I'm special; Baby on Board

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

syklops wrote: »
    Nice way to troll.
    Not trolling, just stating facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Travelers don't pay motor tax

Well seeing as how people who DONT travel dont need to pay it looks like nobody pays road tax ?

Does not compute :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Not trolling, just stating facts.

Because you were at the site of the crash.

Because he was so close behind the car that he would have smashed into it if he didn't swerve. He was obviously driving too close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Because he was so close behind the car that he would have smashed into it if he didn't swerve. He was obviously driving too close.

Im not going to go into the facts., but he was not in the wrong. I was trying to give an anecdote about baby on board signs and you want to have an argument. Its friday evening. Go for a few pints instead. Thats what I plan to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

I have to agree with the OP, those signs are kind of annoying. It's not like I'm going to drive like a maniac behind a car just because they don't have a sign up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I don't give a fúck about the signs but one ain't gonna make me drive any differently. It's not i drive unsafe and then see the sign and tell meself to cop on and drive properly. I drive like i don't wanna crash my car all the time.

And if the sign is to warn others that they may not have their eyes on the road all the time then they shouldn't be behind the wheel with the child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Your mate was at fault.
    Nice way to troll.

Actually, I don't think MM is.

My thinking on it is, you should be a safe stopping distance from any vehicle - regardless of whether it has one of those things on the rear window or not.

Im not going to go into the facts., but he was not in the wrong. I was trying to give an anecdote about baby on board signs and you want to have an argument. Its friday evening. Go for a few pints instead. Thats what I plan to do.
    How was he not wrong? He was driving too close and had to swerve, no other facts necessary. He has no one to blame but himself. Your anecdote was an insinuation that this ''baby on board'' sign was somehow the cause of your mates injuries, which is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Barney forever! Wigum Never!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

A mate of mine was a lorrytruck driver. He was driving the truck one day and there was a car with a baby on board sign in front of him. For whatever reason the car suddenly slammed on the breaks. Because of the sign he swerved the truck rather than stand on the brakes as he figured if he went into the back of the car the baby was a goner. He swerved the truck into the field next to the road, went through the windscreen, broke 3 bones in his back, and was in a chest-cast for 3 months.

On the one hand it may have saved a life, on the other hand(if the baby was not in the car, and they forgot to take down the sign) it may have ruined a life.

WTF... maybe he should have considered backing off a little instead of sitting behind the car reading the sign in the back window? If he managed to swerve and travel all the way into a field, all whilst probably braking, then I am sure he probably would have killed everyone else in the car too and maybe himself too.

Moral of the story - keep his distance; baby sign or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Going a little OT right now but you should always leave enough breaking room between your vehicle and the vehicle in front. This applies to cars, busses, trucks, bikes and whatever else that you might be driving on the road.

Anything less is tailgating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Abi wrote: »
    I hate them, and their variations of them. 'princess on board' ... 'little united supporter on board' .. 'yummy mummy's taxi' with an absolute munter driving the fucking thing. Why people feel the need to advertise the fact that they've reproduced is beyond me.
    Parents think their kids are special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Travelers don't pay motor tax

A Padre Pio sticker is their tax disk

Really. I must tell my gf and her family that theyve been paying tax all these years when they dont have to! thanks for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Barney forever! Wigum Never!

Them girls you paid to scream are doing a really good job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I have a dislike for these signs especially when the car it is stuck on is being driven by a lunatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

RichieC wrote: »
    It's to request that the car behind take extra care in a cute way.

Tbh I dont see one of them signs and think.. oh i better not crash into that car. If i see any car i think, oh i better not crash into that car. Who the fúck would try to crash into any car whether there is a baby on board or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

The worst is when you see the ones that say Princess on board! And its a 20 something bimbo with fluffy stearing wheel cover and blinged out dice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

RichieC wrote: »
    Jaysus what will people think of next to begrudge..

This old chestnut again. People can actually dislike something without being begrudging you know. In this case I think it's less to do with being begrudging and more to do with disliking people being ridiculously precious about their little darlings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

We want chilly willy! We want chilly willy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Whenever I see one I try and persuade the driver of the car I'm in to do the PIT maneuver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Parents think their kids are special.

At the rate they hang dangly random signs from their car windows, I'm beginning to think the parents are a bit 'special' too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Not wanting to shít on anyone, but this irritates me the most when the sign is old the back window of some old clapped-out micra/punto. My car is fairly crap but it's not a hatchback with practically nothing between the back of the car and the back seat. You'd think the first priority of these people when they have a kid is to get a more crashproof car (not necessarily a fancier car) rather than a lame sign that only serves to irritate people.

That thing about emergency services is a silly argument. I'd like to think if it were the case then there would be something a bit more official with a nationally designated symbol that attaches to the window properly like an L plate. Not a cheapy sucker-cup-stuck piece of laminated card with a tacky slogan.

I would definitely put something like this on my car though, just to see if people drive extra careful behind me http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4005/4544668109_0fe1bcc1a4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

IrishHomer wrote: »
    Just have to get this off my chest.

One thing i can,t stand is prats parading around with their signs on cars telling the world they have a baby on board.

Big f***ing deal! :mad:

eh, get over it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭zinzan

It bugs me too - esp. when the rear window is nearly blocked out by dangly rubbish and those stupid signs.
    You should never expect other people to take extra care, It's up to you to concentrate on the road yourself and take as much care as possible.

Oh and I have a baby son so I'm not feeling hard done by or left out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

i want to get a sign that says 'human on board'. then they will look for me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

i once saw one that said "Big Dick on Board"

i don't know if he was bragging, if it was his name and he was big, or if someone had put it there as a joke. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

in fairness if the baby signs annoy you dont look at it
    ffs have ye nothing better 2 debate

they originate from the US due 2 a accident where the the mother was knocked unconscious and could not tell rescue crews about the child that WAS in the back but was thrown out a side window

the child survived the crash but died after because the rescue crews did not find it until the next morning , a sign might have saved its life

now crews are trained to not only check the immediate area but the surrounding are also just in case of a child or even a adult being shot out a window ( happens more often than you think )

but i really dont see why people are getting upset by these stickers :eek:
    just dont look at them , or maybe its another reason your getting annoyed and in that case sort your own head out and stop being a grumpy **** face on a sunny Friday evening and get a poxy life

really boards is just getting worse - they will let anybody on the internet these days - should be a entrance exam at least :D
    now whos up for a pint in a beer garden ?