Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

1565758596062»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

I wouldn't say that shows a lack of respect. They merely didn't take on board the recommendations, as they didn't fit in with their policies.

Just because a complaint is made, doesn't always mean that it is a valid complaint, or it doesn't mean that action has to be taken.

So whats the point in a Garda ombudsman?? - we might as well go back to Gards investigating Gards. We know from various Tribunals were that led yet over the years!!!!!!!!!!

almighty1 wrote: »
    Curtail v respect = two different things. If I was protesting and generally trying to be a nuisance (like now :D) then I wouldnt expect or deserve respect.

Actually the moustache thing reminds me of this dialog in Intermission (edited to suit situation).

Protestor1: Have I got a ronnie?
    Garda1: A what?
    Protestor1: A ronnie, moustache, like?
    Garda1: Show.
    I]pause[/I
    Garda1: Well you're no Tom Selleck, but...

Your so funny - any good rape jokes?? - they seem to be all the rage with a certain type of poster on this thread:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Birdnuts wrote: »
    ....any good rape jokes??

Does such a thing exist? That's pretty sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

So whats the point in a Garda ombudsman??

I do see where you're coming from here. What's the point in investigating someting if they only recommend what to do, and the Gardaí can still just refuse to do it?

I'm not familiar enough with how it works, maybe there are different degrees of complaint. Have read a few more small articles on that case you linked to, and not sure on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Because the recording was never properly investigated as the link I posted clearly shows - a recurring theme in this part of Mayo by all accounts, hence the flood of complaints to the ombudsman:(

For a very simple reason. It seems to be Monaghan's own fault for not lodging a timely complaint tbh.

almighty1 wrote: »
    Does such a thing exist? That's pretty sick.

Its not apparently if your a Garda - anyway I'm abandoning this farce to all the Gardai comedians on here. Cheerio!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Their has been ongoing concerns about the type of policing in this part of Mayo - this is yet another scandal to hit the Gardai in recent years and such things are of course newsworthy despite what some on this thread would have us beleive:(

A Garda tells a bad joke in private and it's a national scandal, we let our country go bankrupt and we take it up the ass in taxes and cuts and there's little outrage, most of the original shell to sea people were decent locals with genuine concerns, then along came the crusties with their anti everything agenda, they created alot of the tension and many then F off back to the UK when the crap hits the fan leaving the local going to court. Then you have eirigi who are anti state and even sinn féin disown. Wake up Ireland an get a grip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Did I miss something?? Is there a prize for most posts on this thread, some people posting absolute crap for the sake of it

They deserve to be disciplined not hung, drawn and quartered. It was, what was supposed to be, a private joke. They never intended to rape anyone as some here STILL think! An apolagy as a good will gesture would be nice also IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Having looked a bit more. it seems the Ombudsman always just recommends what action should be taken and the Gardaí always implement it.

Except in that case that Birdy linked to, and maybe others?

Bit of a silly system if they can just refuse the recommendation!

Bosco boy wrote: »
    A Garda tells a bad joke in private and it's a national scandal, we let our country go bankrupt and we take it up the ass in taxes and cuts and there's little outrage,!

At least the people in this part of Mayo put up a fight!! - is it any wonder the Irish generally take it up the ass when their is so much bile and hostilty directed against anyone who threatens the golden circles, crony capitalists and the estaiblisment in general who have banjaxed this country. Much of the dirge in this thread illustrates just why Ireland is now a social and economic basket case:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Its not apparently if your a Garda - anyway I'm abandoning this farce to all the Gardai comedians on here. Cheerio!!

I love it when somebody accepts defeat!!! ;)

Think about our arguments and how you are so wrong!! :rolleyes:

Don't take too long now!! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Your so funny - any good rape jokes?? - they seem to be all the rage with a certain type of poster on this thread:rolleyes:

I do actually.

Why did the chicken cross the road?
    Because he was being chased by a guard who wanted to rape him.

Seriously though, even if you find it tasteless that doesn't mean someone shouldn't be able to tell it, especially in private. I'd much rather live in a society with freedom of speech than be offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭frozenbanana

They are well capable of using restraint to stop people breaking the law, in all honesty throwing people over the side of the road where there is a deep drop and giving them a kick on there way is brute force. God help you if you believe that any gardai would bother using such force on real criminals, your deluded, get real those guys know who to pick on theres not a hope they would do this to someone capable of real retaliation, too scared.

Really?

Mehttp://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-hero-injured-in-post-office-holdup-2614037.html

Anyway, it looks like S2S went too far, people got fed up with it and realised that from the very beginning it was a cynical publicity stunt.

'traumatised'? 'victim'? 'threatened'? please

S2S were so concerned about poor women who now might be afraid to report rape that they went to media and got as much coverage as possible. That makes so much sense.

In all fairness, S2S has their agenda to push so fair enough, this is what they do, but media should be ashamed of themselves. Messing with people livelihoods for a sake of catchy headline.

Guards in question were aptly punished, end of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Sempai

At least the people in this part of Mayo put up a fight!! - is it any wonder the Irish generally take it up the ass when their is so much bile and hostilty directed against anyone who threatens the golden circles, crony capitalists and the estaiblisment in general who have banjaxed this country. Much of the dirge in this thread illustrates just why Ireland is now a social and economic basket case:(

People in Mayo are entitled to protest against Shell, but stopping decent people trying to go to work so they can earn a decent living and provide for families is another thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

The officer is entitled to his own opinions however in the unifrom he represents the law in this country. As someone who is a sexual assault survivor (thats all you need to know) I find it very disheartening to know that this kind of behaviour is going on.

Rape is not funny

It's not funny when a 13 year old playing COD on xbox live says it.

Its not funny when a gaurd says it.

End of story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

cat_rant wrote: »
    I find it very disheartening to know that this kind of behaviour is going on.
    Did you listen to the recording and the context?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

It amazes me how anti state many of these protestors/crusties are up untill the go and collect the social welfare, then they have no problem getting a state handout. Talk about hyprociates! Real people see them for what they are!

Sempai wrote: »
    People in Mayo are entitled to protest against Shell, but stopping decent people trying to go to work so they can earn a decent living and provide for families is another thing.

When built it will provide barely 30 full-time jobs. A refinery run by a company with a record like SHELL is unlikely to be compatible with the main industries in the area such as farming, toursim, fishing etc. Especcially in light of how toothless state agencies like the EPA appear to be:(

PS: Local people suggested alternative sites for the refinery which did not involve it being built next to the regions water-supply or necessitated a dodgy untreated high pressure raw gas pipe pipe running through an area prone to bog slides. So did Kevin Moore the chief inspector of ABP but he was ignored too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

seamus wrote: »
    Thankfully they can't be punished because they haven't done anything wrong. This was a private conversation between individuals. An employer cannot punish an employee for remarks made privately unless a party to that conversation makes a complaint.

In this case the Shell to sea women are not a party to the conversation because it was illegitimately recorded. Thankfully this fact makes it inadmissable as evidence, the Garda Ombudsman knows this, and they'll stick the individuals involved on paperwork for a couple of weeks until the morons find a new flavour of the week and then they can quietly send these Gardai out to do their job again.

The Gardai in question should sue the protestors involved for breach of privacy and harrassment. These women, upon learning that the conversation had been recorded, had a legal obligation to contact either the data protection commissioner or the Gardai to inform them of this breach of privacy and allow them to oversee the deletion of the recording.
    By publishing the conversation, they have involved themselves in a gross invasions of the officers' privacy and deserve to be punished.

The officers are entitled to say things in private, and they're definitely entitled to joke in private, whether they're in uniform or not. The day that we start censoring or punishing people over their legal and harmless private conversations is the day we should just resurrect Hitler and let him get on with it.

The only people here who have caused any outrage or injury are these shell to sea protestors and they should be outed as the malicious, tax wasting spongers that they are and destroyed in the media.

The Gardai have nothing to apologise for. They didn't say anything offensive to anyone.
    This thread has been going round in circles a while now and I think we should finish on this excellent observation.

Btw, use the main Shell thread in AH for discussion about Shell to Sea. This one was about the Gardai.