If you could get rid of ONE thing in the......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

(I was actually alive in the 80's but not for long)

Why what happened that is wasn't for long??? Did you die? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Smug atheists.
    We're only smug 'cos we right all the time! ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

mobile phones.
    I love to be alive in the 80's to experience life before all this technology (I was actually alive in the 80's but not for long)

YOu know how I got in touch with my friends in the 80's? I called round to their houses...IMAGINE!! If their mother told me they were out, I went off out myself and found them and we chatted and mucked about for hours rather than being indvidually cooped up in our respective bedrooms, sealed off from the world and texting or messaging each other in some chat room. If I went to the pub after lectures in the late 80's the considerate thing to do was to drop 20p into the pub payphone and ring home telling my ma I was having a few scoops with mates and so not to wait up and not to make a dinner for me or put a plate of meat and spuds to the side and I'd eat it when I got home. She would have no way of contacting me, you see.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I'd get rid of them.

YOu know how I got in touch with my friends in the 80's? I called round to their houses...IMAGINE!! If their mother told me they were out, I went off out myself and found them and we chatted and mucked about for hours rather than being indvidually cooped up in our respective bedrooms, sealed off from the world and texting or messaging each other in some chat room. If I went to the pub after lectures in the late 80's the considerate thing to do was to drop 20p into the pub payphone and ring home telling my ma I was having a few scoops with mates and so not to wait up and not to make a dinner for me or put a plate of meat and spuds to the side and I'd eat it when I got home. She would have no way of contacting me, you see.

A friend has taken to calling/texting from her mobile when she's standing outside the fcuking house. I asked her why she won't use the doorbell - that's what it's there for - shrug.
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Was that the same thing as turning up when you said you were going to turn up, and being on time, and not texting that you'll be 20 mins late... all that sorta thing. I bloody well remember it well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Was that the same thing as turning up when you said you were going to turn up, and being on time, and not texting that you'll be 20 mins late... all that sorta thing. I bloody well remember it well ;)

Indeed. I was usually late when meeting my college mate at Trinity Front gate. But usually he anticipated this and nipped into O'Neills on Sufflok Str. for a swift ale. If when I arrived at front gate and he wasn't there then the pub was the logical default. Never missed each other on a night in four years. Can you imagine taking the mobiles off a group of punks today and then having them organise meeting up for a night on the town. Feckers would be screwed. Even if they did manage to all get together (probably take an hour) they'd be frightened to even go to the jacks or dance with a girl for fear of not being able to find the group again through frantic texting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

The X-Factor!

Scripted, auto-tuned, predictable tripe.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 24,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Fake tan, or the people who use it so much, they turn orange.

Indeed. I was usually late when meeting my college mate at Trinity Front gate. But usually he anticipated this and nipped into O'Neills on Sufflok Str. for a swift ale. If when I arrived at front gate and he wasn't there then the pub was the logical default. Never missed each other on a night in four years. Can you imagine taking the mobiles off a group of punks today and then having them organise meeting up for a night on the town. Feckers would be screwed. Even if they did manage to all get together (probably take an hour) they'd be frightened to even go to the jacks or dance with a girl for fear of not being able to find the group again through frantic texting.

Yep, the good ol "if we get seperated spot" we always had one, it just made sense... Even now when I'm out, if my phone goes, I rarely hear it. My view is, is that I'm out with friends, and taking a phone call while I'm with those friends sorta diminishes the fact that I'm with them and not who ever is calling/texting me...

I'm with ya, lets get rid of mobiles!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The Thanks button in After Hours.

<awaits Thanks> :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Miss World Answer
    Suffering

Real Answer
    Bounty Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Scangers and scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The weather. I'd like it to be weather-less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Irrational beliefs in deities.

Wouldn't you cease to exist?

Facebook, this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Rat bastards.

Aye, let's put forward a mandate!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

nicmarie wrote: »
    paedophiles!

Sexy kids.

Treat the cause not the symptoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭grumula

strobe wrote: »
    Sexy kids.

Treat the cause not the symptoms.

dirty long coat, bushy beard, greasy hair, milk bottle glasses.............
    what is it about that image that kids find so damn sexy?????

(paraphrased from frankie boyle)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Apolloyon

Grey's Anatomy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Da_Viper

Smug atheists.
    Biggins wrote: »
    We're only smug 'cos we right all the time! ;):D

Maybe so but you know the phrase "Ignorance is bliss?"
    Statistics show atheists are more likely to suffer from depression and suicide.

Not having a pop but I can say I'm quite happy keeping an open mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Was gonna quote jackiebaron, but cba.

Id get rid of the thunderdome, that place drives me nuts.

Or knackers/chavs.

Any fucker that tucks his pants into his socks = GONZO.

Da_Viper wrote: »

It's 99% true, and as everyone knows 72% of the time, statistics are accurate 94% of the time. But of course 81% of all people know that. lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

So even if God does exist he is a vindictive b*stard who will inflict conditions like that on those who do not believe in him?....I would do away with him so.

If he doesn't exist I will settle for doing away with women with out of control facial hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Atheism is the new Buddhism, it's seen to be enlightened if you pronounce yourself as such and with that of course comes a sense of superiority, better than the herd, which is why they spout on about 'natural selection' so much, no doubt with a smirk on their faces as of course, as it refers to those they see as being beneath them, with regards to evolution at least.

In large part I think people are falling over themselves to tell us all that they are atheists as what it does in effect is distance themselves from religion. A thread was started not so long about what happens after we die and some of the comments in that were laughable. People seem to think the birth of spirituality and a belief in an after life stems from orignised religions and it most certainly does not. They (smug atheists) also tend to throw the word 'science' around is if the word somehow obliterated all possibility of a spiritual world (for want of a better phrase). Not only that but it would also suggest that there couldn't possibly be scientists who are spiritual, which of course is a also a nonsense.

Not sure if you have seen it, but there is a docu/movie on at the cinema at the moment called: CAVE OF FORGOTTEN DREAMS (3D) and I would really recommend it. It's about the Chauvet cave in France, where explorers discovered hundreds of cave drawings of animals by man over 30,000 years ago. What these scientists discovered was that there was without question a sense of spirituality with these people but that wasn't what I took away from the film in fact. What struck me most of all was how spiritual these scientists had become as a result of working on it.

So when I see people waffling on about how they are men & women of science and that they question the sanity of anyone who is spiritual or has a belief that there is an after life in a way, I feel sad for them - as what they are doing is cutting themselves off from being human. They are in effect creating a new religion, just as suppressive as the Islamic faith or Catholicism, as what it suppresses is the right for humans to have *some* beliefs based on human instinct and human intuition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

mobile phones.
    I love to be alive in the 80's to experience life before all this technology (I was actually alive in the 80's but not for long)
    i rember the days before mobiles and computers ah great days indeed people actually spoke to each other in person and you diden have to listen to people on the bus train or in restaurants gabbing away on their mobies or stuck into lap tops and unfortunatley im doing it too it does have lots of advantages but id love to have some of the ol days back. Now wheres my pipe:D:D:D

Atheism is the new Buddhism, it's seen to be enlightened if you pronounce yourself as such and with that of course comes a sense of superiority, better than the herd, which is why they spout on about 'natural selection' so much, no doubt with a smirk on their faces as of course, as it refers to those they see as being beneath them, with regards to evolution at least.

In large part I think people are falling over themselves to tell us all that they are atheists as what it does in effect is distance themselves from religion. A thread was started not so long about what happens after we die and some of the comments in that were laughable. People seem to think the birth of spirituality and a belief in an after life stems from orignised religions and it most certainly does not. They (smug atheists) also tend to throw the word 'science' around is if the word somehow obliterated all possibility of a spiritual world (for want of a better phrase). Not only that but it would also suggest that there couldn't possibly be scientists who are spiritual, which of course is a also a nonsense.

Not sure if you have seen it, but there is a docu/movie on at the cinema at the moment called: CAVE OF FORGOTTEN DREAMS (3D) and I would really recommend it. It's about the Chauvet cave in France, where explorers discovered hundreds of cave drawings of animals by man over 30,000 years ago. What these scientists discovered was that there was without question a sense of spirituality with these people but that wasn't what I took away from the film in fact. What struck me most of all was how spiritual these scientists had become as a result of working on it.

So when I see people waffling on about how they are men & women of science and that they question the sanity of anyone who is spiritual or has a belief that there is an after life in a way, I feel sad for them - as what they are doing is cutting themselves off from being human. They are in effect creating a new religion, just as suppressive as the Islamic faith or Catholicism, as what it suppresses is the right for humans to have *some* beliefs based on human instinct and human intuition.

Must.....not.....be....smug..... Resist.... urge..... to.. point... out.... inaccuracies... :pac:

No one comes off as smug and conceited as you when discussing any of the above themes Pete. The annoying thing is that you can't even see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Katie Price... Or Kerry Katona... Or the fuckers that keep buying magazines with their mugs on the covers...
    Dont stop there ...

Ban them for every reality tv , tv chat show , interview till we forget they even existed ...and a hundred more like them