Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭04KY

Birdnuts wrote: »
    PS: I didn't say Shell sank the boat, I posted a link highlighting serious shortcomings in the investigation and I'll be reporting that post since its not the first time you've misquoted me!!

Fair enough, maybe I picked you up wrong, I apologize if that is the case. Here is your quote.
    SHELL have been caught red-handed illegally damaging SAC's in the area a number of times - who went to jail for that?? or the the deliberate sinking of a protesting fishermans boat by masked men. - not to mention a whole host of other incidents were numerious protestors from kids to old men ended up in hospital. A number of who now have long term health problems related to their injuries.

There is also deafening silence from the state about the type of people employed by SHELLS IRMS security after what was revealed via the Michael Dwyer affair.

It would appear from that though that you associate the sinking with Shell, but then I could be picking you up wrong.

Point still stands that the investigation found no third party involvement in the sinking.

And please, point out where I have misquoted you elsewhere so I can be corrected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

04KY wrote: »
    Fair enough, maybe I picked you up wrong, I apologize if that is the case. Here is your quote.

It would appear from that though that you associate the sinking with Shell, but then I could be picking you up wrong.

Point still stands that the investigation found no third party involvement in the sinking.

And please, point out where I have misquoted you elsewhere so I can be corrected.

Ah yes selectivley quoting to justify ones own shakey position

here the relevant post in full:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71571750&postcount=1483

also has the links I was referring too

I was pointing out the lack of justice for the other side in this dispute - no where did I say SHELL sunk the boat!!

This "SHELL have been caught red-handed illegally damaging SAC's in the area a number of times" was the only reference I made to SHELL and you didn't challenge me on that

Ah yes selectivley quoting to justify ones own shakey position

here the relevant post in full:http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=71571750&postcount=1483

also has the links I was referring too

Well actually I quoted the part where you just dimissed my whole post, where, before your edit, you had called it "BS", changed it to "self-serving guff".

And I do go on to mention the Michael Dwyer affair in my post. Also it has been edited to include a further post of yours.

And I honestly have no fear of being in a shaky position, thanks for the chuckle though!

I was pointing out the lack of justice for the other side in this dispute - no where did I say SHELL sunk the boat!!

You're right, and I apologize for that. You say that masked men deliberately sunk the boat. I'm pointing out time and time again that an investigation into this has concluded that they didn't. Remember, we are talking about you ignoring facts here.
    There have been many facts posted to disprove things you say, you have ignored them, sometimes repeatedly. I don't have to make that up, it's in the previous pages of this thread.

Its a scarey paralell universe you inhabit

This "SHELL have been caught red-handed illegally damaging SAC's in the area a number of times" was the only reference I made to SHELL and you didn't challenge me on that

Well while I won't challenge you on the fact, why would I when they did drill in the special area of conservation, I did challenge you as to if you view it as a punishable offence, you asked if anybody had gone to jail for it. It should be pointed out that when Shell were informed that there was a mistake with the positioning of the hole, drilling ceased.

zuroph wrote: »
    You have to laugh at replying to my post with yet more evidence that my post was correct.

Tell me Birdnuts, why should I stick to Magic and Illusion? On what authority are you moving me on? I made a valid point about your aggressive style of posting in this thread, which many people agreed with,, however you decided to prove my point instead of listening to the advice, thus alienating yourself further, and doing further damage to your cause.

I'm being reasonable here, and telling you why so many people are taking offence to you. Perhaps take some time away from thread and come back when you have calmed down a bit, and arent letting emotions and personal attacks get in the way of a good debate. Thats a suggestion, not an order, by the way.

So many people eh?? - your credability just sank there. Can U not just come out and say what you really mean instead?? though its pretty obvious for all to see.

PS: What authority do you have to give off topic lectures to the likes of me in this thread anyway - especcially in light of the amount of obvious blantent trolling from the usual suspects which you don't seem to be too bothered about in your above personlized rant:confused:

Well while I won't challenge you on the fact, why would I when they did drill in the special area of conservation, I did challenge you as to if you view it as a punishable offence, you asked if anybody had gone to jail for it. It should be pointed out that when Shell were informed that there was a mistake with the positioning of the hole, drilling ceased.

Yeah - SHELL makes mistake while most protestors are criminals, I get the picture, thanx:rolleyes:

As I've said before and sane people will agree, there is a difference in a mistake with GPS co-ordinates and drilling in the wrong postion and in assault, abuse, threathening behaviour, intimidation of workers and obstruction of workers.

So many people eh?? - your credability just sank there. Can U not just come out and say what you really mean instead?? though its pretty obvious for all to see.

PS: What authority do you have to give off topic lectures to the likes of me in this thread anyway - especcially in light of the amount of obvious blantent trolling from the usual suspects which you don't seem to be too bothered about in your above personlized rant:confused:

Am I one of these usual suspects?! I have about a hundred posts, hardly a regular yet?!

As I've said before and sane people will agree, there is a difference in a mistake with GPS co-ordinates and drilling in the wrong postion and in assault, abuse, threathening behaviour, intimidation of workers and obstruction of workers.

Sane people - oh the irony:D

I have about a hundred posts, hardly a regular yet?!

You are in this thread unfortunatly:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

please do come out and say what my bias is, because I assure you I have none.In my opinion, and agreed with by several others, your posts are the most infuriatingly juvenile on the thread. Thats not bias, thats fact.

what authority do you have to mock other posters for not agreeing with you?

All of your posting is offtopic. The topic is some gardaí made a comment and some girl complained. It doesnt matter a jot where shell drill, its got nothing to do with the topic. I pointed otu how far offtopic this thread was going several pages back, yet its still goes on.

I'm not lecturing you, im giving you helpful advice on how to improve your debating skills, as you obviously feel very passionately about the subject, however you are doing yourself a disservice by lowering the debate to condescending posts and mocking anyone who disagrees with you.

Sane people - oh the irony:D

Ok question, since you asked if anybody went to jail because Shell entered the SAC...

Who should go to jail for it?

Should it be the consultant working for another company who may have decided on the wrong location?
    Should it be the draughts man for the same company who may have put the location wrong in the drawing?
    Should it be an engineer working for the contractor hired by Shell to drill?
    Should it be the driller?
    Or should it be Shell top brass?

zuroph wrote: »
    please do come out and say what my bias is, because I assure you I have none.In my opinion, and agreed with by several others, your posts are the most infuriatingly juvenile on the thread. Thats not bias, thats fact.

what authority do you have to mock other posters for not agreeing with you?

All of your posting is offtopic. The topic is some gardaí made a comment and some girl complained. It doesnt matter a jot where shell drill, its got nothing to do with the topic.

I'm not lecturing you, im giving you helpful advice on how to improve your debating skills, as you obviously feel very passionately about the subject, however you are doing yourself a disservice by lowering the debate to condescending posts and mocking anyone who disagrees with you.

I only made reponses to the off-topic posts of others - a fact you've blatently ignored when you singled me out for some "special" treatment which is why I made my earlier points.

Anyway this thread has decended into farce so you'll be glad to know I probably won't bother with it again:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I only made reponses to the off-topic posts of others - a fact you've blatently ignored when you singled me out for some "special" treatment which is why I made my earlier points.
    I know you're not the only person gone offtopic. but your responses are what I have a problem with. I have no problem with you or your views, my problem is with the aggressive condescending manner in which you attempt to put them across.
    Anyway this thread has decended into farce so you'll be glad to know I probably won't bother with it again:)

Was just about to say the same thing. Good night.

Ok question, since you asked if anybody went to jail because Shell entered the SAC...

Who should go to jail for it?

Should it be the consultant working for another company who may have decided on the wrong location?
    Should it be the draughts man for the same company who may have put the location wrong in the drawing?
    Should it be an engineer working for the contractor hired by Shell to drill?
    Should it be the driller?
    Or should it be Shell top brass?

Your right!! - SHELL are great, can I sacrifice my first born for the cause KY??:pac:

Cool, I'm out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Gerone71

Now if you really think these lads were really going to rape the women, come on, what planet are you living on? Let us close the case and stop wasting everybody's time and thats what the protester's are great at themselves. Free the Castlebar 5.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 zirazira

Cool, I'm out too.
    nice for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

There was an excellent letter in the Irish Times about this today. But I think the below quote sums it up perfectly:

"As long as gardaí deal with victims, suspects, and criminals in a professional and non-prejudicial manner the content of their private comments or jokes between themselves is not ours to moderate. Should we insist that members of the police force refrain from making private jokes unless they’re approved by external investigation? Most of us would be profoundly unhappy if our private jokes and comments with work mates were recorded, particularly when we occasionally make jokes about clients, customers and situations that we would much prefer to keep private and in context."

At the end of the day, the gardaí in question never threatened to rape the woman. They joked about it, which was stupid, but they were in a private conversation. If they said it directly too her only then would the current uproar be appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I thought this was a pretty good article and parts of it summed up a lot of my feelings on the subject...........

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/martina-devlin/martina-devlin-tasteless-joke-has-cast-a-shadow-over-the-uniform-2612509.html

#for the record, I know absolutely nothing about the Shell situation and know even less about politics ( whether RTE is biased, or whether the Irish times/Irish independent etc are garda bashers etc as some posters were talking about much earlier in the thread........)

but i do know when something that could be said as a joke in one environment is said in the wrong environment and I believe that this was one such occassion

From todays Irish Independent....

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rape-tape-gardai-banned-from-dealings-with-public-2614030.html
    It is a matter of regret to me, but not surprise, that some people have used this regrettable and unfortunate incident to bolster a campaign of vilification against the gardai," he said.

"While not in any way minimising the nature of the incident or condoning it, it is in the public interest that I state that the vast majority of the gardai have behaved in an exemplary manner in policing these protests."

Meanwhile, one of the women arrested at the protest, Jerrie Ann Sullivan, yesterday told a press conference in Dublin that she wanted an international and independent inquiry.

It is clear that the media has hyped this story up as soon as it broke earlier in the week and it is also obvious that some protestors are using this hyped up story to their utmost gain but I do think it's daft that the arrested woman wants an "international and independent inquiry"!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Have you heard about this protest? This gets more ridiculous by the day.
    Sinn Féin activists and representatives will attend a protest tomorrow at 1pm outside Leinster House in opposition to remarks made by Gardaí in Mayo.

Sinn Féin TD for Dublin Central Mary Lou McDonald will attend the protest and will be available to speak to the media.

Speaking in advance of the protest Deputy McDonald said:

“I would call on all of those who were disgusted by the comments allegedly made by members of the Gardaí to come out tomorrow to show your opposition.

“The trivialisation of rape by anybody is completely unacceptable. That such remarks were allegedly made by members of the police service of this state is deeply concerning.

“The Gardaí are responsible for investigating crimes of a sexual nature. These comments have seriously damaged public confidence in the service, and the failure of the Garda Commissioner to condemn or apologise for these remarks is an affront to victims of sexual crime.

“This incident will also undermine the confidence that victims of sexual crime have in the Gardaí to treat complaints in a professional and sensitive manner.

“Sinn Féin has been saying for a long time that there is a serious need for an investigation into the conduct of Gardaí involved in the security operation in Rossport.”

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sinn Féin concerned about damaged confidence in the state police service.

Did someone say bandwagon and publicity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Gerone71 wrote: »
    Now if you really think these lads were really going to rape the women, come on, what planet are you living on? Let us close the case and stop wasting everybody's time and thats what the protester's are great at themselves. Free the Castlebar 5.[/QUOTE

I agree we should organise a protest about the treatment of the poor Garda maybe shell 2 sea could help so come on now let's hear it
    FREE THE CASTLEBAR 5 :)

From boring office work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Gerone71 wrote: »
    Now if you really think these lads were really going to rape the women, come on, what planet are you living on? Let us close the case and stop wasting everybody's time and thats what the protester's are great at themselves. Free the Castlebar 5.[/QUOTE

I agree we should organise a protest about the treatment of the poor Garda maybe shell 2 sea could help so come on now let's hear it
    FREE THE CASTLEBAR 5 :)

From boring office work

one can only hope the office work given to those guys is not too technical , shredding perhaps , yes they might be able to do that with the mandatory 2 day training from health and safety

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

Just wondering why PIGS is a nickname for most police forces ? Behaviour, attitude? (from the free dictionary) 5. Slang A member of the social or political establishment, especially one holding sexist or racist views

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

wow sierra wrote: »
    Firstly I will say that joking about Rape is unacceptable in any context.

All topics are acceptable in joke format. I'm sorry but that's the nature of jokes.

You probably laughed at the Frankie Boyle Jordan joke. You can't pick and chose topics which are taboo and are not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Your right!! - SHELL are great, can I sacrifice my first born for the cause KY??:pac:

Your argument is flawed. Give it up. You are coming across as a bleeding heart and have resorted to aggression out of desperation because you can't defend your position.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭audidiesel

Just my own opinion on this one. Knowing it may possibly fan flames I'll keep it to the point as much as I can.

What was said was idiotic and not funny. However it was a private conversation between 2-3 people. There was no threat made to anybody and no one could seriously suggest that there was any intent or possibility of these comments being acted on.

The type of talk used may proove shocking to the general public when taken out of context. What most people dont get though is guards talking like that is more of a defence mechanism more than anything else.

The nature of the job means you see horrific things on a semi regular basis. This can have traumatic effects. The reality is that there is no real physiological assistance to guards after something traumatic. The most common way to deal with it is through black humour.

After traumatic incidents guards can often deal with it by making jokes that would make frankie Boyle cringe. These are not meant for public consumption and are usually between colleagues that have experienced similar incidents eg murders, suicide, rape, serious assaults, bad crashes..

If you've never suffered through multiple instances like this then you more than likely won't agree with the above, which is fair enough.

Finally while as I said the comments were stupid, the hysteria that has been generated from a private conversation is way over the top. This was a private conversation. It was recorded obviously without their knowledge. How many people here can honestly say that they have never in their lives said something stupid. Being honest 99% of people here probably have at various points in their lives. Imagine if whatever you said made front page news.

Finally this only made the news as the men were guards on duty. Newsflash, guards are human. They have failings and virtues just like everyone else. You don't become superman when you put on the uniform.

Anyway I'm sure some will jump all over this post. But I just wanted to give my own perspective on this. By the way I'm not on duty writing this :-p