Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm special; Baby on Board

• 08-04-2011 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Just have to get this off my chest.

One thing i can,t stand is prats parading around with their signs on cars telling the world they have a baby on board.

Big f***ing deal! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

It's there in case there's a crash, so emergency services will know there's a ''baby on board''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

If I'm not mistaken it's in case of a crash that fire services will look for the child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

something something Burt Ward.

IrishHomer wrote: »

One thing i can,t stand is prats parading around with their signs on cars telling the world they have a baby on board.

Someone's not happy being childless :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

Why don't they take the sign off when there is no baby on board. Poor fireman looking for a baby that never was !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Chief Wigam is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Jaysus what will people think of next to begrudge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I dont have a problem with child on board they alert the emergency services but those signs with the kids names and pictures on them "john on board" do my head in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

RoverJames wrote: »
    Someone's not happy being childless :pac:

LOL OP should get one with LOSER on board..:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It is enough to make me want to nudge the car off the side of the road! :mad::mad::mad:

RichieC wrote: »

They will be giving out against Padre Pio next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

If I'm not mistaken it's in case of a crash that fire services will look for the child.

No, they're just twats. Emergency services will look for a kid whether there's a poncy sign or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

It's there in case there's a crash, so emergency services will know there's a ''baby on board''.

Complete urban myth bull****

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Complete urban myth bull****
    Urban myth? Is the existence of these signs based solely on folklore or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

In a crash what are the odds of a suction cup sticking to a glass window providing the window itself doesn't break?

Think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

It's to request that the car behind take extra care in a cute way.

Is the existence of these signs based solely on folklore or something?

Yes

Because the risk of serious injury to myself and others, The likely financial costs involved, the probability of a driving ban or even prison, the damage to my nice car and the sheer hassle arent reason enough ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I think it's a good warning that the driver may not be watching the road all the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Bruce7

I think it's a courtesy to other road users. A bit like a learner sign, it warns them to give that car a wide berth, as they might drive erratically because they're simultaneously beating their children, getting puked on, putting up with ear-splitting screams, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Another moany cúnt thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

A mate of mine was a lorrytruck driver. He was driving the truck one day and there was a car with a baby on board sign in front of him. For whatever reason the car suddenly slammed on the breaks. Because of the sign he swerved the truck rather than stand on the brakes as he figured if he went into the back of the car the baby was a goner. He swerved the truck into the field next to the road, went through the windscreen, broke 3 bones in his back, and was in a chest-cast for 3 months.

On the one hand it may have saved a life, on the other hand(if the baby was not in the car, and they forgot to take down the sign) it may have ruined a life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I hate them, and their variations of them. 'princess on board' ... 'little united supporter on board' .. 'yummy mummy's taxi' with an absolute munter driving the fucking thing. Why people feel the need to advertise the fact that they've reproduced is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

That's what I thought they were for too, not sure they work that well though.

syklops wrote: »
    A mate of mine was a lorrytruck driver. He was driving the truck one day and there was a car with a baby on board sign in front of him. For whatever reason the car suddenly slammed on the breaks. Because of the sign he swerved the truck rather than stand on the brakes as he figured if he went into the back of the car the baby was a goner. He swerved the truck into the field next to the road, went through the windscreen, broke 3 bones in his back, and was in a chest-cast for 3 months.

On the one hand it may have saved a life, on the other hand(if the baby was not in the car, and they forgot to take down the sign) it may have ruined a life.
    Your mate was at fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

Its to remind you to drive carefully. If you dont like it..... tough ****.

Honestly, some people are not happy at all unless they are moaning about some stupid bull****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Yea, I'd say looking for a "baby on board" sign in the mangled mess of a crash is high on the list of priorities of the emergency services. Why bother checking the back seat for a baby when you've got a helpful little sign to save you the unneccesary head movement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭meg3178

The signs on the car are nothing, you should take a look at what some people have copied from the States....wearing the sign on their person :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

A little jealous of your American cousin? Hmm? And his success with the b-sharps? Yes, I think so.

Your mate was at fault.

Nice way to troll.

I did see a parody "Bastard on board" sticker onetime.

Even funnier was the fact that it was on a motorbike.
    I think it's a good warning that the driver may not be watching the road all the time.

If thats the case surely it would be better to have it on the front window ?

Nice way to troll.
    Not trolling, just stating facts.

Travelers don't pay motor tax

Well seeing as how people who DONT travel dont need to pay it looks like nobody pays road tax ?

Does not compute :confused:

Not trolling, just stating facts.

Because you were at the site of the crash.

Because he was so close behind the car that he would have smashed into it if he didn't swerve. He was obviously driving too close.

Im not going to go into the facts., but he was not in the wrong. I was trying to give an anecdote about baby on board signs and you want to have an argument. Its friday evening. Go for a few pints instead. Thats what I plan to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭omen80

I have to agree with the OP, those signs are kind of annoying. It's not like I'm going to drive like a maniac behind a car just because they don't have a sign up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I don't give a fúck about the signs but one ain't gonna make me drive any differently. It's not i drive unsafe and then see the sign and tell meself to cop on and drive properly. I drive like i don't wanna crash my car all the time.

And if the sign is to warn others that they may not have their eyes on the road all the time then they shouldn't be behind the wheel with the child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Your mate was at fault.
    Nice way to troll.

Actually, I don't think MM is.

My thinking on it is, you should be a safe stopping distance from any vehicle - regardless of whether it has one of those things on the rear window or not.

Im not going to go into the facts., but he was not in the wrong. I was trying to give an anecdote about baby on board signs and you want to have an argument. Its friday evening. Go for a few pints instead. Thats what I plan to do.
    How was he not wrong? He was driving too close and had to swerve, no other facts necessary. He has no one to blame but himself. Your anecdote was an insinuation that this ''baby on board'' sign was somehow the cause of your mates injuries, which is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Barney forever! Wigum Never!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

WTF... maybe he should have considered backing off a little instead of sitting behind the car reading the sign in the back window? If he managed to swerve and travel all the way into a field, all whilst probably braking, then I am sure he probably would have killed everyone else in the car too and maybe himself too.

Moral of the story - keep his distance; baby sign or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Going a little OT right now but you should always leave enough breaking room between your vehicle and the vehicle in front. This applies to cars, busses, trucks, bikes and whatever else that you might be driving on the road.

Anything less is tailgating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Abi wrote: »
    I hate them, and their variations of them. 'princess on board' ... 'little united supporter on board' .. 'yummy mummy's taxi' with an absolute munter driving the fucking thing. Why people feel the need to advertise the fact that they've reproduced is beyond me.
    Parents think their kids are special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Travelers don't pay motor tax

A Padre Pio sticker is their tax disk

Really. I must tell my gf and her family that theyve been paying tax all these years when they dont have to! thanks for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Barney forever! Wigum Never!

Them girls you paid to scream are doing a really good job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I have a dislike for these signs especially when the car it is stuck on is being driven by a lunatic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Tbh I dont see one of them signs and think.. oh i better not crash into that car. If i see any car i think, oh i better not crash into that car. Who the fúck would try to crash into any car whether there is a baby on board or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

The worst is when you see the ones that say Princess on board! And its a 20 something bimbo with fluffy stearing wheel cover and blinged out dice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭HoneyRyder

This old chestnut again. People can actually dislike something without being begrudging you know. In this case I think it's less to do with being begrudging and more to do with disliking people being ridiculously precious about their little darlings.