Does this common greeting irriate you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Jesus, you're all pack of grumpy sh!ts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

"What's the craic?". I don't know how to answer this question when it comes. I'd rather it was not asked to me! How does one answer this question without being unsociable? What does someone expect you to say? :pac:

It's supposed to go like this:

"Alright, whats the craic?"
    "Ah, ya know yourself. Same auld shite. And yourself?"
    "Same bucket, different shite, yano yerself"
    "So what are ya up to now yourself?"
    "Sure yano this and that. what about yourself?"
    "Same as, same as. Sure tell the missus I was askin' after her'
    "Will do, will do. Talk to ya buddy."

And thats it. How the awkward Irish greet each other, unsatisfied with walking passed with a simple hello, they have a little chat without basically giving anything away, whatsoever.

I'm personally a "how's it goin" girl, without waiting around for the answer. But thats simply because I probably don't give a shite anyway - I've just cut out the bullshit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Rabies wrote: »
    Jesus, you're all pack of grumpy sh!ts.

You mustn't be having any craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

What's the story in Balamoray, wouldn't you like to know...

Hate that one myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I prefer to be asked "well, any craic?".
    At least then I can tell them "fcuk all, yourself?", or else if there is indeed some craic happening I can tell them about it.:)

Jesus OP.. Fuking pathetic life you have if that gets on your nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Well lad. Any craic with ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭cbmonstra

In work I report to someone in the U.S and whenever he needs to call me he says, "What's happening?" and I never know what to say...

I always kind of mumble "Ehmmm, yeah, nothing really.... How are you?" Makes me feel like an idiot, like there is something happening, and I should know what it is, but don't....

I'm from Waterford and it always confuses people when I say "Well" instead of "Hello", trying to stop that though... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,338 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I actually llike to greet people by saying,

'Cad e an sceal'

Abi wrote: »
    It's supposed to go like this:

"Alright, whats the craic?"
    "Ah, ya know yourself. Same auld shite. And yourself?"
    "Same bucket, different shite, yano yerself"
    "So what are ya up to now yourself?"
    "Sure yano this and that. what about yourself?"
    "Same as, same as. Sure tell the missus I was askin' after her'
    "Will do, will do. Talk to ya buddy."

And thats it. How the awkward Irish greet each other, unsatisfied with walking passed with a simple hello, they have a little chat without basically giving anything away, whatsoever.

I'm personally a "how's it goin" girl, without waiting around for the answer. But thats simply because I probably don't give a shite anyway - I've just cut out the bullshit.

The dumbest crap i here quite a bit, (usually from aul dears) is this,

Aul dear 1 'Hows it going'

Aul dear 2 'Cant complain'

Aul dear 1 'Ah sure if ya did no one would listen' (single laugh)

Aul dear 2 'Ye' (single laugh)

Aul dear 1 'Weathers shíte in it'

Aul dear1&2 'Yeah' (both together)

Aul dear 2 'Isnt the country in an terible state'

Aul dear 1&2 'Yeah' (both together)

Now what after happening here is that both have agreed that they cant complain & if they did no one would listen, then subsequently both do complain, both listen to each other & agree.

Utter retardedness.

I say,

The weathers great no matter of its raining, sunny, snowing, cold or windy in my book, the country is in shíte & i will complain about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

"What's the craic?". I don't know how to answer this question when it comes. I'd rather it was not asked to me! How does one answer this question without being unsociable? What does someone expect you to say? :pac:
    I don't think there's much wrong with this greeting to be honest, but the fact that you ask on boards how to respond to a greeting makes me wonder about your social skills or lack of. Maybe do a course or something.

Just thinking about it now i actully often greet people with a,

'Hows it going chief'

Seems to be irritating to some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

"Hey hun!" - that one pisses me off. :mad:

Sh1t yeah!!! Fecking well HATE that one. It's very common in Arklow (my family live there), and FFS when someone I don't know fecking well call me hun I want to bloody well shout at them "I'M NOT YOUR FCUKING HUN, I DON'T EVEN KNOW YA AAAARRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH"

Ok, sorry, rant over!!!

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Sh1t yeah!!! Fecking well HATE that one. It's very common in Arklow (my family live there), and FFS when someone I don't know fecking well call me hun I want to bloody well shout at them "I'M NOT YOUR FCUKING HUN, I DON'T EVEN KNOW YA AAAARRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH"

Ok, sorry, rant over!!!

You appear to be reneging on your signature here but we'll allow it,.....Hun

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/153709/154408.JPG

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

RayM wrote: »
    I find most greetings, valedictions and terms of endearment a bit grating and false-sounding... "Alright bud, what's the craic? Sound, cheers!" Just fuck the fuck right off, you fucking phony fuck.

Ahem... Since there is no answer to "what's the craic?" (and because I prefer to avoid calling people cunts wherever possible) I like to be deliberately obtuse and highlight their idiocy by responding in the most tediously literal manner possible: "The craic is fine. Certainly no craic deficiency here. What is the craic with you?"
    I'd say you're an absolute hoot at the water cooler.

Anyone else find it amusing when you say hi to someone and they automatically assume you've asked how they are?

'Hey Barry.'
    'Ah I'm grand.'
    'Well... okay then!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

"Hey hun!" - that one pisses me off. :mad:

Hate it when my piano teacher says this to me as he corrects my posture and shows me where to place my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

You mustn't be having any craic.

I do, and it's mighty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

If I greet someone with 'Hello' that means I want to talk to them, and am interested in what they have to say. Used for friends/family.

If I greet someone with 'Well' that means I don't want to talk to them, I have no interest in what they have to say and I don't care whether they are, in fact,well or not. I'm only being polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

RachaelVO wrote: »

Ok, sorry, rant over!!!

Yeah well don't think any of ye can call me a Hun just cos of the username alri.....ALRI!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Has anyone mentioned that people always salute you with "What's the craic?", when what I think they mean is "How's the craic?".

At least you can answer how's the craic? :D

marcbrophy wrote: »
    Has anyone mentioned that people always salute you with "What's the craic?", when what I think they mean is "How's the craic?".

At least you can answer how's the craic? :D

How's the craic? Basically asking if it's good or bad.
    What's the craic? What's making it good or bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

People asking "Whats the craic" should immediately be mooned by the other person, thereby getting a good view of what the crack really is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

hinault wrote: »
    "How'ya boss?"
    "How'ya Budz?"
    "How'ya horse?"

All very irritating greetings.

"Story?" : equally bad in my opinion.

A simple "Hello" would suffice.

How very beige.

Nothing at all wrong with adding a bit of colour or colloquialism to speech. Then again there is a lot to be said for Newspeak. Certainly cuts down on unnecessary and distracting individual expression, for one thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Am I the only one who thinks "What's the craic?" doesn't really require an answer?

If someone walks up to you and says "What's the craic?", can you not just answer with "Oh, hey! How's it going?"? I think we're putting too much thought into it here, it's just a way of saying hi... Most people actually don't want to know what the craic is :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Weedikins

I used to greet people with "Hello, how are you?" until I met my mother-in-law - she would descibe at length how she was and it was never positive. So now I greet her with "You're looking great!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

Am I the only one who thinks "What's the craic?" doesn't really require an answer?

If someone walks up to you and says "What's the craic?", can you not just answer with "Oh, hey! How's it going?"? I think we're putting too much thought into it here, it's just a way of saying hi... Most people actually don't want to know what the craic is :P

True, I mean FFS starting a thread about a very obvious Irish slang term, it's clearly not always meant to be taken literally. Never the less, some very boring replies on here...Oh I don't spice up conversation, I want to be taken serious and people not to impose there individual sayings on me. How dare they! Conversations with those people would go like this...

"Hello Tom"
    "Hello Sarah"
    "How are you Tom"
    "I have been feeling a bit down Sarah, depressed you know?"
    "I do not Tom I have never felt the anguish of despression"
    "I see"
    "See what Tom?"
    "I see your point of not being able to relate to my personal emotional state at this present time, not see as in a viewable object or spectrum"
    "Thank you Tom...Goodbye now"

Yeah what a blast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

"Well?"
    "Well"
    "And are you well?"
    "Well"

Must be a Tipp thing, and then the recruits pick it up in Templemore

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I usualyy reply with
    The craic is 90, and i'm travelling to flavin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭Helium

What happened to good oul days when ya could greet a friend with a good kick in the rocks, and have a great laugh about it after?