Garda Siochana in Shell to sea sex shocker

I'm a Labour/union man through and through, but the collection of super-lefty/anti-everything layabouts and former terrorists that make up a large part of the S2S crowd put me and I'd guess a lot of other fairly mainstream socialists off the protests.
    That said, its pretty extraordinary that this natural resource is being withdrawn from our country with little or no mainstream opposition; it seems our lack of confidence as a nation has no limits, multinationals and foreign governments know they are pushing an open door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭04KY

zuroph wrote: »
    I cant find anything in this post to do with the topic of this thread???

True, and the same can be said for my posts too.

My feelings on this are that it was a stupid joke made by the lads. They should be punished for it but talking of sackings is madness.

I also believe this matter should have been brought to the Ombudsman privately and the findings released to the public. This is a publicity stunt by Shell to Sea to gain media attention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

04KY wrote: »
    True, and the same can be said for my posts too.

My feelings on this are that it was a stupid joke made by the lads. They should be punished for it but talking of sackings is madness.

I also believe this matter should have been brought to the Ombudsman privately and the findings released to the public. This is a publicity stunt by Shell to Sea to gain media attention.
    that's all it is. I'm sure the woman was delighted to hear it and couldn't get it released soon enough.

seanybiker wrote: »
    that's all it is. I'm sure the woman was delighted to hear it and couldn't get it released soon enough.

You'd think so wouldn't you. Yet they waited four days before releasing the details to anybody, all the while they were concerned for women in the local area accoring to Caoimhe Kearns of Dublin Shell to Sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Are you saying somebody should go to jail for mistakenly drilling holes in a Special Area of Conservation? And stopping when informed of the mistake.

What evidence have you that this had anything to do with Shell? Speculation in the area is that it had nothing to do with Shell or the Gardai and more than likely came from a source closer to the owner. It's speculation of course because I believe nothing was proven.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/1231/1224286546364.html

What had Michael Dwyer done illegally in Ireland before or during his time with the security company?

Anyway, it is obvious your problem is with Shell and not the actual comments made by the Gardai.

So when SHELL break the law its a "mistake":rolleyes:

Your link merely proves my point about the way protestors complaints are dealt with and why there has been so many complaints to the Ombudsman.

Michael Dwyers death exposed a number of issues relating to IRMS activties in Mayo and the the type of people they employed

http://royaldutchshellplc.com/2009/04/27/michael-dwyers-security-contacts-international-armed-and-unarmed-security-provided-by-shell-agent-in-ireland/

http://anarchism.pageabode.com/andrewnflood/the-shadow-over-erris-shell-irms-and-bolivia-sometimes-monsters-do-exist

zuroph wrote: »
    I cant find anything in this post to do with the topic of this thread???

I didn't bring it up - your SHELL buddy did:rolleyes:

Try and keep up - this is not the first such incident, as I pointed out earlier:rolleyes:

You'd think so wouldn't you. Yet they waited four days before releasing the details to anybody, .

Cos the the only checked the Camera a few days after the incident - if your going to spoof, at least pretend you know what your talking about!!

I'm a Labour/union man through and through, but the collection of super-lefty/anti-everything layabouts and former terrorists that make up a large part of the S2S crowd put me and I'd guess a lot of other fairly mainstream socialists off the protests.

A Labour man who gets all his guff from the O'Reilly press, Paul Williams et al by the sounds of it - you and the Blue shirts are well suited in government ie. business as usual!!

Birdnuts wrote: »
    So when SHELL break the law its a "mistake"

Bit of a difference in drilling in the wrong position, then stopping when told and in assalt.
    Your link merely proves my point about the way protestors complaints are dealt with and why there has been so many complaints to the Ombudsman.

The complaints were followed up on and a file sent to the DPP. No evidence was found of a "third-party role".

First article discusses the company and provides no evidence of these activities. Second link is to an anarchy site.
    Try and keep up - this is not the first such incident, as I pointed out earlier

You provide no evidence. Should we just go on your word?
    Cos the the only checked the Camera a few days after the incident - if your going to spoof, at least pretend you know what your talking about!!

Rubbish. The woman herself said on her Prime Time interview that she checked and saw the footage the day after the incident. You can find the Prime Time interview on the RTE website.

Bit of a difference in drilling in the wrong position, then stopping when told and in assalt.

The complaints were followed up on and a file sent to the DPP. No evidence was found of a "third-party role".

First article discusses the company and provides no evidence of these activities. Second link is to an anarchy site.

You provide no evidence. Should we just go on your word?

Rubbish. The woman herself said on her Prime Time interview that she checked and saw the footage the day after the incident. You can find the Prime Time interview on the RTE website.

I'm not even going to dignify most of that self-serving guff with a response except to say I posted the second link as a handy source of references to the Michael Dwyer story so here is one of many on the subject which appeared in "The Phoenix" magazine
    http://royaldutchshellplc.com/2009/06/21/shells-unregistered-security-men/

It also has some interesting things to say to say about how Corrib protestors are treated by the law including how the so called law went about investigating the sinking of that protestors fishing boat which I mentioned earlier

Try and keep up - this is not the first such incident, as I pointed out earlier:rolleyes:

Funnily enough I dont spend all my time going through your posts so you can roll your eyes all you want.
    The whole thing is a storm in a tea cup. Yeah the lads where stupid but they're only human. Christ if I got hassle for all the things I said over the years then I'd be in jail for the rest of my life.
    How many good things did the guards do for the country? You don't hear about them at all.
    Slap on the knuckles is all they deserve.

I'm not even going to dignify most of that self-serving guff

Ha love the edit that replaces "that BS" with "self-serving guff" when referring to my last post!
    I posted the second link as a handy source of references to the Michael Dwyer story so here is one of many on the subject which appeared in "The Phoenix" magazine
    http://royaldutchshellplc.com/2009/06/21/shells-unregistered-security-men/

That article is about the security company and how some employees didn't have an appropriate PSA licence. Fair enough, I hold my hands up on that one, when you mentioned the Michael Dwyer affair I thought you were talking about what he did in Bolivia, not that he may not have had the correct licence when working at the Shell site.
    It also has some interesting things to say to say about how Corrib protestors are treated by the law including how the so called law went about investigating the sinking of that protestors fishing boat which I mentioned earlier

It's the fisherman's word against the Gardai's, suppose it depends on who you are going to believe on that one.

Also, self serving guff? By pointing out when you are wrong?

But this really isn't on topic.

Funnily enough I dont spend all my time going through your posts so you can roll your eyes all you want.

Maybe you should, instead of sounding like a poor mans Paul Williams:(

Also, self serving guff? By pointing out when you are wrong?

But this really isn't on topic.

Dream on!!

PS: Its your the one who has been trying to drag this thread off target so I won't be taking any self-serving lectures on the subject

It's the fisherman's word against the Gardai's, suppose it depends on who you are going to believe on that one.

I think you'll find the link says alot more about the investigation then that - its no wonder this part of Mayo has a massive number of complaints about the Gardai, unfortunatly the so called law appears to have as much respect for the Ombudsman as they have for many of the protesting locals as I highlighted in an earlier link:(

Maybe you should, instead of sounding like a poor mans Paul Williams:(

Good retort. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Feeling the pace?? - I suggest a quick trip to Dunkin Donuts!!:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

This thread has become quite the debate about shell. But I suppose that was the intention all along when releasing this recording.

k_mac wrote: »
    This thread has become quite the debate about shell. But I suppose that was the intention all along when releasing this recording.

It serves to justify many of the complaints locals have about policing in the area. Further footage of other incidents are being highlighted today in the Dail Mail going on its front page as highlighted on the VB show last night

No - it serves to justify many of the complaints locals have about policing in the area. Further footage of other incidents are being highlighted today in the Dail Mail going on its front page as highlighted on the VB show last night

Oh the daily mail? Why didn't you say so? I'd only buy that rag if they had no toilet paper left.

The recording shows no abuse if power at all. It shows sons gardai making light of previous accusations they might rape someone.

Oh the daily mail? Why didn't you say so? I'd only buy that rag if they had no toilet paper left.

The recording shows no abuse if power at all. It shows sons gardai making light of previous accusations they might rape someone.

You must have heard a different recording to me:rolleyes: -

So what paper do you read?? - seems to be alot of Paul Williams fans on here going on the guff I've seen posted in this thread.Anyway heres whats in the Irish Times relating to another incident on tape.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0407/1224294101483.html

No. I just listened to the whole thing.

Is that story you linked supposed to mean something. Guy starts slagging a Garda and he retorts in a similar way to saying "your ma". Wow.

No. I just listened to the whole thing.

Is that story you linked supposed to mean something. Guy starts slagging a Garda and he retorts in a similar way to saying "your ma". Wow.

Says more about your own donut headed mentality - do you think a protestor would get away with saying something similiar to a Garda about his wife??

Yes. I'm sure the protesters get away with saying much worse. Unfortunately the man in question erased the tape recording and only has a part of a copy of it. No doubt this part excludes his own comments.

You can tell when someone has lost an arguement when they resort to making things up:rolleyes:

Please point out to me the part of the article that backs up what you just said:confused:

You can tell when someone has lost an arguement when they resort to making things up:rolleyes:

Please point out to me the part of the article that backs up what you just said:confused:

It's on rte website.

So he made a copy of the recording and is prepared to submit it as evidence - theres no mention of the Gardai disputing his allegations which I'm sure would be the case it there were doubt as to its authenticity

There's no evidence they didn't either.

There serious allegations - I doubt he'd put himself at risk of being sued by a named Garda without firm evidence