Garda calls man a "w4nker" whilst searching his home...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

If a stranger came into your home and called you that they would get a punch in the jaw. That would be proper order. The garda in question here is clearly a needle dick fcukhead trying to get a reaction. What a pathetic little man, hopefully someone sends that video to the garda ombudsman if they haven't received a complaint about it already.

Sometimes the truth hurts! Get a life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I stopped listening when the guy said 'You're not acting under the law, you're acting under legislation - I know the difference'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I stopped listening when the guy said 'You're not acting under the law, you're acting under legislation - I know the difference'.

I stopped watching when yer man with the tomato plant said "Well if you...".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

'I'm an educated man'

Then learn how to hold a feckin camera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

bluto63 wrote: »
    'I'm an educated man'

Then learn how to hold a feckin camera

Fart wrote: »
    I stopped watching when yer man with the tomato plant said "Well if you...".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

'you'll take our money'.
    Didn't realise the garda were social welfare. :rolleyes:

Whether the man whose house they are at is a wanker or not doesn't matter, they are there in a professional capacity and should act accordingly.

Couple of weeks ago I was walking home from Spar at about 9:30pm, quiet area, crossroads, police car at the front and a few cars behind it, the police car edges up to the lights (red), has a look and slowly drives through them and on their way.

WTF is that **** about? They should be adhering to laws that they are enforcing. I considered calling the garda confidential line about it but I didn't get the reg and frankly, what would be done about it? Fuck all.

wyndham wrote: »
    I agree. Total wanker. It's my rights guard. I know the law guard. Constitutional rights. I'm up on the law, I am. => Arsehole

How does that make someone an asshole? It just makes them informed. Wish I knew more about my rights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

wanker's:D:D:D:D:D:D

How was school today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

fontanalis wrote: »
    And some people have delusions of grandeur and use positions of authority to act like thugs. It's almost a recurring theme.

They do, that's part of my point that our society lacks respect for it's members. There are also members of the public who think they're above the law. I'll also add it's not acceptable for members of the public to call Gardai "****" either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Wanker's what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

cambo2008 wrote: »
    I wouldn't see much of an issue there if it worked both ways,try going down your local station and calling one of them a w@nker and see what happens.
    This seems to be the general behaviour,they can say what they want but you can't open your mouth or you're "being smart"
    I was talking to an immigration officer in Carlow about 2-3 years ago and I still recall that he accused me of copping an attitude because I drank from a bottle of water as I talked to him :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The-Rigger wrote: »
    How does that make someone an asshole? It just makes them informed. Wish I knew more about my rights.

Usually because the people who go on like that haven't a notion what they're talking about. I remember a couple of gardaí confiscating drink off already plastered girls on O'Connell Street one night, up pipes one that daddy was a solicitor, and that she's a law student and knows x, y and z. She didn't know diddly. All she did was create a scene, harass the gardaí and make a sublime tit of herself.

Had a similar incident in a bookshop as it happens. Again, the man involved didn't know squat about the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Bosco boy wrote: »
    How was school today?
    Have you ever considered stand up comedy. Your comments are always so witty and original.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Fart wrote: »

The video is incredibly annoying because the guy doesn't know how to hold his camera. Can't see a feckin thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Shouldn't have called the man a [EMAIL="w@nker"]w@nker[/EMAIL] whether he thought he was one or not!!!

There has been many occassions here on Boards where I have felt that some one has fitted the description down to a tee but if I said it/posted it I'd be banned..........:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

The-Rigger wrote: »
    'you'll take our money'.
    Didn't realise the garda were social welfare. :rolleyes:

Whether the man whose house they are at is a wanker or not doesn't matter, they are there in a professional capacity and should act accordingly.

Couple of weeks ago I was walking home from Spar at about 9:30pm, quiet area, crossroads, police car at the front and a few cars behind it, the police car edges up to the lights (red), has a look and slowly drives through them and on their way.

WTF is that **** about? They should be adhering to laws that they are enforcing. I considered calling the garda confidential line about it but I didn't get the reg and frankly, what would be done about it? Fuck all.

Maybe they were going to a call?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Don Juan DeMagoo

Nothing wrong with knowing what is legally acceptable by the guards when they are performing a search of a home or a person.

Totally unacceptable/unprofessional for a member of the Gardai to call a member of the public an obscenity (no matter what you may or may not think).

A bit miffed about the number of these things popping up lately, not doing anyone any favours really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

You give someone respect, they return that respect, regardless of the situation, it's Human Nature...

Regardless of whats happening in the UK...Police Service are all about "blah blah blah sir...yes sir, no sir...Calm down sir...." Polite polite polite. None of this "What f**kin speed do thinkg you were going at.., Do you have any braincells up there at all..?"

A lot (not all) of Gardaí Shickaloney should take a school tour across the pond and learn how to deal with people, preferably minus the chip on their shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

k_mac wrote: »

Is it not the case that 'on duty' emergency vehicles would actually have permission to break a red as long as it was done slowly and carefully and putting nobody in danger? Seems to be what was done, edging up, having a look around, easing through onto the junction and driving slowly..
    In the course of their duty, Garda, fire brigade vehicles or ambulances and other emergency vehicles can be exempt from some of the road traffic law as long as this does not put other road users in danger

http://www.rulesoftheroad.ie/respecting-other-road-users/other-road-users_emergency-services-vehicles.html

I'm not sure if the Bye Laws relating to traffic lights comes under this.

As for the OP, Garda as most definitely in the wrong, yer man was acting like a tit too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Am I the only one who thinks the OP is the "wanker" in the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Without use of a siren edging through red lights isnt the best idea in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Am I the only one who thinks the OP is the "wanker" in the video?

For the record, this is not my video, nor am I a 'freeman'. I came across this particular video when watching the 'freeman' stuff on youtube for a laugh. I'm not a wanker either (didn't know you could say that word without being censored!) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Having broken the lights and driven through a crossroads, they continued up the road at a most leisurely pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Hookah wrote: »
    The philosophy runs thus...

[...]

Thanks for the explanation :)

It's certainly an interesting school of thought, and I'd agree with it in many ways. It kind of reminds me of libertarianism but I'm guessing that one would never dream of identifying as the other!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Einstein wrote: »
    You give someone respect, they return that respect, regardless of the situation, it's Human Nature...

Regardless of whats happening in the UK...Police Service are all about "blah blah blah sir...yes sir, no sir...Calm down sir...." Polite polite polite. None of this "What f**kin speed do thinkg you were going at.., Do you have any braincells up there at all..?"

A lot (not all) of Gardaí Shickaloney should take a school tour across the pond and learn how to deal with people, preferably minus the chip on their shoulder.

you cannot seriously think that every police man /woman in the UK is perfect. Some of them are just as arrogant as our own gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

hondasam wrote: »
    you cannot seriously think that every police man /woman in the UK is perfect. Some of them are just as arrogant as our own gardai.
    I don't. But any I've spoken to, dealt with in the times I've been there they've all been very polite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Einstein wrote: »
    I don't. But any I've spoken to, dealt with in the times I've been there they've all been very polite.

The have their problems to ,No organisation will have a perfect record. There are a lot of polite gardai here as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

For the record, this is not my video, nor am I a 'freeman'. I came across this particular video when watching the 'freeman' stuff on youtube for a laugh. I'm not a wanker either (didn't know you could say that word without being censored!) :D

Fair enough! Just for the record I wasn't calling you a wanker, just quoting the video :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is very different from the shell to sea storm in that the guard disrespected an innocent man and belittled him in such a way as to insinuate the person wasn't going to be treated fairly and without bias. Nullify's anything that comes from the search in my books.