Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does swearing bother you?

• 06-04-2011 8:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,664 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I decided not to post this in the soccer forum but to go for a wider audience here. I’m expecting the typical AH response (hey – isn’t that what AH is for?), but for once it could be enlightening….

This is of course about what Rooney shouted into a camera at the weekend. In case anybody didn’t hear – he said “****ing”. I read an interesting article over on soccernet about it. In 1965 Kenneth Tynan became the first person to say “****” on british television :
    I doubt if there are any rational people to whom the word '****' would be particularly diabolical, revolting or totally forbidden

I think the key word here is “rational”. TBH, I’ve never met someone with a serious issue with swear words who I would describe as rational. Isn’t it about time we all grew up a bit?

The key argument with the FA is that Rooney should be a role model to all the kids watching. Apart from the obvious that someone like Rooney should never be a role model, do they think that’s the first time any kid has heard that word? Why do parents always try and stop their kids from saying “bold” words? If we didn’t make such a big deal of it, they probably wouldn’t say it.

And making a big deal of it is what gives swear words their “power”. Marking one set of words as appropriate and another as not is just ridiculous. I never get offended when someone swears. To be honest, I just see it as emphasis. And I believe there is times when it is appropriate. Last night when I over hit a pass that turned a golden opportunity into an easy clearance for the keeper, I shouted “****”. I can assure you that shouting “Darn it all to heck.” would not have been the same level of venting, and would not have conveyed the same level of feeling.

I’ll finish by going back to the Tynan quote. He says “particularly diabolical”. Even if you are offended by swearing, is it that big a deal? It’s not like we’re ever going to eradicate swearing from the language. Surely we should just accept that the cat is out of the bag and get on with our day?

Do you get upset by swearing on TV? 200 votes

Who ****ing cares?
    0% 0 votes
    Mummy says you mustn’t swear.
    100% 200 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

The fuck it does!!

ehm, political correctness and all that...

Not that much but excessive use of it probably would

rooney yelling it that way - nah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

Does suck my balls count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Watch this. That is all. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

It bothers me if its in front of young kids.
    It bothers me if its nearly every second word when its really unnecessary.
    It bothers me if its towards someone that is genuine/innocent and deserves better respect.

Generally, other than that, its natural to emit some form of expression to instant reactionary circumstances or at a long term condition that causes continuing anger/frustration/etc...

We're human, not perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I fooking love to have a good cunting swear every now and again*

*now and again constitutes 5 fooking seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

And another thing, who decided that swear words were 'bad'???
    Nothing wrong with them imo, they are just words after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Swearing has a place in adult conversations. Adults who never swear remind me of the Flanders (Simpsons, not Flemings) and we all know the respect these types get.

Ahem, . . .weirdos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I swear

by the moon and the stars in the sky, I'll be there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

kfallon wrote: »
    And another thing, who decided that swear words were 'bad'???
    Nothing wrong with them imo, they are just words after all!

Correct and they are all "made up" .. by us!

Crap - Derived from the word Crapper "Thomas Crapper" who started a major business building domestic toilets.

F*ck - Derived from the name of a plane used in WWI "here comes the Fokkers now"

B*stard - already has its own meaning

B*tch - again already has its own meaning

However offending these words may be to you they are made up and you just take offence to the context in which they are used.

So bugger off ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i agree with biggins....

i ****ing agree with biggins.....

meh both work...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭Squirm

I swear a bit and have no issue with other people doing so unless:#
    they are swearing at their children or around children in general or unless they seem to swear five times per sentence for no reason.

I know a few people who swear constantly in front of their kids and now their children also swear. It sounds disgusting and is setting the kids up for trouble in the future, which isn't entirely their fault. I don't think telling children not to swear, makes them swear more. If they don't hear those words they don't learn them, so role model.

Some swear words are offensive by definition or because of what they mean. For example, the work 'fcuk' was the old legal term for rape and stood for Full Unlawful Carnal Knowledge and, gradually got drawn into the swear word lexicon.

I can't say I think Rooney swearing at the cameras is a particularly big deal but I suppose if it is adding to the already grim public image of soccer and soccer fans/players and, if young people are buying into that, then it obviously would be preferable that they try to maintain better composure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Biggins wrote: »

Have you ever heard young kids talking to eachother? They swear a lot more than us adults do!

I don't mind swearing except where it's unnecessary - I had a friend once who used to say f**k instead of "eh" or "emm" i.e. I'm f**king going to the shop to buy f**king milk. It was really annoying.

...As for Rooney swearing, very young kids might have been just left wondering why Shrek was using strange words on their telly! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,257 ✭✭✭✭Penn

**** no.

Newaglish wrote: »
    Have you ever heard young kids talking to eachother? They swear a lot more than us adults do!
    I have heard kids swearing.
    Babies however when born do not have a ready vocalism inbuilt into their DNA.
    They learn from those around them as they grow. As the period of between birth and 6/7 years old is the greatest period of mental absorption of knowledge gained through hearing and seeing, what they pick up and how often it should be applied, comes from those around them, namely older humans.

I disagree that ALL or a majority of kids swear more so than adults. Some certainly do but so far, I have yet to find them in the majority - thankfully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Meh... swearing is only swearing because some people say it is.

Words can't be bad, they are simply words.

All a load of boll0x.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nope.

I do swear a bit too much myself though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Doesnt bother me at all. Most of our swear words relate to sex and genitals. I find derogatory words like ******, ******, paki, etc way more offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

STOP FUCKING CURSING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭XcupcakeX

I don't see the huge problem people have with swearing, although as already stated in other posts, I don't think its acceptable in front of young children.
    I definitely try to watch my language in front of my son.
    Certain situations almost force me to swear though...... The main one is playing halo online.
    " how the f*ck did that kill me? F*ck off"
    That game definitely brings out the less eloquent side of my vocabulary ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

I think the key word here is “rational”. TBH, I’ve never met someone with a serious issue with swear words who I would describe as rational. Isn’t it about time we all grew up a bit?

Good post.

Personally, I don't like it in public conversation. I think there are enough words in the English language that can be used.

Also, the words in effect become absolutely meaningless due to their continued re-use.

Swear words diminish the intelligence that an actual individual may have in conversation. People come across as being less rational infact.

On a boards.ie level it doesn't do anyone any favours when they are debating or discussing something either as it is easily preferrable to present an argument rather than use ad-hominems etc.

Although I must say it was a habit of mine for a long time, and it can become just a regular habit rather than an intentional use sometimes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Biggins wrote: »
    It bothers me if its nearly every second word when its really unnecessary.
    It bothers me if its towards someone that is genuine/innocent and deserves better respect.

Pretty much this. I curse a fair bit, but usually not in regular conversation. In annoyance, or delight at time, it's fine. The only word i'm not allowed use is **** (the 'C' word). I get in trouble with women for that...which made watching Deadwood a painful experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Doesn't bother me but doesn't impress me either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Swampy wrote: »
    Does suck my balls count?
    yum yum :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Jakkass wrote: »

Swear words diminish the intelligence that an actual individual may have in conversation.

That's not always the case.

I can express myself perfectly well but I swear and don't object to swearing in others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Anyone who is in AH and offended by swearing, really shouldn't be here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

When I swear I can keep talking and give myself more time to think... :pac:

Kiith wrote: »
    ...which made watching Deadwood a painful experience.

Shut the frak up or Wu and "Swiggin'" will be feedin' ya to their pigs! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

It was always called cursing around me.
    I use the words shiit and fcuk and fcking very regularly. I tend to use them instead of other words like "whoops" >> I say "shiit" - used if I knocked something over, or forgot to do something.
    Instead of "oh my God", I often say "Fcking hell!"
    I also often use the expression, "fcuk that, not a hope" instead of "that sucks"

The cnut word is also not majorly offensive where I'm from. I don't know if it is in just some counties or areas of counties that it is seen as mega offensive.
    I actually only discovered a few years years ago whilst living away that it was seen as very offensive by some people, when a girl I was sharing with split her sides laughing, but was also really shocked when I used it to describe someone in a jokey way. She was like, "you can't say THAT!",
    me> "why not?"
    her> "if you said that in the states to someone, you'd probably get thumped"
    me> "alrighty then that's abit weird, but sure hey I'm not in the states,!"
    I then thought it was only in America that it was really offensive for some reason, but have seen discussions about it here on Boards, where quite alot of people hate it.
    I've never met someone [apart from the girl I lived with] who had any problem with the word, but from being made more aware that it is offensive to some, I don't use the word infront of people I don't know very well.
    It is fairly common among friends towards both men and women though, for some expressions like "ya feckin cnut, or ya wee cnut" to be said laughing and joking. If I was saying in a serious way, I would say it with much more venom, and say fcuking cnut, instead of feckin cnut.

So aside from the regular enough usage of the words shiit and fcuk said in exclamation about something, I don't curse that much, and not really during just a regular conversation.

I never ever curse in front of children, and I really hate to see children cursing. I'm not sure why that is exactly because I don't have a problem with cursing in general, but it just seems weird and wrong for a young child to be cursing. Probably just because we were taught that it is wrong.

I also never curse whilst speaking to someone in authority, like I would never curse infront of a lecturer, or of a boss. I actively keep a check on my language.
    I curse more in informal settings with friends.

Oh, and on Boards of course!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

stovelid wrote: »
    That's not always the case.

I can express myself perfectly well but I swear and don't object to swearing in others.

I can only vouch for myself, but in the vast majority of cases when one swears little if anything of intelligence is actually communicated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Jakkass wrote: »
    I can only vouch for myself, but in the vast majority of cases when one swears little if anything of intelligence is actually communicated.

Only when you swear? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I don't fuppin care ya backstard.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,925 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Kiith wrote: »
    Pretty much this. I curse a fair bit, but usually not in regular conversation. In annoyance, or delight at time, it's fine. The only word i'm not allowed use is **** (the 'C' word). I get in trouble with women for that...which made watching Deadwood a painful experience.

You get in 'trouble' with women for someone else saying 'сunt' on TV? There's probably a term for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

I throw ''cnut'' around like nobody's business. ''I'm gonna make a cnuting cup of tea''.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Crap - Derived from the word Crapper "Thomas Crapper" who started a major business building domestic toilets.

F*ck - Derived from the name of a plane used in WWI "here comes the Fokkers now"

First two are urban myths but entertaining stories all the same.

You'll come across bastard in legal books. Mostly to do with family law and disputes over inheritance and illegitimate children claiming.
    Not something you'd say in court realy but do a law course and write an essay and you may well use it. Just a term, that's all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

no and ive a mouth like a sailors parrot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Saruman wrote: »
    Words can't be bad, they are simply words.
    Niggger, paki, gook?

Il'd agree with most here that swearing's fine unless it's excessive - and even then it's irritating rather than offensive. It sounds worse when it's coming from women, doubly so when they have a Northside accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

chin_grin wrote: »
    Watch this. That is all. :pac:

Top 5 worst movies i've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Absolute bollox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Correct and they are all "made up" .. by us!

B*tch - again already has its own meaning

However offending these words may be to you they are made up and you just take offence to the context in which they are used.

So bugger off ! :D

I'm pretty sure fcuk was in use LONG before WW1. I don't know what it origins are. There seem to be multiple explanations but it dates back centuries, maybe even the 12th or 13th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

It doesn't bother me but ****s like Wayne Rooney shouldn't be screaming it on live afternoon tv either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    It doesn't bother me but ****s like Wayne Rooney shouldn't be screaming it on live afternoon tv either.

I'd love to see your reaction after scoring a hat trick and bringing your team on step closer to the title. He was so emotional after 70 or so minutes bringing his team back into the game and just lost control. He did it, he apologised, time for people to get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

First two are urban myths but entertaining stories all the same.

You'll come across bastard in legal books. Mostly to do with family law and disputes over inheritance and illegitimate children claiming.
    Not something you'd say in court realy but do a law course and write an essay and you may well use it. Just a term, that's all

In Holland going to the supermarket can be an entertaining experience. You can buy 4 of what we would call frankfurters in a jar except the label on the jar reads "4 Knackers" and white sugar has "Bastard Sugar" printed on the bag :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Retrovertigo

Now that's what I call a load of bollocks!

The word is way ****ing older.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I'd love to see your reaction after scoring a hat trick and bringing your team on step closer to the title. He was so emotional after 70 or so minutes bringing his team back into the game and just lost control. He did it, he apologised, time for people to get over it.

He is a knacker. Emotional my bollocks. He is only emotional when he looks at his bank balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

Can someone please explain to me when to use the different spellings of bollix, bollocks and bollox. There seems to be a difference depending on whether you are referring to someone or something.

Such as:

"He's a complete bollix."

"I never heard such a load of fucking bollocks in all my life.

"Bollox to that!"

:confused::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Can someone please explain to me when to use the different spellings of bollix, bollocks and bollox. There seems to be a difference depending on whether you are referring to someone or something.

Such as:

"He's a complete bollix."

"I never heard such a load of fucking bollocks in all my life.

"Bollox to that!"

:confused::D

Bollocks would be used by a thick garda from Leitrim dispersing protesters.

Bollix would be used by a little skobie wearing a Celtic Jersey and with a basecall cap perched on his suspiciously small head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

Ride me sideways was another one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Now that's what I call a load of bollocks!

The word is way ****ing older.

Where does it come from then. Ive heard other possible "urban legends" as to where it has come from.

Was recorded in 1503 I do see here upon reading into it.