Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does this common greeting irriate you?

• 07-04-2011 1:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭

"What's the craic?". I don't know how to answer this question when it comes. I'd rather it was not asked to me! How does one answer this question without being unsociable? What does someone expect you to say? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Essentially it would mean "what's up, my nigga" as said by Jackie Chan. My advice is to beat the tar outta him, like in the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It's a synonym for "What's up", "How's it going", or "What's the story"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

Hate it. Like you are obliged to come up with a cracking story. Go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

its the irish Ca va

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,270 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

''Not much, yourself?'' Thats how I usually respond to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

"Hey hun!" - that one pisses me off. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Whys that pet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

"What's the craic?".

Craic or crack is a term for fun, entertainment, and enjoyable conversation, particularly prominent in Ireland.[1][2] It is often used with the definite article – the craic.[1] The word has an unusual history; the form craic was borrowed into Irish from the English crack in the mid-20th century, and the Irish spelling was then reborrowed into English.[1] Under either spelling, the crack/craic has great cultural currency and significance in Ireland.

I can do you one better!

"aw heya chicken/chicks, you okay?"

I would actually punch a girl who says that (or, failing that, I'd prefer a shotgun).

That and any man under the age of 50 refering to any female as "love".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

**** all, yourself? is how would respond.

Nothings worse than hows she cutting. ****ing farmers and I live in ****ing kilkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

"What's the craic?". I don't know how to answer this question when it comes. I'd rather it was not asked to me! How does one answer this question without being unsociable? What does someone expect you to say? :pac:
    I think it's fine. I'm American btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

People get hung up about the most stupid things. It's just a phrase. I'm not exactly a fan of it but it's someone asking how you're getting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I can do you one better!

"aw heya chicken/chicks, you okay?"

I would actually punch a girl who says that (or, failing that, I'd prefer a shotgun).

Oh my good Lord, yes!!!!! I am not a fúcking chicken. Ugh, soooo Coronation Street. :rolleyes::D

A lot of people from Dublin copy Americans or British people. I look on that as a wannabe esp when they mock rural Irish people!

Oh my good Lord, yes!!!!! I am not a fúcking chicken. Ugh, soooo Coronation Street. :rolleyes::D

It's worse when you realize it's 14 year old girls saying it and they're talking to people several years older than them.

I miss the olden days where it was a simple "oi you, ya fu*king muppet, get yer arse over here now!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

any yokes ?

Spunge wrote: »
    any yokes ?

Brilliant. :D

D4 accent is a joke. I have an american accent! You people are mocking americans!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

"How'ya boss?"
    "How'ya Budz?"
    "How'ya horse?"

All very irritating greetings.

"Story?" : equally bad in my opinion.

A simple "Hello" would suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I think it's fine. I'm American btw.

How would it be viewed when going through US Customs/security at the Airport, if you said the reason for your visit is the craic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I find most greetings, valedictions and terms of endearment a bit grating and false-sounding... "Alright bud, what's the craic? Sound, cheers!" Just fuck the fuck right off, you fucking phony fuck.

Ahem... Since there is no answer to "what's the craic?" (and because I prefer to avoid calling people cunts wherever possible) I like to be deliberately obtuse and highlight their idiocy by responding in the most tediously literal manner possible: "The craic is fine. Certainly no craic deficiency here. What is the craic with you?"

OPENROAD wrote: »
    How would it be viewed when going through US Customs/security at the Airport, if you said the reason for your visit is the craic :D
    To me it would sound wierd if at a desk! Formal talk goes best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

To me it would sound wierd if at a desk! Your point?

No point

OPENROAD wrote: »
    No point
    You comply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Condatis

Or you go into a shop and you're asked!

"Are you ok".

I respond "I'm fine, thank you for asking, are you ok yourself".

There was a time when they were trained to say "may I help you sir".

Condatis wrote: »
    Or you go into a shop and you're asked!

"Are you ok".

I respond "I'm fine, thank you for asking, are you ok yourself".

Yeah, but that was when they were able to help you because of their training. Now we just skip the training and go straight to "hang on a minute, bud, I'm just busy on me phone talking about the shop stuff".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I greet people with a glove slap.

Ruu wrote: »
    I greet people with a glove slap.

New* Simpsons reference - meh. :p

* by new I mean from the crappy era

Condatis wrote: »

Yes, what are the riff raff coming to? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Jesus, you're all pack of grumpy sh!ts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

It's supposed to go like this:

"Alright, whats the craic?"
    "Ah, ya know yourself. Same auld shite. And yourself?"
    "Same bucket, different shite, yano yerself"
    "So what are ya up to now yourself?"
    "Sure yano this and that. what about yourself?"
    "Same as, same as. Sure tell the missus I was askin' after her'
    "Will do, will do. Talk to ya buddy."

And thats it. How the awkward Irish greet each other, unsatisfied with walking passed with a simple hello, they have a little chat without basically giving anything away, whatsoever.

I'm personally a "how's it goin" girl, without waiting around for the answer. But thats simply because I probably don't give a shite anyway - I've just cut out the bullshit.

Rabies wrote: »
    Jesus, you're all pack of grumpy sh!ts.

You mustn't be having any craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

What's the story in Balamoray, wouldn't you like to know...

Hate that one myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I prefer to be asked "well, any craic?".
    At least then I can tell them "fcuk all, yourself?", or else if there is indeed some craic happening I can tell them about it.:)

Jesus OP.. Fuking pathetic life you have if that gets on your nerves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Well lad. Any craic with ya?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭cbmonstra

In work I report to someone in the U.S and whenever he needs to call me he says, "What's happening?" and I never know what to say...

I always kind of mumble "Ehmmm, yeah, nothing really.... How are you?" Makes me feel like an idiot, like there is something happening, and I should know what it is, but don't....

I'm from Waterford and it always confuses people when I say "Well" instead of "Hello", trying to stop that though... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

I actually llike to greet people by saying,

'Cad e an sceal'

Abi wrote: »
    It's supposed to go like this:

"Alright, whats the craic?"
    "Ah, ya know yourself. Same auld shite. And yourself?"
    "Same bucket, different shite, yano yerself"
    "So what are ya up to now yourself?"
    "Sure yano this and that. what about yourself?"
    "Same as, same as. Sure tell the missus I was askin' after her'
    "Will do, will do. Talk to ya buddy."

And thats it. How the awkward Irish greet each other, unsatisfied with walking passed with a simple hello, they have a little chat without basically giving anything away, whatsoever.

I'm personally a "how's it goin" girl, without waiting around for the answer. But thats simply because I probably don't give a shite anyway - I've just cut out the bullshit.

The dumbest crap i here quite a bit, (usually from aul dears) is this,

Aul dear 1 'Hows it going'

Aul dear 2 'Cant complain'

Aul dear 1 'Ah sure if ya did no one would listen' (single laugh)

Aul dear 2 'Ye' (single laugh)

Aul dear 1 'Weathers shíte in it'

Aul dear1&2 'Yeah' (both together)

Aul dear 2 'Isnt the country in an terible state'

Aul dear 1&2 'Yeah' (both together)

Now what after happening here is that both have agreed that they cant complain & if they did no one would listen, then subsequently both do complain, both listen to each other & agree.

Utter retardedness.

I say,

The weathers great no matter of its raining, sunny, snowing, cold or windy in my book, the country is in shíte & i will complain about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

I don't think there's much wrong with this greeting to be honest, but the fact that you ask on boards how to respond to a greeting makes me wonder about your social skills or lack of. Maybe do a course or something.

Just thinking about it now i actully often greet people with a,

'Hows it going chief'

Seems to be irritating to some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Sh1t yeah!!! Fecking well HATE that one. It's very common in Arklow (my family live there), and FFS when someone I don't know fecking well call me hun I want to bloody well shout at them "I'M NOT YOUR FCUKING HUN, I DON'T EVEN KNOW YA AAAARRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH"

Ok, sorry, rant over!!!

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Sh1t yeah!!! Fecking well HATE that one. It's very common in Arklow (my family live there), and FFS when someone I don't know fecking well call me hun I want to bloody well shout at them "I'M NOT YOUR FCUKING HUN, I DON'T EVEN KNOW YA AAAARRRRGGGGGGGHHHHHHHH"

Ok, sorry, rant over!!!

You appear to be reneging on your signature here but we'll allow it,.....Hun

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/153709/154408.JPG

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

RayM wrote: »
    I find most greetings, valedictions and terms of endearment a bit grating and false-sounding... "Alright bud, what's the craic? Sound, cheers!" Just fuck the fuck right off, you fucking phony fuck.

Ahem... Since there is no answer to "what's the craic?" (and because I prefer to avoid calling people cunts wherever possible) I like to be deliberately obtuse and highlight their idiocy by responding in the most tediously literal manner possible: "The craic is fine. Certainly no craic deficiency here. What is the craic with you?"
    I'd say you're an absolute hoot at the water cooler.

Anyone else find it amusing when you say hi to someone and they automatically assume you've asked how they are?

'Hey Barry.'
    'Ah I'm grand.'
    'Well... okay then!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Hate it when my piano teacher says this to me as he corrects my posture and shows me where to place my hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

You mustn't be having any craic.

I do, and it's mighty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

If I greet someone with 'Hello' that means I want to talk to them, and am interested in what they have to say. Used for friends/family.

If I greet someone with 'Well' that means I don't want to talk to them, I have no interest in what they have to say and I don't care whether they are, in fact,well or not. I'm only being polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

RachaelVO wrote: »

Ok, sorry, rant over!!!

Yeah well don't think any of ye can call me a Hun just cos of the username alri.....ALRI!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Has anyone mentioned that people always salute you with "What's the craic?", when what I think they mean is "How's the craic?".

At least you can answer how's the craic? :D