Darina Allens Hubby Pleads Guilty to Child Porn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by Meh
    There are plenty of mental illnesses which cannot be cured (autism for one). And others like alcoholism can be subdued, but never completely cured

Well, that shows how much you know about mental illness, autism is definitely not a mental illness. It's actually a developmental disorder which can be helped to a degree.

Alcoholism is an addiction. You can subdue the need for alcohol but it will always be there. With paedophiles you can subdue the sexual addiction and/or addiction to viewing paedophilia related material, but (other than pump them full of so much medication they have the mental capacity of a vegetable) you'll never remove their sexual desire for children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭s10

The only objective of prison is to keep them off the streets , no more .
    as a warning 3 strikes your in for life . We will not be hearing from him again he'll be on the sofa for a few years ,
    not like those kids who will repeat joy riding for the next ten years till they grow out of it
    I agree with sand (sorry sand)
    paedophiles homosexual heterosexual not forgetting farmyard & canabals what makes us do it ? us men eh?
    dominating premeditated evil
    over half of us are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Jesus.

I know this is an emotive issue, but I'm utterly shocked by the sheer ignorance of some people posting here - which in a lot of cases appears to be the unforgivable ignorance of people with access to all of the facts, but whose judgement of said facts is blinded by their adherence to everything they read in the tabloids and hang'em'high attitudes.

First, let me make this clear; the sexual abuse of children is a truly horrific thing (as is any other kind of abuse of children) and there can be no condoning it. Any right thinking person condemns it in the strongest possible terms. We're all agreed on that, I think.

However, once you start talking about perpetrators and the treatment of perpetrators, you're into a much trickier realm, and that's something which most of the furious types on this thread seem to have missed. For a start, there's a huge difference between each individual case; for another thing, you're still dealing with human beings here. Yes, sometimes they are human beings who have done terrible things, but these are still someone's son, someone's brother... I've not seen a single response yet to the question I posed, "What would you do if in 15 years time your child was caught looking at child porn?", perhaps because it's a question no parent wants to face. Well, tough; if you're going to scream condemnation of someone elses child until you're blue in the face, I want to know what you'd be doing on the flip side of the coin. You have to be prepared to face that question, and it seems that nobody here is.

What shocks me most is the people saying they're "sick" of hearing paedophilia classed as a mental illness or condition. Well, jesus, sorry, but your indignation and disgusting ignorance doesn't change the facts, and it sure as hell shouldn't change the legal system either.

Paedophiles do not CHOOSE to become attracted to children. They don't wake up one morning, cackle evilly and decide to spend the rest of their lives with a perverse sexual desire for pre-pubescents. I am sure that given the option, any paedophile would far prefer a normal life as a heterosexual or homosexual person; that isn't a choice which has been offered to them.

So for a start, let's bear in mind that "paedophile" simply means someone who is attracted to children. That could be someone who has an attraction to kids but has suppressed it all their lives; it could be someone who has surreptitiously looked at pornographic images of children to sate their desires but never even considered actually abusing a child; it could be someone who has abused kids for years on end; it could be a child-killer.

There's a bit of a difference isn't there?

And you can be assured that there are a hell of a lot more paedophiles living quiet, unassuming lives without harming anyone while battling their own internal demons than there are going out and abusing children. You know what else? I have a huge amount of respect for those people - even, to a certain degree, those who lapse and view pornography. They are repressing their most basic sexual desires because they know them to be wrong and unacceptable to society - that takes a level of willpower which I'm not sure many of the posters here could muster. I don't think I could.

I'm not convinced that paedophiles can be "cured", any more than homosexuals can be "cured". I'm sure that professional psychological help can be offered in repressing and controlling their desires, but I don't think they'll ever be free of the desires themselves. That's a bit tragic in itself, I guess.

So, what of the criminal aspects of this? Well, obviously anyone who abuses a child is guilty of an extraordinarily serious crime, and nobody is going to argue with that. It's a serious and unforgivable assault against an victim incapable of defending him/herself. Society needs to be protected against these people, and incarceration followed by very close monitoring is the only way to do so.

But viewing child pornography is a different matter. Yes, I accept that there's a strong argument to be made about them indirectly abetting the abuse of children through their consumption of this material. However, there's an even stronger case to be made for saying that buying a pair of Nike runners abetts the abuse of children. Much of our consumer society is based on the abuse of people elsewhere, and we generally step back and say "the consumers are not at fault, go after the producers". It's harder to do that with an emotive issue like child porn, but next time you step into your pair of runners, ask yourself if you're really any better, on a pure moral level.

That being said, viewing child pornography is a crime and should remain so; but the seriousness of it is in question. It's a useful indicator - it tells the police and social services which people are paedophiles, and of course some consumers of child porn will also be child abusers, so investigating them carefully is a vital part of the criminal process. However - and this is answering a question posed to me in a long-winded way earlier in the thread - I believe that the answer isn't to "punish" these people, but rather to "help" them (and to protect those around them, just in case) by forcing them to take psychological treatment courses to assist them in dealing with their desires and by monitoring their activities very closely so that at the first sign of an abusive situation arising, they can be pulled in. I don't believe in naming them publicly; I think that the sort of mob violence witnessed in the UK, and the outpouring of hate we're seeing on this very thread, is argument in itself for not doing so.

That's my viewpoint. I await the legions of the screaming moral moronity!

(Oh, by the way, can we please stop posting uneducated crap about ancient Greece? The Greeks had institutionalised homosexuality (they believed that thes strength of a relationship between men could not be matched by that between women and men), but they didn't have institutionalised paedophila. The "boys" you're referring to were all post-pubescent; the Greeks practically worshipped the physical form of young men, not of children. Of course by modern standards I'm sure there'd be some tutting regardless, since post-pubescent can cover anything from about 13 upwards depending on the development of the person in question; but that's simply a different moral standard over ages of consent, not a justification of paedophilia. Indeed, many highly civilised countries right now have ages of consent set at 13 or 14. Paedophilia is a term misused in cases of "statutory rape" at those ages, because by definition it means attraction to children, and by definition someone past puberty is no longer physically a child.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Actually a paedophile is technically a "Child friendly" person or can be construed as a "friend of children" from its Greek roots.

/off topic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

that's not OT gordon, that's just geeky :P

great post shinji, don't have anything else to ad as my view of things isn't quite as clear as yours. but I agree with alot (if not all) of the points you made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭s10

pity they could not be tried as adults , ops wrong tread

Shinji I agree with what you're saying in theory, those who 'merely' look at websites shouldn't be treated in the same way as serial child rapists... but look at it this way:
    Those who are paying their €32 per month to look at child porn and I believe there were....over 75 THOUSAND subscribers to the "Landslide" site that Tim Allen subscribed to...they're not looking at a few pictures on a site that never gets updated....the more subscribers, the more new material and that means MORE CHILD ABUSE to be photographed and filmed.

So in a way, paedophiles who's only outlet is looking at websites like these, are pretty much as bad as someone who goes out and raped a child, because they're supporting it and they're creating more demand for it.

The husband and wife who originally started the site (and, incidentally have a 10 year old daughter) are in jail, and I don't think either of them physically abused children, he's in jail for 1,335 years and she's in for 14 years and they deserve every second they rot in jail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

1335 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by pro_gnostic_8
    I'm aware that some of you differentiate between the "passive" and the "active " paedophile but I cannot subscribe to this viewpoint. I am convinced that most child-sex addictees have to continually amp up the obscenity level in the continuing pursuit of the cheap thrill. They either progress to becoming a "contact-offender" themselves, or, in the furtherance of the bigger-bang-for-your-buck mentality, they arrive in the ranks of the snuff movie devotees.

This is just bull. By the same measure all people who look at adult porn become abusers of adult women/men. We know that's not true. Everyone who looks at adult porn does not "amp-up in the continuing pursuit of the cheap thrill". As for snuff movies, as someone pointed out, they're widely speculated to be extremely rare, if they even exist at all. I personally don't beleive they do. Having seen - in a professional capacity - pretty much every kind of other pornography including things you couldn't imagine, I have never come across this nor have any of the people I dealt with on a professional basis world wide. I think you've let yourself get caught up in the hysteria and aren't looking at the facts here.

As for the other stuff, I'm with Shinji.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by Mordeth
    1335 years?
    They should have given him 2 more

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    This is just bull. By the same measure all people who look at adult porn become abusers of adult women/men. We know that's not true.

Exactly. I'd say 80% of young guys who have access to the internet have seen some sick photos, bestiality being the number one thing for guys to look at in the labs when I was in college, but does that mean most of them have gone out and had sex with their pets? No.

Does everyone who looks at bondage on the net want to become a sadist/masochist? No.

The husband and wife who originally started the site (and, incidentally have a 10 year old daughter) are in jail, and I don't think either of them physically abused children, he's in jail for 1,335 years and she's in for 14 years and they deserve every second they rot in jail.

Right, and that I'm all for. You're targetting the suppliers and the people who actually commit abuse, this is how the law works for just about everything else and I fail to see why there should be a major difference made just because it's an emotive issue.

Again I go back to the Nike runners issue; you pay what, €100 a pair for those? Hundreds of thousands of people buy them despite the fact that the company making them is guilty of abuses of the rights of children in their manufacture. Who should be punished for this; the people buying the shoes, or the people making them? I realise it's not a perfect comparison but it's an illustration of how our society treats issues like this in other cases.

Your point about indirect abuse is valid on certain logical grounds but it's just not how our legal and moral codes work. The fact of the matter is that these people are not directly, personally harming others, so the severity of their crime is relatively low; that's how our society's moral and legal system WORKS and trying to change that because some people are getting upset and whipped into a frenzy by the media is ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭Sand

It dont work like that though. It is a form of sexuality.

Thats my point - It cant be cured, no more than some whacko attempts to "cure" homosexuality. Its simply a sexual preference, and whilst it can theoretically be repressed it cannot be eliminated. Paedophiles thus pose a varying though constant threat to children, directly and indirectly. Whether abusing children or paying for the abuse of children to satisfy their cravings. Hang em, flog em might be a *bit* strong, Shinji is correct in that they are born that way rather than choosing it, but no intelligent parent in their wildest dreams would leave their children anywhere near a paedophile, repressed urges through or not - whatever nasty names Shinji might call them. IMO such paedophiles should simply be removed from society for the protection of children and indeed the paedophiles own protection.
    Right, and that I'm all for. You're targetting the suppliers and the people who actually commit abuse, this is how the law works for just about everything else and I fail to see why there should be a major difference made just because it's an emotive issue.

Unfortunately paedophilia isnt like drugs - Cut off child porn to a paedophile and hes probably just more likely to actually abuse a child himself to satisfy him or herself. A junkie on the other hand cant abuse drugs without any supply of drugs. Hitting the supply here makes sense, it doesnt make much sense in the case of paedophiles though. You must hit demand as well, due to their funding of such child abuse.
    "What would you do if in 15 years time your child was caught looking at child porn?",

Call the cops and disown them?
    However, there's an even stronger case to be made for saying that buying a pair of Nike runners abetts the abuse of children.

Most likely because when buying them people can think to themselves that they dont know these runners were made using child labour - they dont *know* it. Paedophiles dont have that exscuse - child porn by its very nature requires the sexual abuse of children. Start sticking "these runners were made by 5 years olds working 16 hour shifts" on Nike products and youd probably see 0 demand for them - the same couldnt be said of paedophiles and their porn.
    That's my viewpoint. I await the legions of the screaming moral moronity!

Much as they await witty putdowns such as the above when they dare to disagree with your viewpoint?:)

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    What I really dont get is why they kill kids so often. Like those recent cases in the UK. Boggles the mind tbh.

Why do adults get killed in adult sex crimes? Different topic you're straying into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by Sand
    no intelligent parent in their wildest dreams would leave their children anywhere near a paedophile, repressed urges through or not - whatever nasty names Shinji might call them. IMO such paedophiles should simply be removed from society for the protection of children and indeed the paedophiles own protection.
    While it does make sense to remove the possibility of a peadophile being tempted by your kids, it's not fair to say that if you leave your kids with a peadophile he will abuse them, especially if he/she's never done such before - ie he/she represses the feelings. But, yes it would make sense, in much the same way as you wouldn't leave a kleptomaniac looking after your house.
    How do you 'remove' someone from society? Is it fair to exclude them because of a uncontrollable predisposition? Obviously not. And where do we put them? Lock them up 'for their own protection' even though they've done nothing wrong? No, that's an awful solution.
    Unfortunately paedophilia isnt like drugs - Cut off child porn to a paedophile and hes probably just more likely to actually abuse a child himself to satisfy him or herself. A junkie on the other hand cant abuse drugs without any supply of drugs. Hitting the supply here makes sense, it doesnt make much sense in the case of paedophiles though. You must hit demand as well, due to their funding of such child abuse.
    I disagree. If you cut off a drug abuser from his supply of drugs, he's not going to go manufacturing his own drugs, except maybe in extreme cases. Exactly the same with 'porn-only' peadophiles - cut off the porn, and only a minority may go on and abuse kids for their kicks. Do all single men who find themselves without sex for long periods go and rape women? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

Originally posted by Talliesin
    This is not a matter of orientation (a theory that seems to have first been proposed by NaMBLA).

There is no more reason to believe it is innate than there is to believe that there were gasmask fetishists before gasmasks were invented.

NaMBLA..was that "a" intentional?

Devore was saying basically that these people should seek treatment because they found kids sexually attractive.
    My point is that treatment wont stop someone from experiencing this and the only way to really stop them is a clockwork orange style of therapy.

They used to say gays should have an island of their own, but tbh i endorse a secluded island for these people.

There is/was a VERY high profile paedophile who paraded the fact he was having sex with a 13 year old when WELL old enough to be her father....step up Mr Bill Wyman!

I'm too young to remember this when it happened, but was there any public outcry about this? What kind of parents would let their 13 year old CHILD shack up with an old rocker? He should have been charged with statutory rape IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

There may be outcry but I honestly doubt that if he were some unemployed dirty mac wearing four eyes from Finglas he would have been sent to jail either.People quote the case of the Dub who was jailed for a similiar offence.Wasnt he an ex teacher?He took a job which brought him into contact with children despite his tendencies and therefore in my book he is more dangerous and needs a harsher punishment.At least Allen was seeking psychological help.
    The truth is that 99% of these guys will avoid jail.The judge,teachers and gardai will most probably be sentenced so as to make an example of them and because their jobs meant they were held in high respect among the community and so on but in general the majority will get off with fines.
    As for sexuality it is a fact that gay and bisexual men are more likely to molest children than exclusively heterosexual men are to molest girls according to studies done in the states(if you want to find them google it-I cant be arsed).While there are more girls abused the rate per percentage shows that there are disproportionate numbers of boys molested compared to the amount of gay/bi men in society.Im sorry but even most psychologists agree that sexuality has everything to do with it.How come so few girls were abused by priests compared to boys?If it were a case of priests liking children regardless of gender than the numbers would have been equal,but a recent US study found something like 2% of priests had abused children,80% of which were boys.Therefore it can be assumed that 1.6% of priests who were gay molested boys,and considering that under 5% of males are gay it makes a mighty good case for the church refusal to admit openly gay men if perhaps 25% of gay priests molested boys.

As for the 1335 year jail sentence the USA has a habit of locking people up for impossible to finish jail sentences.You will hear of people of middle age being sentenced to life in prison but with a parole hearing in 70 years,meaning that many would be in their early hundreds before getting a parole hearing.

Who knows,perhaps some of them think it is a sentence they can finish,and the judges use it as a way to make them behave in prison
    "If you want to get out by 3338 you better not go attacking the prison guards,otherwise you wont see the light of day until 3342!"

But as a final note there are child abusers who have commited acts alot worse than Allen who have gotten even lighter sentences for pleading guilty early,admitting the crimes immeadiately etc.For some reason these cases get little or no attention.The legal system in this country is fcuked up but seeing as every other public service is where do we begin to start repairing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Greenbean

"Unfortunately paedophilia isnt like drugs - Cut off child porn to a paedophile and hes probably just more likely to actually abuse a child himself to satisfy him or herself. A junkie on the other hand cant abuse drugs without any supply of drugs. Hitting the supply here makes sense, it doesnt make much sense in the case of paedophiles though. You must hit demand as well, due to their funding of such child abuse."

Sand is this factual or your opinion?

Mercury, my gut instinct/opinion would be that the death rate for child sex crimes probably equals or is less than that of adult sex crimes.. definitely facts needed before that topic is even brought up. Theres every possibility that its a perception thing.. in the same way that theres a perception that children are currently more at risk today from sex crimes than they were 50 years ago. Especially now that no-one gets immediate trust due to their position in society e.g. priests, teachers, child-minders.. in fact they most likely get "minus" trust.

"Im also worried that Ireland is becoming like Britain where the situation has become so bad that parents WILL not let ever let their children out of their sight."

Hellrazer, I'm worried about that too. Millions of childrens' youth will be limited in experience and fun due to hysteria about the perceived state of the world. Its been stated again and again that the world is much safer place than it used to be in times of old. A drunk driver is of more danger to your children than a paedophile, but because of the nature of the act, paedophilia will end up causing more worry.

"And I believe that there will always be abusers but when the people view the material they may be inclined to carry out the abuse themselves---this is the reason that I stated that each is as bad as the other.The abuser is encouraging more abuse by distributing the material."

Ok, when people view the material, they don't directly harm the child, but indirectly they do. Agreed. There is still a big difference, which is quiet simply, the child abuser is abusing the child and the person viewing the child pornography isn't. That is as clear as day in my opinion. I not prepared to accept that because there is a link, that all people are equally evil.

For example, when a friend or relative has had 4 drinks and wants to drive home, and you refuse the lift, but let them drive.. you are still morally guilty for not making a scene in the pub and stopping them. But by your logic you would be as evil as they are for drink driving. Yes, you know you should have, but as you as evil?

That people might be more inclined to committ child abuse by viewing child pornography is a very very tenative reason to insist that person should be removed from society. Ok, lets say that its discovered in years time that a strong connection is found between child abuse and people who work with children for a living (people might already suggest there is such a link, but for the meantime this is only hypothetical), and this connection was relatively strong, lets say .5% of all people "became" effected. Now lets say that a massive 20% of all people who view child pornography become abusers. Ok, one is 1/200 and another is 1/5. For the first we wouldn't dare suggest that anyone who works with children should be removed from society, for the second alot of people would say we should. What would be the percentage at which its ok for people to not be locked up?

The fact is we never can figure this one out, and we can only justifiably lock people who abuse children up for life, not those who possibly may. Of course we punish people who view child pornography for doing something very wrong, and we don't punish people who work with children, but we don't punish people who view child pornography simply because they might become paedophiles, its because of the immorality of what they are doing and how it can possibly encourage more child abuse to occurr. Big difference. You can't punish someone for child abuse when they haven't done it, you can only punish them for what they have done.

Now for those who are angry and/or stupid enough to think it, arguing that viewing child pornography and child abuse are not the same does not make me any less of a moral person than them. Its practically a crime in itself to draw such black and white lines, and its such thinking that has caused so much wrong in the world. Its the same sort of thinking that has equated gayness to paedophillia for years, with blacks to "animals", with america to "stupidity", with muslims to terrorists, with innocent people to guilty and so on.

This is what causes everyone to react so explosively when this topic comes up. One person feels vilified in their hate of anything to do with such a henious crime, and another feels entirely satisfied in their hate of people who are culpable of such black and white thinking.

The topic of whether jail is good for anything other than satisfying public anger deserves a totally new topic Devore :)

There are so many facets to this ugly scenario that can be discussed, but they shouldn't be discussed for academic reasons, but more to maybe tell us more about ourselves and what we are doing wrong. I get the urge to beat the living ****e out of anyone who would abuse children, the same as anyone else.. I'd probably be first in the queue if I didn't ask "what if" and I think thats what seperates me from "****ing animals".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

Originally posted by The Gopher
    While there are more girls abused the rate per percentage shows that there are disproportionate numbers of boys molested compared to the amount of gay/bi men in society.
    Many (most?) pædophiles don't care whether their victims are boys or girls. They are attracted to children in general, not male or female children in particular.Therefore, to talk of "gay" or "straight" pædophiles is meaningless.
    How come so few girls were abused by priests compared to boys?If it were a case of priests liking children regardless of gender than the numbers would have been equal,but a recent US study found something like 2% of priests had abused children,80% of which were boys.Therefore it can be assumed that 1.6% of priests who were gay molested boys,and considering that under 5% of males are gay it makes a mighty good case for the church refusal to admit openly gay men if perhaps 25% of gay priests molested boys.
    Priests have much easier access to boys than to girls. Catholic girls schools are run by nuns rather than priests and girls couldn't serve at the altar until recently. Therefore, it is much easier for a pædophile priest to abuse boys without raising suspicion. So for this reason, a priest who is equally inclined to abuse boys and girls will probably abuse boys alone.

As for sexuality it is a fact that gay and bisexual men are more likely to molest children than exclusively heterosexual men are to molest girls according to studies done in the states(if you want to find them google it-I cant be arsed).While there are more girls abused the rate per percentage shows that there are disproportionate numbers of boys molested compared to the amount of gay/bi men in society.Im sorry but even most psychologists agree that sexuality has everything to do with it.How come so few girls were abused by priests compared to boys?If it were a case of priests liking children regardless of gender than the numbers would have been equal,but a recent US study found something like 2% of priests had abused children,80% of which were boys.Therefore it can be assumed that 1.6% of priests who were gay molested boys,and considering that under 5% of males are gay it makes a mighty good case for the church refusal to admit openly gay men if perhaps 25% of gay priests molested boys.

Jesus, what a load of horse-manure. Gopher - just because it's posted on the internet doesn't mean it's accurate. :rolleyes:

Please show us some sources to back what your saying up because most of it is pure speculation and creation. What study in the US and who by? Anyone can make up figures and call it a "study".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Actually the overwhelming agreement is that they are abused by close family or friends. Theres been no connection drawn between homosexuality and paedophilia.

Sources:
    Traditionally, studies have indicated that almost all sexual abusers have been men (Leventhal 1990). However a consistent profile of child sex abusers has not emerged (Oates 1990). To date work with perpetrators and research studies have failed to typify offenders by class, profession, wealth or family status (Willis 1993). Similarly, there has been no clear delineation between perpetrators and non-perpetrators in terms of race or religion (Wurtele and Miller-Perrin 1993); neither has a psychological profile of a typical offender been able to be constructed - perpetrators of child sex assault 'constitute a markedly heterogeneous group' (Wurtele and Miller-Perrin 1993:16).

See also: Russell D. the Secret Trauma, Basic Books, 1986

A most thorough discussion of this topic with supporting bibliography is here:

http://www.xanga.com/home.aspx?user=Quinnlove

DeV.

no intelligent parent in their wildest dreams would leave their children anywhere near a paedophile, repressed urges through or not - whatever nasty names Shinji might call them.

Er, steady on. There's a difference between a parent taking perfectly reasonable steps to safeguard their children, and a parent standing on the steps of a courthouse screaming obscenities at a defendant with a banner proclaiming "Rot in Hell" and a five year old kid on their shoulders.

My earlier outburst - which I absolutely stand by - was because frankly certain people on this thread are a hell of a lot closer to the latter extreme than they are to the whole "reasonable steps" concept; and I believe that the culture of hatred and mob violence espoused by those people is more damaging both to society in general and to children (their OWN children) specificially than the vast majority of paedophile activities have ever been. Paedophiles are a very small group of mentally ill individuals; those who chant their hatred against them, however, are allegedly upstanding members of society, and their disgusting behaviour is far more representative of a rotten core at the heart of our society than paedophilia could possibly be.

IMO such paedophiles should simply be removed from society for the protection of children and indeed the paedophiles own protection.

Want to explain to me how you're going to accomplish this without stamping all over the basic human rights of these people? I mean, in a lot of cases - probably the majority - you're talking about people who haven't committed any crime.

Unfortunately paedophilia isnt like drugs - Cut off child porn to a paedophile and hes probably just more likely to actually abuse a child himself to satisfy him or herself.

Please, show me the proof of this. It sounds like utter rubbish to me, and you sir are no criminal psychologist.

(If you prevent a normal heterosexual or homosexual male from looking at porn, does this make them much more likely to go out and rape someone?)
    As for sexuality it is a fact that gay and bisexual men are more likely to molest children

Oh my god. This isn't the first time you've spouted this rubbish, I'm sure it won't be the last, and I'd ask you to go to the top of the "ignorant and stupid" class if you weren't already sitting right up in front of teacher.

Gay and bisexual men are NOT more likely to molest children, because gay and bisexual men by definition do NOT molest children - paedophiles do.

The crap you're spouting is some of the most uninformed and potentially damaging crap I have ever seen on this forum. Meh has already explained the reasons for the statistics you have quoted perfectly acceptably, and you know what? I think you owe the GLB community here on boards a rather humble apology for raising this insulting and downright dangerous bullshit again. I have no doubt that it won't be forthcoming, though.

Oh yeah... a little OT, but....
    There is/was a VERY high profile paedophile who paraded the fact he was having sex with a 13 year old when WELL old enough to be her father....step up Mr Bill Wyman!

Bill Wyman is only a paedophile by our very unusual (and technically wrong) legal definition of it. His crime was statutory rape, and there's no doubt that he was a bit of a scumbag throughout this affair.... But he was not a paedophile. The girl was post-pubescent and very distinctly not a child in the biological sense, and hence would not have been attractive to a paedophile. To an old bloke with an eye for younger ladies... well, whether you agree with THAT or not is a seperate issue.

I have to say Gopher, for your stance and points of view... thats a remarkably funny avatar ... <g>

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Originally posted by DeVore
    I have to say Gopher, for your stance and points of view... thats a remarkably funny avatar ... <g>

I........am not a butt:)
    Anyway here be your link

http://news.christiansunite.com/religion/religion02515.shtml

"Reisman noted, first, that 17-24 percent of boys are abused by age 18, nearly as many as the 25 percent of girls. Then, she noted, since heterosexuals outnumber the homosexual population about 44 to 1, as a group the incidence of homosexuals molesting children is up to 40 times greater than heterosexuals. "

Reisman sounds to be a Jewish name so you can hardly go blaming the christian right just because this professor is from Kentucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Reisman noted, first, that 17-24 percent of boys are abused by age 18, nearly as many as the 25 percent of girls. Then, she noted, since heterosexuals outnumber the homosexual population about 44 to 1, as a group the incidence of homosexuals molesting children is up to 40 times greater than heterosexuals.
    Well that is total frickin bollox. She is making assumptions and calling it research, hah thats a laugh! She seems to equate boys being molested to molesting by men. The people that I know who have told me about thier abuse as a child were actually molested by a woman - their mothers.

Christians unite! heh

Right, I'll ask my contact in the Paedo unit in Harcourt Street what his views are, I mean, we're all just armchair psychologists so might be a good idea to ask someone in the field.

A bit of hard evidence wouldnt go astray...
    BTW Gopher, thats a realllly poor source and what they say makes no maths sense at all...

DeV.

Anyway here be your link

http://news.christiansunite.com/religion/religion02515.shtml

"Reisman noted, first, that 17-24 percent of boys are abused by age 18, nearly as many as the 25 percent of girls. Then, she noted, since heterosexuals outnumber the homosexual population about 44 to 1, as a group the incidence of homosexuals molesting children is up to 40 times greater than heterosexuals. "

Reisman sounds to be a Jewish name so you can hardly go blaming the christian right just because this professor is from Kentucky.

First off, the domain alone hardly suggests an independent and authoritive source.

The fact that the author "a Jewish name" means nothing. You know nothing about her, he religious background or beliefs. You're assuming that she's giving a balanced and fair opinion on the basis that she might be Jewish because of her name :rolleyes:

It shows that your grasping at straws to back up a flawed point. What you've posted is just insulting crap which demonstrates how uninformed you are.