Does swearing bother you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

stovelid wrote: »
    That's not always the case.

I can express myself perfectly well but I swear and don't object to swearing in others.

I can only vouch for myself, but in the vast majority of cases when one swears little if anything of intelligence is actually communicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Jakkass wrote: »
    I can only vouch for myself, but in the vast majority of cases when one swears little if anything of intelligence is actually communicated.

Only when you swear? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I don't fuppin care ya backstard.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Kiith wrote: »
    Pretty much this. I curse a fair bit, but usually not in regular conversation. In annoyance, or delight at time, it's fine. The only word i'm not allowed use is **** (the 'C' word). I get in trouble with women for that...which made watching Deadwood a painful experience.

You get in 'trouble' with women for someone else saying 'сunt' on TV? There's probably a term for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

I throw ''cnut'' around like nobody's business. ''I'm gonna make a cnuting cup of tea''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Crap - Derived from the word Crapper "Thomas Crapper" who started a major business building domestic toilets.

F*ck - Derived from the name of a plane used in WWI "here comes the Fokkers now"

B*stard - already has its own meaning

First two are urban myths but entertaining stories all the same.

You'll come across bastard in legal books. Mostly to do with family law and disputes over inheritance and illegitimate children claiming.
    Not something you'd say in court realy but do a law course and write an essay and you may well use it. Just a term, that's all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

no and ive a mouth like a sailors parrot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Saruman wrote: »
    Words can't be bad, they are simply words.
    Niggger, paki, gook?

Il'd agree with most here that swearing's fine unless it's excessive - and even then it's irritating rather than offensive. It sounds worse when it's coming from women, doubly so when they have a Northside accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

chin_grin wrote: »
    Watch this. That is all. :pac:

Top 5 worst movies i've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Crap - Derived from the word Crapper "Thomas Crapper" who started a major business building domestic toilets.

F*ck - Derived from the name of a plane used in WWI "here comes the Fokkers now"

Absolute bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Correct and they are all "made up" .. by us!

B*stard - already has its own meaning

B*tch - again already has its own meaning

However offending these words may be to you they are made up and you just take offence to the context in which they are used.

So bugger off ! :D

I'm pretty sure fcuk was in use LONG before WW1. I don't know what it origins are. There seem to be multiple explanations but it dates back centuries, maybe even the 12th or 13th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

It doesn't bother me but ****s like Wayne Rooney shouldn't be screaming it on live afternoon tv either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    It doesn't bother me but ****s like Wayne Rooney shouldn't be screaming it on live afternoon tv either.

I'd love to see your reaction after scoring a hat trick and bringing your team on step closer to the title. He was so emotional after 70 or so minutes bringing his team back into the game and just lost control. He did it, he apologised, time for people to get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

First two are urban myths but entertaining stories all the same.

You'll come across bastard in legal books. Mostly to do with family law and disputes over inheritance and illegitimate children claiming.
    Not something you'd say in court realy but do a law course and write an essay and you may well use it. Just a term, that's all

In Holland going to the supermarket can be an entertaining experience. You can buy 4 of what we would call frankfurters in a jar except the label on the jar reads "4 Knackers" and white sugar has "Bastard Sugar" printed on the bag :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Now that's what I call a load of bollocks!

The word is way ****ing older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I'd love to see your reaction after scoring a hat trick and bringing your team on step closer to the title. He was so emotional after 70 or so minutes bringing his team back into the game and just lost control. He did it, he apologised, time for people to get over it.

He is a knacker. Emotional my bollocks. He is only emotional when he looks at his bank balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

Can someone please explain to me when to use the different spellings of bollix, bollocks and bollox. There seems to be a difference depending on whether you are referring to someone or something.

Such as:

"He's a complete bollix."

"I never heard such a load of fucking bollocks in all my life.

"Bollox to that!"

:confused::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Can someone please explain to me when to use the different spellings of bollix, bollocks and bollox. There seems to be a difference depending on whether you are referring to someone or something.

Such as:

"He's a complete bollix."

"I never heard such a load of fucking bollocks in all my life.

"Bollox to that!"

:confused::D

Bollocks would be used by a thick garda from Leitrim dispersing protesters.

Bollix would be used by a little skobie wearing a Celtic Jersey and with a basecall cap perched on his suspiciously small head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

Ride me sideways was another one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Now that's what I call a load of bollocks!

The word is way ****ing older.

Where does it come from then. Ive heard other possible "urban legends" as to where it has come from.

Was recorded in 1503 I do see here upon reading into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭policarp

Swearing is a form of attention seeking IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Niggger, paki, gook?

Il'd agree with most here that swearing's fine unless it's excessive - and even then it's irritating rather than offensive. It sounds worse when it's coming from women, doubly so when they have a Northside accent.

To be honest, yes... They are only words and it is only peoples perception of those words that makes a difference.

There is a difference though. The words you mentioned are personally offensive to certain ethnic groups because they imply the person saying them to be superior and the person being offended as pretty much not worth the air they breath.

On the other hand saying a regular swear like fúck or bítch are simply words that are not offensive in the same way and are simply words that mean something else.

Given enough time, most words we see as swearing these days will not be offensive at all and probably there will be new words that are offensive.

Gay is a good example. It was not that long ago that calling someone gay was simply remarking how happy they were. Or the word ****** simply meant a bunch of sticks.
    Now both are seen as offensive language simply because peoples perceptions of them changed and the meaning has been altered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I reckon Rooney just saw himself reflected in the camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

FUCK no

its good for adding emphasis to things

but saying it for nearly every second word is lame, a bit like the overuse of memes :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Swearing is the new Irish Language It gets taught on the playground in schools and by the time people go onto college they are well more than fluent in it. I say fook the Gaelic and get this new language taught as a leaving cert subject. ****INGA+ Honours all the way for everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭PandyAndy

Where does it come from then. Ive heard other possible "urban legends" as to where it has come from.

Was recorded in 1503 I do see here upon reading into it.

Not sure of the century, but it stood for 'Fornicate Under the Command of the King'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

PandyAndy wrote: »
    Not sure of the century, but it stood for 'Fornicate Under the Command of the King'.

Another I heard was it was sued to describe rapists; forced unclean carnal knowledge.
    I think it may have a dutch origin (no surprise there).
    Apparently the c word comes from a word for rabbit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

PandyAndy wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭ColmDawson

Fuck, cunt, shit, piss, bollocks.

These are all excellent words, full of history and character, which ought to be relished. As usual, Stephen Fry puts it better than I can:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

no