Protestant working-class neighbourhoods are showing a pattern of orchestrated house attacks aimed at "ethnically cleansing" minority groups. It is happening in streets run by loyalist paramilitaries, where every Chinese takeaway owner already pays protection money and racists have plentiful access to guns. The spectre of Catholics being systematically burnt out of similar areas during the Troubles hangs in the air. etc etc

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0410/breaking32.html

Just an update on this. Really great to see a lot of people from both sides of the artificial divide arching in solidarity.

It just shows the people who are present in this march are sick of sectarianism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

It just shows the people who are present in this march are sick of sectarianism.

It does nothing of the sort. It shows they are sick of violence and want to publicly show their outrage at the recent bombing of a police officer.

If he had been a Protestant, Muslim or Jew there'd still be a mass protest. It has nothing to do with sectarianism.