Little Scumbags! Nature or Nurture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I would say nurture for the VAST majority, but for alot it can also be the people they hang out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Everybody is born as a blank sheet, but then it depends on many factors, if someone turns good, bad or ugly, such as family, friends, school, work...life is a lifelong process of learning, so to speak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I remember getting a bus a couple of days before christmas in dublin, sitting upstairs feeling nice about christmas coming up and a few other people were upstairs aswell. The bus stops and a lot noise starts down stairs, the noise gets closer and starts heading up the stairs. Two complete and utter knackers (drunk/strung out or both) come up with 3 or 4 year old child witht hem, their screaming at the child and go and sit down the back. They keep screaming and then I hear a sound that sound like they're hitting the child. The christmas cheer soon went out of my day.
    What chance has that poor child being raised by scum like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭fishtastico

There are certain areas where you are a hell of a lot more likely to have kids throw bricks at windows of passing buses than others, so anecdotedly, that would suggest that the environment you grow up in has a lot to do with your patterns of behaviour.

I agree, but it's also likely that people who are not naturally predisposed to throwing bricks at buses move out of these areas, which would give a disproportionately high number of brick-throwers in the area, giving a false impression that it's a nurture thing.

But it's probably a little of both. If your biological parents were absolute scummers and you were raised in the best enviornment ever, you'll probably turn out grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

prinz wrote: »
    A kid nicking a mars bar has a different mentality to someone burglaring an old person's home ..

Eh, that's what I am saying.

You are misunderstanding me if you think I am saying is that a kid who steals a mars bar would be the same type of person who would break into an old person's home. Where I grew up there was one guy who used to torture cats, we all used to say that the guy was going to do the same to adults one day and that is just what he happened; he was locked many years later for vicious assaults like glassing people and stabbing one guy.

Society wants to believe that kids like the ones that killed James Bolger are far different to kids that would just **** a brick through a bus window, helps them sleep at night and they can look it scorn at them and say, 'but my Johnny wouldn't do that'. The reality is different however. I'm not saying that those kids are capable of that, but I believe they are certainly more capable of it than kids that wouldn't throw bricks at bus windows when there is a good chance they could spilt someone's face open. I remember a few years back when a bunch of kids set a car alight in Limerick with two kids in it, you can bet your last cent those 'little scumbags' were not angels up until that point.

While both contribute, it is definitely more nurture than nature.

Definietly!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Chickaroo

I dont think so? I know the boy had problems with his feet when he was born and was bullied in school a lot, so Im guessing, maybe he learned from an early age, to "defend" himself? Getting into fights ect.

I don't know. Theyre like chalk and cheese anyway, and its baffling because Im even guilty of it myself, assuming all those "skobes" wearing shellsuits are from deprived areas, and well -- knackers. They're not always though.

Emmmm you do know its 2011 right?? Don't think I have seen one of those yolks since about 1989.......wish I could say the same about scumbags, they are everywhere!! I am from a bit of a "dodgy" area and the kids are being dragged up and encouraged to have no respect for adults and esp authority figures (guards, teachers) its really sad to see because monkey see, monkey do, doesn't fill me with optomism for the next generation!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I live on the 77 bus route and can attest to what little scumbags live around there. However I have family who live in Cabinteely and I've gotten more hassle from little gob****es there than I have in Fatima.

If kids are allowed to grow up to be scumbags then they'll be scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I would say nurture for the VAST majority, but for alot it can also be the people they hang out with.

Your friends and peers fall under the nuture category too.

I would have thought that nuture = environental factors including area, friends, parents etc; nature = predetermined factors such as genetics.

kylith wrote: »
    If kids are allowed to grow up to be scumbags then they'll be scumbags.

Exactly and I remember when I was young I destroyed a 100ft long wall that was freshly plastered. Wrote Aston Villa all over the bloody thing but it was made very clear to me that what I had done was wrong and just why it was wrong. That disappointment effected me, whereas my mate that did it with me, his old man beat the fcuker around the house and was told if he ever brought the Guards to the door again, he'd get worse. Well, he did bring them to the door again - many many times.

Also, hope people aren't getting the impression that I am saying poor areas have parents who don't care as I don't believe that for a second. The lads who killed Brian Murphy are testament to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Its interesting actually. I always believed that they were nurturted. My younger brother is complete scum, a horrible human being. My mother is a very soft touch and i knew it when i was young that i could get away with anything but i had a concience. The only times i were in trouble when i were younger was in school making smart remarks to teachers and being pretty lazy, nothing malicious. My younger brother who had the same up bringing but is maliocious scum, barred from all the local shops, goes to school when he feels like, steals from people in the house, has the garda at the door and somebody even accused him of possesing a knife. I wouldnt of even dreamed of stuff like that when i was his age. I think people have a scumbag element inside of them but parentage is mainly to blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'd like to give credit to nurture but I increasingly think it's nature. Put two scumbags together in a bed (or lane/bush/toilet) and nine months later it's no surprise that 9months later out pops another genetically encoded scumbag.

The strangest thing I find about scumbags is their obliviousness to their own situation. They act as tho the world they perpetuate is somehow the best possible solution and that everyone else is a mug.

I see them in town walking around like regular people. They don't see scum when they look at each other. They only see what they want to see. They don't know they're scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

bonerm wrote: »
    I'd like to give credit to nurture but I increasingly think it's nature. Put two scumbags together in a bed (or lane/bush/toilet) and nine months later it's no surprise that 9months later out pops another genetically encoded scumbag.

The strangest thing I find about scumbags is their obliviousness to their own situation. They act as tho the world they perpetuate is somehow the best possible solution and that everyone else is a mug.

I see them in town walking around like regular people. They don't see scum when they look at each other. They only see what they want to see. They don't know they're scum.

I can feel annoyance towards random people on the street sometimes but the day I write stuff as dripping with hate as this, I know they - or something - will have got right into my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭delonglad

Parents don't have the rights to punish their kids for being scumbags if they choose that path, nor does the law have any influence. Most of these scumbags don't fear their peers whether they be family or law.

I was brought up by the wooden spoon and the clout round the ear and it has stood to me. I was brought up to show respect to people and their belongings and I believe in following the law. Sure when I was younger I got into trouble for doing stupid little things but never did I harm or cause damage to anyone or their belongings/property etc.

I see the problem with society rather than parents or area people live(lots of rich scumbags too). Society has made it almost impossible to enforce some sort of respect between the youth of today and their peers. If an adult gives a child a clout round the ear its seen as bad and illegal.

Some of the scumbags of today could do with a bullet rather than a wooden spoon! They are a helpless cause if they are willing to put another humans life in danger through their own recklessness and for some sordid entertainment. Sure you will have human rights and so on whining that they can be changed but they can't! Society has ruined them/let them ruin themselves and then when its too late steps in to save them.

If these youths were caught they wouldn't even get charged (maybe a caution) but god forbid one of the passengers had not paid for a ticket they would be fined! :mad:

A harsh view indeed but its my view on today's "scumbags" (such a horrible word)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

In before someone mentions liquidating the ghettoes.

It's strange how children who are punished more harshy seem to learn less from it. Apparently it's better to reason with a child and explain what's right and wrong than to just beat them to a pulp and make them fear you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

EMF2010 wrote: »

I also think that there is some cold comfort to be found in saying that people who do awful things are innately like that, that they are 'evil' or 'damaged'. I don't know if that is true, I suspect it varies from case to case, but I think sometimes we like to distance ourselves from our own innate capacity, as a species, to be violent.

The conclusions of the study you quoted are particularly interesting in light of the link suggested by the other studies. It suggests that 'nurture' (or as I said earlier a lack of nurture, because if a kids sole point of stimulation is coming from a video game that is shameful neglect) can actually have a physical effect on 'nature'.

Whilst I would tend towards nurture and processes like identification as being strong factors in anti-social behaviour. I would have to strongly disagree with you about the concept of evil and its role in severe criminality.

I have a strong interest in forensic psych because of my work, and whilst I never worked in a totally forensic setting I spend a bit of my time working with prisoners. I have never worked with your criminal minds like serial killer; I have worked with various sex offenders, people who have murdered people and the like.

Now it could be argued that because I don't believe in the concept of evil, I don't see it in those cases. However, I have never experienced anything that could be described actually as evil. I have worked with a lot of people who are/have been quite ill, but never evil.

The concept of personal responsibility was mentioned by others earlier, whilst I agree; I don't think that factors in a subject's life that may explain why they committed a criminal act should be ignored when a person is before the courts.

However, to be clear on it, I believe that such factors should be considered but I don't think they are a get out of free jail card either. Some people can be very damaged by their up bringing that some of their actions are quite understandable, that does not mean I think they should not be punished. However, that punishment should be coupled with rehabilitation, otherwise we will get nowhere.

I think falling back on the concept of evil is a very simple way of avoiding looking at more complex issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Nurture is a form of lead by example.

If im the adoptive child of david beckham and pele's sister, ve a less likely chance of being a good athelte than if i was their genetic child.

Similarly, if i am the adoptive child of gena davis and einstein, all the nurture in the world isnt going to make me solve big sums if im not intellectually predisposed to it (big sums lol)

White cat, white kittens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭LimeTime

Nurture.

You never hear some kid from Foxrock talking,''Alright lads watz de feckin' story bud. I waz ridin'the hole off ya wan last night and bricking the ****e outta a bus.''

Yeah so it's all about how a child is brought up and what he sees as being acceptable behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

LimeTime wrote: »
    Nurture.

You never hear some kid from Foxrock talking,''Alright lads watz de feckin' story bud. I waz ridin'the hole off ya wan last night and bricking the ****e outta a bus.''

Yeah so it's all about how a child is brought up and what he sees as being acceptable behavior.

Thats only an accent, it doesnt constitute actions or ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

stovelid wrote: »
    Your friends and peers fall under the nuture category too.

I would have thought that nuture = environental factors including area, friends, parents etc; nature = predetermined factors such as genetics.

I know! when I woke up after a nap and saw I wrote that i felt stupid haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Ectoplasm

Odysseus wrote: »
    I think falling back on the concept of evil is a very simple way of avoiding looking at more complex issues.

I'm a little puzzled as to why you strongly disagree as that is pretty much what I was saying. :)

I wasn't actually proposing the existence of 'evil' - I was arguing that as a group, people look to concepts like these to explain violent acts and to distance themselves from the capacity that people have to commit horrible acts. The reason I said that I don't know what the truth is, that I suspect it varies case to case is more to do with sociopathic behaviour - but even there I don't think it is so much 'evil' as an absence of what most would recognise as humanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

EMF2010 wrote: »
    I'm a little puzzled as to why you strongly disagree as that is pretty much what I was saying. :)

I wasn't actually proposing the existence of 'evil' - I was arguing that as a group, people look to concepts like these to explain violent acts and to distance themselves from the capacity that people have to commit horrible acts. The reason I said that I don't know what the truth is, that I suspect it varies case to case is more to do with sociopathic behaviour - but even there I don't think it is so much 'evil' as an absence of what most would recognise as humanity.

Aplogies then it's been a long day, I must have mis-read your post then;) I hate the use of the concept of evil to make complex things simple, as well as trying to avoid the dark side of human nature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

LimeTime wrote: »
    Nurture.

Lol. And you WOULD hear someone from Foxrock going on about how they were riding the hole off someone. Maybe not bricking a bus, but you need to wake up if you think there aren't any people from Foxrock who are capable of committing acts of violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Crimbouser

Heard a lovely mammy giving out to a kid for losing her brother for a minute. Apparently telling the kid 'i'll break your f***ing jaw' is acceptable by her standards. Argh, some people think they have the right to have kids no matter how crap a parent they'll make!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Sean Bateman

These people deliberately have children so they can sponge off the State to a greater extent. Their progeny then cause mayhem.

The solution - Appeal to their weakness...cash. Lower class girls should be offered money (i.e. a grant) to have voluntary hysterectomies. It's a win win situation - They get the money they crave and society doesn't have to put up with their vile offspring.

This country is riddled with social problems. The scent of these womens' purged uteri wafting from the furnaces under the Coombe and the Rotunda could herald a new order.

The above solution will no doubt enrage the left, but on reflection it's as reasonable as it is innovative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Crimbouser

These people deliberately have children so they can sponge off the State to a greater extent. Their progeny then cause mayhem.

The solution - Appeal to their weakness...cash. Lower class girls should be offered money (i.e. a grant) to have voluntary hysterectomies. It's a win win situation - They get the money they crave and society doesn't have to put up with their vile offspring.

This country is riddled with social problems. The scent of these womens' purged uteri wafting from the furnaces under the Coombe and the Rotunda could herald a new order.

The above solution will no doubt enrage the left, but on reflection it's as reasonable as it is innovative.

whoa, that's extreme. Why not just try to educate people on parenting, people of all classes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Definitely nurture. I'd be pretty confident that you could take any baby and raise it in a loving household and itd turn out normal. All the little savages around the world are mainly due to a lack of parenting, not something in the genes.

How do we account for Hitler?

He was actually over-breastfed, apparently.

I disagree with you OP.

I know a family, really decent well educated parents, 2 kids, a boy and a girl. The girl is polite, nice girl, very timid. The boy is what you would describe as a "scumbag". Both raised in the same envirnoment, both with the same parenting. One just turned out to be utterly wild, with aspirations to be wilder, by the looks of things.

I really dont know what it is. Blame the parents? Society? School? Peers?

Same parents doesn't necessarily mean same parenting. I can see this in my own family. Myself and my brothers literally had sense beaten into us if we crossed the line. I turned out a good person but quite scared of people, especially men. My sister on the other hand, never had a finger laid on her and got everything she wanted... she has now been more trouble than all of the boys put together, and they're not my words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,490 ✭✭✭Fluorescence

I don't think the two are distinguishable. The person's nature will determine to a large degree how they are influenced and moulded by their environment. A weak-willed, extremely extraverted (to the point where spending 5 minutes alone would drive them mad) person is more likely to go with the crowd, do whatever is seen as normal in their social group to fit in. A more strong-willed person with an independant streak and less of a desire to be like others will probably do whatever they deem to be right. Also, add to that the fact that some people are more predisposed to violence and quick to anger (is it a testosterone thing?) than others. Only when you see the bones of the person can you determine how much they have been shaped by their upbringing and their friends.

Think about it: some absolute scumbag parents have brought wonderful, well-adjusted and hard working people into the world. Some amazing, supportive and wonderful parents have managed to raise complete scummy tyrants despite all the odds.

So yeah, I say it's both.