Garda calls man a "w4nker" whilst searching his home...

• 06-04-2011 09:34AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭

Following on from the Shell-to-sea controversy, here's another video showing Gardai conducting the search of a house. During this search, one of the Guards calls the resident a "w4nker" and insinuates that he is dole sponger.

What do ye think of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Fairplay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭DundalkDuffman

He must have known him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

Was that little crap plant one of em is holding all that they were after?

What a waste of time and money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Refugee from RealLife

If he is a bloke with a functioning penis there is a high probability that he is a wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

seems like a pretty accurate assessment. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭Swampy

Yep. That fella sounds like a w4nker alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭rednik

He was probably just pulling his (middle) leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭baker59

Don't really think anything of it. If you are trying to compare one guy calling another guy a wanker to a few guys joking that they will rape a girl, it's not serious at all.

A lot of people have been called a wanker, jokingly and seriously, and I can't imagine anyone went home shedding a tear about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I think the guy was Eastern European and his surname was 'Jerkov' so to be fair it was an easy mistake to make :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

The Gardai weren't searching his house for drafts. He probably is a w@nker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

OP is a wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

lol @ tomato plant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The guy in the video did actually sound like a wanker.

Heh, the Garda holding the plant didn't look impressed: "Is this it, after tearing this shìthole apart and ruining my morning?............"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

baker59 wrote: »
    A lot of people have been called a wanker, jokingly and seriously, and I can't imagine anyone went home shedding a tear about it.

I wouldn't see much of an issue there if it worked both ways,try going down your local station and calling one of them a w@nker and see what happens.
    This seems to be the general behaviour,they can say what they want but you can't open your mouth or you're "being smart"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭optogirl

I have to deal with a lot of people who i think are wan*ers in my job but I would never call them one because I would be sacked. Garda should have had more cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

What do ye think of this?

I agree. Total wanker. It's my rights guard. I know the law guard. Constitutional rights. I'm up on the law, I am. => Arsehole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

wyndham wrote: »
    I agree. Total wanker. It's my rights guard. I know the law guard. Constitutional rights. I'm up on the law, I am. => Arsehole

Keep the Proletariat thick and therefore controllable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Agonist

By the sound of children in the background he should do more **** and less of the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Bus77II

The Guard thinks the unemployed control his tax.

The man thinks his son is growing tomatoes.

Zzzzz...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

See I think this is a perfect difference between the two recent examples.

Gardai in the car, in private, makes rape joke = fine as far as I'm concerned.

In this case he's facing a member of the public and his opinion needs to be kept to himself. I agree, the fella sounds like an ass and if the garda knows him he may very well be a wanker but that's irrelevant and it shouldn't have been said (although I imagine you'd want the patience of a saint at times to do that job).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,382 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

no big deal....

One night i was bringing in my motoring details to the cops and the language coming from behind the hatch was worse than anywhere else i had ever been, next thing a car pulled up and a crim ran in and politely asked me could he jump the queue as he only had to sign on, i said ok and he thanked me and was only 2 seconds signing on!
    So the politest person in the station that night was a criminal!

but then again he probably did rape or kill someone rather than joke about it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 bootsmcginty

this whole country is making me sick

He probably was a wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

He probably was a wanker.

I think he's a "freeman".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

pulled over by the guards
    driver...."if i called you a wanker would you arrest me "

guard ......."i would indeed sir"
    driver ....."if i thought you were a wanker would you arrest me"

guard .....".no i would,nt sir"

driver ...."ok so i think you are a wanker":D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sample thread idea:

Male Guard Callously Breaks Wind In Canteen With Women Present And Creates Intimidating And Misogynist Environment That Smells Of Eggs And Cabbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I think he's a "freeman".

I've seen a few people mention this lately. What is a 'freeman' exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭up for anything

I remember about 8 years ago being out walking with my children. As we were walking up the road we had watched a garda car pull up, two gardí get out and grab a lad of about 17/18 chap who was sauntering down the road. The two gardaí manhandled the lad into their garda car. I believe the phrase one garda used was "get into the ****ing car, yah little bollix of a bastard". Whatever they had reason to believe about the chap, he hadn't offered any resistance to getting into the car and didn't open his mouth or provoke them in any way.

So what was all that about! They weren't in the least bit bothered that I witnessed what happened or that my children saw and heard the incident. My oldest lad was about 6 at the time and was more able to process what he had seen than the other two. The day before I'd been telling him if he ever got lost that he should look to a garda for help or go into a shop and tell them he was lost. Straight after that incident he was quick enough to tell me that he'd prefer to go into a shop rather than approach a garda if he got lost.

If you are doing a job, you should behave appropriately. In some jobs you have to be more circumspect than in others and policing is one of those. It was drummed into us in school that while we were wearing the uniform we were representing the school. Woe betide you if word got back to the nuns of any shenannagins of one of their girls putting a foot out of line while in uniform even if it was out of school hours. Even moreso the same goes for the gardaí. While in uniform they have an image and position to uphold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I've seen a few people mention this lately. What is a 'freeman' exactly?

It's stupid know it all idiots thinking they can 'opt out' of the laws everyone is bound by.

LINKY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

cambo2008 wrote: »
    I wouldn't see much of an issue there if it worked both ways,try going down your local station and calling one of them a w@nker and see what happens.
    This seems to be the general behaviour,they can say what they want but you can't open your mouth or you're "being smart"