Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda calls man a "w4nker" whilst searching his home...

• 06-04-2011 8:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭

Following on from the Shell-to-sea controversy, here's another video showing Gardai conducting the search of a house. During this search, one of the Guards calls the resident a "w4nker" and insinuates that he is dole sponger.

What do ye think of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Fairplay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

He must have known him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Was that little crap plant one of em is holding all that they were after?

What a waste of time and money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Refugee from RealLife

If he is a bloke with a functioning penis there is a high probability that he is a wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

seems like a pretty accurate assessment. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Yep. That fella sounds like a w4nker alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭rednik

He was probably just pulling his (middle) leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭baker59

Don't really think anything of it. If you are trying to compare one guy calling another guy a wanker to a few guys joking that they will rape a girl, it's not serious at all.

A lot of people have been called a wanker, jokingly and seriously, and I can't imagine anyone went home shedding a tear about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I think the guy was Eastern European and his surname was 'Jerkov' so to be fair it was an easy mistake to make :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The Gardai weren't searching his house for drafts. He probably is a w@nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

OP is a wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

lol @ tomato plant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The guy in the video did actually sound like a wanker.

Heh, the Garda holding the plant didn't look impressed: "Is this it, after tearing this shìthole apart and ruining my morning?............"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

baker59 wrote: »
    A lot of people have been called a wanker, jokingly and seriously, and I can't imagine anyone went home shedding a tear about it.

I wouldn't see much of an issue there if it worked both ways,try going down your local station and calling one of them a w@nker and see what happens.
    This seems to be the general behaviour,they can say what they want but you can't open your mouth or you're "being smart"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭optogirl

I have to deal with a lot of people who i think are wan*ers in my job but I would never call them one because I would be sacked. Garda should have had more cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

I agree. Total wanker. It's my rights guard. I know the law guard. Constitutional rights. I'm up on the law, I am. => Arsehole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

wyndham wrote: »
    I agree. Total wanker. It's my rights guard. I know the law guard. Constitutional rights. I'm up on the law, I am. => Arsehole

Keep the Proletariat thick and therefore controllable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

By the sound of children in the background he should do more **** and less of the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Bus77II

The Guard thinks the unemployed control his tax.

The man thinks his son is growing tomatoes.

Zzzzz...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

See I think this is a perfect difference between the two recent examples.

Gardai in the car, in private, makes rape joke = fine as far as I'm concerned.

In this case he's facing a member of the public and his opinion needs to be kept to himself. I agree, the fella sounds like an ass and if the garda knows him he may very well be a wanker but that's irrelevant and it shouldn't have been said (although I imagine you'd want the patience of a saint at times to do that job).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,874 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

no big deal....

One night i was bringing in my motoring details to the cops and the language coming from behind the hatch was worse than anywhere else i had ever been, next thing a car pulled up and a crim ran in and politely asked me could he jump the queue as he only had to sign on, i said ok and he thanked me and was only 2 seconds signing on!
    So the politest person in the station that night was a criminal!

but then again he probably did rape or kill someone rather than joke about it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 bootsmcginty

this whole country is making me sick

He probably was a wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

He probably was a wanker.

I think he's a "freeman".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

pulled over by the guards
    driver...."if i called you a wanker would you arrest me "

guard ......."i would indeed sir"
    driver ....."if i thought you were a wanker would you arrest me"

guard .....".no i would,nt sir"

driver ...."ok so i think you are a wanker":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sample thread idea:

Male Guard Callously Breaks Wind In Canteen With Women Present And Creates Intimidating And Misogynist Environment That Smells Of Eggs And Cabbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I think he's a "freeman".

I've seen a few people mention this lately. What is a 'freeman' exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

I remember about 8 years ago being out walking with my children. As we were walking up the road we had watched a garda car pull up, two gardí get out and grab a lad of about 17/18 chap who was sauntering down the road. The two gardaí manhandled the lad into their garda car. I believe the phrase one garda used was "get into the ****ing car, yah little bollix of a bastard". Whatever they had reason to believe about the chap, he hadn't offered any resistance to getting into the car and didn't open his mouth or provoke them in any way.

So what was all that about! They weren't in the least bit bothered that I witnessed what happened or that my children saw and heard the incident. My oldest lad was about 6 at the time and was more able to process what he had seen than the other two. The day before I'd been telling him if he ever got lost that he should look to a garda for help or go into a shop and tell them he was lost. Straight after that incident he was quick enough to tell me that he'd prefer to go into a shop rather than approach a garda if he got lost.

If you are doing a job, you should behave appropriately. In some jobs you have to be more circumspect than in others and policing is one of those. It was drummed into us in school that while we were wearing the uniform we were representing the school. Woe betide you if word got back to the nuns of any shenannagins of one of their girls putting a foot out of line while in uniform even if it was out of school hours. Even moreso the same goes for the gardaí. While in uniform they have an image and position to uphold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

It's stupid know it all idiots thinking they can 'opt out' of the laws everyone is bound by.

LINKY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

cambo2008 wrote: »
    I wouldn't see much of an issue there if it worked both ways,try going down your local station and calling one of them a w@nker and see what happens.
    This seems to be the general behaviour,they can say what they want but you can't open your mouth or you're "being smart"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

www.tirnasaor.com

It's a whole group of **** with their own website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The best way to deal the Gaurds is to gently remind them that you pay their wages :D

dont even try it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Absolutely shocking.
    That plant will never survive being taken outside so quickly, it would have to be hardened off and acclimatised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Bus77II

stovelid wrote: »
    Sample thread idea:

Male Guard Callously Breaks Wind In Canteen With Women Present And Creates Intimidating And Misogynist Environment That Smells Of Eggs And Cabbage

Woman Guard Gets Search Warrant For College's Home And Finds Absolutely Nothing. Frighted Child Farts And Leads Them To The Cabbage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

RichieC wrote: »
    The best way to deal the Gaurds is to gently remind them that you pay their wages :D

Can't even do that anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

www.tirnasaor.com

See also, national association of neck beards, Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Why can't they be more like Horatio? Why????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

They are what used to be called "wasters".

Anyone who uses the phrase "i'm up on de law" is dodgy as ****. The cops aren't dropping in to perfectly innocent peoples houses to search them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Whatever about this video it is very common for the Gardai to act disrespectfully and non professionally towards the public. When contrasted to how the English police force conduct themselves in general when dealing with the public it is an absolute disgrace. Then people wonder why so many people don't have respect for An Garda Siochana. It's quite simple really, respect is a two way street.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Everyone in that clip is a wanker.

Except the kids making noise in the background.

But give them time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Gardai are just victims of bullying in school who look for revenge for their traumatic childhood.

Hate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

The philosophy runs thus...

Common law jurisdictions derive their law from British Law, which stretches back to the Magna Carta.

Common law was based around around the simple philosophy of causing no harm, loss or injury to another, and using no fraud in your dealings.

These laws cover a whole gamut of crimes, from theft to murder to burglary etc. and the freeman has no issue with these laws. They are for the common good.

Down the centuries various acts were introduced to govern society and it is with a lot of these statutes that the freeman has trouble. (if you're still reading please note that there is a distinction between the common law and statutory law)

The freeman sees these statutes as being detrimental to society, say the Misuse of drugs Act, or as being for the benefit of the ruling elite, say the laws governing finance, or the zoning of land, or tax laws, which various ruling elites have used and are now using to leach our country.

Judges have taken an oath to uphold the law. The freeman argues that this oath pertains to common law only.

Where a judge presides over a case covered by statutory legislation, say the issuing of a speeding fine, the freemen say that this is not in accordance with the judge's oath, nor the rule of the judiciary.

Similarly the freeman sees the role of the Gardai as upholders of the law, keepers of the peace if you will, and not as enforcers of statutory legislation, say the knocking down of someones door to capture a tomato plant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hookah

www.tirnasaor.com

I'm a member of that site.

Are you prepared to call me a wanker now?

And if not, why tar the whole membership of a website with the same brush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Typical Gardai, don’t think i have ever dealt with a useful one, im sure there are decent ones but ive only met idiots, they have no respect and rightly so.

New York police or even British police get alot of respect because they conduct themselves more professionally in general.

AH Answer – He was probably a wan*er

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

shblob wrote: »
    Gardai are just victims of bullying in school who look for revenge for their traumatic childhood.

I always thought that. Anybody I went to school with that became a guard where always the quiet ones that craved some authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Following on from the Shell-to-sea controversy, here's another video showing Gardai conducting the search of a house. During this search, one of the Guards calls the resident a "w4nker" and insinuates that he is dole sponger.

I think the gaurd in play suffers from cretinism or some other disease or condition affecting mental capacity and ability to act in a professional manner, well in my opinion anyway :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭TheRevolution

The guy whose recording sounds like a complete tosser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

The guy whose recording sounds like a complete tosser.

true the guy is probaly a *****r but no one can say the gaurd acted professionally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

It's not acceptable for a Garda to call a member of the public a "wanker". Part of the problem of Irish society is a massive lack of respect for each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

I'm so glad I'm not a Guard, I'd have been done for asault after shoving that tomato plant up his hole.....