Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If you could get rid of ONE thing in the......

• 06-04-2011 2:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

If you could get rid of ONE thing in the world, apart from anything violent in any way or even anything natural, what would you get rid of???

Mine?
    Simple answer: Facebook..(There would be no more talk about it. It would be a dream come true).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

If you could get rid of ONE thing in the world, apart from anything violent in any way or even anything natural, what would you get rid of???

Mine?
    Simple answer: Facebook..(There would be no more talk about it. It would be a dream come true).

you would get rid of facebook but keep boards, what is the difference ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Paddy_Smith

hondasam wrote: »
    you would get rid of facebook but keep boards, what is the difference ?
    Well to be honest, there actually is a difference. Not going to go into it though, too tired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Irrational beliefs in deities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

Mine?

Wow, you really, really don't like facebook.

I'd get rid of anyone wearing pyjamas in public. Not really one thing, but in getting rid of all those eejits I'd be getting rid of one ridiculous fad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'd get rid of accidentally biting the inside of your own cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

mobile phones.
    I love to be alive in the 80's to experience life before all this technology (I was actually alive in the 80's but not for long)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

greed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Smug atheists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Katie Price... Or Kerry Katona... Or the fuckers that keep buying magazines with their mugs on the covers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭kieran26

the countrys debt?????

anyone??

ok i'll get my coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The second law of thermodynamics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭crazypanda

Alarm clocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It's not a case of soon, it's a case of rape be aberrant.

I looked that up, and my little head still can't understand it... :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭nicmarie

paedophiles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

My hatred of using squat toilets, had the most satisfying dump ever on one a few days ago, but they just look...wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

politicians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Caoimhín wrote: »

You're right. Whatever about the Atkins one, that F-plan one was a complete fcuking farce.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Smug atheists.

I'll see your smug atheists, and I'll raise you two smug married couples.

Poverty.

No, actually strike that, War... aah who am I trying to fcuking kid? I'd get rid of the foil on Dairylea, DairyGold, DairyYoreMa or any spread in a tub.:mad:

Why do I just keep peeling it back a little bit instead of ripping the fcuker off from the word get-go?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

the lack of zombies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,162 ✭✭✭Kiva.D

hondasam wrote: »
    politicians
    I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

The idea of Reality tv shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Jedward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

Nuclear power in Japan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Complacency.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Religion

and money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Smug atheists.

And correct people generally?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Those f*cking Go Compare ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

(I was actually alive in the 80's but not for long)

Why what happened that is wasn't for long??? Did you die? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Smug atheists.
    We're only smug 'cos we right all the time! ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

mobile phones.
    I love to be alive in the 80's to experience life before all this technology (I was actually alive in the 80's but not for long)

YOu know how I got in touch with my friends in the 80's? I called round to their houses...IMAGINE!! If their mother told me they were out, I went off out myself and found them and we chatted and mucked about for hours rather than being indvidually cooped up in our respective bedrooms, sealed off from the world and texting or messaging each other in some chat room. If I went to the pub after lectures in the late 80's the considerate thing to do was to drop 20p into the pub payphone and ring home telling my ma I was having a few scoops with mates and so not to wait up and not to make a dinner for me or put a plate of meat and spuds to the side and I'd eat it when I got home. She would have no way of contacting me, you see.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

I'd get rid of them.

YOu know how I got in touch with my friends in the 80's? I called round to their houses...IMAGINE!! If their mother told me they were out, I went off out myself and found them and we chatted and mucked about for hours rather than being indvidually cooped up in our respective bedrooms, sealed off from the world and texting or messaging each other in some chat room. If I went to the pub after lectures in the late 80's the considerate thing to do was to drop 20p into the pub payphone and ring home telling my ma I was having a few scoops with mates and so not to wait up and not to make a dinner for me or put a plate of meat and spuds to the side and I'd eat it when I got home. She would have no way of contacting me, you see.

A friend has taken to calling/texting from her mobile when she's standing outside the fcuking house. I asked her why she won't use the doorbell - that's what it's there for - shrug.
    :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Was that the same thing as turning up when you said you were going to turn up, and being on time, and not texting that you'll be 20 mins late... all that sorta thing. I bloody well remember it well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Was that the same thing as turning up when you said you were going to turn up, and being on time, and not texting that you'll be 20 mins late... all that sorta thing. I bloody well remember it well ;)

Indeed. I was usually late when meeting my college mate at Trinity Front gate. But usually he anticipated this and nipped into O'Neills on Sufflok Str. for a swift ale. If when I arrived at front gate and he wasn't there then the pub was the logical default. Never missed each other on a night in four years. Can you imagine taking the mobiles off a group of punks today and then having them organise meeting up for a night on the town. Feckers would be screwed. Even if they did manage to all get together (probably take an hour) they'd be frightened to even go to the jacks or dance with a girl for fear of not being able to find the group again through frantic texting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

The X-Factor!

Scripted, auto-tuned, predictable tripe.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Fake tan, or the people who use it so much, they turn orange.

Indeed. I was usually late when meeting my college mate at Trinity Front gate. But usually he anticipated this and nipped into O'Neills on Sufflok Str. for a swift ale. If when I arrived at front gate and he wasn't there then the pub was the logical default. Never missed each other on a night in four years. Can you imagine taking the mobiles off a group of punks today and then having them organise meeting up for a night on the town. Feckers would be screwed. Even if they did manage to all get together (probably take an hour) they'd be frightened to even go to the jacks or dance with a girl for fear of not being able to find the group again through frantic texting.

Yep, the good ol "if we get seperated spot" we always had one, it just made sense... Even now when I'm out, if my phone goes, I rarely hear it. My view is, is that I'm out with friends, and taking a phone call while I'm with those friends sorta diminishes the fact that I'm with them and not who ever is calling/texting me...

I'm with ya, lets get rid of mobiles!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

The Thanks button in After Hours.

<awaits Thanks> :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Miss World Answer
    Suffering

Real Answer
    Bounty Bars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Scangers and scumbags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The weather. I'd like it to be weather-less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Caoimhín wrote: »

Wouldn't you cease to exist?

Facebook, this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Rat bastards.

Aye, let's put forward a mandate!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

nicmarie wrote: »
    paedophiles!